Cognitive psychology : a student's handbook by
The fully updated eighth edition of Cognitive Psychology: A Student's Handbook provides comprehensive yet accessible coverage of all the key areas in the field ranging from visual perception and attention through to memory and language. Each chapter is complete with key definitions, practical real-life applications, chapter summaries and suggested further reading to help students develop an understanding of this fascinating but complex field. The new edition includes: an increased emphasis on neuroscience updated references to reflect the latest research applied 'in the real world' case studies and examples. Widely regarded as the leading undergraduate textbook in the field of cognitive psychology, this new edition comes complete with an enhanced accompanying companion website. The website includes a suite of learning resources including simulation experiments, multiple-choice questions, and access to Primal Pictures' interactive 3D atlas of the brain. The companion website can be accessed at: www.routledge.com/cw/eysenck.
An Introduction to Cognitive Psychology : Processes and Disorders by
David Groome with Nicola Brace, Graham Edgar, Helen Edgar, Michael Eysenck, Tom Manly, Hayley Ness, Graham Pike, Sophie Scott, and Elizabeth Styles. An Introduction to Cognitive Psychology: Processes and Disordersis a comprehensive introductory textbook for undergraduate students. The third edition of this well-established text has been completely revised and updated to cover all the key areas of cognition, including perception, attention, memory, thinking and language. Uniquely, alongside chapters on normal cognitive function, there are chapters on related clinical disorders (agnosia, amnesia, thought disorder and aphasia) which help to provide a thorough insight into the nature of cognition. Key features: Completely revised and updated throughout to provide a comprehensive overview of current thinking in the field Accessibly written and including new authors, including Sophie Scott, Tom Manly, Hayley Ness, and Elizabeth Styles, all established experts in their field A new chapter on Emotion and Cognition, written by Michael Eysenck, the leading authority in the field Greater coverage of neuropsychological disorders, with additional material from the latest brain imaging research that has completely revolutionized neuropsychology Specially designed textbook features, chapter summaries, further reading, and a glossary of key terms A companion website featuring an extensive range of online resources for both teachers and students. Written to cover all levels of ability using helpful figures and illustrations, An Introduction to Cognitive Psychologyhas sufficient depth to appeal to the most able students while the clear and accessible text, written by experienced teachers, will help students who find the material difficult. It will appeal to any student on an undergraduate psychology degree course, as well as to medical students and those studying in related clinical professions such as nursing.
Memory by
This best-selling textbook presents a comprehensive and accessible overview of the study of memory. Written by three of the world's leading researchers in the field, it contains everything the student needs to know about the scientific approach to memory and its applications. Each chapter of the book is written by one of the three authors, an approach which takes full advantage of their individual expertise and style, creating a more personal and accessible text. This enhances students' enjoyment of the book, allowing them to share the authors' own fascination with human memory. The book also draws on a wealth of real-world examples throughout, showing students exactly how they can relate science to their everyday experiences of memory. Key features of this edition: Thoroughly revised throughout to include the latest research and updated coverage of key ideas and models A brand new chapter on Memory and the Brain, designed to give students a solid understanding of methods being used to study the relationship between memory and the brain, as well as the neurobiological basis of memory Additional pedagogical features to help students engage with the material, including many 'try this' demonstrations, points for discussion, and bullet-pointed chapter summaries The book is supported by a companion website featuring extensive online resources for students and lecturers.
Simply Psychology by
Simply Psychology, fourth edition, is an engaging and reader-friendly introduction to the key principles of psychology. Organized around the major approaches to the subject, it covers biological, developmental, social, and cognitive psychology, as well as individual differences. Supported by a wealth of colour illustrations, it provides students new to the subject with straightforward and clear explanations of all the key topics within contemporary psychology. The features spread throughout the book are designed to help readers to engage with the material and include: highlighted key terms and comprehensive glossary chapter introductions and summaries further reading and evaluation boxes structured essay and self-assessment questions case-studies and examples illustrating the application of key theories It also concludes with a practical chapter that offers students tips and advice to help them improve their study skills and get the most out of the book and their studies. NEW FOR THE FOURTH EDITION expanded coverage of abnormal psychology coverage of developments in neuroscience new 'In the real world' feature showing how psychology can be used in a range of professional contexts Simply Psychology is ideal for students studying psychology for the first time, as well as those in related fields such as nursing, social work and the social sciences.
