Qualitative Methods in Psychology by
"... well-written and seems to be at a level which would be graspable by most undergraduate and maybe A level students - without neglecting too much the complexities of the use of qualitative techniques ... These characteristics coupled with the fact that each of the authors is an expert in using the particular qualitative techniques they discuss, means that the book can be heartily welcomed." Psychology Teaching Review This book is a collaborative production, based on the experiences of the co-authors in presenting a course over many years in Qualitative Methods to MSc students. All the team are members of staff of the Department of Psychology and Speech Pathology at the Manchester Metropolitan University, and have a wealth of experience in teaching and using qualitative methods. This is not an edited book; the authors have drafted particular chapters, but the team has collectively discussed, reworked and rewritten the text to produce a coherent review and guide to the area. This research guide is designed to be an introductory text to qualitative methods, intended for advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students. As well as furnishing an understanding of the assumptions underlying such research methods, the book is intended to present a practical guide as to how to carry out qualitative investigations, and in addition to provide the basis for a critical evaluation of these methods.
Doing your research project: a guide for first-time researchers in education, health and social sciences. 6th ed. by 
Research Methods in Psychology by
Research Methods in Psychology has been substantially revised in its fourth edition. Continuing to offer enviable coverage of the research methods that psychology students at intermediate levels need to cover in their course, the textbook has now been broadened to cover the full suite of beginner level research methods too. The result is extensive coverage of psychological methods, both quantitative and qualitative, and a textbook that will serve students perfectly from day one in their course at university. Research Methods in Psychology in its fourth edition includes: * Extended statistical coverage, including new chapters on Descriptive Statistics, Inferential Statistics, ANOVA, Regression and Correlation, and Latent Variable Models * Further New Chapters on Content Analysis and Writing up your Research * New introductory sections placing each method in context and showing students how they relate to the bigger ′real world′ picture. * Intuitive structure and visual layout makes the book easy to navigate so you can quickly find the content you need. This textbook is ideal for beginner and intermediate level psychological research methods students worldwide. Visit the Research Methods in Psychology companion website www.sagepub.co.uk/breakwell4e to take advantage of additional resources for students and lecturers.
Successful Qualitative Research by
*Shortlisted for the BPS Book Award 2014 in the Textbook Category* *Winner of the 2014 Distinguished Publication Award (DPA) from the Association for Women in Psychology (AWP)* Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners is an accessible, practical textbook. It sidesteps detailed theoretical discussion in favor of providing a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. Uniquely, the authors provide a "patterns framework" to qualitative data analysis in this book, also known as "thematic analysis." The authors walk students through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches. This discussion of commonalities, explaining why and when each method should be used, and in the context of looking at patterns, will provide students with complete confidence for their qualitative research journey. This textbook will be an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates taking a course in qualitative research or using qualitative approaches in a research project.
Research Methods in Psychology by
The world of Research Methods is always changing and becoming ever more complex. Now completely up to date with the latest innovations, this book engages with recent controversies to give you the best start with your research. In each chapter you will find: · Key concept boxes to help you stay on track and focus on what's most important · Real life examples which make the theory easier to understand · Exercises to check you've understood the chapter · Questions to help you develop your critical thinking. Also available online are: · Multiple choice questions to test your understanding · Datasets to allow you to practice your skills · A flashcard glossary to help with revision. Offering a complete package to anyone taking a research methods course as part of their degree.
Social Research Methods by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by
The seventh edition of Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology provides students with the most readable and comprehensive survey of research methods, statistical concepts and procedures in psychology today. Assuming no prior knowledge, this bestselling text takes you through every stage of your research project giving advice on planning and conducting studies, analysing data and writing up reports. The book provides clear coverage of experimental, interviewing and observational methods, psychological testing, qualitative methods and analysis and statistical procedures which include nominal level tests, multi-factorial ANOVA designs, multiple regression, log linear analysis, and factor analysis.　It features detailed and illustrated SPSS instructions for all these and other procedures, eliminating the need for an extra SPSS textbook. New features to this edition include: Additional coverage of factor analysis and online and modern research methods Expanded coverage of report writing guidelines References updated throughout Presentation updated throughout, to include more figures, tables and full colour to help break up the text Companion website signposted throughout the book to improve student usability Improved and extended web links and further reading associated with every chapter. Each chapter contains a glossary, key terms and newly integrated exercises, ensuring that key concepts are understood. A fully updated companion website (www.routledge.com/cw/coolican) provides additional exercises, testbanks for each chapter, revision flash cards, links to further reading and data for use with SPSS.
Short Guide to Writing About Psychology by
For psychology courses that include a writing component. Featuring the latest APA-style guidelines, this concise guide helps students master the skills and conventions they need to write well in psychology. This brief guide takes students step-by-step through the writing process-from choosing a topic, to outlining, drafting, and revising their papers, to seeking feedback from peers. In addition, it presents thorough discussions of researching psychological literature, focusing on online and database research, and presenting those findings in written and oral formats. Special attention.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
Hear about student feedback on the character features that make this book special...With an exciting new look, new characters to meet, and its unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is the statistics lifesaver for everyone. From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with his famously bizarre examples and activities. What's brand new: A radical new design with original illustrations and even more colour A maths diagnostic tool to help students establish what areas they need to revise and improve on. A revamped online resource that uses video, case studies, datasets, testbanks and more to help students negotiate project work, master data management techniques, and apply key writing and employability skills New sections on replication, open science and Bayesian thinking Now fully up to date with latest versions of IBM SPSS Statistics©. All the online resources above (video, case studies, datasets, testbanks) can be easily integrated into your institution′s virtual learning environment or learning management system. This allows you to customize and curate content for use in module preparation, delivery and assessment. For instructions on how to upload the resources you want, please visit the Instructors′ page or alternatively, contact your local SAGE sales representative.Please note that ISBN: 9781526445780 comprises the paperback edition of the Fifth Edition and the student version of IBM SPSS Statistics. More information on this version of the software′s features can be found here.
Qualitative Data Analysis with ATLAS. ti by
Are you struggling to get to grips with qualitative data analysis? Do you need help getting started using ATLAS.ti? Do you find software manuals difficult to relate to? Written by a leading expert on ATLAS.ti, this book will guide you step-by-step through using the software to support your research project. In this updated second edition, you will find clear, practical advice on preparing your data, setting up a new project in ATLAS.ti, developing a coding system, asking questions, finding answers and preparing your results. The new edition features: methodological as well as technical advice numerous practical exercises and examples screenshots showing you each stage of analysis in version 7 of ATLAS.ti increased coverage of transcription new sections on analysing video and multimedia data a companion website with online tutorials and data sets. Susanne Friese teaches qualitative methods at the University of Hanover and at various PhD schools, provides training and consultancy for ATLAS.ti at the intersection between developers and users.
