Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Biological and Cognitive Psychology reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Behavioral Neuroscience by
Behavioral Neuroscience provides students with a lively survey of the field. It offers a broad perspective, encompassing cutting edge neuroscience, lucid descriptions of behaviour, evolutionary and developmental perspectives, and clinical applications of research.
Call Number: 612.8 BRE
Publication Date: 2016
Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook by
The fully updated eighth edition of Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook provides comprehensive yet accessible coverage of all the key areas in the field ranging from visual perception and attention through to memory and language. Each chapter is complete with key definitions, practical real-life applications, chapter summaries and suggested further reading to help students develop an understanding of this fascinating but complex field. The new edition includes: an increased emphasis on neuroscience updated references to reflect the latest research applied 'in the real world' case studies and examples. Widely regarded as the leading undergraduate textbook in the field of cognitive psychology, this new edition comes complete with an enhanced accompanying companion website. The website includes a suite of learning resources including simulation experiments, multiple-choice questions, and access to Primal Pictures' interactive 3D atlas of the brain. The companion website can be accessed at: www.routledge.com/cw/eysenck.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Cognitive Neuroscience: The Biology of the Mind, 5th edn by
This edition uses an interdisciplinary approach to understanding how the human mind works. Throughout the text, clinical case studies are presented to humanise the scientific content.
Call Number: 612.8233 GAZ
Publication Date: 2019
An Introduction to Cognitive Psychology by
David Groome with Nicola Brace, Graham Edgar, Helen Edgar, Michael Eysenck, Tom Manly, Hayley Ness, Graham Pike, Sophie Scott, and Elizabeth Styles. An Introduction to Cognitive Psychology: Processes and Disorders is a comprehensive introductory textbook for undergraduate students. The third edition of this well-established text has been completely revised and updated to cover all the key areas of cognition, including perception, attention, memory, thinking and language. Uniquely, alongside chapters on normal cognitive function, there are chapters on related clinical disorders (agnosia, amnesia, thought disorder and aphasia) which help to provide a thorough insight into the nature of cognition. Key features: Completely revised and updated throughout to provide a comprehensive overview of current thinking in the field Accessibly written and including new authors, including Sophie Scott, Tom Manly, Hayley Ness, and Elizabeth Styles, all established experts in their field A new chapter on Emotion and Cognition, written by Michael Eysenck, the leading authority in the field Greater coverage of neuropsychological disorders, with additional material from the latest brain imaging research that has completely revolutionized neuropsychology Specially designed textbook features, chapter summaries, further reading, and a glossary of key terms A companion website featuring an extensive range of online resources for both teachers and students. Written to cover all levels of ability using helpful figures and illustrations, An Introduction to Cognitive Psychology has sufficient depth to appeal to the most able students while the clear and accessible text, written by experienced teachers, will help students who find the material difficult. It will appeal to any student on an undergraduate psychology degree course, as well as to medical students and those studying in related clinical professions such as nursing.
Call Number: 153 GRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Biopsychology, 10th edn by
For courses in Physiological Psychology and Biopsychology Explore how the central nervous system governs behavior Biopsychology presents a clear, engaging introduction to biopsychological theory and research through a unique combination of biopsychological science and personal, reader-oriented discourse. Original author John Pinel and new co-author Steven Barnes address students directly and interweave the fundamentals of the field with clinical case studies, useful metaphors, and memorable anecdotes that make course material personally and socially relevant to readers. In addition to expan.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Cognitive Psychology, 8th edn by
One of the top sellers in the field, Cognitive Psychology is well-written, humorous, and remains the most comprehensive and balanced text in the area of undergraduate cognition. MacLin and MacLin, inheriting the textbook from the late Robert L. Solso, boldly revised and reorganized the Eighth Edition to reflect emerging trends in the field, while retaining the strengths that made it one of the most popular texts among students and professors. The text features a sequential model of human cognition from sensation to perception, to attention, to memory, to higher-order cognition, and features n.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013