Palliative Care in Nursing and Healthcare by
This book helps nursing and healthcare students to prepare for the challenges of working with the increasing number of patients requiring palliative care, so that they can work in partnership with patients and their carers, providing care that is compassionate, practical and backed up by the latest evidence. Delivering palliative care can be emotionally challenging and the book focuses on supporting healthcare staff, allowing them to provide the care that is needed. Key features include: * case studies in every chapter, helping students to practically work through difficult scenarios * reflective activities that assist readers in thinking critically about their care and how to improve it * a holistic approach to palliative care that includes family, carers and interprofessional work * up to date theory and policy. Palliative Care in Nursing and Healthcare is suitable for undergraduate nursing students and allied health students and practitioners. Michelle Brown is Senior Lecturer at the University of Derby.
Pathophysiology for Nurses at a Glance by
Everything you need to know about Pathophysiology... at a Glance! From the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series, and from the authors of the successful Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology textbook comes the ideal revision guide for all the key diseases and conditions that nursing and healthcare students need to be aware of. Combining superb illustrations with accessible and informative text, this book is perfect for all nursing and healthcare students, and anyone who is looking for an overview of pathophysiology. Pathophysiology for Nurses at a Glance covers all the key diseases and disease processes affecting each body system, and key concepts encountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing or healthcare course. Key features: Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout Written specifically for nursing and healthcare students with all the information they need Self-assessment questions provided for each chapter Pathophysiology for Nurses at a Glance is ideal for nursing and healthcare students as well as qualified practitioners, providing a comprehensive yet accessible overview of human pathophysiology.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students at a Glance by
Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students at a Glance The market-leading at a Glance series is popular among healthcare students and newly qualified practitioners for its concise, simple approach and excellent illustrations. Each bite-sized chapter is covered in a double-page spread with clear, easy-to-follow diagrams, supported by succinct explanatory text. Covering a wide range of topics, books in the at a Glance series are ideal as introductory texts for teaching, learning and revision, and are useful throughout university and beyond. Everything you need to know about anatomy and physiology ... at a Glance! An ideal introduction and revision guide for anatomy and physiology As part of the popular At a Glance series, Anatomy & Physiology for Nursing & Healthcare Students provides a wonderful introduction to the topic and is written with the student nurse in mind. This is also a useful reference guide for any healthcare professional looking for a quick refresher on the human body. The book strikes a balance between being succinct without being superficial, with concise writing that provides an overview of anatomy and physiology. Helping nurses develop practical skills and deliver increasingly complex care for patients through the study of how the body functions, readers will also find: A user-friendly approach that includes bite-size pieces of information and full-colour diagrams to help students retain, recall, and apply facts to their practice Clinical practice points that aim to encourage readers to relate to the theoretical concepts in practice New to the second edition: a chapter on anatomical terms and emphasising the importance of the correct anatomical terminology in communication between healthcare professionals Includes access to a companion website with self-assessment questions for each chapter This quick and easy-to-digest introduction to anatomy and physiology is the perfect textbook for nursing students in all fields of practice, allied healthcare students including paramedics and physiotherapists, and newly qualified nurses and nursing associates. It is also an ideal reference book for anyone looking for an overview of the human body. The book is also available in a range of digital formats which allows for easy access on the go. For more information on the complete range of Wiley nursing and health publishing, please visit: www.wiley.com To receive automatic updates on Wiley books and journals, join our email list. Sign up today at www.wiley.com/email All content reviewed by students for students Wiley nursing books are designed exactly for their intended audience. All of our books are developed in collaboration with students. This means that our books are always published with you, the student, in mind. If you would like to be one of our student reviewers, go to www.reviewnursingbooks.com to find out more. This new edition is also available as an e-book. For more details, please see www.wiley.com/buy/9781119757207
Nursing Older People at a Glance by
As the environment of care continues to evolve to promote person-centredness, dignity, health, and wellbeing, for nurses working with older people, this can be challenging. Nursing Older People at a Glance is a timely publication which provides an overview of key concepts that nurses need to know in order to care for older people in a wide range of settings. Divided into six sections, it explores a range of themes such as person-centred care, health and wellbeing, health promotion, and the complexity of older people's care, encompassing mental wellbeing, diverse communities and learning disability. With a strong focus on dignity in care throughout, Nursing Older People at a Glance will readily equip undergraduate and post-qualification nurses with the knowledge and skills required to care for older people in a competent and compassionate manner.
