Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Fundamentals of Cognitive Neuroscience reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Cognitive Neuroscience by Updated fully, this accessible and comprehensive text highlights the most important theoretical, conceptual and methodological issues in cognitive neuroscience. Written by two experienced teachers, the consistent narrative ensures that students link concepts across chapters, and the careful selection of topics enables them to grasp the big picture without getting distracted by details. Clinical applications such as developmental disorders, brain injuries and dementias are highlighted. In addition, analogies and examples within the text, opening case studies, and 'In Focus' boxes engage students and demonstrate the relevance of the material to real-world concerns. Students are encouraged to develop the critical thinking skills that will enable them to evaluate future developments in this fast-moving field. A new chapter on neuroscience and society considers how cognitive neuroscience issues relate to the law, education, and ethics, highlighting the clinical and real-world relevance. An expanded online package includes a test bank.
Call Number: 612.8233 BAN
Publication Date: 2018
Fundamentals of Cognitive Neuroscience by Fundamentals of Cognitive Neuroscience: A Beginner's Guide, Second Edition, is a comprehensive, yet accessible, beginner's guide on cognitive neuroscience. This text takes a distinctive, commonsense approach to help newcomers easily learn the basics of how the brain functions when we learn, act, feel, speak and socialize. This updated edition includes contents and features that are both academically rigorous and engaging, including a step-by-step introduction to the visible brain, colorful brain illustrations, and new chapters on emerging topics in cognition research, including emotion, sleep and disorders of consciousness, and discussions of novel findings that highlight cognitive neuroscience's practical applications. Written by two leading experts in the field and thoroughly updated, this book remains an indispensable introduction to the study of cognition.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Cognitive Neuroscience by Written by world-renowned researchers, including Michael Gazzaniga, Cognitive Neuroscience remains the gold standard in its field, showcasing the latest discoveries and clinical applications. In its new Fifth Edition, updated material is woven into the narrative of each chapter and featured in new Hot Science and Lessons from the Clinic sections. The presentation is also more accessible and focused as the result of Anatomical Orientation figures, Take-Home Message features, and streamlined chapter openers.
Call Number: 612.8233 GAZ
Publication Date: 2018
The Student's Guide to Cognitive Neuroscience by of this bestselling textbook provides a comprehensive and student-friendly guide to cognitive neuroscience. Jamie Ward provides an easy-to-follow introduction to neural structure and function, as well as all the key methods and procedures of cognitive neuroscience, with a view to helping students understand how they can be used to shed light on the neural basis of cognition. The book presents a comprehensive overview of the latest theories and findings in all the key topics in cognitive neuroscience, including vision, hearing, attention, memory, speech and language, numeracy, executive function, social and emotional behavior and developmental neuroscience. Throughout, case studies, newspaper reports, everyday examples and studentfriendly pedagogy are used to help students understand the more challenging ideas that underpin the subject. New to this edition: Increased focus on the impact of genetics on cognition New coverage of the cutting-edge field of connectomics Coverage of the latest research tools including tES and fNIRS and new methodologies such as multi-voxel pattern analysis in fMRI research Additional content is also included on network versus modular approaches, brain mechanisms of hand-eye coordination, neurobiological models of speech perception and production and recent models of anterior cingulate function. Written in an engaging style by a leading researcher in the field and presented in full color including numerous illustrative materials, this book will be invaluable as a core text for undergraduate modules in cognitive neuroscience. It can also be used as a key text on courses in cognition, cognitive neuropsychology, biopsychology or brain and behavior. Those embarking on research will find it an invaluable starting point and reference. This textbook is supported by an extensive companion website for students and instructors, including lectures by leading researchers, links to key studies and interviews, interactive multiple-choice questions and flashcards of key terms.
Call Number: 612.8233 WAR
Publication Date: 2019
Neuropsychological Rehabilitation by This outstanding new handbook offers unique coverage of all aspects of neuropsychological rehabilitation. Compiled by the world's leading clinician-researchers, and written by an exceptional team of international contributors, the book is vast in scope, including chapters on the many and varied components of neuropsychological rehabilitation across the life span within one volume. Divided into sections, the first part looks at general issues in neuropsychological rehabilitation including theories and models, assessment and goal setting. The book goes on to examine the different populations referred for neuropsychological rehabilitation and then focuses on the rehabilitation of first cognitive and then psychosocial disorders. New and emerging approaches such as brain training and social robotics are also considered, alongside an extensive section on rehabilitation around the world, particularly in under-resourced settings. The final section offers some general conclusions and an evaluation of the key issues in this important field. This is a landmark publication for neuropsychological rehabilitation. It is the standalone reference text for the field as well as essential reading for all researchers, students and practitioners in clinical neuropsychology, clinical psychology, occupational therapy, and speech and language therapy. It will also be of great value to those in related professions such as neurologists, rehabilitation physicians, rehabilitation psychologists and medics.
Call Number: 617.481044 WIL + eBook
Publication Date: 2017