Writing up Your Research by
This new edition of the popular Quick Guide to Writing up your Research has added sections on data management, writing with rigor, common errors in written English and more. There are always challenges in writing up your research. Sometimes the problem is to do with the process of the actual writing itself and other times it concerns how to ensure that all the aspects of the research which have to be mentioned in a research dissertation are included in the right place and to an appropriate level. If this is addressed appropriately, writing up can be accomplished relatively easily, but if it isn't managed well writing up can become a burdensome event. Having a high level overview of what is required when writing up your research is one of the ways of making this job, which many researchers find daunting and arduous, much easier. This book is in four parts: Writing; the Body of the Dissertation; the Leading Pages; and the Appendices. This book contains the information you need to write up a research dissertation or thesis and how to go about producing this work in a controlled and satisfying way. I found the book easy to read and an easy guide to pick up as and when I need it. I also like the number of links the book contains, the glossary of terms and the illustrations which breaks up the text. Elaine Garcia
Doing research with children : a practical guide by
The Third Edition of Doing Research with Children is practical introduction to the process of designing, doing and writing up research with children and young people. At the center is a commitment to engaging with children and young people as active research participants rather than as passive subjects. In this new edition, you'll find up to date information on the fast-changing political and ethical debates around research with children and young people as well as guidance on how to carry out research yourself. Divided into three sections, the new edition covers: The main theories and approaches of research with children and young people Expanded guidance on research ethics Techniques for conduction both qualitative and quantitative research More on analyzing your research A brand new chapter on communicating your research findings This is a must-have guide for students and practitioners who are engaging in research with children and young people. Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Ethnography : principles in practice by
Now in its fourth edition, this leading introduction to ethnography has been thoroughly updated and substantially rewritten. The volume offers a systematic introduction to ethnographic principles and practice, and includes a new chapter on 'Ethnography in the digital world'. The authors argue that ethnography is best understood as a reflexive process. This requires recognition that social research is part of the world that it studies, and demands that researchers reflect on how they shape both data and analysis. Starting in Chapter 1 with an outline of the principle of reflexivity, against the background of competing research philosophies, the authors go on to discuss the main features of ethnographic work, including: the selection and sampling of cases the problem of access field relations and observation interviewing the use of documents recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities. mp;lt;LI>recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities.
Unobtrusive Methods in Social Research by
"a book all self-respecting social researchers should read" SRA News * What are unobtrusive methods in social research? * How are they undertaken and what are their advantages? * What are the problems associated with their use? Webb et al's 1966 classic, Unobtrusive Methods introduced the concept of unobtrusive research. Since then very little else has been written in the field. This book revisits the ground covered by Webb et al, re-contextualizing it for the information age and putting the case for an increased use of unobtrusive methods. Unobtrusive Methods in Social Research provides an updated discussion of the role of unobtrusive methods in social research. It explores the theoretical underpinnings of Webb et al's approach in order to understand more explicitly how unobtrusive methods are generated and examines some of the wider ethical issues raised by the use of unobtrusive methods in social research. In addition, it offers a discussion of using the Internet as a tool for unobtrusive research. Unobtrusive Methods in Social Research is a worthy successor to Webb et al. It is up to date, comprehensive and clearly written. It will help undergraduates to understand what has become a standard topic on research methods courses and it is hoped that it will encourage postgraduate students and professionals to make more use of unobtrusive methods in their research.
Analysing Qualitative Data in Psychology by
This book will guide your students through five different qualitative approaches - thematic analysis, interpretative phenomenological analysis, grounded theory, narrative analysis and discourse analysis. Applying them all to a common data set, this book gives a step-by-step on each approach and helps students work out which is the right one for them.Plus, with a whole new part on qualitative data collection - including chapters on interviewing, social media data and visual methodologies - this new edition is the ultimate resource for students engaged in qualitative psychological research or studying methods at any level.
Qualitative data analysis : an expanded sourcebook by
The latest edition of this bestselling textbook by Miles and Huberman not only is considerably expanded in content, but is now available in paperback. Bringing the art of qualitative analysis up-to-date, this edition adds hundreds of new techniques, ideas and references developed in the past decade to the corpus contained in the first. The increase in the use of computers in qualitative analysis is also reflected in this volume. There is an extensive appendix on criteria to choose from among the currently available analysis packages. Through examples from a host of social science and professional disciplines, Qualitative Data Analysis remains the most comprehensive and complete treatment of this topic currently available to scholars and applied researchers.
SPSS survival manual : a step by step guide to data analysis using IBM SPSS by
This is a completely updated edition of the internationally successful, user-friendly guide that takes students and researchers through the often daunting process of analysing research data with the widely used SPSS software package. Fully revised and updated for IBM SPSS Statistics Version 21, this text guides you through the entire research process & helps you choose the right data analysis technique for your project. From the formulation of research questions, to the design of the study and analysis of data, to reporting the results, it discusses basic and advanced statistical techniques. It outlines each technique clearly, with step-by-step procedures for performing the analysis, a detailed guide to interpreting data output and an example of how to present the results in a report.
Field methods for academic research - interviews, focus groups and questionnaires in business and management studies by Writing up Your Research by
This new edition of the popular Quick Guide to Writing up your Research has added sections on data management, writing with rigor, common errors in written English and more. There are always challenges in writing up your research. Sometimes the problem is to do with the process of the actual writing itself and other times it concerns how to ensure that all the aspects of the research which have to be mentioned in a research dissertation are included in the right place and to an appropriate level. If this is addressed appropriately, writing up can be accomplished relatively easily, but if it isn't managed well writing up can become a burdensome event. Having a high level overview of what is required when writing up your research is one of the ways of making this job, which many researchers find daunting and arduous, much easier. This book is in four parts: Writing; the Body of the Dissertation; the Leading Pages; and the Appendices. This book contains the information you need to write up a research dissertation or thesis and how to go about producing this work in a controlled and satisfying way. I found the book easy to read and an easy guide to pick up as and when I need it. I also like the number of links the book contains, the glossary of terms and the illustrations which breaks up the text. Elaine Garcia
Writing up the Research: for a Dissertation or Thesis by 
Qualitative research practice : a guide for social science students and researchers by
Why use qualitative methods? What kinds of questions can qualitative methods help you answer? How do you actually do rigorous and reflective qualitative research in the real world? Written by a team of leading researchers associated with NatCen Social Research (the National Centre for Social Research) this textbook leads students and researchers through the entire process of qualitative research from beginning to end - moving through design, sampling, data collection, analysis and reporting. In this fully revised second edition you will find: A practical account of how to carry out qualitative research which recognises a range of current approaches and applications A brand new chapter on ethics A brand new chapter on observational research Updated advice on using software when analysing your qualitative data New case studies which illustrate issues you may encounter and how problems have been tackled by other researchers. This book is an ideal guide for students, practitioners and researchers faced with the challenges of doing qualitative research in both applied and academic settings in messy real-life contexts.
