Complete Psychology by
The new edition of Complete Psychology is the definitive undergraduate textbook. It not only fits exactly with the very latest BPS curriculum and offers integrated web support for students and lecturers, but it also includes guidance on study skills, research methods, statistics and careers. Complete Psychology provides excellent coverage of the major areas of study . Each chapter has been fully updated to reflect changes in the field and to include examples of psychology in applied settings, and further reading sections have been expanded. The companion website, www.completepsychology.co.uk, has also been fully revised and now contains chapter summaries, author pages, downloadable presentations, useful web links, multiple choice questions, essay questions and an electronic glossary. Written by an experienced and respected team of authors, this highly accessible, comprehensive text is illustrated in full colour, and quite simply covers everything students need for their first-year studies as well as being an invaluable reference and revision tool for second and third years.
Applied Social Psychology by
This student-friendly introduction to the field focuses on understanding social and practical problems and developing intervention strategies to address them. Offering a balance of theory, research, and application, the updated Third Edition includes the latest research, as well as new, detailed examples of qualitative research throughout. The book begins with separate chapters that define the field, examine social psychological theory, review research methods, and consider the design and evaluation of interventions. Subsequent content chapters focus on the application of social psychological theory and knowledge to such areas as counseling, sports, media, health, education, organizations, criminal justice, community, environment, and diversity.
The American Psychological Association (APA)
All of your references must follow the APA guidelines. The website of the American Psychological Association contains useful resources for students and practitioners. The website provides resources such as writing style and ethical guidelines, links to publications and journals, and information on the divisions of psychology.
British Psychological Society
The BPS provides resources such as the BPS Research Digest, links to journals, publications, and ethical guidelines.
The Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology by
The internet is so central to everyday life, that it is impossible to contemplate life without it. From finding romance, to conducting business, receiving health advice, shopping, banking, and gaming, the internet opens up a world of possibilities to people across the globe. Yet for all itspositive attributes, it is also an environment where we witness the very worst of human behaviour - cybercrime, election interference, fake news, and trolling being just a few examples. What is it about this unique environment that can make people behave in ways they wouldn't contemplate in reallife. Understanding the psychological processes underlying and influencing the thinking, interpretation and behaviour associated with this online interconnectivity is the core premise of Cyberpsychology.The Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology explores a wide range of cyberpsychological processes and activities through the research and writings of some of the world's leading cyberpsychology experts. The book is divided into eight sections covering topics as varied as online research methods,self-presentation and impression management, technology across the lifespan, interaction and interactivity, online groups and communities, social media, health and technology, video gaming and cybercrime and cybersecurity.The Oxford Handbook of Cyberpsychology will be important reading for those who have only recently discovered the discipline as well as more seasoned cyberpsychology researchers and teachers.
Evolutionary Psychology by
Where did we come from? What is our connection with other life forms? What are the mechanisms of mind that define what it means to be a human being? Evolutionary psychology is a revolutionary new science, a true synthesis of modern principles of psychology and evolutionary biology. Since the publication of the award-winning first edition of Evolutionary Psychology, there has been an explosion of research within the field. In this book, David M. Buss examines human behavior from an evolutionary perspective, providing students with the conceptual tools needed to study evolutionary psychology and apply them to empirical research on the human mind. This edition contains expanded coverage of cultural evolution, with a new section on culture-gene co-evolution, additional studies discussing interbreeding between modern humans and Neanderthals, expanded discussions of evolutionary hypotheses that have been empirically disconfirmed, and much moeen modern humans and Neanderthals, expanded discussions of evolutionary hypotheses that have been empirically disconfirmed, and much more! Evolutionary Psychology features a wealth of student-friendly pedagogy including critical-thinking questions and case study boxes designed to show how to apply evolutionary psychology to real-life situations. It is also accompanied by a thoroughly updated companion website featuring PowerPoints for each chapter, test bank questions, and links to web resources and videos. Evolutionary Psychology is an invaluable resource for undergraduates studying psychology, biology and anthropology.
Applied Psychology by
pplied Psychology 2nd edition is a new edition of this bestselling textbook, covering all the popular applied topis, including: forensic/criminological psychology, clinical/abnormal psychology, work/occupational psychology, educational psychology, sports psychology, environmental psychology, health psychology, counselling. Applying the theories and solutions of psychology to everyday life has become increasingly relevant in our contemporary lives. Applied Psychology is an ideal introductory text for all students on applied psychology courses (and related courses) and for those wishing to find out more about training and careers within each field. Accessible and comprehensive, Applied Psychology covers both the theoretical background and the practical applications, enabling students to make links between their academic study and their future careers. Written by a team of expert academics, Applied Psychology also explores the very latest research and developments within each applied field.
