Exploring Strategic Change by
'Exploring Strategic Change is by far the most useful and relevant book available on the vital topic of change management. Written in an accessible style yet drawing on solid theoretical foundations, this latest edition includes up-to-date case examples and new insights in topical areas such as employee engagement. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about the realities of managing change.' Professor Katie Bailey (née Truss), University of Sussex 'It's wonderful to have a new edition of this definitive text on strategic change. Refreshed with new examples and contemporary concepts, this classic continues as the most complete and accessible resource in its domain.' Richard Whittington, Professor of Strategic Management, University of Oxford Exploring Strategic Change engages with the dynamic and complex process of developing and delivering strategic and organisational change, from the analysis of context through to the formulation and implementation of effective strategies and solutions. Change management has become a highly sought after managerial competence for senior executives and middle managers. This book is written to help both students and practising managers develop skills relevant to change management, with the focus on enabling executives to implement their strategic agenda through attention to the practice of strategic change. Using the unique and innovative framework of the change kaleidoscope, the reader will not only develop valuable insights into the practice of managing strategic change, but will also learn to appreciate the need for change approaches tailored to context. Frequent examples encourage both critical reflection and application of theory. A focus on the delivery of change, as well as its design, enables students to supplement their skills in analysis with judgement, translation and implementation skills. This fourth edition of Exploring Strategic Change provides A wide range of short illustrations from both the private and public sectors. More attention to the concept of the change path as a critical design choice. More coverage of leadership, change agency skills and enabling conditions for change. An emphasis on exercising judgement and reading and rewriting the context as key change competences. Two new long case studies to explore the complexity of managing change. Exploring Strategic Change is written for undergraduate and postgraduate students, practising managers and change agents on Strategy, HR and OB-related modules on the management of change. Julia Balogun is Professor of Strategic Management at the School of Management, University of Bath. Veronica Hope Hailey is Professor of Management Studies and Dean of the School of Management, University of Bath. Stefanie Gustafsson is a lecturer and Prize Fellow in HRM at the School of Management, University of Bath.
Leadership by
Leadership: Limits and Possibilities offers a critical discussion of leadership that draws upon a wide range of approaches, material and examples to demonstrate the complex and challenging role of leadership and through this debate suggests possible ways to improve as a leader. It is structured around 5 key aspects of leadership: person, product, position, process and purpose, providing a useful organizing framework. It combines theoretical discussions with lively examples to bring the subject alive.
Managing and Leading People Through Organizational Change by
Change in organizations is all about people: it is people who plan, prepare for and implement change, and who are affected by it in the daily course of their work. Yet there is a tendency to focus on quantifiable and often more easily solved technical aspects of implementing organizational change programmes, and ignore the complex ways that these will impact individuals. Providing an evidence-based analysis of change in organizations, Managing and Leading People Through Organizational Change is written for practitioners responsible for change programmes and postgraduate students of organizational change. This updated edition demonstrates the importance of understanding the effects of change on individuals and engaging them collaboratively through the transformation journey. Featuring new material on individual wellbeing and the impact of technological advances on the workplace, this book sets out frameworks, practical approaches and recommendations for communicating with and leading individuals, teams and organizations through change. Full of exercises, interviews and case studies from across the globe, this book is an essential resource for leaders and students enabling them to achieve sustainable benefits of change at work.
The Politics of Organizational Change by
Politics is an aspect of everyday life within organizations, and is a force that inhibits individual and collective behaviour. If not fully understood, it can impede organizational change and development. In order to minimise the political aspects of organizational dynamics there is a need to understand the extent to which organizational culture brings about politicised conformance and how individuals shape their behaviour through self-interest to conform--sense-giving and sense-making nexus--thus moderating the degree of change initiatives. The Politics of Organizational Changeexplores the relationship between self-interest, power, politics and managing organizational change from a theoretical perspective. It encourages the fundamental questioning of the relationship between self-interest, power and control inherent within organizational change, and discusses the attendant implications for managing change. It will be of value to those who require a text that goes beyond set patterns of coverage found in textbooks dealing with managing change. t goes beyond set patterns of coverage found in textbooks dealing with managing change.
