Dealing with Challenges in Psychotherapy and Counseling by
This text provides a framework for handling tough clinical situations as they arise. It includes both the complexities of assessment issues that arise in special circumstances with a variety of clients as well as a number of general interventions that are relevant to all clients. The book provides a theory-free conceptual super-structure that can guide and ground readers in difficult situations regardless of theoretical beliefs.The author's underlying philosophy reflects the importance of taking a contextual approach with clients, viewing clients as collaborators in the therapeutic process, and recognizing that the client needs strategies other than the provider-client relationship that he/she can implement independently.
Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy by
This is a step-by-step guide to the key skills and techniques of the psychodynamic approach used at each stage of the therapeutic process. Updated in a second edition, the book includes a new chapter on neuropsychology and its implications for theory and practice, new content on working in the NHS and other settings, additional case material and updates to all chapters reflecting recent literature, research and understanding.
Psychodynamic Counselling in Action by
This substantially revised fifth edition of a classic text includes an updated preface, new content on the therapeutic relationship, substantially revised chapters on the middle phase of counselling and reflections on the influence of other modalities and shared aspects of practice across approaches. Each chapter now includes an annotated Further Reading section to help deepen knowledge and reinforce learning of key aspects of the counselling process.
Case Material and Role Play in Counselling Training by
First published in 1995. Between them, Janet Tolan and Susan Lendrum have nearly thirty years of experiences as counselling trainers. They have worked as practitioners in fields as diverse as voluntary telephone counselling, personnel work in industry, primary health care and local government. Following the recent rapid rise in counselling training, Case Material and Role Play in Counselling Training is the long awaited answer to the demand for an accessible and practical guide for trainers and educators in counselling skills, therapeutic counsellors and psychotherapists. It offers help to those designing a course and to those wondering how to enliven their training sessions. Part one describes how case materials and role play can form part of an overall training programme, and offers step-by-step instructions on how to use or adapt them. Part two comprises over 250 case vignettes and role plays and is further divided into two sections. The first covers core relationship skills such as beginnings and endings, empathy and ethical issues. The second covers practice issues such as loss and bereavement, sexuality and depression. Part two is cross-referenced so that readers looking for particular materials can select them according to: the work setting of their client group; the age of their client group; the stage of the relationship; or the focus of counselling.
Relational Integrative Psychotherapy by
Designed specifically for the needs of trainees and newly-qualified therapists, Relational Integrative Psychotherapy outlines a form of therapy that prioritizes the client and allows for diverse techniques to be integrated within a strong therapeutic relationship. Provides an evidence-based introduction to the processes and theory of relational integrative psychotherapy in practice Presents innovative ideas that draw from a variety of traditions, including cognitive, existential-phenomenological, gestalt, psychoanalytic, systems theory, and transactional analysis Includes case studies, footnotes, 'theory into practice' boxes, and discussion of competing and complementary theoretical frameworks Written by an internationally acclaimed speaker and author who is also an active practitioner of relational integrative psychotherapy
Practical Counselling Skills by 
An Introduction to the Therapeutic Frame by
Designed for psychotherapists and counsellors in training, An Introduction to the Therapeutic Frame clarifies the concept of the frame - the way of working set out in the first meeting between therapist and client. This Classic Edition of the book includes a brand new introduction by the author. Anne Gray, an experienced psychotherapist and teacher, uses lively and extensive case material to show how the frame can both contain feelings and further understanding within the therapeutic relationship. She takes the reader through each stage of therapeutic work, from the first meeting to the final contact, and looks at those aspects of management that beginners often find difficult, such as fee payment, letters and telephone calls, supervision and evaluation. Her practical advice on how to handle these situations will be invaluable to trainees as well as to those involved in their training.
Counselling Skills and Theory by
This is where you can find an overview of the major approaches in counselling, how they fit together, and how you can integrate them into your practice. It's also your guide to the nature of counselling, the skills needed to be a counsellor and managing the challenges of the counsellingrelationship!This new edition is suitable for a wide range of courses, including Foundation, Certificate, Diploma and Higher Education studies in Counselling. There is discussion of the Improving Access to Psychological Therapies programme with expanded coverage of CBT approaches. It also references the latestBACP guidelines for counsellor training and best practice. The book reflects the impending requirement for statutory regulation of counsellors and psychotherapists via the Health Professions Council.Every year the Case Studies, Exercises, Handouts, and Resources tips in this book help thousands of trainees and established practitioners develop their understanding of the theories and practical skills required in this challenging and rewarding profession!
