Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your L4 Fundamental of Bioscience for Adult Nursing reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Physiology and Anatomy for Nurses and Healthcare Practitioners by The third edition of Physiology and Anatomy for Nurses and Healthcare Practitioners: A homeostatic approach presents homeostasis as a dynamic concept that provides the basis for understanding health and well-being. It recognises how failure to respond to homeostatic disturbances results in imbalances responsible for signs and symptoms of ill-health, and describes how healthcare interventions seek to reverse those imbalances. Accompanied by colour illustrations and a description of related anatomy, the book provides an integrated explanation of body functioning. It discusses the organisation of the human body, main features and processes that must be controlled for health, the organ systems that act as homeostatic regulators, and effectors of homeostatic regulation. It also discusses influences on homeostasis and provides case studies that place examples of ill health and health care into the context of homeostasis. Features of the third edition include: An overview of microbiology and principles of infection management Expanded information on pharmacological principles and actions of the major classes of drugs Expanded discussion on physiological functions in relation to specific pathologies Updates on how the Human Genome project has impacted healthcare Additional case studies to illustrate the healthcare provider¿s role as an external agent of homeostatic control Photographs of common clinical conditions Access to an accompanying website with supplemental information An essential physiology and anatomy text, this book guides readers through the basic structure and functions of the body systems to more complex issues of clinical disorders and healthcare practice. Coverage includes the cardiovascular, lymphatic, nervous, endocrine, reproductive, and respiratory systems as well as skeletal muscle, embryo development, and circadian rhythms.
Call Number: 612 CLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Anatomy TV Anatomy TV is an interactive educational resource on human anatomy. It provides interactive 3D models as well as text, slides and video clips.
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology by Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology continues to be an accessible and comprehensive introductory text to pathophysiology, written specifically for nursing and healthcare students to assist in the understanding of human anatomy, and the complex disease patterns that affect normal physiology. Thoroughly updated, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, this new edition incorporates additional learning features including reflective questions at the end of each chapter, investigation boxes, medication alerts, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, vital signs boxes relating to physiological measurements as well as inclusion of the National Early Warning Score. With emphasis placed on a multidisciplinary approach, Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology highlights the importance of contemporary, safe, and effective practice in an environment in which the delivery of care is constantly evolving.
Call Number: 616.07 PEA
Publication Date: 2017
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook by This new study guide is a companion to the bestselling textbook Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students, and is designed to help and support you with this subject area, by testing and consolidating your knowledge of anatomy and physiology. Jam-packed with tips, hints, activities and exercises, this workbook will guide you through the core areas of anatomy and physiology, and provide you with loads of help with your studies. Designed to support all styles of learning, Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook provides you with a wide range of activities including: Clear illustrations for tracing, copying, shading and colouring in Blank diagrams for labelling Multiple choice questions Fill in the gap exercises Learning tips and hints Crosswords Word searches Also available: Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students 2nd edition - the bestselling textbook upon which this study guide is based.
Call Number: 612.0076 PEA
Publication Date: 2017
Introduction to Anatomy and Physiology for Healthcare Students by This book provides a highly accessible introduction to anatomy and physiology. Written for students studying the subject for the first time, it covers the human body from the atomic and cellular levels through to all the major systems and includes chapters on blood, immunity and homeostasis. Logically presented, the chapters build on each other and are designed to develop the reader¿s knowledge and understanding of the human body. By the end of each chapter, the reader will understand and be able to explain how the structures and systems described are organised and contribute to the maintenance of health. Describing how illness and disease undermine the body¿s ability to maintain homeostasis, this text helps readers to predict and account for the consequences when this occurs. Complete with self-test questions, full colour illustrations and a comprehensive glossary, this book is an essential read for all nursing and healthcare students in both further and higher education.
Call Number: 612.0076 STU + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses by Following the success of previous editions, Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses continues to be an excellent reference resource in anatomy and physiology for students of nursing and allied health, as well as for healthcare assistants and those studying Foundation degrees or diplomas in health studies. Its easy-to-understand approach and small size make it an excellent revision tool and invaluable to take on placements. Now enhanced with full colour illustrations throughout, this book is the perfect guide to aid learning and understanding. This new edition includes: Clear text, diagrams, images and tables to aid the learning process Learning objectives to help with learning and revision Questions to test your knowledge Clinical examples to help relate the theory to practice Full colour images for the most effective reference Clear text, diagrams, images and tables to aid the learning process Learning objectives to help with learning and revision Questions to test your knowledge Clinical examples to help relate the theory to practice Full colour images for the most effective reference Full colour artwork programme Updated questions for each chapter Updated clinical content, ensure it is up to date and relevant
Call Number: 612 WAT
Publication Date: 2018
Anatomy and Physiology: Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy: a Concise Learning Guide to Master the Fundamentals by Master the Fundamentals of Anatomy & Physiology with This Concise Learning Guide This book adopts a layered approach to learning anatomy and physiology. It begins with an introduction to anatomical terms of location and orientation, before looking at the basic structural and functional unit of the life: the cell. In the fourth section, the structural organization of the human body and essential medical terminology are covered. This will equip you with the fundamental knowledge you need to embark upon your voyage around the human body. What follows is a thematic presentation of the essential body systems of the human body and their structural and functional significance. Covered in the Anatomy and Physiology Made Easy guide are the following areas: - Anatomic Terms of the Human Body - Cells, DNA and Tissues - Structural Organization and Essential Medical Terminology - Musculoskeletal System - Neurosensory System and the Sense Organs - Integumentary System - Endocrine System - Cardiovascular System - Hematologic System - Lymphatic System and Immunity - Respiratory System - Gastrointestinal System - Urinary System - Reproductive System - Fluids, Electrolytes, and Acid-Base Balance - Nutrition and Metabolism Kickstart Your Anatomy & Physiology Mastery Now!
Call Number: 612 VAU
Publication Date: 2016
Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy and Physiology for Healthcare Professionals by Anatomy and Physiology is effectively a broad introductory course that requires the student to devote an enormous amount of effort to understand it on even a basic level. While this necessitates time, it can be streamlined in the early stages of one's learning so that the student may understand why he or she is required to invest such a large amount of time into learning - Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy & Physiology is the textbook that accomplishes this. Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy & Physiology is a book that combines both areas of knowledge for a full comprehension of the human body. It is targeted to healthcare students in need of a better understanding of human physiology to combine with their clinical training. The main objective of this book is to elucidate the organization and functioning of the major organs and systems with an emphasis on the applications of this knowledge on the daily clinical routine. One of the main differences of this textbook that sets it apart from others is that it not only provides the information: it also contextualizes it. Every chapter starts introducing a case study that is related to the content that is going to be approached. At the end of the chapter, there is the conclusion of each case study, which presents the final diagnosis showing every step of the process. This context is essential so that, when the student faces this situation in the real-life clinic he or she will be able to deal with it efficiently. Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy & Physiology also has sections of questions to practice the knowledge that was obtained during the chapter, and the answers to each question are explained so no doubts remain after studying. All of this means that Clinical Applications of Human Anatomy & Physiology is a fully rounded book that combines information and practical applications, as well as questions that help the student to understand and retain all the information in a very efficient and effective way. This book has all the information you need to get started on your journey to learning about the human body.
Call Number: 612.0078 JOU
Publication Date: 2018