Surviving Your Dissertation : a comprehensive guide to content and process by
Perfect for graduate students as well as behavioural and social scientists who supervise and conduct research! In the fully updated Fourth Editionof their best-selling guide, Surviving Your Dissertation, Rudestam and Newton answer questions concerning every stage of the dissertation process, including: selecting a suitable topic conducting a literature review developing a research question understanding the role of theory selecting an appropriate methodology and research design analysing data interpreting and presenting results. In addition, this must-have guide covers topics that other dissertation guides often miss, such as the many types of quantitative and qualitative research models available, the principles of good scholarly writing, how to work with committees, how to meet IRB and ethical standards, and how to overcome task and emotional blocks. With plenty of current examples, the new edition features an expanded discussion of online research, data collection and analysis, and the use of data archives, as well as expanded coverage of qualitative methods and added information on mixed methods.
Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis by
Interpretative phenomenological analysis (IPA) is a qualitative research approach committed to the examination of how people make sense of their major life experiences. This text provides a detailed guide to conducting IPA research, presenting the theoretical underpinnings of the approach, a comprehensive overview of the stages of an IPA research project, and examples of high-quality IPA studies. Extended worked examples from the authors′ own studies in health, psychological distress, and identity illustrate the breadth and depth of IPA research, making this book the definitive guide to IPA for students and researchers alike. New to this edition: - A thoroughly updated chapter dedicated to analysis - An exemplary mini-study - Improved and updated terminology - A chapter discussing innovations in design, data collection, and collaboration ′It is not often I can use "accessible" and "phenomenology" in the same sentence, but reading the new book, Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis...certainly provides me the occasion to do so. I can say this because these authors provide an engaging and clear introduction to a relatively new analytical approach′ - The Weekly Qualitative Report
Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis by
"'It is not often I can use "accessible" and "phenomenology" in the same sentence, but reading the new book, Interpretative Phenomenological Analysisâe¦certainly provides me the occasion to do so. I can say this because these authors provide an engaging and clear introduction to a relatively new analytical approach"--The Weekly Qualitative ReportThis book presents a comprehensive guide to interpretative phenomenological analysis (IPA) which is an increasingly popular approach to qualitative inquiry taught to undergraduate and postgraduate students today. The first chapter outlines the theoretical foundations for IPA. It discusses phenomenology, hermeneutics, and idiography and how they have been taken up by IPA. The next four chapters provide detailed, step by step guidelines to conducting IPA research: study design, data collection and interviewing, data analysis, and writing up. In the next section, the authors give extended worked examples from their own studies in health, sexuality, psychological distress, and identity to illustrate the breadth and depth of IPA research. Each of these chapters also offers a guide to other good exemplars of IPA research in the designated area. The final section of the book considers how IPA connects with other contemporary qualitative approaches like discourse and narrative analysis and how it addresses issues to do with validity. The book is written in an accessible style and will be extremely useful to students and researchers in psychology and related disciplines in the health and social sciences.
Your Research Project by
In the third edition of this bestselling book, you′ll find everything you need to embark upon your research project and write your proposal with confidence. Written with the needs of undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as practitioners in mind, Your Research Project will guide you through the process of formulating a research question, choosing your research methods, planning your research, and writing your proposal. Fully updated and revised, the new edition features: o A comprehensive introduction to the purpose and nature of research o Expanded coverage of writing a research plan or proposal o An overview of qualitative and quantitative methods of data collection and analysis, as well as more on mixed methods research designs o New sections on digital media and online research methods o Exercises and examples to provide students from across the social sciences with the practical tools needed to succeed in their project. Nicholas Walliman is Senior Lecturer in the School of the Built Environment at Oxford Brookes University.
Your Research Project by
With a calming, reassuring tone, Nicholas Walliman gives you the ability and confidence to plan, design, and prepare for your research project. The new edition of this bestselling book will help you: - Explain research theory within the context of your own project - Curate, structure, and format your literature review - Anticipate the challenges of social media and web-based research - Apply 'how to' tips quickly to your own research planning and design - Monitor your progress in the field with checklists - Develop writing habits to use as a springboard for dissertations, reports, and articles - Build a foundation of practical, general research skills like time management, organization, and critical thinking to carry you beyond your project. New to the 4th Edition: - New step-by-step chapter on how to write a successful research proposal - New chapter ′Writing Strategies′ offers guidelines for different assignments to help carry students beyond their research proposal- More 'How To' examples of literature reviews, proposals and ethics applications- Expanded coverage of literature review strategies - more emphasis on accessing on-line resources and use of the internet- Enhanced checklists of issues for consideration or tasks students should undertake in order to progress their work- More information surrounding online and social media research and implications on information sourcing, ethics, and methods - Increased coverage of the research methods section to include more practical support and additional information on mixed-methods - Further stresses the importance of avoiding plagiarism with an expanded section on this topic.
Introducing qualitative research in psychology by 
Introducing Qualitative Research by
Rosaline Barbour draws on her extensive teaching experience to provide a clear, user-friendly introduction to the craft of doing qualitative research. Each chapter includes examples of real-life qualitative data and a range of exercises to help students get a feel for the process of generating and analysing qualitative data. The second edition includes: New examples from a range of social science disciplines, making this the perfect book no matter what course you're studying More on unobtrusive methods of data collection, such as documentary analysis More on internet research methods, mixed methods and visual methods A new section on using software in qualitative research A brand new companion website full of additional lecturer and student resources.