Long-Term Conditions by
Long Term Conditions is a comprehensive textbook for all nursing and healthcare students and practitioners that explores the key issues surrounding caring for patients with chronic diseases or long-term conditions. Divided into three sections, this book explores living with a long-term condition, empowerment, and care management. Rather than being disease-focused, it looks at key issues and concepts which unify many different long-term conditions, including psychological and social issues that make up a considerable part of living with a long-term condition. Within each of the chapters, issues of policy, culture and ethics are intertwined, and case studies are used throughout, linking the concepts to specific diseases. Key features: A comprehensive textbook on the principles and practice of caring for people with long-term conditions User-friendly in style with learning outcomes, further reading, useful websites, and case studies throughout linking to specific conditions Moves away from a disease-focused medical model, and takes a needs-led approach Uniquely explores the overarching issues of living with one or more long-term conditions Focuses on the importance of multi-disciplinary team work and collaborative teamwork in the management of long-term conditions
Developing Advanced Assessment Skills by
This book will help you to develop some of the essential assessment skills that are needed to support patients with long-term conditions in secondary and primary care settings. You may be at the beginning of your career, or you may be an experienced practitioner who is moving into long-term conditions care. At whatever level you may be, this book will give you some guidance on how to use appropriate assessment tools and to reflect on your experience from practice.Supporting patients with long-term conditions is not solely the domain of nursing. This book is intended to be suitable for a range of practitioners who are interested in developing their assessment skills further. However some examples have been given from a nursing perspective.The exercises throughout the book have been designed to encourage you to reflect on your practice and draw from the wide range of evidence that is available to support your development. You can work through them at your own pace and return to chapters that you need to learn more about.
Public Health Ethics by
The study of public health aims to protect and promote the wellbeing of the public as well as reduce health inequalities. Public health ethics asks how far we should go to achieve these goals, balancing the rights and needs of individuals against those of the community. But what are these and how much weight should be given to each of them? In the third edition of his well-loved textbook, Stephen Holland shows how philosophy is key to evaluating the suitability of public health interventions. Holland explores the key goals of public health ethics in relation to both moral and political philosophy, reflecting on our everyday intuitions about which public health policies are justified. In light of recent developments, he includes new content exploring equity and health inequalities, and on how public health information is gathered and used. The book is updated throughout with material on contemporary cases, such as the COVID-19 pandemic. Public Health Ethics continues to provide a lively, accessible and philosophically informed introduction. As well as being an ideal student text, Holland's systematic discussion will engage the more advanced reader and inform scholarship in the field.
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by
This landmark text is the key resource for nurses working in the field of palliative care. Edited by renowned nursing experts, and written by a dynamic team of internationally known authorities in nursing and palliative medicine, the Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing covers the gamut ofprinciples of care from the time of initial diagnosis of a terminal disease to the end of a patient's life and beyond. The text is distinctively developed to highlight the nurse's vital role as part of an integrated palliative care team. Various care settings are discussed including the hospital,ICU, home care, and hospice. Chapters focus on the practical aspects of nursing care, including symptom assessment, patient teaching, family support, psychosocial aspects of palliation, and spiritual care. New to the fourth edition are chapters on the National Consensus Project for QualityPalliative Care Guidelines, palliative care of veterans, palliative care in rural settings, disaster situations, palliative care in Eastern Europe, and palliative care in the Philippines.
Understanding Pathophysiology by
Make difficult pathophysiology concepts come to life! Filled with vibrant illustrations, simplified language, and detailed online content Understanding Pathophysiology, 7th Edition delivers the most accurate information on treatments, manifestations, and mechanisms of disease across the lifespan. This new edition is fully revised and includes coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics to you with a thorough understanding of conditions affecting the human body. Plus, with over 30 new 3D animations on the companion Evolve site, quick check boxes at the end of each chapter, and disease progression algorithms, this text helps you engage with the fundamental knowledge you need to succeed in nursing school and in practice. Student resources include animations, review questions, answers to the Quick Check boxes (featured in the text), chapter summary reviews, and case study with answers for select chapters. Algorithms throughout the text clarify disease progression. Did You Know boxes highlight new developments in biologic research, diagnostic studies, preventive care, treatments, and more. Quick Check boxes tests your retention of important chapter concepts. Risk Factor boxes alert you to important safety considerations associated with specific diseases. Summary Review sections provide fast, efficient review of chapter content. Geriatric Considerations boxes and Pediatric Considerations boxes highlight key considerations for these demographics in relevant chapters. Consistent presentation helps you to better distinguish pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment for each disease. Glossary of approximately 1,000 terms familiarizes you with the most difficult or important terminology related to pathophysiology. NEW! Chapters on Alterations in Immunity and Obesity and Disorders of Nutrition feature the latest coverage of these hot topics. NEW! Additional coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics gives you a comprehensive understanding of conditions and cell growths that affect the human body. NEW! Streamlined content and illustrations ensures content is at an appropriate level for undergraduate students. NEW! More than 1000 illustrations in the text and 30+ new 3D animations on companion Evolve site bring difficult concepts to life for a new perspective on disease processes.
