Successful qualitative research : a practical guide for beginners by Braun, V.; Clarke, V.
*Shortlisted for the BPS Book Award 2014 in the Textbook Category* *Winner of the 2014 Distinguished Publication Award (DPA) from the Association for Women in Psychology (AWP)* Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners is an accessible, practical textbook. It sidesteps detailed theoretical discussion in favor of providing a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. Uniquely, the authors provide a "patterns framework" to qualitative data analysis in this book, also known as "thematic analysis." The authors walk students through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches. This discussion of commonalities, explaining why and when each method should be used, and in the context of looking at patterns, will provide students with complete confidence for their qualitative research journey. This textbook will be an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates taking a course in qualitative research or using qualitative approaches in a research project.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 BRA
ISBN: 9781847875815
Publication Date: 2013
Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy by Cooper, M.
Are some therapies more effective than others? How important is the relationship? Which clients do best in therapy? Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy answers these questions and many more, providing trainees, practitioners and researchers with a comprehensive introduction to the latest findings in the field. The book sets out in a jargon-free way the evidence for the effectiveness of therapy and the factors associated with positive therapeutic outcomes. It gives suggestions for further reading, definitions of key terms and questions for discussion, making this an ideal text for use in training. The book is also designed for practitioners who increasingly need to justify their therapeutic work on empirical grounds. Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy gives them the knowledge and confidence to do just that. More than that, it makes research findings accessible and provides information on how to practice counselling and psychotherapy in an effective way. Watch Mick Cooper talking about this book on YouTube: To view the Part 1 - Click Here To view the Part 2 - Click Here To view the Part 3 - Click Here
Call Number: 616.8914 COO
ISBN: 9781847870438
Publication Date: 2008
Becoming a reflexive researcher : using our selves in research by Etherington, K.
In this book, Kim Etherington uses a range of narratives to show the reader how reflexive research works in practice, linking this with underpinning philosophies. Placing her own journey as a researcher alongside others, she suggests that recognising the role of self in research can open up opportunities for creative and personal transformations.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781843102595
Publication Date: 2004
Doing Your Master's Dissertation : From Start to Finish by Furseth, I. ; Everett, E.
This is a step-by-step guide for students to excelling in your Masters dissertation. With examples from real theses, useful action plans in each chapter and a range of practical tips that are often missed in other books, this is a must-have guide for all Masters students.
Call Number: 378.242 FUR + eBook
ISBN: 9781446280959
Publication Date: 2013
Translating Psychological Research into Practice by Grossman, L.
It is refreshing to see both a researcher's and a clinician's viewpoint. The case examples in the clinician sections are great learning tools. This is a wonderful reference for both new therapists and seasoned veterans. Researchers also will learn how clinicians use theories in the real world. Score: 92, 4 Stars√>=Doody's Medical Reviews "The format, whereby the evidence for efficacy of psychological interventions for the problem in question is reviewed by an expert followed by a clinician presenting a case where these treatments were actually utilized, and the real-life problems one runs up against in the course of treatment is innovative enough. But then to repeat this for 65 different problems in a manageable and succinct format represents a true integration of science and practice in a way that will move us forward." √>=David H. Barlow, PhD, ABPP, Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders, Boston University It is only through the development of true partnerships between researchers and clinicians that mental health treatment can achieve an optimal level of success. This highly accessible desk reference will assist clinicians in easily incorporating findings from current evidence-based research into their day-to-day practice. It bridges the gap between empirical research and the needs of practicing clinicians and clinicians-in-training. The guide brings together respected researchers and clinicians to discuss approaches to treating over 60 problem areas for adults, adolescents, and children. It provides concise, easily digestible summaries of the most current evidence-based research regarding interventions for many of the most common clinical disorders and mental health issues encountered in everyday clinical practice. These summaries present research that has been translated by experienced clinicians into practical applications that can be easily incorporated in therapeutic practice. Research coverage of each problem area includes: Brief description Incidence/ prevalence data Summary findings of best practices for treatment Suggestions for research directions Key references for further consultation The corresponding clinical application includes: Response to the research summary Case example that applies the evidence-based research to clinical practice Identification of challenges and cultural considerations in applying these interventions Suggestions for future research Key references By presenting the perspectives of the mental health researcher and clinician side by side, this reference facilitates an important dialogue that narrows the gap between research and practice and ultimately fosters better mental health outcomes for clients. Key Features: Covers over 60 of the most frequently encountered disorders and issues for both adult and pediatric clients that mental health clinicians face today Brings together leading researchers and clinicians to discuss their approaches to treating a clinical problem area Summarizes the current research on treatments in each problem area Interprets research for clinicians, offering practice wisdom that helps them become more effective evidence-based practitioners
Call Number: 616.890072 GRO + eBook
ISBN: 9780826109422
Publication Date: 2014
Writing your master's thesis : from A to Zen by Nygaard, L.