Qualitative Inquiry by
Qualitative inquiry is not merely a research method or a series of analytic steps, but a holistic process that challenges the age-old qualitative/quantitative dichotomy. This book provides students and researchers with an approachable guide to a range of interpretive perspectives, including thematic, narrative, and arts-based types of inquiry. Fully revised and updated, the Second Edition features: A brand new introduction firmly placing qualitative inquiry in context New further reading sections to guide you deeper into the relevant literature Expanded sections on auto-ethnography and technology A range of examples to demonstrate the application of research techniques Presenting a clear overview of the theory, method and interpretation involved in qualitative inquiry, this book is the ideal starting point for those engaging in arts-based qualitative research.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's The McGuffey Longevity Award In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry. Learn more about John W. Creswell's qualitative research and mixed methods research titles as well as his 2017 spring/summer mixed methods research workshops! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Statistics without maths for psychology by
1 Variables and research design -- Chapter overview -- 1.1 Why teach statistics without mathematical formulae? -- 1.2 Variables -- 1.3 Levels of measurement -- 1.4 Research designs -- 1.5 Between-participants and within-participants designs -- Summary -- Multiple choice questions -- References -- Answers to multiple choice questions -- 2 Introduction to SPSS -- Chapter overview -- 2.1 Basics -- 2.2 Starting SPSS -- 2.3 Working with data -- 2.4 Data entry -- 2.5 Saving your data -- 2.6 Inputting data for between-participants and within-participants designs -- 2.7 Within-participants designs -- Summary -- SPSS exercises -- 3 Descriptive statistics -- Chapter overview -- 3.1 Samples and populations -- 3.2 Measures of central tendency -- 3.3 Sampling error -- SPSS: obtaining measures of central tendency -- 3.4 Graphically describing data -- SPSS: generating graphical descriptives -- 3.5 Scattergrams -- SPSS: generating scattergrams -- 3.6 Sampling error and relationships between variables -- 3.7 The normal distribution
3.8 Variation or spread of distributions -- SPSS: obtaining measures of variation -- 3.9 Other characteristics of distributions -- 3.10 Non-normal distributions -- SPSS: displaying the normal curve on histograms -- 3.11 Writing up your descriptive statistics -- Summary -- SPSS exercises -- Multiple choice questions -- References -- Answers to multiple choice questions -- 4 Probability, sampling and distributions -- Chapter overview -- 4.1 Probability -- 4.2 The standard normal distribution -- 4.3 Applying probability to research -- 4.4 Sampling distributions -- 4.5 Confidence intervals and the standard error -- SPSS: obtaining confidence intervals -- 4.6 Error bar charts -- 4.7 Overlapping confidence intervals -- SPSS: generating error bar charts -- 4.8 Confidence intervals around other statistics -- Summary -- SPSS exercises -- Multiple choice questions -- References -- Answers to multiple choice questions -- 5 Hypothesis testing and statistical significance -- Chapter overview -- 5.1 Another way of applying probabilities to research: hypothesis testing -- 5.2 Null hypothesis -- 5.3 Logic of null hypothesis testing -- 5.4 The significance level -- 5.5 Statistical significance -- 5.6 The correct interpretation of the p-value -- 5.7 Statistical tests -- 5.8 Type I error -- 5.9 Type II error -- 5.10 Why set at 0.05? -- 5.11 One-tailed and two-tailed hypotheses -- 5.12 Assumptions underlying the use of statistical tests -- SPSS: Statistics Coach -- Summary -- SPSS exercises -- Multiple choice questions -- References -- Answers to multiple choice questions -- 6 Correlational analysis: Pearson's r -- Chapter overview -- 6.1 Bivariate correlations -- SPSS: bivariate correlations -- Pearson's r -- SPSS: obtaining a scattergram matrix.
Strategies of Qualitative Inquiry by 
Understanding Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology by
Understanding Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology offers broad-ranging coverage of basic and advanced qualitative and quantitative methods, exploring similarities and tensions between the two; a sequential structure starting from first principles to more advanced techniques; and a commitment to anchoring each of these techniques in relations to real psychological research, laying a foundation of necessary skills that will allow psychology students to confidently carry out their own investigations.Key Features: An organization that works well for students starting at basic level, then moving on to more advanced research methods and statistics study at higher levels;A creative and practical selection of heuristic devices that will cement knowledge of the techniques and skills covered in the textbook; andFully interactive and password protected companion website for instructors and students, providing an array of features to help teaching and learning.Understanding Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology will be essential reading for undergraduate students taking research methods and statistics in psychology. Helen Gavin is Head of the Division of Psychology at the University of Huddersfield, U.K.
Learning to Use Statistical Tests in Psychology by
Praise for the first edition: "An excellent textbook which is well planned, well written, and pitched at the correct level for psychology students. I would not hesitate to recommend Greene and d'Oliveira to all psychology students looking for an introductory text on statistical methodology." Bulletin of the British Psychological Society Learning to Use Statistical Tests in Psychology third edition has been updated throughout. It continues to be a key text in helping students to understand and conduct statistical tests in psychology without panic! It takes students from the most basic elements of statistics teaching them: How psychologists plan experiments and statistical tests Which considerations must be made when planning experiments How to analyze and comprehend test results Like the previous editions, this book provides students with a step-by-step guide to the simplest non-parametric tests through to more complex analysis of variance designs. There are clear summaries in progress boxes and questions for the student to answer in order to be sure that they have understood what they have read. The new edition is divided into four discrete sections and within this structure each test covered is illustrated through a chapter of its own. The sections cover: The principles of psychological research and psychological statistics Statistical tests for experiments with two or three conditions Statistical tests based on ANOVA (Analysis of Variance) conditions as well as tests for multiple comparisons between individual conditions Statistical tests to analyze relationships between variables Presented in a student-friendly textbook format, Learning to Use Psychological Tests in Psychology enables readers to select and use the most appropriate statistical tests to evaluate the significance of data obtained from psychological experiments. An errata sheet detailing the Decision Chart which is referred to can be downloaded by clicking here
Revealing Statistical Principles by
Written by a renowned statistician, this book presents the basic ideas behind the statistical methods commonly used in studies of human subjects. It is an ideal guide for advanced undergraduates who are beginning to do their own research. It presents the basic principles in a non-mathematicalway and is accessible to a wide audience with little background in statistics. It collects a large amount of material scattered throughout the literature and will be an invaluable tool for projects in a wide range of disciplines.
Introduction to Statistics and SPSS in Psychology by
Introduction to Statistics and SPSS in Psychology guides the reader carefully and concisely up the statistics staircase to success. Each step is supported by helpful visuals as well as advice on how to overcome problems. Interactive, lively, but never patronising, this is the complete guide to statistics that will take readers through their degree course from beginning to end. Take a step in the right direction and tackle statistics head on with this visual introduction.
The Visual Display of Quantitative Information by
Paperback edition of Edward Tufte's classic book on statistical charts, graphs, and tables, The Visual Display of Quantitative Information. "Best 100 books of the 20th Century." Amazon.com.
Qualitative research methods for the social sciences by 
Statistics Explained by
Statistics Explained is an accessible introduction to statistical concepts and ideas. It makes few assumptions about the reader's statistical knowledge, carefully explaining each step of the analysis and the logic behind it. The book: provides a clear explanation of statistical analysis and the key statistical tests employed in analysing research data gives accessible explanations of how and why statistical tests are used includes a wide range of practical, easy-to-understand worked examples. Building on the international success of earlier editions, this fully updated revision includes developments in statistical analysis, with new sections explaining concepts such as bootstrapping and structural equation modelling. A new chapter - 'Samples and Statistical Inference' - explains how data can be analysed in detail to examine its suitability for certain statistical tests. The friendly and straightforward style of the text makes it accessible to all those new to statistics, as well as more experienced students requiring a concise guide. It is suitable for students and new researchers in disciplines including Psychology, Education, Sociology, Sports Science, Nursing, Communication, and Media and Business Studies. Presented in full colour and with an updated, reader-friendly layout, this new edition also comes with a companion website featuring supplementary resources for students. Unobtrusive cross-referencing makes it the ideal companion to Perry R. Hinton's SPSS Explained, also published by Routledge. Perry R. Hinton has many years of experience in teaching statistics to students from a wide range of disciplines and his understanding of the problems students face forms the basis of this book.
Introduction to Statistics in Psychology by
Introduction to Statistics in Psychology, 4th edition, is the complete guide to statistics for psychology students. Its range is exceptional in order to meet student needs throughout their undergraduate degree and beyond. By keeping to simple mathematics, step by step explanations of all the important statistical concepts, tests and procedures ensure that students understand data analysis properly. Pedagogical features such as ‘research design issues’, ‘calculations’ and the advice boxes help structure study into manageable sections whilst the overview and key points help with revision. Plus this 4th edition includes even more examples to bring to life how different statistical tests can be used in different areas of psychology.