The Psychology of Everyday Living by 
Perspectives on Psychology by
This is a title in the modular "Principles in Psychology Series", designed for A-level and other introductory courses, aiming to provide students embarking on psychology courses with the necessary background and context. One aspect of this is to consider contemporary psychology in the light of its historical development. Another aspect is to examine some of the major controversies which have dominated psychology over the centuries. Yet another aspect is to consider some of the major areas of psychology eg social, developmental, cognitive in terms of what they have to offer in the quest for an understanding of human behaviour.; The book also addresses key issues which need to be considered as psychology matures into a fully fledged experimental and scientific discipline. For example, how much do laboratory experiments tell us about how people behave in the real world? And how far is it ethically permissable for psychologists to go in their pursuit of knowledge?
A History of Modern Psychology by
The enhanced 5th Edition of Goodwin's series, A History of Modern Psychology, explores the modern history of psychology including the fundamental bases of psychology and psychology's advancements in the 20th century. Goodwin's 5th Edition focuses on the reduction of biographical information with an emphasis on more substantial information including ideas and concepts and on ideas/research contributions.
Psychology : the science of mind and behaviour by
Provides the essential foundation for psychology students, this is a revised and updated version of the most trusted introduction written by the bestselling psychology author Richard Gross. Psychology: The Science of Mind and Behaviour has helped over half a million students worldwide. It is the essential introduction to psychology, covering all students need to know to understand and evaluate classic and contemporary topics.
Themes, Issues and Debates in Psychology, 4th Edition by
Stimulate critical thinking with this thematic approach to Psychology by best-selling author Richard Gross, that integrates topics, theories and areas of research. Themes, Issues and Debates in Psychology is ideal reading for all students of Psychology and is relevant to both the synoptic element of A2 and undergraduate courses. This thematic approach is not usually found in traditional textbooks. - Aids understanding with a thematic approach that provides a historical and theoretical context for what are usually treated as 'standalone'topics - Encourages a broader, more integrated approach to essay writing - Motivates critical thinking to stretch and challenge students in areas such as behaviour, culture, consciousness, parapsychology and religion
Perspectives in Psychology by
This second edition of this popular text is designed to meet the needs of teachers and students following new A and AS level Psychology syllabuses on either modular or terminal routes, as well as those on introductory psychology courses at degree level. This extensively revised and updated edition covers: * major orientations in psychology and philosophical issues in psychology: including free-will and determinism and reductionism * psychology and science biases in psychological theory and research, including advertising, propaganda, warfare and psychometric testing * ethics in psychological research and practice * ethics in socially sensitive research Key concepts are clearly flagged and learning objectives are included in each chapter.
A History of Psychology in Western Civilization by
This book is a re-introduction to psychology. It focuses on great scholarly thinkers, beginning with Plato, Marcus Aurelius and St Augustine, who gave the field its foundational ideas long before better known 'founders', such as Galton, Fechner, Wundt and Watson, appeared on the scene. Psychology can only achieve its full breadth and potential when we fully appreciate its scholarly legacy. Bruce Alexander and Curtis Shelton also argue that the fundamental contradictions built into psychology's history have never been resolved, and that a truly pragmatic approach, as defined by William James, can produce a 'layered' psychology that will enable psychologists to face the fearsome challenges of the twenty-first century. A History of Psychology in Western Civilization claims that contemporary psychology has overemphasized the methods of physical science and that psychology will need a broader scientific orientation alongside a scholarly focus in order to fully engage the future.
Essential Psychology by
The third edition of Essential Psychology provides a thorough introduction for students and anyone who wishes to gain a strong overview of the field. This team of authors provide a student-friendly guide to Psychology, with a vivid narrative writing style, features designed to stimulate critical thinking and inspire students to learn independently, and online resources for lecturers and students. This comprehensive introductory text is relevant for both the specialist and non-specialist psychology student, challenging those who studied psychology before university while remaining accessible to those who did not. The third edition: - Gives students a firm foundation in all areas covered on accredited British Psychological Society degree courses - Includes new chapters on psychopathology, research methods, language, motivation and emotion, lifespan development, health psychology, forensic psychology and critical social psychology- Relates theory to the real world to help students think about where they will employ their degree after undergraduate study
Historical and Conceptual Issues in Psychology by
The 2nd edition of Historical and Conceptual issues in Psychology offers a lively and engaging introduction to the main issues underlying the emergence and continuing evolution of psychology.
What Is This Thing Called Science? by
Every ten years, Alan Chalmers draws on his experience as a teacher and researcher to improve and update the text that strives to answer the philosophical question in it? title: What is This Thing Called Science? Identifying the qualitative difference between knowledge of atoms as it figures in contemporary science and metaphysical speculations about atoms common in philosophy since the time of Democritus proves to be a highly revealing and instructive way to pinpoint key features of the answer to that question. The most significant feature of this fourth edition is the extensive postscript, in which Chalmers uses the results of his recent research on the history of atomism to illustrate and enliven key themes in the philosophy of science. This new edition ensures that the book holds its place as the leading introduction to the philosophy of science for the foreseeable future.