Are you looking to find your voice, hone your writing tactics, and cultivate communication skills with impact? Using real-world cases, student vignettes, and reflective questions, Lynn leads you through the A to Zen of the writing process, building your confidence as well as developing your skills. Find out how to: Understand yourself, your audience, and your project, so you better understand your role in communicating research Choose a question and plan an appropriate design Build a foundation of ethics and background research into your writing practice Find your own writing (life)style Work with your supervisor, so you can get the best from the relationship Navigate structure, arguments, and theory, for deeper critical engagement Contextualize your research and maximize its impact. Going beyond the standard 'how to survive' advice, this inspiring writing guide empowers you to develop the voice, tone, and critical engagement required for you to thrive at Master's level SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Call Number: STSK 808.066378 NYG
ISBN: 9781473903920
Publication Date: 2017
Qualitative psychology : a practical guide to research methods by Smith, J.A. (Editor)
Undertaking qualitative research in psychology can seem like a daunting and complex process, especially when it comes to selecting the most appropriate approach for your project or assignment. This book, written and edited by a world-leading group of academics and researchers, offers an accessible, critical and practical way into qualitative research in psychology. Each chapter provides a detailed, step-by-step guide to using a qualitative research method - from Conversation Analysis or Focus Groups to Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis or Narrative Psychology. Whatever approach you choose to take, this book will ensure you get it right from the start. New to this Third Edition: A chapter on Thematic Analysis A section on how to choose and select the most appropriate method for your project
Call Number: 150.72 SMI
ISBN: 9781446298459
Publication Date: 2015
Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by Wallace, M.; Wray, A.
Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work. If you need to engage with published (or unpublished) literature such as essays, dissertations or theses, research papers or oral presentations, this proven guide helps you develop a reflective and advanced critical approach to your research and writing. New to this edition: Two new chapters on basic and advanced writing skills More advice on self-bias and perception Updates and additional examples throughout Updated online resources providing additional support. A Companion Website provides additional resources to help you apply the critical techniques you learn. From templates and checklists, access to SAGE journal articles and additional case studies, these free resources will make sure you successfully master advanced critical skills.
Call Number: 378.170281 WAL
ISBN: 9781529727654
Publication Date: 2021
Qualitative Interpretation and Analysis in Psychology by Willig, C.
