Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Psychology and Crime reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Psychology and Crime by Crime is an expensive aspect of society, and each year huge amounts of public money are spent on the courts, police, probation services, and prisons, while the human costs in terms of pain, fear and loss is incalculable. Psychology and Crime comprehensively covers the vital role of psychological theories and methods in understanding and managing criminal behaviour. It analyzes in depth the application of psychological findings to a range of serious crimes, such as arson, violent crime, and sexual crime. It examines the use of psychology by the police and the courts and discusses the role of psychology in crime reduction strategies. Written by a leading authority on the subject and informed by over twenty years of teaching experience, the second edition of this popular text has been thoroughly revised and updated to take account of the most recent research in the field. New features also include: Expansive coverage of the development of criminal behaviour; Chapter summaries and end-of-chapter discussion points; Text boxes throughout highlighting key issues, debates and brief histories; Supplementary online resources at www.routledge.com/cw/hollin. Psychology and Crime is an essential introduction and reference for undergraduate and postgraduate students in psychology, criminology, sociology and related subjects. It also represents an invaluable resource for professional training courses and anyone planning a career in the criminal justice system.
Call Number: 364.3 HOL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology by Chapter - 'Criminological Psychology by Hollin, C.R. pp 81-112
The most comprehensive and authoritative single volume text on the subject, the fifth edition of the acclaimed Oxford Handbook of Criminology combines masterly reviews of all the key topics with extensive references to aid further research.In addition to the history of the discipline and reviews of different theoretical perspectives, the book provides up-to-date reviews of diverse topics as public views about crime and justice, youth crime and justice and state crime and human rights.The fifth edition has been substantially revised and updated so that it covers topics being taught at undergraduate level as well as encapsulating the latest developments in the academic and practical spheres of criminology. An impressive line-up of contributors, experts in their respective fields,means the Oxford Handbook of Criminology will continue to be an essential purchase for all students and teachers of criminology and an indispensable resource for professionals.Online Resource Centre* Selected chapters from previous editions* Details about the contributors* Guidance on answering essay questions* Essay questions* Selected further reading* Weblinks* Figures and tables from the text
Call Number: 364 MAG
Publication Date: 2012
Criminal Behavior: A psychological approach 10th edn. by CRIMINAL BEHAVIOR: A PSYCHOLOGICAL APPROACH, approaches the understanding of delinquent and criminal behavior from a psychological perspective—with particular focus on the developmental, cognitive-behavioral aspects of offending. Viewing the juvenile and adult offender as being embedded and continually influenced by multiple systems, it highlights how psychological, social, economic, political and ecological factors all play a role in influencing individual behavior. Streamlined in this edition, it offers a separate chapter on delinquency, updated examples and more on the link between psychology and specific crimes.
Call Number: 364.3 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Understanding Psychology and Crime by "This is an exceptional book that comprehensively covers the interface between psychology and criminology regarding an empirical understanding of crime. It is written in an engaging and accessible manner, nicely linking key themes in order to situate the contribution of psychology to theories of criminal behaviour, strategies for informed practice, and contemporary challenges. It should prove to be an incredible resource for students, but also be of interest to researchers and clinicians. I cannot recommend this text more heartily." Dr Ralph Serin, Carleton University, Canada "James McGuire is one of the leading international experts on what works in reducing reoffending, and he has written an extremely valuable and accessible textbook on psychology and crime. The book is a clearly written, well-researched and up-to-date survey of important contributions of psychology to key criminological issues. It is especially noteworthy for its illuminating reviews of cognitive-social learning theories, risk factors and longitudinal studies, risk assessment, cognitive-behavioural programmes and meta-analyses of treatment effectiveness." Professor David Farrington, Institute of Criminology, University of Cambridge What contributions can psychology make to our understanding of crime? How can psychological models and research help to prevent crime and reduce repeat offending? This highly readable book discusses the complex relationships between psychology, criminology and criminal justice. Challenging the assumptions of those who object to the use of psychology within criminology, this book shows how a methodical approach to the study of criminal behaviour can generate both systematic findings and practical solutions to problems. McGuire argues for a broader understanding of crime, based on factors such as the individual's cognitive and emotional development, in addition to the influences of socialization, peer groups, and the social and economic environment. He highlights the value of understanding 'pathways' to offending behaviour, and the critical points at which choices are made. Topics include: Theoretical and empirical research foundations of 'criminogenic risk factors' Theory turned into practice - the development of offending behaviour programmes A psychological perspective on some core concepts in criminology: retribution, deterrence and incapacitation Major practical applications of psychology in policing, prosecution and sentencing This authoritative and stimulating text is essential reading for students in criminology and psychology and for criminal justice practitioners and policy makers.
Call Number: 364.3 + eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Psychology and Crime by Society today is fascinated by crime. Crime is a hot topic in the media, so that people are continually exposed to criminal events, portrayals of those who commit them, and the suffering of victims. Yet the reality of crime is often very different from how it is portrayed in the media. Most crime is neither violent nor morbid; most offenders are not psychopaths, and although prison generally does not work, there may well be other, less punitive but more constructive interventions that are actually quite effective. This book exposes some of the most prevalent myths about crime and criminal behaviour. In addition it provides the reader with up-to-date knowledge on crime and offending behaviour. It also highlights the ways in which psychological methods of research and psychological knowledge can help us to understand criminal behaviour and the ways that targeted interventions are developed based upon this. Pakes' and Winstone's Psychology and Crime is essential reading for students taking courses in the psychology of crime, criminal and forensic psychology, criminology, and community justice, as well as for other courses where a knowledge of the complex relationship between psychology and crime - and its application in practice - is required. Practitioners and policy-makers will also find it highly informative.
