Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Care of the Acutely Unwell Adult reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout the module.
Care of the Acutely Ill Adult by This key textbook equips all nurses with the knowledge and skills required to care for the deteriorating patient in the clinical environment. The book emphasises the importance of systematic assessment, interpretation of clinical signs of deterioration, and the need to escalate the patient ina timely manner. Using a unique system-based approach, each chapter contains structured learning outcomes and concludes with a competence-based skills assessment to perfect the reader's practice skills. These skills are recommended as essential for every nurse in an acute area and key to successfulpractice.Restructured for ease of use, this new edition has been fully updated to match current guidelines, with new chapters on pain management and the ethics and ceilings of treatment.Written by senior nurses, this key textbook uses real life case studies to link knowledge to practice and is essential reading for all nurses working in acute care settings and undertaking study in the field.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020
Acute and Critical Care Nursing at a Glance by From the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series comes a comprehensive yet accessible overview of all the fundamental elements of acute and critical care nursing. Acute and Critical Care Nursing at a Glance provides an introduction to the key knowledge and skills for patient assessment and problem identification, as well as how to plan, implement and evaluate care management strategies. It also explores clinical decision-making processes and their impact on care delivery, as well as key psychosocial issues, pain management, and safe transfer. All information is presented in a clear, double-page spread with key information accompanied by tables, illustrations, photographs and diagrams. Key features: Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout An accessible, evidence-based, introduction to a complex topic Presents information structured according to the Resuscitation Council's systematic ABCDE framework for ease of understanding Accompanied by patient case studies to help apply theory to practice Acute and Critical Care Nursing at a Glance is ideal for nursing students, healthcare assistants, and registered nurses working within the acute and critical care setting.
Call Number: 616.028 DUT + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Objective Structured Clinical Examination by Preparing for an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) is very different from preparing for a theoretical knowledge examination - your clinical skills and performance will be tested rather than just your knowledge of the theory. It is important to understand how to achieve the best results in an OSCE, and this handy pocket-sized guide describes each clinical skill in turn to help you feel confident and prepared for the exam. The Nursing & Health Survival Guides have evolved - take a look at our our app for iPhone and iPad.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Deconstructing the OSCE by The OSCE forms the practical part of educational and professional medical examinations and is often challenging and expensive. Deconstructing the OSCE takes a fresh approach to passing OSCE exams, teaching readers how to tackle the exam in a new way. This book doesn't provide checklists ofinformation needed for specific OSCE stations; instead it helps readers to develop generic strategies and skills that will lead to success in any OSCE exam regardless of specialty or level.Packed full of advice, practical tips, real life examples and exercises, this book will prepare candidates with the skills to prepare for effective OSCE study and strategies for overcoming common psychological hurdles and baggage. It also explores how to overcome past failures in the OSCE byoverhauling previous study routines and suggesting new strategies for the road ahead.Ideal for trainee doctors sitting PACES, CASC or other OSCEs, medical students, allied medical practitioners, nurses and medical practitioners from overseas, Deconstructing the OSCE is full of practical advice to increase candidates' confidence and improve the chance of success in any OSCEscenario.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Handbook of Clinical Nursing: Critical Care by Designed for recently graduated RNs and nurses transitioning to a new clinical area, this extensive clinical reference is the best resource to provide essential information on the critical care and emergency care specialty areas. Concise and practical entries provide fundamental coverage of the most common clinical problems and issues encountered in nursing practice today. Alphabetized for easy access, each entry includes a definition and description of the clinical problem; etiology; clinical aspects, such as assessment, nursing interventions, management, and implications; and outcomes. Each entry focuses on the role of the nurse throughout the treatment process, and discusses the role of other health care providers with a focus on multidisciplinary treatment. Handbook of Clinical Nursing: Critical and Emergency Care Nursing will be of value to nursing faculty, undergraduate and graduate-level nurses, and nursing students at all levels. Entries from this text have been selected from the larger resource, A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing: The Comprehensive Reference. Key Features: Provides essential information on clinical topics pertinent to the critical care and emergency care specialtiesOffers key knowledge for nurses new to practice or working in an unfamiliar nursing areaPresented in a consistent format for ease of useIncludes an overview of each specialty areaFocuses on the role of the nurse throughout the treatment processWritten and edited by expert clinicians and educators
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy! by Deliver safe, accurate care during electrocardiographic monitoring, with the newly updated ECG Interpretation Made Incredibly Easy! Sixth edition. This easy-to-follow, fully illustrated text explains the basics of cardiac physiology, then leads you through recognizing and treating arrhythmias, with step-by-step guidance on current medications, devices, and monitoring equipment. Take advantage of this real-world, expert nursing advice to reinforce your class materials, prepare for the NCLEX or certification exam, and strengthen your ECG interpretation skills. Features: · Coverage of topics including: o ECG fundamentals - cardiac anatomy and physiology; obtaining and interpreting a rhythm strip o Identifying and interpreting arrhythmias - atrial, junctional, ventricular, atrioventricular, and more · Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explain key concepts and provide clear direction on vital procedures, including: o The 8-Step Method for interpreting a rhythm strip o Nonpharmacologic and pharmacologic treatments for arrhythmias, including pacemakers, ICDs, and antiarrhythmics o Obtaining and interpreting a 12-lead ECG o Troubleshooting equipment problems · Helpful practice questions and quick guides include: o End-of-book multiple choice Q&A o Sample rhythm strips to help you practice your interpretation skills o A Quick Guide to arrhythmias · Special features: o Ages and stages - Identifies differences in ECGs and pacemaker needs, according to the patient's age o Now I get it - Clear-cut directions for performing complex procedures, such as using an automated external defibrillator o Don't skip this strip - Identifies the arrhythmias that have the most serious consequences o Mixed signals - Insights on solving common problems in ECG monitoring and interpretation o I can't waste time - Key points you need to know for conditions that require quick identification and treatment o Quick quiz - Questions with answers/explanations at end of every chapter, to help you remember vital points
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Nursing the Acutely Ill Adult by Nurses in all areas of clinical practice must be able to recognise, assess and manage changes to a patient's condition. With a strong focus on pathophysiology, the comprehensive new edition of this essential textbook retains the case study approach that made the first edition so popular with students and educators alike. Offering further reading resources and definitions of key terms to aid learning it develops nurses' key skills such as identifying and explaining the pathophysiology of sepsis; recognising and managing hypovolaemic shock; assessment and management of cardiovascular, neurological and traumatic injury; and understanding priorities in initial stroke assessment and management, including nursing care following administration of a thrombolytic drug. Written by contributors from a range of clinical and academic backgrounds, Nursing the Acutely Ill Adult is essential reading for all students within the adult branch of nursing, a comprehensive book guide to understanding the common signs and symptoms related to serious acute illness in adults.
Call Number: 616.028 CLA
Publication Date: 2016
Medicines Management in Adult Nursing by Correct medicines management for adults is a crucial skill that adult nursing students must develop in order to provide safe care to their patients. This book specifically supports pre-registration students in meeting the required competencies for medicines management needed to pass formal assessment and qualify as an adult nurse. It is clearly structured around the NMC Essential Skills Clusters for medicines management, covering legal aspects, drugs calculations, administration, storage, record keeping, introductory pharmacology, patient communication and contextual issues in medication. The book is written in user-friendly language and uses patient scenarios to explain concepts and apply theory to practice.
Call Number: 615.102461 LAW + eBook
Publication Date: 2010