Introduction to SPSS Statistics in Psychology by
Using this book, students should quickly master statistical analysis with SPSS. Screenshots of all the steps for each statistical technique build students' confidence when performing their own analysis.
Designing Qualitative Research by
The Fourth Edition of this best-selling text, Designing Qualitative Research, once again provides pragmatic guidance for developing and successfully defending proposals for qualitative inquiry. With expanded coverage of ethics, analysis processes, and approaches, authors Catherine Marshall and Gretchen B. Rossman, have updated this highly popular text to reflect the advances and challenges presented by provocative developments and new applications since the previous edition.
Designing Qualitative Research by
Offering clear, easy-to-understand guidance on designing qualitative research, this fully updated Seventh Edition of Marshall and Rossman's bestselling text retains the useful examples, tools, and vignettes that has it such an outstanding resource. The book takes graduate students from selecting a research genre through building a conceptual framework, data collection and interpretation, and arguing the merits of the proposal. Now featuring a new co-author, Gerardo L. Blanco, this edition includes more on the history and new emerging genres of qualitative inquiry, as well as a more sustained and deeper focus on social media and other digital applications in conducting qualitative research. New application activities provide opportunities for students to try out ideas, while timely vignettes illustrate the methodological challenges posed by the intellectual, ethical, political, and technological advances affecting society.
Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics by
Praise from students for Neil Salkind′s Statistics for People Who (Think They) Hate Statistics: "Your book has changed my perception and attitude towards statistics. It is very well written, the language is completely user friendly and the progression of new concepts within each chapter is fantastic. Although my class is only on chapter 5 at this point, I have found my interest in the concepts and order in which you introduce them becoming greater. I thank you with very much appreciation as I was someone who dreaded taking statistics and thought I hated it!" - Jessica Maes, graduate student The Fourth Edition of Neil J. Salkind′s bestselling text introduces students to the fundamentals of basic statistics in an informative, personable, and unintimidating way. The author expertly guides students through various statistical procedures, beginning with basic descriptive statistics and correlation and graphical representation of data and ending with inferential techniques including analysis of variance. This page refers to the edition that is bundled with the student version of SPSS printed. Click here for details about the print version only.
Qualitative Research Practice by
'This book is jam-packed with a wide range of material related to qualitative research.... [T]his is a quality text and has much to offer the reader, especially the novice researcher' - Nurse Researcher `This comprehensive collection of almost 40 chapters - each written by a leading expert in the field - is the essential reference for anyone undertaking or studying qualitative research. It covers a diversity of methods and a variety of perspectives and is a very practical and informative guide for newcomers and experienced researchers alike' - John Scott, University of Essex `The best ways in which to understand the issues and processes informing qualitative research is to learn from the accounts of its leading practitioners. Here they come together in what is a distinctive and wide-ranging collection that will appeal to postgraduates and social researchers in general' - Tim May, University of Salford `This excellent guide engages in a dialogue with a wide range of expert qualitative researchers, each of whom considers their own practice in an illuminating and challenging way. Overall, the book constitutes an authoritative survey of current methods of qualitative research data collection and analysis' - Nigel Gilbert, University of Surrey This concise paperback edition of the best selling handbook, Qualitative Research Practice, is particularly aimed at the student reader. The chapters are written by leading, internationally distinguished qualitative researchers who recount and reflect on their own research experiences as well as others, past and present, from whom they have learned. It demonstrates the benefits of using particular methods from the viewpoint of real-life experience. This is also a good philosophy for students to adopt in planing research work: to begin from a practical conception of the research process and to treat a book like this as an opportunity to learn a valuable craft. From the outside, good research seems to be produced through practitioners learning and following standard theoretical, empirical and procedural formats. But from the inside we learn that qualitative research (like other forms of scientific endeavour) is also a biographical engagement, rendering its scholarly and practical contributions in its own terms. Standards take on practical meaning as the distinct activities of qualitative research resonate throughout the enterprise, complicating its accountability to itself and to others. In an authoritative yet accessible manner, Qualitative Research Practice reveals the special features of this engagement, teaching us that qualitative research is as much a craft and practice as it is a way of knowing. Presenting a comprehensive examination of contemporary and traditional varieties of qualitative research practice, Qualitative Research Practice will be an invaluable resource for advanced students and researchers in any discipline. It is an essential and definitive guide to the major forms of qualitative methods in use today, written by leaders in the relevant fields of research practice.
Doing Qualitative Research by
Need practical advice on how to do your first qualitative research project? This book will guide you through each step of the research process: from brainstorming ideas and working with your supervisor to navigating the field to writing up your results. Driven by examples from other students' projects, the book features discussions on translating social problems into research topics, collecting data in the wake of a pandemic, and guidance from Qualitative Data Analysis Software expert Christian Schmieder to help you summarise, categorise, and review qualitative data. A new chapter on how much data you need answers the age-old question: 'how many interviews or case studies are enough?' It also includes: - Articles and websites to build your bibliography - Questions to test your knowledge - Videos from world-leading qualitative experts - Activities to dig deeper into key concepts and think critically about research - Lessons-learned discussions with other researchers - Exercises to help you choose the right path for your project. Key features: in addition to the online Silverman Workshops, the book includes top tips, end-of-chapter checklists to test your understanding, and annotated further reading so you can develop your knowledge further.
Interpreting Qualitative Data by
Now with entertaining and inspiring videos from the author and a wealth of online resources to support the text the approachable, clear and friendly Sixth Edition of David Silverman′s classic text equips you with the tools to tackle key issues faced by qualitative researchers and establish good practice in your own research.
Qualitative Research by
Written by leaders of qualitative methodology, this book provides up-to-date and interdisciplinary insight into a range of qualitative methods.Bringing together different perspectives, contributors discuss theoretical underpinnings of these methods before taking readers through the process of each approach and helping them develop skills needed to carry out this type of research autonomously and with confidence.Highlights include: New chapters on multimethod qualitative research, using digital data and video, and addressing social issues in research. More guidance on how to store and manage data appropriately. Advice on how to publish research in journals. Full of practical tips, exercises and summaries, this book continues to be a masterclass in qualitative research for students and researchers across the social sciences and beyond.
Researching with Children and Young People by
Researching with Children and Young People covers every stage of the process of doing a research project, from research design and data collection, through to analysis, dissemination, and feedback. Providing an advanced discussion of current debates and methods in childhood research, the book is essential reading for anyone undertaking consultation, research, and evaluation activities with children and young people. The book is structured around five core areas covering: Introduction to research with children and young people Ethics Data collection and analysis Involving children and young people Dissemination and engagement These chapters are interspersed with case studies describing the methods used in eleven different research projects involving children and young people. Written by both academics and practitioners, the case studies cover a wide variety of methods, settings, and approaches. Packed with activities, discussion questions, top tips, research tools, useful suggestions, and practical advice, this text will appeal to practitioners, graduate students, and researchers in education, sociology, human geography, social policy, social work, and nursing.