Call Number: 364.3 PAK +eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The Psychology of Criminal Conduct by Taken from published reviews: " Dr Blackburn has written aremarkably good book; indeed, the best book on the topic fromeither side of the Atlantic I have read. the breadth of the authors knowledge is nothing short of encyclopaedic. Not only psychologydevelopmental and social, as well as clinical but also psychiatry,biology, philosophy, and law are addressed in this volume. Finally,the book is written with clarity, economy, and a lucid style. It isas inviting and user-friendly as any work of such complexity canbe. I hope that it will find its way into psychiatry residencytraining programmes as well. It could do wonders for replacingturf-battles with common ground." Criminal Behaviour & MentalHealth " The scholarly breadth and accuracy of this work areremarkable. There seems to be no important contribution to ourpsychological understanding of crime which Blackburn has omitted todiscuss, including those approaches from sociological and socialpsychology which are frequently neglected in straightforwardpsychological treatments. Moreover, all approaches areintelligently and sympathetically discussed." Expert Evidence " Thevolume is infused with the author s enthusiasm for a socialcognitive perspective on offending behaviour, but he also robustlydefends the utility of the notion of personality traits. Overall,this book brings together a vast array of research and theoryexamined from the perspective of the clinician involved with theindividual. It will almost certainly become the key background textfor post-graduate courses teaching forensic psychology and would bea valuable addition to the bookshelf of any clinician with forensicconcerns." Clinical Psychology Forum " This is undoubtedly animportant book. The end result is a book of excellent quality,which I recommend most warmly to clinical psychologists, andindeed, to anybody who is interested in criminological psychology." Behaviour Research and Therapy " This author is to becongratulated for having produced this impressive volume. Itprovides a comprehensive review which is critical yetwell-balanced. It assumes no prior familiarity with the field, andspecialists from many different disciplines will learn a great dealfrom it." Criminal Law Review
Call Number: 364.3 BLA
Publication Date: 1998
Psychology and Crime by Peter B. Ainsworth examines the relationship of psychology to crime, criminals and the different stages and aspects of the criminal justice system in this student text that will also be relevant to general readers trained in law.
Call Number: 364.3 AIN
Publication Date: 2000
Psychology in Probation Services by This book serves as a route map for psychologists and probation officers working in probation services. Outlines the strategic framework for psychological services across prisons and probation. Gives an up-to-date picture of some key emerging areas of applied psychological practice in probation settings. Covers the development of applied psychological services, court work, mental health, working with sex offenders, risk assessment, group work, cognitive skills, multi-agency public protection panels, and lifer assessments. The editors are Deputy Head and Head of Psychology for Prisons and Probation Services, and therefore well placed to compile this book. Complements Graham Towl's book Psychology in Prisons (BPS Blackwell, 2003).
Call Number: 364.63019 CRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
An Introduction to Criminal Psychology by This book offers a clear, up-to-date, comprehensive, and theoretically informed introduction to criminal psychology, exploring how psychological explanations and approaches can be integrated with other perspectives drawn from evolutionary biology, neurobiology, sociology, and criminology. Drawing on examples from around the world, it considers different types of offences from violence and aggression to white-collar and transnational crime, and links approaches to explaining crime with efforts to prevent crime and to treat and rehabilitate offenders. This revised and expanded second edition offers a thorough update of the research literature and introduces several new features, including: detailed international case studies setting the scene for each chapter, promoting real-world understanding of the topics under consideration; a fuller range of crime types covered, with new chapters on property offending and white-collar, corporate, and environmental crime; detailed individual chapters exploring prevention and rehabilitation, previously covered in a single chapter in the first edition; an array of helpful features including learning objectives, review and reflect checkpoints, annotated lists of further reading, and two new features: 'Research in Focus' and 'Criminal Psychology Through Film'. This textbook is essential reading for upper undergraduate students enrolled in courses on psychological criminology, criminal psychology, and the psychology of criminal behaviour. Designed with the reader in mind, student-friendly and innovative pedagogical features support the reader throughout.
Call Number: 364.3 DUR + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Psychology and Crime by What does a Criminological Psychologist do? The popular image is that of a latter-day Sherlock Holmes helping the police to solve crimes and mysteries, but the reality is much more complex. Psychology and Crime is a new introduction to the topic of Criminological Psychology that helps dispel these popular myths by providing a comprehensive overview of the topic of Criminological Psychology. The book includes both classic and contemporary psychological theory and research on a range of criminological issues including the nature, measurement and causes of crime, police work and offender profiling, eye-witness memory, trial procedures, jury decision making and the treatment of crime. Putwain and Sammons have produced an introductory text which covers the material on this topic in the A2 components of the AQA-B, OCR and Edexcel A-Level specifications. Psychology and Crime is also ideal for undergraduate students looking for an introduction to criminological psychology and for students studying psychology and media. It will also be useful for those who work in fields related to criminology such as the police and probation services, social workers and therapists.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Psychology in Prisons by Edited by the Head of Psychology for Her Majesty's Prison Service and the National Probation Service, this book gives an account of the work of psychologists in Her Majesty's prisons. Edited by the Head of Psychology for Her Majesty's Prison and Probation Services. Looks at the work of psychologists in prisons. Contributors look at the background, current practice and likely future directions for each topic.
Call Number: 365 TOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2003