"This new book by Carla Willig closes a gap in qualitative research in psychology and beyond. It focuses on the process of understanding in qualitative data analysis by taking the perspective of interpretation: What links our understanding with social and psychological phenomena in qualitative research? With its broad coverage of the literature and its clear style of writing it will be most helpful for anyone applying qualitative research to psychological phenomena." Uwe Flick, Alice Salomon University, Berlin and Vienna Universities "In this work Carla Willig takes on one of the most pressing challenges in qualitative inquiry: how are we to confront multiplicity in interpretation? I began reading with great curiosity; I came away feeling that this is the best treatment of this complex subject I have yet encountered. Combining conceptual sophistication, the skill of clarity, and a welcome sense of balance, Willig illuminates and enriches. Her discussion on the ethics of interpretation sets the book apart. Now I clamor to join the discussions demanded by this fascinating work." Kenneth Gergen, Senior Research Professor, Swarthmore College, USA "Carla Willig''s balanced and insightful text goes to the heart of what is stake in debates over qualitative analysis: the act of interpretation itself. Beginning with the idea that the researcher must recognise both the responsibility and privilege of research, Willig clearly demonstrates how interpretation is actually performed and how to negotiate the epistemological and practical issues that are involved. Opposing the tendency for the researcher to disappear in the act of ''doing analysis'', this book offers a distinctively human and affective vision of interpretative work. There is much here for both dedicated qualitative researchers and curious empiricists of every stripe. Students of psychology, read on: you have nothing to lose but your prejudices." Steven Brown, Professor of Social and Organisational Psychology, University of Leicester, UK "At last! This is the book that qualitative researchers in psychology have required for some time, and it fills a significant gap for the field. Willig provides a brilliantly written comprehensive account of the importance and value of interpretation in qualitative research, covering theory, ethics and debate around interpretation, and including detailed practical applications that reveal the complexities and complications involved in interpretative analytic work. This text exposes the necessity of reaching for interpretation in qualitative data analysis, and is essential reading for qualitative researchers, whatever their level of expertise, both within and beyond psychology." Kerry Chamberlain, Professor of Social and Health Psychology, Massey University, New Zealand Interpretation is an integral part of all qualitative research, yet relatively little has been written about its process. In her new book, Carla Willig, author of international bestseller Introducing Qualitative Research Methods in Psychology, sheds light on the role of interpretation in qualitative research in psychology and describes the different approaches for practice. Packed with case studies, two full interview transcripts and worked examples from psychology, health sciences and the arts, Willig skilfully guides you to conduct qualitative research which is interpretative and based upon a clear rationale and interpretative position. You will also learn how to evaluate interpretative research and to acquire an understanding of what constitutes best ethical practice. Carla''s transcribed conversations with Stephen Frosh, Christine Griffin and Jonathan Smith about the meaning and practice of interpretation provide a fascinating insight into the ways in which highly experienced researchers engage with the challenge of interpreting qualitative data. This book will be valuable reading for all psychology students, researchers and practitioners and a useful reference for students across the social sciences and related health disciplines.
Call Number: 150.72 WIL + eBook
ISBN: 9780335241415
Publication Date: 2012
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology by Willig, C.
Why use qualitative research in psychology? How is qualitative research in psychology carried out? What are the major debates and unresolved issues surrounding this form of research? Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology is a vital resource for students new to qualitative psychology. It offers a clear introduction to the topic by taking eight different approaches to qualitative methods and explaining when each one should be used, the procedures and techniques involved, and any limitations associated with such research. Throughout the new edition, material has been re-organized and updated to reflect developments in the field, while Carla Willig''s style of writing, popular with students and lecturers alike, remains unchanged. Together with wider coverage of conceptual issues and epistemological & theoretical challenges in qualitative research, this third edition boasts three new methods chapters: Thematic Analysis, Narrative Analysis and Visual Methodologies. Three additional chapters on Qualitative Research Design & Data Collection, The Role of Interpretation and Putting Together A Research Proposal will be invaluable to students and researchers during conceptual preparation. This edition contains more interactive exercises and discussion points in order to help students understand what they are learning, as well as three qualitative research reports written by students. The third edition is supported by a new Online Learning Centre www.openup.co.uk/willig with resources for lecturers and students. With contributions from Sarah Jane Dryden, Caroline Silcock and Joanna Silver. "All students of qualitative research in psychology will find a wealth of information in Carla Willig''s book. With its expanded sections and detailed consideration of concepts, techniques and applications of qualitative research, the interactive approach taken in this book is ably supported by extensive research examples. As usual with Carla Willig''s clear and detailed writing style, this book will give both new and existing researchers the opportunity to think clearly about their use of qualitative research and its