Palliative Care Nursing at a Glance by
Palliative Care Nursing at a Glance is the perfect companion for nursing students, health and social care practitioners, and all those involved in palliative care delivery, both in the clinical and home setting. Written by an expert team of academics, nurses, educators and researchers it provides a concise and easy-to-read overview of all the concepts and clinical decision-making skills necessary for the provision of good-quality palliative and end-of-life care. Divided into six sections, the book includes coverage of all key clinical applications, principles of symptom management, palliative care approaches for a range of conditions and patient groups, exploration of the roles of the multi-professional team, as well as ethical challenges. Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout Provides information on delivery of care in a range of settings Broad coverage makes it ideal reading for anyone involved in palliative care delivery User-friendly and accessible resource for those working in both specialist and non-specialist adult settings
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14th Edition by
The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Integrated Care in Action by
Integration is now a key expectation within the delivery of health and social care services in the UK and internationally. However, it still remains difficult to achieve and sustain in practice. Based on learning from successful, and unsuccessful, integrated care initiatives, this book is an invaluable guide for those responsible for leading, managing and delivering integrated care across health, social care and housing. Written by an experienced team of researchers who have studied, led and supported integrated care for many years Integrated Care in Practice draws on latest evidence, innovative practice and helpful theory. It provides insights into the common pitfalls that such initiatives can encounter and demonstrates positive approaches to anticipating and responding to such challenges. Throughout, real-case examples are provided, and concepts and models are connected with the realities of day-to-day life for those working within these services. Integrated care is a goal to aspire to - this book helps to explain how we can turn this goal into practical action and positive outcomes.
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance by
The internationally best-selling Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is the ideal companion for all medical and healthcare students, providing a visual overview of pharmacology, and describing the basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption, and excretion. Clear and accessible chapters organised around common diseases and conditions facilitate efficient clinical learning, and include references to drug classes and side effects, disease pathophysiology, prescribing guidelines, and more. Now in its ninth edition, this leading guide has been thoroughly updated to reflect current guidelines and drug information. This edition features new and revised illustrations, additional pedagogical tools, and enhanced online content. Widely recognised as both the best introduction to medical pharmacology and the perfect revision tool for USMLE and pharmacology exams, this invaluable guide: Covers a wide range of drugs used to treat conditions such as hypertension, anaemias, cancer, and affective disorders Explains drug mechanisms and the principles of drug action Discusses practical topics including drug misuse, drug indications, and side effects Includes a companion website featuring online cases, flashcards, and a list of core drugs
Palliative and End of Life Care in Nursing by
With the number of people requiring palliative and end of life care steadily increasing, it is the responsibility of every nurse, regardless of specialism, to know how to provide high quality care to this group of people. Yet caring for those nearing the end of life can throw up complex issues, including handling bereavement, cultural and ethical issues, delivering care in a wide variety of settings, symptom management, and also ensuring your own emotional resilience. Palliative and End of Life Care in Nursing is specifically designed to equip nursing students and non-specialists with the essential knowledge in relation to the care and management of people nearing the end of life.