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology by 
Research methods in health: investigating health and health services. 4th ed. by 
Research in Psychology by
The sixth edition provides psychologists with insight into the essential nature of experimental psychology and a solid grounding in its methods and practices. It has been updated to help them develop research ideas, hypotheses, and design studies. In addition, they'll find out how to carry them out, analyze results and draw reasoned conclusions from them. The chapters have also been updated with the important new developments in research methodologies and fascinating examples from recent studies to provide psychologists with the most up-to-date information in the field.
Research Methods for the Behavioral Sciences by
Appropriate for those who will be working in the social sciences, this book offers comprehensive coverage of both experimental and non-experimental methods. The author provides succinct explanations for a full range of methods, including descriptive, correlational, experimental, and quasi-experimental research designs. Practical tips and applications integrated throughout the text allow readers to make real-world connections and understand the material.qii
Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish by
Dissertations and Theses From Start to Finish: Psychology and Related Fields, Second Edition aids student writers through all the practical, logistical, and emotional stages of writing dissertations and theses. It offers guidance to students through such important steps as: defining topics; selecting faculty advisers; scheduling time to accommodate the project; and, conducting, analyzing, writing, presenting, and publishing research. Readers will find guiding questions, both mundane and sophisticated, which they may never have considered before, even after coursework in preparation for research writing. Authors have thoroughly updated the text for this new edition to reflect new ethical standards for research, new style manuals, and new texts in statistics, as well as current thinking on behavioral science research. They have also updated the 30+ special elements, adding entirely new checklists, diagrams, and sample parts of research papers. Also new to this edition is up-to-date information on computerized literature searches, writing and statistical software, and use of computers for data and schedule management.
Designing and Reporting Experiments in Psychology by
This book will help undergraduate psychology students to write practical reports of experimental and other quantitative studies in psychology. It is designed to help with every stage of the report writing process including what to put in each section and recommendations for formatting and style. It also discusses how to design a study, including how to use and report relevant statistics. As such, the book acts both as an introduction and reference source to be used throughout an undergraduate course. Key features of the new edition include: New pedagogy. Website icons within the text reference an enhanced website, www.openup.co.uk/harris, and 'Common Mistake' icons highlight common errors students should avoid. Statistics icons make reference to two key statistics books* where students can find more detailed information. A further icon indicates the presence of relevant commentary at the end of the book for more advanced students Discussion of how to write up different forms of quantitative study and report relevant statistics Improved self-testing. There are diagnostic questions (with answers at the end of the book) as well as fifty self-assessment questions within the text to aid student learning. Chapters in part two contain a list of methodological and statistical concepts covered that will help students to consolidate their knowledge A completely revised section on how to find and cite references plus current information on how to cite electronic references, incorporating the new APA guidelines Advice on the ethics of conducting research on the Internet * The statistics books referenced are SPSS Survival Manual 3/e by Julie Pallant and Learning to Use Statistical Tests in Psychology 3/e by Judith Greene and Manuela d'Oliveira, both published by Open University Press. However, this book is designed for use with any statistics textbook.
Management Research Methods by
Management Research Methods, first published in 2007, is a comprehensive guide to the design and conduct of research in management-related disciplines such as organisational behaviour, human resource management, industrial relations, and the general field of management. Specifically, the text begins by providing an overview of the research process and in subsequent chapters explains the major types of design used in management research (correlational field studies, experimental and quasi-experimental designs, case studies, historical analysis, and action research). There are also chapters that describe the methods of data collection (interviews, questionnaires, documentation and observation) commonly employed by management researchers. In addition, the text examines the issues of reliability and validity, the construction of multi-item scales, and the methods of quantitative and qualitative analysis. The text concludes with a practical guide explaining how to report research findings and a discussion of the ethical issues in the conduct and practice of research.
Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences by
Now in its 7th edition this textbook is a must have for any health professional student. It provides a comprehensive overview of health research, in a concise and easy to read format using examples directly related to the health sciences. It helps students understand health research models, and how research goes on to inform and improve evidence-based clinical practice. For practitioners it provides guidance on published research in journals, providing an essential tool to keep their practice evidence based. Uses simple language and demystifies research jargon Covers both quantitative and qualitative research methodology, taking a very practical approach Provides an extensive glossary for better understanding of the language of research Fully updated online interactive self-assessment tests including MCQs, true or false questions and short answer questions.
Introduction to Research in the Health Sciences by
This popular textbook provides a concise, but comprehensive, overview of health research as an integrated, problem-solving process. It bridges the gap between health research methods and evidence-based clinical practice, making it an essential tool for students embarking on research. Practitioners also benefit from guidance on interpreting the ever-expanding published research in clinical and scientific journals, to ensure their practice is up to date and evidence-based and to help patients understand information obtained online. "This textbook would be of interest and value both to undergraduate and post-graduate students also." Reviewed by Dr. Richard Ellis on behalf of the New Zealand Journal of Physiotherapy, January 2015 "..excellent at giving an introduction and overview into research methods." Reviewed by Tobias Bremer on behalf of InTouch, July 2015 Uses simple language and demystifies research jargon Covers both quantitative and qualitative research methodology, taking a very practical approach Gives examples directly related to the health sciences Each chapter contains a self-assessment test so that the reader can be sure they know all the important points Provides an extensive glossary for better understanding of the language of research Online interactive self-assessment tests: Multiple choice questions True or false questions Short answer questions Log on to evolve.elsevier.com/Polgar/research and register to access the above assets.
Surveys in Social Research by
David de Vaus' classic text Surveys in Social Research provides clear advice on how to plan, conduct and analyse social surveys. It emphasises the links between theory and research, the logic and interpretation of statistics and the practices of social research. This sixth edition has been completely revised and updated, and contains new examples, data and extensive lists of web resources. As well as explaining how to conduct good surveys, de Vaus shows how to become a critical consumer of research. He argues that the logic of surveys and statistics is simply an extension of the logic we use in everyday life; analysis, however, requires creativity and imagination rather than the application of sterile mechanical procedures. The prime goal of research should be to gain accurate understanding and, as a researcher, use methods and techniques which enhance understanding. De Vaus advocates researchers use the method, rather than letting the method use you. Surveys in Social Research is essential reading for students and researchers working with surveys. It assumes no background in statistical analysis, and gives you the tools you need to come to grips with this often challenging field of work.
Scale Development by
Robert DeVellis demystifies measurement by relating it to familiar experiences and by emphasizing a conceptual rather than a strictly mathematical understanding. Students′ attention is drawn to important concepts that are foundational for subsequent topics, with opportunities provided to test understanding through chapter summaries and exercises. The Fourth Edition includes more attention to content validity and its relationship to scale breadth; a more thorough examination of coefficient alpha′s limitations and remedies; discussion of "big measurement" vs "small measurement"; and additional discussion of the bifactor model in the chapter on factor analysis.