methods." Dr Nollaig Frost, Senior Lecturer, Psychology, Middlesex University, UK "A tour de force from an expert guide which grounds students in the lexicon of qualitative psychology, before explicating a range of major methodologies. Students will appreciate many worked examples, and will be stimulated by the coverage of contemporary innovations, issues and debates - an invaluable textbook." Professor Brendan Gough, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK "In just over a decade, Carla Willig''s book has become one of the key introductory texts in the field. Many of my students and supervisees have enjoyed reading it - finding complex issues and debates have been explained in an accessible manner. This latest edition includes helpful advice on writing a research proposal, some newer research methods and discussion about the future of qualitative research. In addition, there are new chapters on epistemology and interpretation which I think my students will find particularly valuable as these are often the most challenging topics when one is new to qualitative research." Dr David Harper, Reader in Clinical Psychology, University of East London, UK "Once again, Carla Willig has produced a wonderfully clear account of how and why qualitative methods ought be used to answer psychological questions. Not only does Willig examine key theories, ethics and debates surrounding the use and interpretation of qualitative data, she shows us ''how'' to do it - step by step, with a tremendous sense of balance and integrity. This new edition covers some of the more recent debates in qualitative research, contains new examples of how to design, carry out and approach analysis in qualitative methods and lots of useful questions that researchers ask themselves along the way. My students have used Willig''s writings on qualitative methods for many years as they can understand and engage with it. There is simply no other equivalent text in psychology to rival Willig''s - her clarity, conviction and sheer brilliance in putting difficult ideas on methods into plain language is something students in psychology will relish for a very long time to come." Paula Reavey, Professor of Psychology, London South Bank University, UK "In writing this text originally, Carla Willig argued that, unlike quantitative research (where the aim is to follow a set of rules and get them ''right''), qualitative research is more about ''having adventures''. From the start it sounds a lot more fun, and certainly a lot more interesting! And it was. Students and lecturers alike appreciate its lively, practical approach, its very clear and elegant writing, its use of clever examples of students'' own work and its lucid explanations of the theory underpinning methods and methodologies. This new, third edition is a real triumph. It''s more comprehensive and it''s bang up to date, with three additional new chapters, more examples of student projects, and overall an even more systematic approach. It is, in my view, the most approachable and person-friendly text around introducing qualitative research in psychology, and a great opportunity to ''boldly go'', have adventures, and really get to grips with doing qualitative research." Wendy Stainton Rogers, Professor Emerita, Faculty of Health and Social Care, The Open University, UK
Call Number: 150.72 WIL + eBook
ISBN: 9780335244492
Publication Date: 2013
A postgraduate's guide to doing a literature review in health and social care by 
Succeeding with Your Master’s Dissertation by 
Successful qualitative research : a practical guide for beginners by
*Shortlisted for the BPS Book Award 2014 in the Textbook Category* *Winner of the 2014 Distinguished Publication Award (DPA) from the Association for Women in Psychology (AWP)* Successful Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Beginners is an accessible, practical textbook. It sidesteps detailed theoretical discussion in favor of providing a comprehensive overview of strategic tips and skills for starting and completing successful qualitative research. Uniquely, the authors provide a "patterns framework" to qualitative data analysis in this book, also known as "thematic analysis." The authors walk students through a basic thematic approach, and compare and contrast this with other approaches. This discussion of commonalities, explaining why and when each method should be used, and in the context of looking at patterns, will provide students with complete confidence for their qualitative research journey. This textbook will be an essential textbook for undergraduates and postgraduates taking a course in qualitative research or using qualitative approaches in a research project.
Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
Are some therapies more effective than others? How important is the relationship? Which clients do best in therapy? Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy answers these questions and many more, providing trainees, practitioners and researchers with a comprehensive introduction to the latest findings in the field. The book sets out in a jargon-free way the evidence for the effectiveness of therapy and the factors associated with positive therapeutic outcomes. It gives suggestions for further reading, definitions of key terms and questions for discussion, making this an ideal text for use in training. The book is also designed for practitioners who increasingly need to justify their therapeutic work on empirical grounds. Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy gives them the knowledge and confidence to do just that. More than that, it makes research findings accessible and provides information on how to practice counselling and psychotherapy in an effective way. Watch Mick Cooper talking about this book on YouTube: To view the Part 1 - Click Here To view the Part 2 - Click Here To view the Part 3 - Click Here
Becoming a reflexive researcher : using our selves in research by
In this book, Kim Etherington uses a range of narratives to show the reader how reflexive research works in practice, linking this with underpinning philosophies. Placing her own journey as a researcher alongside others, she suggests that recognising the role of self in research can open up opportunities for creative and personal transformations.
