Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Psychological Aspects of Health reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Key Concepts in Health Psychology by While current textbooks in health psychology offer the reader some conceptual reasoning about different aspects of the discipline, there is no one source which provides an accessible, navigable and cross-referenced analysis of the major models and ideas in health psychology. Key Concepts in Health Psychology provides a `one stop′ analysis of key issues, theories, models and methods in contemporary health psychology. It enables the reader to engage with a full range of approaches and methods in the field, and importantly to be able to appreciate the relationships between these.
Call Number: 613.019 ALB
Publication Date: 2008
Health Psychology: a Textbook 5th edn. by Thoroughly revised to reflect recent research, theory and practice in health psychology, this market bestseller includes new coverage of topical issues such as behaviour change strategies, health inequalities, exercise dependence, caffeine use and men's health. Now organized into five sections, the book follows a health-illness continuum model, covering theory and research related to the context of health, health beliefs and behaviours, becoming ill and being ill, with the final section describing how students can learn to think more critically about all aspects of health psychology. The new edition also includes five new chapters: * Health inequalities - depicts health variation by gender, social class and geography and describes possible explanations for this * Health promotion - describes a wide range of theories and strategies used to change behaviour including CBT, motivational interviewing, relapse prevention, fear appeals and the use of technology * Health access - examines patient contact with health professionals, with a focus on help seeking behaviour (and delay), screening, communication and adherence * Men's health - explores gender differences in life expectancy and causes of mortality, men's health related behaviours, their health beliefs, social norms of masculinity and emotional expression * Being critical - offers a detailed analysis of how to be more critical, with a focus on thinking about theory, constructs, methodology and measurement Many brand new examples are introduced, covering: post traumatic stress symptoms, exercise and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, post traumatic growth and benefit finding, measurement issues for adherence, eating, exercise, social support and coping, visualization and illness cognitions and the response shift. Health Psychology, 5th edition is essential reading for all students and researchers of health psychology. It will also be invaluable to students of medicine, nursing and allied health. "Jane Ogden writes in an uncomplicated manner but without doing injustice to the complexities of the theories and research being described." Roger Ingham, Professor of Health and Community Psychology, University of Southampton, UK "Students are provided with clear, up-to-date and accessible information on the major theoretical and empirical issues in health psychology. There are five new chapters and the one on health promotion is particularly impressive." Ad A. Kaptein, Professor of Medical Psychology, Leiden University Medical Centre, The Netherlands
Call Number: 616.0019 OGD + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Essential Readings in Health Psychology by This book, a collection of key papers for students of health psychology, follows the structure of the same author's Health Psychology: A Textbook, which has made a major contribution to the teaching and study of this rapidly expanding discipline. This text has additional chapters on methodology; the social context; behaviour and health; and health across the lifespan. Each chapter is introduced by a brief overview and contains papers which have been chosen either for their theoretical importance or as good empirical indicators of a model. The examples use a range of methodologies from qualitative to quantitative, with the latter including experimental and cross-sectional studies and systematic reviews. The book draws mainly from psychological theories, but also includes those from related disciplines.
Call Number: 613.019 OGD
Publication Date: 2007
Health Psychology by Since the first edition was published in 1986, Health Psychology has helped thousands of college students learn how to maintain their health and guard against illness. The goal of this book has always been to make research accessible in a way that integrates theory with practical applications so that people can lead healthier lives. The importance of social relationships, health behaviors, and co-management of health and illness are themes that are woven throughout the text. The Connect course for this offering includes SmartBook, an adaptive reading and study experience which guides students to master, recall, and apply key concepts while providing automatically-graded assessments. Digital * Connect®--The Connect Suite effectively engages students in the course so they are better prepared for class, more active in discussion, and achieve better results. Its innovative and adaptive technology addresses a wide variety of student and instructor needs with a rich database of assignable and assessable activities, each attached to learning objectives. Connect, part of the Connect suite, is a web-based assignment and assessment platform that features a number of powerful tools that make managing assignments easier for instructors and learning and studying more engaging and efficient for students. * Connect InsightTM--As part of the Connect Suite, InsightTM puts real-time analytics in your hands so you can take action early and keep struggling students from falling behind. Designed for your tablet or desktop computer, Insight is a series of visual displays providing at-a-glance information regarding how your section, students, and assignments are doing. * SmartBook--As part of the Connect Suite, SmartBook is the first and only adaptive reading and learning experience that changes the way students read. It creates a personalized, interactive reading environment like no other by highlighting important concepts, while helping students identify their strengths and weaknesses. This ensures that he or she is focused on the content needed to close specific knowledge gaps, while it simultaneously promotes long term learning. * LearnSmart--As part of the Connect Suite, LearnSmart is an adaptive learning program designed to help students learn faster, study smarter, and retain more knowledge for greater success. Millions of students have answered billions of questions in LearnSmart, making it the most widely used tool that's proven to strengthen memory recall, retain student attendance, and boost grades.
Call Number: 616.89 TAY
Publication Date: 2018