An Introduction to Counselling by
This bestseller provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of counselling and psychotherapy. This new edition has been thoroughly updated with new research, examples from practice and case studies. An extended introduction is used to explain the new 4-part structure and help readers to track key themes across each section of the book. Now includes 7 new chapters: The interdisciplinary knowledge base for counselling theory and practice Gestalt therapy Feminist therapy Art-making as a therapeutic practice Therapy in nature: using the outdoor environment Pluralism: an organizing framework for counselling practice The future of counseling: international perspectives Each chapter enhances learning with the following pedagogy: Topics for further discussion Key terms and concepts Suggested further reading Case studies and illustrations Landmark research studies Enhanced by current debates around evidence-based practice, third wave CBT therapies such as ACT and mindfulness, recent developments within psychodynamic theory, motivational interviewing, reality therapy and embedded counselling, this new edition also explores the political context of counselling and provides coverage of key professional issues. An Introduction to Counselling remains the book of choice for students and tutors on introductory counselling courses. "John McLeod has a sophisticated understanding of counselling theory, research and practice and their history. He weaves research evidence seamlessly into the text, as well as highlighting it in specific boxes. AnIntroduction to Counselling is essential reading for all counsellors in training and by far the best!" Professor Sue Wheeler, University of Leicester, UK "A definitive review of the field that is also at the cutting edge of new developments. It offers a radical, progressive vision of what counselling can be: an invaluable resource for any counsellor wishing to understand where we are at and where we are going." Mick Cooper, Professor of Counselling, University of Strathclyde, UK "This wonderfully comprehensive introduction to counselling tells you all you need to know about counselling. Beautifully written and richly illustrated with clinical vignettes ... A gem of a book carried through with rigour and love." Maria Luca, Reader in Psychotherapy and Counselling Psychology, Regent''s University, London, UK "It is my pleasure to endorse a textbook that has been so widely used within the field of counselling. John McLeod''s Introduction to Counselling has influenced so many budding counsellors in the past (myself included) and I have no doubt that this updated edition will continue adding to this legacy. It has been updated to account for new developments in the field and remains an informed and accessible point of reference." Terry Hanley, Editor of Counselling Psychology Review and Programme Director of the Doctorate in Counselling Psychology, University of Manchester, UK "This latest edition of John McLeod''s Introduction to Counselling is a masterpiece, weaving theory and practice in a readable and comprehensive manner. Practical examples and case studies, along with the latest research, address the many contemporary issues facing students and professionals in the field. The additional chapters including ''Art-making as a therapeutic practice'', ''Therapy in nature'', ''The interdisciplinary knowledge base for counselling theory and practice'' and ''Pluralism: an organizing framework for counselling practice'', are essential reading not only for counsellors in training, but also for practitioners who wish to deepen their understanding and enhance their on-going professional development. John McLeod''s vast experience and wisdom, which he brings to his writing, makes this work one of the best textbooks available, and I highly recommend it and will certainly use it in our training programmes." Dr Ann Moir-Bussy, Program Leader and Senior Lecturer in Counselling, University of Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia "This robust new edition gives a thorough overview of contemporary approaches to counselling and psychotherapy. As a practitioner, lecturer or student this book offers a wide application of theory to practice presented in a very clear and easily readable format. The use of text boxes highlighting topics for reflection and discussion, implications for practice and examples from case studies together with the in-depth suggestions for further reading provide an excellent book for counselling training and continuous professional development." Sharon Vesty, Psychotherapist (UKCP Reg) and Senior Lecturer at Nottingham Trent University, UK "This is an excellent text which goes beyond being a technical handbook for trainee counsellors and gives a comprehensive overview of the profession offering food for thought to both new and the experienced counsellors. I welcome the new four-part format which is clear, accessible and offers ample examples of counselling practice alongside indications for further reading. Part 4 in particular explores and asks critical questions about fundamental issues within the profession: the politics of counselling, values and ethics, the role of research in counselling and psychotherapy. For me a key text for those entering the profession." Clare Walker, Psychotherapist and Senior Lecturer, Anglia Ruskin University, UK