Successful qualitative research : a practical guide for beginners by
*Shortlisted for the BPS Book Award 2014 in the Textbook Category* *Winner of the 2014 Distinguished Publication Award (DPA) from the Association for Women in Psychology (AWP)* Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners is an accessible, practical textbook. It sidesteps detailed theoretical discussion in favor of providing a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. Uniquely, the authors provide a "patterns framework" to qualitative data analysis in this book, also known as "thematic analysis." The authors walk students through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches. This discussion of commonalities, explaining why and when each method should be used, and in the context of looking at patterns, will provide students with complete confidence for their qualitative research journey. This textbook will be an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates taking a course in qualitative research or using qualitative approaches in a research project.
Social Research Methods by
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with unrivalled coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods, making it invaluable for anyone embarking on social research. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods, Fifth Edition, is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects. In addition to providing practical advice, author Alan Bryman deftly explores the nature of social research and the wider issues impinging on it.
The good research guide : for small-scale social research projects by 
Translating Psychological Research into Practice by
It is refreshing to see both a researcher's and a clinician's viewpoint. The case examples in the clinician sections are great learning tools. This is a wonderful reference for both new therapists and seasoned veterans. Researchers also will learn how clinicians use theories in the real world. Score: 92, 4 Stars√>=Doody's Medical Reviews "The format, whereby the evidence for efficacy of psychological interventions for the problem in question is reviewed by an expert followed by a clinician presenting a case where these treatments were actually utilized, and the real-life problems one runs up against in the course of treatment is innovative enough. But then to repeat this for 65 different problems in a manageable and succinct format represents a true integration of science and practice in a way that will move us forward." √>=David H. Barlow, PhD, ABPP, Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders, Boston University It is only through the development of true partnerships between researchers and clinicians that mental health treatment can achieve an optimal level of success. This highly accessible desk reference will assist clinicians in easily incorporating findings from current evidence-based research into their day-to-day practice. It bridges the gap between empirical research and the needs of practicing clinicians and clinicians-in-training. The guide brings together respected researchers and clinicians to discuss approaches to treating over 60 problem areas for adults, adolescents, and children. It provides concise, easily digestible summaries of the most current evidence-based research regarding interventions for many of the most common clinical disorders and mental health issues encountered in everyday clinical practice. These summaries present research that has been translated by experienced clinicians into practical applications that can be easily incorporated in therapeutic practice. Research coverage of each problem area includes: Brief description Incidence/ prevalence data Summary findings of best practices for treatment Suggestions for research directions Key references for further consultation The corresponding clinical application includes: Response to the research summary Case example that applies the evidence-based research to clinical practice Identification of challenges and cultural considerations in applying these interventions Suggestions for future research Key references By presenting the perspectives of the mental health researcher and clinician side by side, this reference facilitates an important dialogue that narrows the gap between research and practice and ultimately fosters better mental health outcomes for clients. Key Features: Covers over 60 of the most frequently encountered disorders and issues for both adult and pediatric clients that mental health clinicians face today Brings together leading researchers and clinicians to discuss their approaches to treating a clinical problem area Summarizes the current research on treatments in each problem area Interprets research for clinicians, offering practice wisdom that helps them become more effective evidence-based practitioners
Researching Young People's Lives by
'Researching young people's lives will be useful to both the novice researcher and anyone interested in learning about new methods of practice' - Youth Studies Australia Researching Young People's Lives provides an overview of some of the key methodological challenges facing youth researchers and an introduction to the broad repertoire of methods used in youth-orientated research. The book is split into two sections. In the first half of the book, the authors consider the broad methodological and contextual concerns of relevance to the design and conduct of youth research, including ethical issues, the importance of context, and the rise of participatory approaches to youth research. The second part of the book focuses on the use of specific research methods in the conduct of youth research, ranging from surveys and secondary analysis through to interviewing, ethnography, visual methods, and the use of the internet in youth research. Throughout the book, the emphasis is on research in practice, and examples are drawn from recent youth research projects from a wide range of disciplines and substantive areas, and from a range of both UK and non-UK contexts. This is an ideal introduction to the field for novice researchers, in particular students studying and researching in the broad area of youth studies. It should also appeal to practitioners engaged in evaluation of service provision to young people, and to established youth researchers who might wish to explore the potential of using a different set of methods to those with which they are already familiar.