Psychological Testing by
Psychological Testing: A Practical Approach to Design and Evaluation offers a fresh and innovative approach for graduate students and faculty in the fields of testing, measurement, psychometrics, research design, and related areas of study. Author Theresa J.B. Kline guides readers through the process of designing and evaluating a test, while ensuring that the test meets the highest professional standards. The author uses simple, clear examples throughout and fully details the required statistical analyses. Topics include--but are not limited to--design of item stems and responses; sampling strategies; classical and modern test theory; IRT program examples; reliability of tests and raters; validation using content, criterion-related, and factor analytic approaches; test and item bias; and professional and ethical issues in testing.
Health Measurement Scales by
Clinicians and those in health sciences are frequently called upon to measure subjective states such as attitudes, feelings, quality of life, educational achievement and aptitude, and learning style in their patients. This fifth edition of Health Measurement Scales enables these groups toboth develop scales to measure non-tangible health outcomes, and better evaluate and differentiate between existing tools.Health Measurement Scales is the ultimate guide to developing and validating measurement scales that are to be used in the health sciences. The book covers how the individual items are developed; various biases that can affect responses (e.g. social desirability, yea-saying, framing); variousresponse options; how to select the best items in the set; how to combine them into a scale; and finally how to determine the reliability and validity of the scale. It concludes with a discussion of ethical issues that may be encountered, and guidelines for reporting the results of the scaledevelopment process. Appendices include a comprehensive guide to finding existing scales, and a brief introduction to exploratory and confirmatory factor analysis, making this book a must-read for any practitioner dealing with this kind of data.
Statistics for the Behavioral Sciences by 
Intuitive Biostatistics by
Intuitive Biostatistics takes a non-technical, non-quantitative approach to statistics and emphasizes interpretation of statistical results rather than the computational strategies for generating statistical data. This makes the text especially useful for those in health-science fields whohave not taken a biostatistics course before. The text is also an excellent resource for professionals in labs, acting as a conceptually oriented and accessible biostatistics guide. With an engaging and conversational tone, Intuitive Biostatistics provides a clear introduction to statistics forundergraduate and graduate students and also serves as a statistics refresher for working scientists.
Understanding Statistics in the Behavioral Sciences by
This statistics text for social/behavioral science students focuses on making statistics mathematically unintimidating (single subscript notation throughout). Topics are introduced and discussed in conjunction with exciting, contemporary, real-world examples. Includes ample practice problems-all completely solved.
Making Sense of Factor Analysis by
Many health care practitioners and researchers are aware of the need to employ factor analysis in order to develop more sensitive instruments for data collection. Unfortunately, factor analysis is not a unidimensional approach that is easily understood by even the most experienced of researchers. Making Sense of Factor Analysis: The Use of Factor Analysis for Instrument Development in Health Care Research presents a straightforward explanation of the complex statistical procedures involved in factor analysis. Authors Marjorie A. Pett, Nancy M. Lackey, and John J. Sullivan provide a step-by-step approach to analyzing data using statistical computer packages like SPSS and SAS. Emphasizing the interrelationship between factor analysis and test construction, the authors examine numerous practical and theoretical decisions that must be made to efficiently run and accurately interpret the outcomes of these sophisticated computer programs. This accessible volume will help both novice and experienced health care professionals to Increase their knowledge of the use of factor analysis in health care research Understand journal articles that report the use of factor analysis in test construction and instrument development Create new data collection instruments Examine the reliability and structure of existing health care instruments Interpret and report computer-generated output from a factor analysis run Making Sense of Factor Analysis: The Use of Factor Analysis for Instrument Development in Health Care Research offers a practical method for developing tests, validating instruments, and reporting outcomes through the use of factor analysis. To facilitate learning, the authors provide concrete testing examples, three appendices of additional information, and a glossary of key terms. Ideal for graduate level nursing students, this book is also an invaluable resource for health care researchers.
Doing Focus Groups by
Focus groups are a popular method for collecting qualitative data in the social sciences. Doing Focus Groups provides a concise, practical introduction to planning and organizing successful focus groups. Barbour discusses the advantages and limitations of using group discussion and demonstrates effective methods for collecting and analyzing data. This is a perfect how-to introduction to getting the most out of your focus group research.
Grounded Theory by
This highly practical book introduces the whole range of grounded theory approaches, providing a comprehensive description of the strategies and techniques employed in this methodology. Unlike most existing books in this area, it is not written from a particular philosophical standpoint, and is the ideal first introduction for any student or researcher looking to use grounded theory in their analysis for the first time. Birks and Mills' accessible and highly-readable text is driven by practical case examples throughout to help the reader get to grips with the process of doing grounded theory analysis for themselves. The book deploys a variety of educational activities to guide readers through both the principles and the application of grounded theory, making this an ideal starter text for those new to the approach. This updated Second Edition: guides the reader through each step of the grounded theory process clearly explains how to memo effectively, using examples includes a chapter which explains the difference between data generation and collection features information on how to use digital resources to manage data discusses the philosophy and ethics of grounded theory within the qualitative paradigm.
Constructing Grounded Theory by
`Grounded theory is a highly influential way of working with qualitative data and Kathy Charmaz is a major player, both innovative and fluent. This book is a model student text: lively, carefully argued and full of vivid illustrations. Beginning students and professional researchers will find it to be required reading′ - David Silverman, Professor Emeritus, Sociology Department, Goldsmiths College and Visiting Professor, Management Department, King′s College, University of London Kathy Charmaz is one of the world′s leading theorists and exponents of grounded theory. In this important and essential new textbook, she introduces the reader to the craft of using grounded theory in social research, and provides a clear, step-by-step guide for those new to the field. Using worked examples throughout, this book also maps out an alternative vision of grounded theory to that put forward by its founding thinkers, Glaser and Strauss. To Charmaz, grounded theory must move on from its positivist origins and must incorporate many of the methods and questions posed by constructivists over the past twenty years to become a more nuanced and reflexive practice. Essential reading for students, new researchers and seasoned social scientists alike, this book is one of those rare things, a textbook that is both accessible to those new to the field but also one that has important things to say about the nature of social enquiry itself.
Situational Analysis by
The Second Edition of Situational Analysis: Grounded Theory After the Interpretive Turn offers an innovative extension of grounded theory useful in qualitative research projects that draws on interviews, observations, and visual, narrative, and historical discourse materials. To engage the dense complexities of real world situations, Situational Analysis (SA) braids together Strauss's ecological social worlds/arenas theory, Foucault's discourse analysis, and Deleuze and Guattari's rhizomes and assemblages. In SA, the situation itself becomes the fundamental unit of analysis. Using extensive examples, the authors discuss getting started, how to create three kinds of maps emphasizing differences and relationality (situational maps, social world/arena maps, and positional maps), the kinds of analytic work they accomplish, and how to write up the results centered on the distinctive strengths of the method. The book will serve as an invaluable resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate-level students, as well as professional researchers and consultants from diverse backgrounds pursuing qualitative projects.
