Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
An Introduction to Qualitative Research by
The definitive guide to the full qualitative research process, from design to dissemination, this is everything you need to understand how good quality research is produced, and how to use and enrich your own work with it. New to this edition: - A new structure follows the research process step-by-step - Brand new chapter on digital methods and social media data explores cutting-edge research - Multi-disciplinary case studies give you real research examples whatever your subject - Focused reading exercises help you explore the literature and build a better bibliography - Integrated online resources, to master the key concepts, discover real research and track your progress An Introduction to Qualitative Research has everything a social science student needs to understand and explore the richness of qualitative research.
Call Number: 300.723 FLI
Publication Date: 2019
Analysing Qualitative Data in Psychology by
Analysing Qualitative Data in Psychology is a clear, step-by-step guide linking theory with practice, that offers a unique combination of perspectives on five qualitative approaches: grounded theory, interpretative phenomenological analysis, discourse analysis, narrative analysis and thematic analysis that can be applied to a common data set. This text provides practical advice and guidance from experts as well as a comparison of the different methods, which will help students decide the approach that's right for them and their research project. The second edition of this text: Introduces a fifth, additional qualitative approach, Thematic Analysis Explores the ethical challenges of qualitative work Takes a look at mixed methods and pluralist research Includes worked-out examples of qualitative analyses and brand new tools for learning, including 'road maps' for qualitative analysis Analysing Qualitative Data in Psychology, Second Edition is the perfect text for psychology students engaged in qualitative research or studying research methods, at either undergraduate or postgraduate level.
Call Number: 150.721 LYO + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Qualitative Research Practice by
Why use qualitative methods? What kinds of questions can qualitative methods help you answer? How do you actually do rigorous and reflective qualitative research in the real world? Written by a team of leading researchers associated with NatCen Social Research (the National Centre for Social Research) this textbook leads students and researchers through the entire process of qualitative research from beginning to end - moving through design, sampling, data collection, analysis and reporting. In this fully revised second edition you will find: A practical account of how to carry out qualitative research which recognises a range of current approaches and applications A brand new chapter on ethics A brand new chapter on observational research Updated advice on using software when analysing your qualitative data New case studies which illustrate issues you may encounter and how problems have been tackled by other researchers. This book is an ideal guide for students, practitioners and researchers faced with the challenges of doing qualitative research in both applied and academic settings in messy real-life contexts.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 RIT
Publication Date: 2014
British Psychological Society - the website has sections for Social and Developmental Psychologists. The BPS provides resources such as the BPS Research Digest, links to journals, publications, and ethical guidelines.
The Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS) - provides a wide range of secondary data for analysis, including both quantitative and qualitative data.
British Sociological Association - This website provides information on what sociology is, what sociological research is as well as information on ethics, equality and diversity in research. It also includes ‘Youth Studies’ study group.
The British Society of Criminology - The website includes many good resources on research, publications and networks.