Patterns of Democracy by
In this updated and expanded edition of his classic text, Arend Lijphart offers a broader and deeper analysis of worldwide democratic institutions than ever before. Examining thirty-six democracies during the period from 1945 to 2010, Lijphart arrives at important--and unexpected--conclusions about what type of democracy works best. Praise for the previous edition: "Magnificent. . . . The best-researched book on democracy in the world today."--Malcolm Mackerras, American Review of Politics "I can't think of another scholar as well qualified as Lijphart to write a book of this kind. He has an amazing grasp of the relevant literature, and he's compiled an unmatched collection of data."--Robert A. Dahl, Yale University "This sound comparative research . . . will continue to be a standard in graduate and undergraduate courses in comparative politics."--Choice
Issues and Methods in Comparative Politics by
Building on the strengths of the first edition, this accessible and user-friendly textbook explores the strategies of comparative research in political science. It begins by examining different methods, then highlights some of the big issues in comparative politics using a wealth of topical examples before discussing the new challenges in the area. Thoroughly revised throughout with the addition of extensive new material, this edition is also supplemented by the availability online of the author's datasets. The book is designed to make a complex subject easier and more accessible for students, and contains: * briefing boxes explaining key concepts and ideas * suggestions for further reading at the end of each chapter * a glossary of terms.
Comparative Politics by
With unparalleled empirical material, this is the most comprehensive introduction to comparative politics written by the leading experts in the field who bring together a diverse and informed international perspective. Five new authors join the team for the fifth edition, bringing fresh ideas and insights to the comparative analysis the book provides. The fifth edition of Comparative Politics has been brought fully up to date with coverage of Brexit, Trump and the resurgence of Populism, and a greater focus on developing countries through a reworked Chapter 15 on Regions and Ethnicity. Furthermore, the chapter on Political Culture includes more in-depth coverage of gender and representation in the era of the #MeToo movement. Importantly, issues around migration and how different countries respond are explored in Chapter 24 on Globalization. An unrivalled amount of empirical material in the text and in the supporting online resources illustrates key similarities and differences of political systems in practice. The wealth of empirical data also encourages students to go beyond the 'what' of comparison to the 'how'. Combining cutting edge treatment of theories and truly global geographical coverage, this exciting textbook is essential reading for all comparative politics students.NEW TO THIS EDITION:The fifth edition welcomes a host of new author talent: Gianfranco Poggi (Professor of Sociology, University of Trento, Canada), Natasha Ezrow (Deputy Dean and Professor, Department of Government, University of Essex, UK), Liesbet Hooghe (W.R Kenan Distinguished Professor of Political Science at the University of North Carolina, USA), and Gary Marks (Burton Craige Professor of Political Science at UNC-Chapel Hill, USA)The text has been thoroughly updated to reflect the impact of current events and issues, from Brexit, Trump and Populism to analysis of gender, representation and the impact of the #MeToo movementChapter 15 has been reworked to focus on Regions and Ethnicity, providing essential analysis of developing countriesNew discussion of comparative democratization to complement the coverage of democracy and authoritarian regimes.This title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
Comparative Government and Politics by
This revised and updated edition of a core textbook - one of the most well-established texts in the field of comparative politics - offers a comprehensive introduction to the comparison of governments and political systems, helping students to understand not just the institutions and political cultures of their own countries but also those of a wide range of democracies and authoritarian regimes from around the world. The book opens with an overview of key theories and methods for studying comparative politics and moves on to a study of major institutions and themes, such as the state, constitutions and courts, elections, voters, interest groups and political economy. In addition, two common threads run throughout the chapters in this edition - the reversal of democracy and declining trust in government - ensuring that the book fully accounts for the rapid developments in politics that have taken place across the world in recent times. Written by a team of experienced textbook authors and featuring a range of engaging learning features, this book is an essential text for undergraduate and postgraduate courses on Comparative Politics, Comparative Government, Introduction to Politics and Introduction to Political Science.