Doing Your Master's Dissertation : From Start to Finish by
This is a step-by-step guide for students to excelling in your Masters dissertation. With examples from real theses, useful action plans in each chapter and a range of practical tips that are often missed in other books, this is a must-have guide for all Masters students.
Translating Psychological Research into Practice by
It is refreshing to see both a researcher's and a clinician's viewpoint. The case examples in the clinician sections are great learning tools. This is a wonderful reference for both new therapists and seasoned veterans. Researchers also will learn how clinicians use theories in the real world. Score: 92, 4 Stars√>=Doody's Medical Reviews "The format, whereby the evidence for efficacy of psychological interventions for the problem in question is reviewed by an expert followed by a clinician presenting a case where these treatments were actually utilized, and the real-life problems one runs up against in the course of treatment is innovative enough. But then to repeat this for 65 different problems in a manageable and succinct format represents a true integration of science and practice in a way that will move us forward." √>=David H. Barlow, PhD, ABPP, Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders, Boston University It is only through the development of true partnerships between researchers and clinicians that mental health treatment can achieve an optimal level of success. This highly accessible desk reference will assist clinicians in easily incorporating findings from current evidence-based research into their day-to-day practice. It bridges the gap between empirical research and the needs of practicing clinicians and clinicians-in-training. The guide brings together respected researchers and clinicians to discuss approaches to treating over 60 problem areas for adults, adolescents, and children. It provides concise, easily digestible summaries of the most current evidence-based research regarding interventions for many of the most common clinical disorders and mental health issues encountered in everyday clinical practice. These summaries present research that has been translated by experienced clinicians into practical applications that can be easily incorporated in therapeutic practice. Research coverage of each problem area includes: Brief description Incidence/ prevalence data Summary findings of best practices for treatment Suggestions for research directions Key references for further consultation The corresponding clinical application includes: Response to the research summary Case example that applies the evidence-based research to clinical practice Identification of challenges and cultural considerations in applying these interventions Suggestions for future research Key references By presenting the perspectives of the mental health researcher and clinician side by side, this reference facilitates an important dialogue that narrows the gap between research and practice and ultimately fosters better mental health outcomes for clients. Key Features: Covers over 60 of the most frequently encountered disorders and issues for both adult and pediatric clients that mental health clinicians face today Brings together leading researchers and clinicians to discuss their approaches to treating a clinical problem area Summarizes the current research on treatments in each problem area Interprets research for clinicians, offering practice wisdom that helps them become more effective evidence-based practitioners
Doing Your Masters Dissertation by 
Writing your master's thesis : from A to Zen by
Are you looking to find your voice, hone your writing tactics, and cultivate communication skills with impact? Using real-world cases, student vignettes, and reflective questions, Lynn leads you through the A to Zen of the writing process, building your confidence as well as developing your skills. Find out how to: Understand yourself, your audience, and your project, so you better understand your role in communicating research Choose a question and plan an appropriate design Build a foundation of ethics and background research into your writing practice Find your own writing (life)style Work with your supervisor, so you can get the best from the relationship Navigate structure, arguments, and theory, for deeper critical engagement Contextualize your research and maximize its impact. Going beyond the standard 'how to survive' advice, this inspiring writing guide empowers you to develop the voice, tone, and critical engagement required for you to thrive at Master's level SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Qualitative psychology : a practical guide to research methods by
Undertaking qualitative research in psychology can seem like a daunting and complex process, especially when it comes to selecting the most appropriate approach for your project or assignment. This book, written and edited by a world-leading group of academics and researchers, offers an accessible, critical and practical way into qualitative research in psychology. Each chapter provides a detailed, step-by-step guide to using a qualitative research method - from Conversation Analysis or Focus Groups to Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis or Narrative Psychology. Whatever approach you choose to take, this book will ensure you get it right from the start. New to this Third Edition: A chapter on Thematic Analysis A section on how to choose and select the most appropriate method for your project
Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by
Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work. If you need to engage with published (or unpublished) literature such as essays, dissertations or theses, research papers or oral presentations, this proven guide helps you develop a reflective and advanced critical approach to your research and writing. New to this edition: Two new chapters on basic and advanced writing skills More advice on self-bias and perception Updates and additional examples throughout Updated online resources providing additional support. A Companion Website provides additional resources to help you apply the critical techniques you learn. From templates and checklists, access to SAGE journal articles and additional case studies, these free resources will make sure you successfully master advanced critical skills.
