Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology by Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology continues to be an accessible and comprehensive introductory text to pathophysiology, written specifically for nursing and healthcare students to assist in the understanding of human anatomy, and the complex disease patterns that affect normal physiology. Thoroughly updated, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, this new edition incorporates additional learning features including reflective questions at the end of each chapter, investigation boxes, medication alerts, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, vital signs boxes relating to physiological measurements as well as inclusion of the National Early Warning Score. With emphasis placed on a multidisciplinary approach, Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology highlights the importance of contemporary, safe, and effective practice in an environment in which the delivery of care is constantly evolving.
Call Number: 616.07 PEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
The ECG Made Easy by For over forty years The ECG Made Easy has been regarded as the best introductory guide to the ECG, with sales of over half a million copies as well as being translated into more than a dozen languages. Hailed by the British Medical Journal as a "medical classic", it has been a favourite of generations of medical and health care staff who require clear, basic knowledge about the ECG. This famous book encourages the reader to accept that the ECG is easy to understand and that its use is just a natural extension of taking the patient's history and performing a physical examination. It directs users of the electrocardiogram to straightforward and accurate identification of normal and abnormal ECG patterns. A practical and highly informative guide to a difficult subject. Provides a full understanding of the ECG in the diagnosis and management of abnormal cardiac rhythms. Emphasises the role of the full 12 lead ECG with realistic reproduction of recordings. The unique page size allows presentation of 12-lead ECGs across a single page for clarity. A new opening chapter entitled 'The ECG made very easy' distils the bare essentials of using an ECG in clinical practice with minimal theory and maximum practicality. The second part explains the theory underpinning the recording of an ECG in order to start basic interpretation of the 12 leads. The third part looks at the clinical interpretation of individual ECGs in patients with chest pain, breathlessness, palpitations and syncope as well as understanding the normal variations in ECGs recorded from healthy subjects.
Call Number: 616.120754 HAM
Publication Date: 2019
Anatomy and Physiology for Healthcare by Allhealthcare students have to study anatomy and physiology. They often find it achallenging subject and struggle to see how the subject will link to theirprofessional practice. Anatomy and Physiology in Healthcareis a brand new textbook focused on what healthcarestudents need to know about the biological principles which underpin thepractice of healthcare. Uniquely,the book integrates clinical cases with the essential biological facts toprovide all students with a thorough understanding of how anatomy andphysiology can be applied in healthcare. Byusing clinical cases throughout, the book helps the reader grasp the practicalrelevance of anatomy and physiology to decision-making and care delivery. Theclinical cases have been carefully selected to reflect common conditionsencountered in practice today, and the changing patterns of disease andhealthcare. Clear high-quality full colour illustrations,links to appropriate web-based content, and self-assessment material make thisthe perfect, practical textbook for all healthcare students. Early praise: "Having reviewed the text I will be recommending it to my nursingstudents" "It looks like a very good introductory text, with clear illustrations anddiagrams. I think this would be appropriate for student nurses at differentlevels throughout their training." "I particularly like the approach of making the clinical relevance soclear. Introducing these at the start really sets the scene for why this topicis so important to clinical practice." "I am very interested in adopting this as a key text for ourcourse." "I particularly like the case histories which bring a clear sight ofapplication." "This book is excellent for the two new modules on anatomy and physiologyI am putting together." Review: "This textbook presents anatomy and physiology in a funand interactive way....It is divided into 14 chapters and the way the authorshave introduced the information gives it a modern twist. For example, insteadof titling a chapter 'The reproductive system', it is called 'From onegeneration to the next'. .....What works particularly well is the way theauthors have used case studies that reflect the reality of the changingpatterns of health and disease....This book provides a good foundation in clinicalapplication and it seeks to link theory to practice." Nursing Standard 27 September 2017, volume 32 number 5
Call Number: 612.0024 MAR
Publication Date: 2017
Critical Perspectives on User Involvement by Drawing on contributions from user activists and academic researchers, this topical reader provides a critical stock take of the state of user involvement. It considers different contexts in which such involvement is taking place and includes diverse and sometimes conflicting perspectives on the issues involved. This original and insightful critique will be an important resource for students studying health and social care and social work, researchers and user activists
Call Number: 361.941 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Care of the Acutely Ill Adult by Aimed at all nurses, this key textbook equips them with the knowledge and skills required to care for the deteriorating patient in the clinical environment. The assessment, recognition and rapid escalation of the deteriorating patient is emphasized throughout the book. Using a unique system-based approach, each chapter contains structured learning outcomes and concludes with a competence-based skills assessment, which can be used to assess practice skills. These skills are recommended as essential for every nurse in an acute area and key to successful practice. Using real life case studies to link knowledge to actual practice and written by senior nurses for nurses, this book is an essential purchase for all nurses who work in acute care settings.