Qualitative psychology : a practical guide to research methods by
Undertaking qualitative research in psychology can seem like a daunting and complex process, especially when it comes to selecting the most appropriate approach for your project or assignment. This book, written and edited by a world-leading group of academics and researchers, offers an accessible, critical and practical way into qualitative research in psychology. Each chapter provides a detailed, step-by-step guide to using a qualitative research method - from Conversation Analysis or Focus Groups to Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis or Narrative Psychology. Whatever approach you choose to take, this book will ensure you get it right from the start. New to this Third Edition: A chapter on Thematic Analysis A section on how to choose and select the most appropriate method for your project
The Interpreted World by
Praise for First Edition: `This book is highly recommended to a wide range of people as a clear and systematic introduction to phenomenological psychology... the book has set the stage for possible new colloquia between the phenomenological and other approaches in psychology′ - Changes `As a trainee interested in matters existential, I have been put off in the past by the long-winded and confusing texts usually available in academic libraries. Thankfully, here is a text that remedies that situation... [it] provides a readable and insightful account′ - Clinical Psychology Forum ′Spinelli′s classic introduction to phenomenology should be essential reading on all person-centred, existential and humanistic trainings, and any other counselling or psychotherapy course which aims to help students develop an in-depth understanding of human lived-experience. This book is sure to remain a key text for many years to come′ - Mick Cooper, Senior Lecturer in Counselling, University of Strathclyde ′This is by far the most monumental, erudite, comprehensive, authoritative case that Existentialism and Phenomenology (a) have a rightful place in the academy; (b) are tough-minded bodies of thought; (c) have rigorous scientific foundations; (d) bequeath a distinctive school of psychotherapy and counselling; and (e) are just as good as the more established systems of psychology′ - Alvin R. Mahrer, Ph.D. University of Ottawa, Canada, Author of The Complete Guide To Experiential Psychotherapy ′This book′s rich insight into the lacunae of modern psychological thinking illustrates the contribution that existential phenomenology can make to founding a coherently mature Psychology that is both fully human(e) and responsibly ′scientific′ in the best sense of that term′ - Richard House, Ph.D., Magdalen Medical Practice, Norwich; Steiner Waldorf teacher. The Interpreted World, Second Edition, is a welcome introduction to phenomenological psychology, an area of psychology which has its roots in notoriously difficult philosophical literature. Writing in a highly accessible, jargon-free style, Ernesto Spinelli traces the philosophical origins of phenomenological theory and presents phenomenological perspectives on central topics in psychology - perception, social cognition and the self. He compares the phenomenological approach with other major contemporary psychological approaches, pointing up areas of divergence and convergence with these systems. He also examines implications of phenomenology for the precepts and process of psychotherapy. For the Second Edition, a new chapter on phenomenological research has been added in which the author focuses on the contribution of phenomenology in relation to contemporary scientific enquiry. He describes the methodology used in phenomenological research and illustrates the approach through an actual research study. The Interpreted World, Second Edition demystifies an exciting branch of psychology, making its insights available to all students of psychology, psychotherapy and counselling.
Qualitative Research Methods by
Qualitative Research Methods: Collecting Evidence, Crafting Analysis, Communicating Impact is a comprehensive guide on both the theoretical foundations and practical application of qualitative methodology. Adopting a phronetic-iterative approach, this foundational book leads readers through the chronological progression of a qualitative research project, from designing a study and collecting and analyzing data to developing theories and effectively communicating the results-allowing readers to employ qualitative methods in their projects as they follow each chapter. Coverage of topics such as qualitative theories, ethics, sampling, interview techniques, qualitative quality, and advice on practical fieldwork provides clear and concise guidance on how to design and conduct sound research projects. Easy-to-follow instructions on iterative qualitative data analysis explain how to organize, code, interpret, make claims, and build theory. Throughout, the author offers her own backstage stories about fieldwork, analysis, drafting, writing, and publishing, revealing the emotional and humorous aspects of practicing qualitative methods. Now in its second edition, this thorough and informative text includes new and expanded material covering post-qualitative research, phenomenology, textual analysis and cultural studies, gaining access to elite and difficult to access populations, persuasive writing, novel interviewing approaches, and more. Numerous examples, case studies, activities, and discussion questions have been updated to reflect current research and ensure contemporary relevance. Written in an engaging and accessible narrative style by an acclaimed scholar and researcher Offers new and updated examples of coding and qualitative analysis, full-color photos and illustrations, and a companion instructor website Synthesizes the most up-to-date multidisciplinary literature on qualitative research methods including seven main approaches to qualitative inquiry: grounded theory, case study, ethnography and ethnography of communication, phenomenology, narrative inquiry and autoethnography, participatory action research, and creative, performative, and arts-based research Presents innovative qualitative data collection methods and modern representation strategies, such as virtual ethnography, photovoice, and mobile interviewing Qualitative Research Methods: Collecting Evidence, Crafting Analysis, Communicating Impact is an ideal resource for undergraduate and graduate students, instructors, and faculty across multiple disciplines including the social sciences, healthcare, education, management, and the humanities, and for practitioners seeking expert guidance on practical qualitative methods.