Ethnography by
Now in its fourth edition, this leading introduction to ethnography has been thoroughly updated and substantially rewritten. The volume offers a systematic introduction to ethnographic principles and practice, and includes a new chapter on 'Ethnography in the digital world'. The authors argue that ethnography is best understood as a reflexive process. This requires recognition that social research is part of the world that it studies, and demands that researchers reflect on how they shape both data and analysis. Starting in Chapter 1 with an outline of the principle of reflexivity, against the background of competing research philosophies, the authors go on to discuss the main features of ethnographic work, including: the selection and sampling of cases the problem of access field relations and observation interviewing the use of documents recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities. mp;lt;LI>recording and organizing data the process of data analysis and writing research reports. There is also consideration of the ethical issues involved in ethnographic research. Throughout, the discussion draws on a wide range of illustrative material from classic and more recent studies, within a global context. The new edition of this popular textbook will be an indispensable resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students, and for all researchers using ethnographic methods in the social sciences and the humanities.
Interviews in Qualitative Research by
This dynamic user-focused book will help you to get the data you want from your interviews. It provides practical guidance regarding technique, gives top-tips from real world case studies and shares achievable checklists and interview plans. Whether you are doing interviews in your own research or just using other researchers' data, this book will tell you everything you need to know about designing, planning, conducting and analyzing quality interviews. It explains how to: - Construct ethical research designs - Record and manage your data - Transcribe your notes - Analyse your findings - Disseminate your conclusions Written using clear, jargon-free terminology and with coverage of practical, theoretical and philosophical issues all grounded in examples from real interviews, this is the ideal guide for new and experienced researchers alike. Nigel King is Professor of Applied Psychology at the University of Huddersfield. Christine Horrocks is Professor of Applied Social Psychology and Head of the Department of Psychology at Manchester Metropolitan University. Joanna Brooks is Lecturer in the Manchester Centre for Health Psychology at the University of Manchester.
Content Analysis by
The Second Edition of Content Analysis: An Introduction to Its Methodology is a definitive sourcebook of the history and core principles of content analysis as well as an essential resource for present and future studies. The book introduces readers to ways of analyzing meaningful matter such as texts, images, voices - that is, data whose physical manifestations are secondary to the meanings that a particular population of people brings to them. Organized into three parts, the book examines the conceptual and methodological aspects of content analysis and also traces several paths through content analysis protocols. The author has completely revised and updated the Second Edition, integrating new information on computer-aided text analysis. The book also includes a practical guide that incorporates experiences in teaching and how to advise academic and commercial researchers. In addition, Krippendorff clarifies the epistemology and logic of content analysis as well as the methods for achieving its aims. Intended as a textbook for advanced undergraduate and graduate students across the social sciences, Content Analysis, Second Edition will also be a valuable resource for practitioners in a variety of disciplines.
Focus Groups by
This updated edition of Krueger and Casey's bestselling, practical book walks readers step by step through the "how-tos" of conducting focus group research. Using an engaging, straightforward writing style, the authors draw on their many years of hands-on experience in the field to cut through theory and offer practical guidance on every facet of the focus group process, including tips for avoiding problems and pitfalls. The Fifth Edition reflects the most recent research and technological innovations and includes new coverage on planning with analysis in mind; creating conversational questions that have the potential for producing unique and valuable insights; the art of hosting a focus group; common sense thinking about reporting; more efficient strategies for planning the study; and emerging areas of focus group research, such as conducting cross-cultural, international, and Internet focus groups.
InterViews by
The First Edition of InterViews has provided students and professionals in a wide variety of disciplines with the "whys" and "hows" of research interviewing, preparing students for learning interviewing by doing interviews and by studying examples of best practice. The thoroughly revised Second Edition retains its original seven-stage structure, continuing to focus on the practical, epistemological, and ethical issues involved with interviewing. Authors Steinar Kvale and Svend Brinkmann also include coverage of newer developments in qualitative interviewing, discussion of interviewing as a craft, and a new chapter on linguistic modes of interview analysis. Practical and conceptual assignments, as well as new "tool boxes," provide students with the means to dig deeper into the material presented and achieve a more meaningful level of understanding. New to This Edition · Includes new developments in qualitative interviewing: New materials cover narrative, discursive, and conversational analyses. · Presents interviewing as a social practice: Knowledge produced by interviewing is discussed as linguistic, conversational, narrative, relational, situated, and pragmatic. · Addresses a variety of interviews forms: In addition to harmonious, empathetic interviews, the authors also cover confrontational interviews. Intended Audience This text is ideal for both novice and experienced interview researchers as well as graduate students taking courses in qualitative and research methods in the social sciences and health sciences, particularly departments of Education, Nursing, Sociology, Psychology, and Communication. Praise for the previous edition: "I think this is one of the most in-depth treatments of the interview process that I have seen. The frank and realistic approach that the authors take to this topic is rather unique and will be very reassuring to researchers who are undertaking an interview study for the first time." --Lisa M. Diamond, University of Utah
The Content Analysis Guidebook by
Content analysis is one of the most important yet complex research methodologies in the social sciences. The author provides an accessible text for upper-level undergraduates and graduate students, comprising step-by-step instructions and practical advice.
Qualitative Interviewing by
The book describes in-depth qualitative interviewing from the very beginning to last step, from its underlying philosophy and assumptions to project design, analysis and write up. In responsive interviewing, the stages of research-design, data gathering, and analysis-are intimately linked. Researchers perform analysis throughout their projects, not just at the end, so that as they learn more, they can modify both the research problem they are exploring and the questions they ask. The book assumes no prior knowledge or experience, and the authors′ tone is conversational, revealing that interviewers can make mistakes, recover from them and still obtain rich and meaningful information.
Qualitative Content Analysis in Practice by
This book takes students step-by-step through the process of doing qualitative content analysis. Margrit Schreier show how to: create a coding frame; segment the material; try out the coding frame; evaluate the trial coding and then carry out the main coding; and consider what comes next. She also discusses software choices for doing qualitative content analysis. Each part of the process is described in detail and research examples are provided to illustrate each step. Frequently asked questions are answered, the most important points are summarized, and end of chapter questions provide an opportunity to check for understanding.
Basics of Qualitative Research by
A landmark volume in the study of qualitative methods, the book presents methods that enable researchers to analyze and interpret their data, and ultimately build theory from it. Highly accessible in their approach, authors Juliet Corbin and Anselm Strauss (late of the University of San Francisco and co-creator of grounded theory) provide a step-by-step guide to the research act, from the formation of the research question through several approaches to coding and analysis, to reporting on the research. Significantly revised and full of definitions and illustrative examples, this highly accessible book concludes with chapters that present criteria for evaluating a study, as well as responses to common questions posed by students of qualitative research.
