The Globalization of World Politics by
The Globalization of World Politics, Seventh Edition, is the best-selling introduction to international relations, offering the most comprehensive coverage of key theories and global issues in world politics. The seventh edition features several brand new chapters that reflect the very latest developments in the field, including those on gender and race, to ensure the book continues to cover topics that define key IR issues. New pedagogical features help readers evaluate key IR debates and apply theory to real world events. Leading scholars in the field introduce readers to the history, theory, structures, and key issues in IR, providing students with an ideal introduction and a constant guide throughout their studies.
Introduction to Global Politics by
The fully updated third edition of Introduction to Global Politics continues to provide a vital resource for students looking to explain global politics using an historical approach, firmly linking history with the events of today. By integrating theory and political practice at individual, state, and global levels, students are introduced to key developments in global politics, helping them make sense of major trends that are shaping our world. Retaining the successful format of previous editions, this is a highly illustrated textbook with informative and interactive boxed material throughout. Chapter opening timelines contextualize the material that follows, and definitions of key terms are provided in a glossary at the end of the book. Every chapter ends with student activities, cultural materials, and annotated suggestions for further reading. Key updates for this edition: New material on key topical issues such as Islam's relationship with the West, Islamic State, BRICS and other emerging economies, the continuing effects of the Arab Spring, and R2P. Coverage of the 2015 Iran nuclear deal and North Korea's continued development of its nuclear weapons and missile programs. Analysis of new technologies for warfighting - such as drones, IEDs and cyber technologies - as well as technologies for countering terrorism and conducting unconventional wars. Updated examples from around the globe in every chapter. Stimulating and provocative both for students and for instructors, Introduction to Global Politics, 3rd Edition, is essential reading for students of political science, global politics, and international relations.
Understanding Crime and Social Policy by
This book explores the relationship between crime and social policy from both a theoretical and empirical approach. Analyzing various governmental policies, Emma Wincup reflects upon the multiplicity of influences that shape the formulation of crime control policies, the changing nature of government, and the enhanced role of the welfare state in addressing crime. Utilizing a host of policy examples, she offers a thorough look at the close connections--and occasional tensions--between crime reduction and social policy agendas.
Understanding International Relations by 
Geopolitics by
Geopolitics is a way of looking at the world: one that considers the links between political power, geography, and cultural diversity. In certain places such as Iraq, Lebanon, or Israel, moving a few feet either side of a territorial boundary can be a matter of life or death, dramatically highlighting the connections between place and politics. Even far away from these "danger zones" - in Europe or the US for example - geopoliticsremains an important part of everyday life. For a country's location and size as well as its sovereignty and resources all affect how the people that live there understand and interact with the wider world. In this new edition Klaus Dodds takes into account several world developments that haveoccured since original publication, including the Arab Spring, the worldwide economic crisis, and the developing role of China in international politics.Using wide-ranging examples, from historical maps to James Bond films and the rhetoric of political leaders both past and present, this Very Short Introduction shows why, for a full understanding of contemporary global politics, it is not just smart - it is essential - to be geopolitical.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Global Politics by
In this extensively revised new edition of Global Politics, internationally renowned author Andrew Heywood provides a systematic and integrated analysis of the theory and practice of contemporary international relations. This edition is fully updated to cover key developments, from the Arab Spring to the global financial crisis, and provides enhanced coverage of current issues like international migration. An entirely new chapter on the importance and impact of theory at the end of the book revisits key perspectives, and addresses deeper questions about the nature and purpose of theory in global politics. Written with outstanding clarity and drawing on an exceptionally wide range of theoretical perspectives throughout, each chapter is packed with innovative features to aid study and reinforce learning. To complement this textbook, there is a companion website with resources for both lecturers and students. Exam questions, PowerPoint slides, online-only case-studies, self-test questions, and more, can be found at https://he.palgrave.com/companion/Heywood-Global-Politics/
Introduction to International Relations by
Combining incisive and original analysis with a clear and accessible writing style, ntroduction to International Relations is a highly readable introduction to the principal theories in the field. Updated to include current international issues and debates, this new edition carefully explainshow particular theories organize and shape our view of the world, ensuring that students receive blended coverage of theory and practice.
World Politics 2016-2017 by
WORLD POLITICS: TREND AND TRANSFORMATION offers analysis of the most up-to-date data, research, and contemporary events from today's international political stage. You will understand what is happening today and why. The 2016-2017 Edition incorporates recent challenges to global peace and prosperity, and the latest on international organizations, advances in military technology, a look at the changing nuclear environment in Iran, an expanded discussion on human rights, an enhanced discussion of global health threats, new data from World Development Indicators, and more. A partnership with the Carnegie Council for Ethics in International Affairs provides additional coverage of contemporary issues. The authors present each issue in a thought-provoking way that encourages you to critically assess the problems, payoffs, pitfalls, and paradoxes of people's choices about the global future and the probable impact those choices will have on students in the future. Now, the book is also available in a variety of formats with MindTap Political Science for Blanton/Kegley's World Politics: Trend and Transformation is the digital learning solution that helps instructors engage and transform today's students into critical thinkers.
International Relations Theory by
The fourth edition of this innovative textbook introduces students to the main theories in international relations. It explains and analyzes each theory, allowing students to understand and critically engage with the myths and assumptions behind them. Each theory is illustrated using the example of a popular film. Key features of this textbook include: Discussion of all the main theories: realism and neo-realism, idealism and neo-idealism, liberalism, constructivism, postmodernism, gender, globalization, environmentalism, anarchism A new chapter on anarchism, debt and the Occupy Movement including use of the film, The Hunger Games New chapter brings the textbook up to date with reflections on the 2008 Global Financial Crisis and reactions to it by focusing on the myth this crisis generated, ¿We are the 99%¿ Innovative use of narratives from films that students will be familiar with: Lord of the Flies, Independence Day, Wag the Dog, Fatal Attraction, The Truman Show, East is East, Memento, WALL-E and The Hunger Games Accessible and exciting writing style which is well-illustrated with film stills in each chapter, boxed key concepts and guides to further reading. This breakthrough textbook has been designed to unravel the complexities of international relations theory in a way that gives students a clearer idea of how the theories work, and of the myths associated with them.
Understanding Global Conflict and cooperation by 
International Relations by
Of undoubtable relevance today, in a post-9-11 world of growing political tension and unease, this iVery Short Introduction/i covers the topics essential to an understanding of modern international relations. Paul Wilkinson explains the theories and the practice that underlie the subject, andinvestigates issues ranging from foreign policy, arms control, and terrorism, to the environment and world poverty. He examines the role of organizations such as the United Nations and the European Union, as well as the influence of ethnic and religious movements and terrorist groups which also playa role in shaping the way states and governments interact. This up-to-date book is required reading for those seeking a new perspective to help untangle and decipher international events.
International Relations Since 1945 by
International Relations since 1945 offers undergraduate students a comprehensive and accessible introduction to global political history since World War II. The new edition is comprehensively updated to cover the period between 2001 and 2012. Discussing the World Trade Center attacks and concluding with the run up to the 2012 US presidential elections, a new final section outlines broad developments including the changing world order and the globalfinancial crises. Three new chapters look at terrorism, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and the rise of major new powers including China.Student learning is supported by a range of helpful learning features including biographies of key figures and chronologies of events. Online Resource CentreThe text is also supported by an Online Resource Centre which includes:For students: biographies of key figures; links to international relations documents; maps of key regions; self test questions; annotated further reading guide; interactive timeline.For lecturers: PowerPoint slides; question bank.