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology by
Why use qualitative research in psychology? How is qualitative research in psychology carried out? What are the major debates and unresolved issues surrounding this form of research? Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology is a vital resource for students new to qualitative psychology. It offers a clear introduction to the topic by taking eight different approaches to qualitative methods and explaining when each one should be used, the procedures and techniques involved, and any limitations associated with such research. Throughout the new edition, material has been re-organized and updated to reflect developments in the field, while Carla Willig''s style of writing, popular with students and lecturers alike, remains unchanged. Together with wider coverage of conceptual issues and epistemological & theoretical challenges in qualitative research, this third edition boasts three new methods chapters: Thematic Analysis, Narrative Analysis and Visual Methodologies. Three additional chapters on Qualitative Research Design & Data Collection, The Role of Interpretation and Putting Together A Research Proposal will be invaluable to students and researchers during conceptual preparation. This edition contains more interactive exercises and discussion points in order to help students understand what they are learning, as well as three qualitative research reports written by students. The third edition is supported by a new Online Learning Centre www.openup.co.uk/willig with resources for lecturers and students. With contributions from Sarah Jane Dryden, Caroline Silcock and Joanna Silver. "All students of qualitative research in psychology will find a wealth of information in Carla Willig''s book. With its expanded sections and detailed consideration of concepts, techniques and applications of qualitative research, the interactive approach taken in this book is ably supported by extensive research examples. As usual with Carla Willig''s clear and detailed writing style, this book will give both new and existing researchers the opportunity to think clearly about their use of qualitative research and its methods." Dr Nollaig Frost, Senior Lecturer, Psychology, Middlesex University, UK "A tour de force from an expert guide which grounds students in the lexicon of qualitative psychology, before explicating a range of major methodologies. Students will appreciate many worked examples, and will be stimulated by the coverage of contemporary innovations, issues and debates - an invaluable textbook." Professor Brendan Gough, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK "In just over a decade, Carla Willig''s book has become one of the key introductory texts in the field. Many of my students and supervisees have enjoyed reading it - finding complex issues and debates have been explained in an accessible manner. This latest edition includes helpful advice on writing a research proposal, some newer research methods and discussion about the future of qualitative research. In addition, there are new chapters on epistemology and interpretation which I think my students will find particularly valuable as these are often the most challenging topics when one is new to qualitative research." Dr David Harper, Reader in Clinical Psychology, University of East London, UK "Once again, Carla Willig has produced a wonderfully clear account of how and why qualitative methods ought be used to answer psychological questions. Not only does Willig examine key theories, ethics and debates surrounding the use and interpretation of qualitative data, she shows us ''how'' to do it - step by step, with a tremendous sense of balance and integrity. This new edition covers some of the more recent debates in qualitative research, contains new examples of how to design, carry out and approach analysis in qualitative methods and lots of useful questions that researchers ask themselves along the way. My students have used Willig''s writings on qualitative methods for many years as they can understand and engage with it. There is simply no other equivalent text in psychology to rival Willig''s - her clarity, conviction and sheer brilliance in putting difficult ideas on methods into plain language is something students in psychology will relish for a very long time to come." Paula Reavey, Professor of Psychology, London South Bank University, UK "In writing this text originally, Carla Willig argued that, unlike quantitative research (where the aim is to follow a set of rules and get them ''right''), qualitative research is more about ''having adventures''. From the start it sounds a lot more fun, and certainly a lot more interesting! And it was. Students and lecturers alike appreciate its lively, practical approach, its very clear and elegant writing, its use of clever examples of students'' own work and its lucid explanations of the theory underpinning methods and methodologies. This new, third edition is a real triumph. It''s more comprehensive and it''s bang up to date, with three additional new chapters, more examples of student projects, and overall an even more systematic approach. It is, in my view, the most approachable and person-friendly text around introducing qualitative research in psychology, and a great opportunity to ''boldly go'', have adventures, and really get to grips with doing qualitative research." Wendy Stainton Rogers, Professor Emerita, Faculty of Health and Social Care, The Open University, UK
Qualitative interpretation and analysis In psychology by