Call Number: 610.736 CRE
Publication Date: 2010
Acute and Critical Care Nursing at a Glance by From the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series comes a comprehensive yet accessible overview of all the fundamental elements of acute and critical care nursing. Acute and Critical Care Nursing at a Glance provides an introduction to the key knowledge and skills for patient assessment and problem identification, as well as how to plan, implement and evaluate care management strategies. It also explores clinical decision-making processes and their impact on care delivery, as well as key psychosocial issues, pain management, and safe transfer. All information is presented in a clear, double-page spread with key information accompanied by tables, illustrations, photographs and diagrams. Key features: Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout An accessible, evidence-based, introduction to a complex topic Presents information structured according to the Resuscitation Council's systematic ABCDE framework for ease of understanding Accompanied by patient case studies to help apply theory to practice Acute and Critical Care Nursing at a Glance is ideal for nursing students, healthcare assistants, and registered nurses working within the acute and critical care setting.
Call Number: 616.028 DUT + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing by For courses in nursing leadership and management in programs, including baccalaureate degrees in generic and BSN completion, and graduate-level nursing programs. The essential information and key skills nurses need to become effective managers and leaders More than ever before, today's rapidly changing, volatile healthcare environment demands highly developed management skills and superb leadership. Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing will help both practicing and student nurses manage successfully today, as well as into the future. This book combines practicality with conceptual understanding, tapping expertise of contributors from many relevant disciplines, especially healthcare management professionals. Updated to reflect the current state of healthcare, the 9th edition offers new or expanded coverage of the Affordable Care Act; evolving models of healthcare; cultural and gender diversity; quality management; emotional leadership; social media; harassing, bullying, and lack of civility in healthcare; emergency preparedness for terrorism, disasters, and mass shootings; and prevention of workplace violence. Two new chapters round out this award-winning text: "Understanding Legal and Ethical Issues" and "Imagining the Future." Also available packaged with MyLab(tm) Nursing or via Pearson eText. MyLab is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Pearson eText offers a simple-to-use, mobile, personalized reading experience that lets instructors connect with and motivate students - right in their eTextbook. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab, or via Pearson eText, ask your instructor to confirm the correct ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab, search for: 0134848640 / 9780134848648 Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing Plus MyNursingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 9/e Package consists of: 0134153111 / 9780134153117 Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing, 9/e 013476093X / 9780134760933 MyNursingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing, 9/e If you would like to purchase the Pearson eText version, search for: 0134873564 / 9780134873565 Pearson eText Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing -- Access Card, 9/e
Call Number: 362.173068 SUL
Publication Date: 2017
Clinical Skills for Nursing Adults by This pocket-sized book provides step-by-step instructions on how to carry out advanced clinical skills such as medicine administration, giving transfusions, catheterisation, and other key skills across both acute and community settings. It is ideal for second and third year students and has been updated for the 2018 NMC standards, including the most up-to-date evidence base for the procedures. Each section features: Handy checklists detailing the essential equipment and things to consider before starting. Helpful tips and advice on what to watch out for and the relevant action to take for each skill. Care setting considerations exploring patient requirements depending on where care is being given. Clear instructions guiding you step by step through each procedure. Whether you are revising, practicing, or preparing for a clinical placement, this book will become a trusted companion and daily reference that will help to develop and improve your nursing skills.
Call Number: 610.730941 WRI
Publication Date: 2019