Reasoning: The Neuroscience of How We Think by
Reasoning: The Neuroscience of How We Think is a comprehensive guide to the core topics related to a thorough understanding of reasoning. It presents the current knowledge of the subject in a unified, complete manner, ranging from animal studies, to applied situations, and is the only book available that presents a sustained focus on the neurobiological processes behind reasoning throughout all chapters, while also synthesizing research from animal behavior, cognitive psychology, development, and philosophy for a truly multidisciplinary approach. The book considers historical perspectives, state-of-the-art research methods, and future directions in emerging technology and cognitive enhancement. Written by an expert in the field, this book provides a coherent and structured narrative appropriate for students in need of an introduction to the topic of reasoning as well as researchers seeking well-rounded foundational content. It is essential reading for neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, neuropsychologists and others interested in the neural mechanisms behind thinking, reasoning and higher cognition. Provides a comparative perspective considering animal cognition and its relevance to human reasoning Includes developmental and lifespan considerations throughout the book Discusses technological development and its role in reasoning, both currently and in the future Considers perspectives from not only neuroscience, but cognitive psychology, philosophy, development, and animal behavior for a multidisciplinary treatment Contains highlight boxes featuring additional details on methods, historical descriptions and experimental tasks
Biological Psychology by
Written to guide undergraduate students new to brain and behaviour through the key biological concepts that determine how we act, Biological Psychology provides a comprehensive introduction to the subject. It includes detailed coverage of sensation, movement, sleep, eating and emotions, with further chapters on the biological basis of psychological disorders and the effects of drug-taking. Uniquely, the authors emphasize the importance of learning and memory as a key thread throughout and include advanced chapters on key research areas that push discussion further and encourage critical thinking, making this book appropriate for undergraduates studying biological psychology at any level. Key features include: 'Spotlights' offering insights into key areas of research that expose the most important developing issues in the field today A clear structure including roadmaps and key points for each chapter to ease navigation through the book and understanding of the links between concepts Full colour presentation to bring the topics to life through clear and comprehensive illustrations and diagrams A companion website at study.sagepub.com/higgs with a range of materials for instructors and students
Psychology by
This globally-focused and renowned textbook spans the entire discipline of psychology - from the fundamental principles of psychology as a science, to more nuanced approaches in core disciplines such as cognitive, developmental, social and personality psychology. Woven together with engaging features, research boxes and activities that will help students to both think like a scientist and stretch their imagination. In-depth and yet written with irresistible enthusiasm and humour by a world-renowned team of psychologists and researchers, this book is a complete course companion for all undergraduate psychology students. It is both engaging and yet scientifically sound and theoretically rigorous. The only book students need as they begin their study of psychology.
Behavioral Neuroscience by
Behavioral Neuroscience provides students with a lively survey of the field. It offers a broad perspective, encompassing cutting edge neuroscience, lucid descriptions of behaviour, evolutionary and developmental perspectives, and clinical applications of research.
Brain & Behavior : An Introduction to Biological Psychology by
Brain & Behavior: An Introduction to Biological Psychology showcases our rapidly increasing understanding of the biological foundations of behavior, engaging students immediately with easily accessible content. Bob Garrett uses colorful illustrations and thought-provoking facts while maintaining a "big-picture" approach that students will appreciate. Don't be surprised when they reach their "eureka" moment and exclaim, "Now I understand what was going on with Uncle Edgar!" Praise for the Second Edition of Brain & Behavior: "Great book- excellent instructional design and graphics with practical applications."--Robin Steed, MA, LOTR, Louisiana State University Health Science Center "My students liked the organization of Garrett. They thought it was easy to read and an appropriate resource for this course." --Charles Long, University of Memphis "I have been searching for a book that would thoroughly treat all of the concepts in brain and behavior while also being easy enough for the student to read without becoming overwhelmed. I think that the Garrett text might be an answer to my problem." --Natalie Ceballos, Texas State University
Cognitive Neuroscience: the biology of the mind 4th edn. by
The first textbook for the course, and still the market leader, Cognitive Neuroscience has been thoroughly refreshed, rethought, and reorganized to enhance students' and instructors' experience. A stunning, all new art program conveys data and concepts clearly, and new chapter-opening Anatomical Orientation figures help students get their bearings. The table of contents and the chapters themselves have been reorganized to improve the logical flow of the narrative, and the world renowned author team has kept the book fully up to date on the latest research in this fast moving field.
Psychology in Modules by
Formatted into 53 modules to help you engage with content in shorter, easier-to-digest reading assignments, Psychology in Modules helps you gain a deeper understanding of the material.
Cognitive Psychology by
One of the top sellers in the field, Cognitive Psychology is well-written, humorous, and remains one of the most comprehensive and balanced books in the area of cognition. MacLin and MacLin, inheriting the book from the late Robert L. Solso, boldly revised and reorganized the Eighth Edition to reflect emerging trends in the field, while retaining the strengths that made it one of the most popular books in the field. The book features a sequential model of human cognition from sensation to perception, to attention, to memory, to higher-order cognition, and features new cutting-edge coverage of consciousness, cognitive neuroscience, memory and forgetting, and evolutionary psychology.