Approaches to Psychology by
Provides an introduction to the field of psychology, from its origins to the present, and shows the contribution of psychology to understanding human behaviour and experience. This book introduces students to the five core conceptual frameworks (or approaches) to psychology: biological; behaviourist; cognitive; psychodynamic; and humanistic.
A History of Psychology by
A History of Psychology places social, economic, and political forces of change alongside psychology's internal theoretical and empirical arguments, illuminating how the external world has shaped psychology's development, and, in turn, how the late twentieth century's psychology has shaped society. Featuring extended treatment of important movements such as the Enlightenment and the Scientific Revolution, the textbook approaches the material from an integrative rather than wholly linear perspective. The text carefully examines how issues in psychology reflect and affect concepts that lie outside the field of psychology's technical concerns as a science and profession. This new edition features expanded attention on psychoanalysis after its founding as well as new developments in cognitive science, artificial intelligence, and behavioral economics. Throughout, the book strengthens its exploration of psychological ideas and the cultures in which they developed and reinforces the connections between psychology, modernism, and postmodernism. The textbook covers scientific, applied, and professional psychology, and is appropriate for higher-level undergraduate and graduate students.
Psychology by
This modules-based version of Myers' best-selling, full-length text, Psychology, breaks down the book's 16 chapters into 54 short modules. Myers was inspired to create this text by the memory research in chunking (showing that shorter reading assignments are more effectively absorbed than longer ones), as well as by numerous students and teachers who expressed a strong preference for textbooks with more, shorter chapters. DSM 5 Updates Available for Fall 2014 classes, this update version features new content from David Myers in response to the release of the DSM-5. This new content is integrated into the text without changing pagination or the structure of the chapters. A special DSM 5 Supplement by the David Myers is available for Fall 2013 and Spring and Summer 2014 courses. View the Page-Referenced Guide to the DSM-5 updates for Psychology in Modules. Watch our new videos from David Myers here, including our animation on THE TESTING EFFECT narrated by David Myers. For more information on the new edition of Psychology in Modules, please visit our preview site.
Atkinson & Hilgard's : introduction to psychology by
Now in its sixteenth edition, Atkinson & Hilgard's Introduction to Psychology has been fully revised and updated to reflect all recent research developments, theories and ideas, whilst also retaining all of the qualities which have established it as a leading undergraduate psychology textbook over the past five decades, including its highly accessible and engaging student-centred approach. The established author team of Susan Nolen-Hoeksema, Barbara Fredrickson and Geoffrey R. Loftus has been joined by Christel Lutz (University College Utrecht), who has helped to add a fresh European influence, and thereby create a truly international introductory textbook.The 'Cutting Edge Research' box features and 'Seeing Both Sides' essays which conclude each chapter have been fully updated and replaced throughout, using contributions from a range of experts across the globe, and really help to bring the text to life for students.
Putting Psychology in Its Place by
The third edition of Putting Psychology In Its Placebuilds on the previous two editions, introducing the history of Psychology and placing the discipline within a historical context. It aims both to answer and raise questions about the role of Psychology in modern society, by critically examining issues such as how Psychology developed, why psychoanalysis had such an impact and how the discipline has changed to deal with contemporary social issues such as religion, race and gender. This new third edition contains two completely new chapters: "Emotion: The Problem or the Whole Point?" and "Funding and Institutional Factors." An expanded epiloguehas also been added which incorporates a discussion of the conceptual issues raised in the book and the volume now corresponds with the new BPS requirements for undergraduate courses. Other chapters, including those on Psychology and the Brain, Social Psychology and the Psychology of Madness, as well as those on gender, religion and race, have been substantially revised. Putting Psychology In Its Placeis imaginatively written and accessible to all. It is an invaluable introductory text for undergraduate students of the history of Psychology and will also appeal to postgraduates, academics and anyone interested in Psychology or the history of science.
A History of Modern Psychology by
History doesn't have to be dull, and this book is living proof with coverage of interesting topics ranging from the controversial use of IQ tests at Ellis Island to the psychodynamics of gum chewing. A market leader for over 30 years, A HISTORY OF MODERN PSYCHOLOGY has been praised for its comprehensive coverage and biographical approach. Focusing on modern psychology, the book's coverage begins with the late 19th century. The authors present an appealing narrative, personalizing the history of psychology by using biographical information on influential theorists, and by showing you how major events in the theorists' lives affected their ideas, approaches, and methods. Updates in the eleventh edition include discussions of the latest developments in positive psychology, the interpretation of dreams by computers, the use of Coca Cola as a 'nerve tonic,' and many other intriguing topics. The result is a book that is as timely and relevant today as it was when it was first introduced.