This new book by Carla Willig closes a gap in qualitative research in psychology and beyond. It focuses on the process of understanding in qualitative data analysis by taking the perspective of interpretation: What links our understanding with social and psychological phenomena in qualitative research? With its broad coverage of the literature and its clear style of writing it will be most helpful for anyone applying qualitative research to psychological phenomena." Uwe Flick, Alice Salomon University, Berlin and Vienna Universities "In this work Carla Willig takes on one of the most pressing challenges in qualitative inquiry: how are we to confront multiplicity in interpretation? I began reading with great curiosity; I came away feeling that this is the best treatment of this complex subject I have yet encountered. Combining conceptual sophistication, the skill of clarity, and a welcome sense of balance, Willig illuminates and enriches. Her discussion on the ethics of interpretation sets the book apart. Now I clamor to join the discussions demanded by this fascinating work." Kenneth Gergen, Senior Research Professor, Swarthmore College, USA "Carla Willig''s balanced and insightful text goes to the heart of what is stake in debates over qualitative analysis: the act of interpretation itself. Beginning with the idea that the researcher must recognise both the responsibility and privilege of research, Willig clearly demonstrates how interpretation is actually performed and how to negotiate the epistemological and practical issues that are involved. Opposing the tendency for the researcher to disappear in the act of ''doing analysis'', this book offers a distinctively human and affective vision of interpretative work. There is much here for both dedicated qualitative researchers and curious empiricists of every stripe. Students of psychology, read on: you have nothing to lose but your prejudices." Steven Brown, Professor of Social and Organisational Psychology, University of Leicester, UK "At last! This is the book that qualitative researchers in psychology have required for some time, and it fills a significant gap for the field. Willig provides a brilliantly written comprehensive account of the importance and value of interpretation in qualitative research, covering theory, ethics and debate around interpretation, and including detailed practical applications that reveal the complexities and complications involved in interpretative analytic work. This text exposes the necessity of reaching for interpretation in qualitative data analysis, and is essential reading for qualitative researchers, whatever their level of expertise, both within and beyond psychology." Kerry Chamberlain, Professor of Social and Health Psychology, Massey University, New Zealand Interpretation is an integral part of all qualitative research, yet relatively little has been written about its process. In her new book, Carla Willig, author of international bestseller Introducing Qualitative Research Methods in Psychology, sheds light on the role of interpretation in qualitative research in psychology and describes the different approaches for practice. Packed with case studies, two full interview transcripts and worked examples from psychology, health sciences and the arts, Willig skilfully guides you to conduct qualitative research which is interpretative and based upon a clear rationale and interpretative position. You will also learn how to evaluate interpretative research and to acquire an understanding of what constitutes best ethical practice. Carla''s transcribed conversations with Stephen Frosh, Christine Griffin and Jonathan Smith about the meaning and practice of interpretation provide a fascinating insight into the ways in which highly experienced researchers engage with the challenge of interpreting qualitative data. This book will be valuable reading for all psychology students, researchers and practitioners and a useful reference for students across the social sciences and related health disciplines.
How to Read a Paper, Chapter 9: Papers that summarize other papers (systematic reviews and meta-analyses) by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
'The current view of evidence and evidence-based practice', in Developing and delivering practice-based evidence: a guide for the psychological therapies by
Developing and Delivering Practice-based Evidence promotes a range of methodological approaches to complement traditional evidence-based practice in the field of psychological therapies. Represents the first UK text to offer a coherent and programmatic approach to expand traditional trials methodology in the field of psychological therapies by utilizing evidence gained by practitioners Includes contributions from UK and US scientist-practitioners who are leaders in their field Features content appropriate for practitioners working alone, in groups, and for psychological therapy services
How to Read a Paper, Chapter 1: Why read papers at all? by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
How to Read a Paper, Chapter 5: Statistics for the non-statistician by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
How to Read a Paper, Chapter 12: Papers that go beyond numbers (qualitative research) by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy, Chapter 3: Does orientation matter? The great psychotherapy debate. by
Are some therapies more effective than others? How important is the relationship? Which clients do best in therapy? Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy answers these questions and many more, providing trainees, practitioners and researchers with a comprehensive introduction to the latest findings in the field. The book sets out in a jargon-free way the evidence for the effectiveness of therapy and the factors associated with positive therapeutic outcomes. It gives suggestions for further reading, definitions of key terms and questions for discussion, making this an ideal text for use in training. The book is also designed for practitioners who increasingly need to justify their therapeutic work on empirical grounds. Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy gives them the knowledge and confidence to do just that. More than that, it makes research findings accessible and provides information on how to practice counselling and psychotherapy in an effective way.
How to Read a Paper, Chapter 15: Getting evidence into practice by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.