Palliative Care Nursing by
"It has been a true pleasure to have had the opportunity to peruse the second edition of Palliative Care Nursing... This book, authored predominately by UK-based experts, succeeds in presenting sophisticated thoughts in readily accessible language... Each chapter begins with a summary of key points, with both classic and new relevant literature well integrated into the text. I have also been particularly impressed with the editors'' final chapter, in which they synthesize a number of crucial issues for the future development of palliative care... this second edition makes a significant contribution to both the palliative care literature as well as to nursing literature." Carol Tishelman, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden "I find Palliative Care Nursing a very attractive book for nurses but also for other disciplines to learn about nursing and to learn about palliative care. The book is voluminous, informative and educationally well constructed. Frameworks and models in this book will give nurses the opportunity to make up their own process to offer support and be a carer for the incurably ill person and his/her family as a skilled companion... . This book gives the possibility for nurses to spread one clear voice about palliative care nursing. Congratulations to all the authors... ." Martine De Vlieger, Palliatieve Hulpverlening Antwerpen v.z.w., University of Antwerp, Belgium "This book should be compulsory reading for nurses and other health care workers who are involved in the care of people in the final stages of life. It provides a comprehensive account of the major issues (clinical, professional, sociological and political) that confront contemporary palliative care while also offering strategies to move forward. The ''real world'' of palliative care is described and critiqued and the rhetoric is dispensed with. This book is a vital resource for nursing practice, learning and teaching." Associate Professor, Peter Hudson (RN, PhD). Director of the Centre for Palliative Care Research and Education, St Vincent''s Hospital and The University of Melbourne, Australia. "This is an excellent book for anyone completing either an academic qualification or who wants to understand the who, what and where of palliative care both in the UK and abroad. Its detail is balanced with case studies and practical illustrations that bring the academic nature of its writing to life...For reference purposes for anyone completing academic work it has to be an absolute must." Nursing Times "The book is very user friendly with key points outlined at the beginning of each chapter and a comprehensive list of further reading and references at the end. Although the writing is easily accessible the concepts and theories are thought provoking." Jean Buchanan, Community Liaison sister, Sheffield The second edition of this innovative textbook has been extensively revised and updated to reflect new global developments in palliative care. This textbook reviews current research and examines the evidence base for palliative care policy and practice. Over a third of the chapters are newly commissioned from leading international contributors. Building on the widely acclaimed original edition, the textbook focuses on palliative care for adults in a variety of care environments. The first three sections use a novel framework - the trajectory of life-limiting illness - to cover key issues including: What happens to people as they become ill How individuals cope as they near death and are dying How families and friends deal with bereavement and loss The final section addresses contemporary issues in nursing and inter-professional working. The book is written with helpful overviews and in an informative and reader-friendly style. There are numerous examples of clinical situations and research studies which are examined in depth to illustrate debates in palliative care. The textbook spans the range of end-of-life contexts which are of relevance to practitioners, educationalists and researchers. Palliative Care Nursing is essential reading for post-qualification nursing students and all nurses and health and social care professionals who provide care to people with advanced illness and those who are near the end of life. This broad ranging critical text will be invaluable to students and practitioners working with people and their families near the end of life.
The Syringe Driver by
The syringe driver is a simple and cost-effective method of delivering a continuous subcutaneous infusion (CSCI). A CSCI provides a safe and effective way of drug administration and can be used to maintain symptom control in patients who are no longer able to take oral medication. There have been several developments in this field since the third edition of this highly successful book. The text in this edition has been completely revised, incorporating new treatment options and an extensive list of new compatibility data. This book serves as a valuable reference source, providing comprehensive review of syringe driver use and administration of drugs by CSCI. The first chapter provides an overview of syringe drivers and CSCIs, including a useful array of frequently asked questions. The second chapter provides information about the chemistry of drug incompatibility and degradation. The third chapter comprises revised and referenced information relating to most drugs likely to be administered by CSCI using a syringe driver. The fourth chapter discusses the control of specific symptoms that are often encountered when CSCIs are required. The fifth and final chapter contains an extensive, referenced list of compatibility and stability data relating to drug combinations administered by CSCI.
Awareness of Dying by
Should patients be told they are dying? How do families react when one of their members is facing death? Who should reveal that death is imminent? How does hospital staff--doctors, nurses, and attendants--act toward the dying patient and his family? Death, as a social ritual, is one of the great turning points in human existence, but prior to this classic work, it had been subjected to little scientific study. American perspectives on death seem strangely paradoxical--the brutal fact of death is confronted daily in our newspapers yet Americans are unwilling to talk openly about the process of dying itself. Awareness of Dying, using a highly original theory of awareness, examines the dying patient and those about him in social interaction, it gives us a language and tools of analysis for understanding who knows what about dying, under what circumstances, and what difference it makes. The authors use their finely detailed observations to develop theoretical constructs that will be of use in many other interactions and situations. Awareness of Dying was the first study of dying in hospitals, and has proven a useful handbook for chaplains, social workers, nurses, and doctors in confronting the many ethical and personal problems that arise in the dying situation. Now available in paperback, it is destined to reach new audiences interested in this key part of all life.