The SAGE handbook of qualitative research in psychology by
One of our bestselling handbooks, The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology, is back for a second edition, with updated chapters and three new chapters introduced on Thematic Analysis, Interpretation and Netnography.
Qualitative Interpretation and Analysis in Psychology by
"This new book by Carla Willig closes a gap in qualitative research in psychology and beyond. It focuses on the process of understanding in qualitative data analysis by taking the perspective of interpretation: What links our understanding with social and psychological phenomena in qualitative research? With its broad coverage of the literature and its clear style of writing it will be most helpful for anyone applying qualitative research to psychological phenomena." Uwe Flick, Alice Salomon University, Berlin and Vienna Universities "In this work Carla Willig takes on one of the most pressing challenges in qualitative inquiry: how are we to confront multiplicity in interpretation? I began reading with great curiosity; I came away feeling that this is the best treatment of this complex subject I have yet encountered. Combining conceptual sophistication, the skill of clarity, and a welcome sense of balance, Willig illuminates and enriches. Her discussion on the ethics of interpretation sets the book apart. Now I clamor to join the discussions demanded by this fascinating work." Kenneth Gergen, Senior Research Professor, Swarthmore College, USA "Carla Willig''s balanced and insightful text goes to the heart of what is stake in debates over qualitative analysis: the act of interpretation itself. Beginning with the idea that the researcher must recognise both the responsibility and privilege of research, Willig clearly demonstrates how interpretation is actually performed and how to negotiate the epistemological and practical issues that are involved. Opposing the tendency for the researcher to disappear in the act of ''doing analysis'', this book offers a distinctively human and affective vision of interpretative work. There is much here for both dedicated qualitative researchers and curious empiricists of every stripe. Students of psychology, read on: you have nothing to lose but your prejudices." Steven Brown, Professor of Social and Organisational Psychology, University of Leicester, UK "At last! This is the book that qualitative researchers in psychology have required for some time, and it fills a significant gap for the field. Willig provides a brilliantly written comprehensive account of the importance and value of interpretation in qualitative research, covering theory, ethics and debate around interpretation, and including detailed practical applications that reveal the complexities and complications involved in interpretative analytic work. This text exposes the necessity of reaching for interpretation in qualitative data analysis, and is essential reading for qualitative researchers, whatever their level of expertise, both within and beyond psychology." Kerry Chamberlain, Professor of Social and Health Psychology, Massey University, New Zealand Interpretation is an integral part of all qualitative research, yet relatively little has been written about its process. In her new book, Carla Willig, author of international bestseller Introducing Qualitative Research Methods in Psychology, sheds light on the role of interpretation in qualitative research in psychology and describes the different approaches for practice. Packed with case studies, two full interview transcripts and worked examples from psychology, health sciences and the arts, Willig skilfully guides you to conduct qualitative research which is interpretative and based upon a clear rationale and interpretative position. You will also learn how to evaluate interpretative research and to acquire an understanding of what constitutes best ethical practice. Carla''s transcribed conversations with Stephen Frosh, Christine Griffin and Jonathan Smith about the meaning and practice of interpretation provide a fascinating insight into the ways in which highly experienced researchers engage with the challenge of interpreting qualitative data. This book will be valuable reading for all psychology students, researchers and practitioners and a useful reference for students across the social sciences and related health disciplines.
Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology by
Why use qualitative research in psychology? How is qualitative research in psychology carried out? What are the major debates and unresolved issues surrounding this form of research? Introducing Qualitative Research in Psychology is a vital resource for students new to qualitative psychology. It offers a clear introduction to the topic by taking eight different approaches to qualitative methods and explaining when each one should be used, the procedures and techniques involved, and any limitations associated with such research. Throughout the new edition, material has been re-organized and updated to reflect developments in the field, while Carla Willig''s style of writing, popular with students and lecturers alike, remains unchanged. Together with wider coverage of conceptual issues and epistemological & theoretical challenges in qualitative research, this third edition boasts three new methods chapters: Thematic Analysis, Narrative Analysis and Visual Methodologies. Three additional chapters on Qualitative Research Design & Data Collection, The Role of Interpretation and Putting Together A Research Proposal will be invaluable to students and researchers during conceptual preparation. This edition contains more interactive exercises and discussion points in order to help students understand what they are learning, as well as three qualitative research reports written by students. The third edition is supported by a new Online Learning Centre www.openup.co.uk/willig with resources for lecturers and students. With contributions from Sarah Jane Dryden, Caroline Silcock and Joanna Silver. "All students of qualitative research in psychology will find a wealth of information in Carla Willig''s book. With its expanded sections and detailed consideration of concepts, techniques and applications of qualitative research, the interactive approach taken in this book is ably supported by extensive research examples. As usual with Carla Willig''s clear and detailed writing style, this book will give both new and existing researchers the opportunity to think clearly about their use of qualitative research and its methods." Dr Nollaig Frost, Senior Lecturer, Psychology, Middlesex University, UK "A tour de force from an expert guide which grounds students in the lexicon of qualitative psychology, before explicating a range of major methodologies. Students will appreciate many worked examples, and will be stimulated by the coverage of contemporary innovations, issues and debates - an invaluable textbook." Professor Brendan Gough, Institute of Health and Wellbeing, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK "In just over a decade, Carla Willig''s book has become one of the key introductory texts in the field. Many of my students and supervisees have enjoyed reading it - finding complex issues and debates have been explained in an accessible manner. This latest edition includes helpful advice on writing a research proposal, some newer research methods and discussion about the future of qualitative research. In addition, there are new chapters on epistemology and interpretation which I think my students will find particularly valuable as these are often the most challenging topics when one is new to qualitative research." Dr David Harper, Reader in Clinical Psychology, University of East London, UK "Once again, Carla Willig has produced a wonderfully clear account of how and why qualitative methods ought be used to answer psychological questions. Not only does Willig examine key theories, ethics and debates surrounding the use and interpretation of qualitative data, she shows us ''how'' to do it - step by step, with a tremendous sense of balance and integrity. This new edition covers some of the more recent debates in qualitative research, contains new examples of how to design, carry out and approach analysis in qualitative methods and lots of useful questions that researchers ask themselves along the way. My students have used Willig''s writings on qualitative methods for many years as they can understand and engage with it. There is simply no other equivalent text in psychology to rival Willig''s - her clarity, conviction and sheer brilliance in putting difficult ideas on methods into plain language is something students in psychology will relish for a very long time to come." Paula Reavey, Professor of Psychology, London South Bank University, UK "In writing this text originally, Carla Willig argued that, unlike quantitative research (where the aim is to follow a set of rules and get them ''right''), qualitative research is more about ''having adventures''. From the start it sounds a lot more fun, and certainly a lot more interesting! And it was. Students and lecturers alike appreciate its lively, practical approach, its very clear and elegant writing, its use of clever examples of students'' own work and its lucid explanations of the theory underpinning methods and methodologies. This new, third edition is a real triumph. It''s more comprehensive and it''s bang up to date, with three additional new chapters, more examples of student projects, and overall an even more systematic approach. It is, in my view, the most approachable and person-friendly text around introducing qualitative research in psychology, and a great opportunity to ''boldly go'', have adventures, and really get to grips with doing qualitative research." Wendy Stainton Rogers, Professor Emerita, Faculty of Health and Social Care, The Open University, UK