Power, Politics, and Organizational Change by
Organization politics can be seen as a game in which players compete for different kinds of territory such as status, power, and influence. In Power, Politics and Organizational Change, David Buchanan and Richard Badham ask: What's the relevance of politics to change and innovation? What kind of game is this? What, if any, are the rules? How is the game played? What ethical issues arise? Should one play this game to win, and if so, how? How can you develop political expertise? The third edition has been thoroughly updated and revised. This includes discussion of current trends heightening the importance of developing political will and skill in a post-truth era, the rise of 'new power', the role of 'BS busting', the power of storytelling, and the politics of speaking up.
The Leadership Experience by
Master critical leadership skills and gain an understanding of the theory needed to become an effective business leader in today�s turbulent times with Richard Daft's THE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE, 8E. In this edition you explore the latest thinking in leadership theory and contemporary practices in organizations throughout the world. New content addresses emerging topics from how to lead agile, hybrid and remote work teams to establishing a growth mindset, encouraging mindfulness and embracing diversity. New discussions also examine moral awareness, optimism bias, leading with grit, the leader's responsibility to followers, creating a healthy culture and collective activism. You find approximately 30 brief real leader examples in each chapter as well as new "Put It Into Practice" short exercises and more than 32 new experiential exercises in this edition. Unique insights behind actual leadership decisions make topics come alive.
Managing Change, Creativity and Innovation by
This bestselling text brings a fresh and unique approach to managing organizational change, taking the view that change, creativity and innovation are interconnected. It offers a strong theoretical understanding of change, creativity and innovation along with practical guidance and ideas for organizational change and development.The fourth edition comes with: lots of brand-new case studies and examples from around the world extra content on innovation and technology extended discussion and an additional chapter on the people aspects of change that includes culture, sensemaking and temporality Written in an engaging and accessible style, this books is essential for those studying organizational change management or creativity and innovation.
Organizational Change and Development by 
The Theory and Practice of Change Management by
Technological advances, an increasingly globalized workforce and seismic global events mean that change is a constant feature of business life today. The consequences of not managing change effectively can be devastating for businesses. How can managers deal with change brought about by unpredictable events? How can they embrace change and communicate its benefits to stakeholders? How can organizations ensure the ongoing success of change? John Hayes's bestselling textbook equips you with the practical tools and academic knowledge to tackle these questions and many more. Offering unrivalled breadth, it will guide you clearly through all stages of the change process, from recognizing the need for change to ensuring its successful implementation. Its unique underpinning framework, based on a process model of change, will help you to view change as purposeful and ordered, rather than something chaotic and unmanageable. This sixth edition covers all of the key theories, tools and techniques of organizational change, and offers everything you need to know about organizational change today: - Brand new international case studies and examples allow you to understand change in context - Coverage of 'big-bang' disruptions, offers you a framework for dealing with unforeseen global events like pandemics, economic instability and climate change - Updated research reports show you the latest theory in the field - New learning objectives, reflective questions and experiential exercises help you to consolidate your learning and revise effectively - Increased coverage of SMEs, public sector and family businesses shows you change in diverse sectors
The Leadership Challenge by
The most trusted source of leadership wisdom, updated to address today's realities The Leadership Challenge is the gold-standard manual for effective leadership, grounded in research and written by the premier authorities in the field. With deep insight into the complex interpersonal dynamics of the workplace, this book positions leadership both as a skill to be learned, and as a relationship that must be nurtured to reach its full potential. This new seventh edition has been revised to address current challenges, and includes more international examples and a laser focus on business issues; you'll learn how extraordinary leaders accomplish extraordinary things, and how to develop your leadership skills and style to deliver quality results every time. Engaging stories delve into the fundamental roles that great leaders fulfill, and simple frameworks provide a primer for those who seek continuous improvement; by internalizing key insights and putting concepts into action, you'll become a more effective, more impactful leader. A good leader gets things done; a great leader aspires, inspires, and achieves more. This book highlights the differences between good and great, and shows you how to bridge the chasm between getting things done and making things happen. Gain deep insight into leadership's critical role in organizational health Navigate the shift toward team-oriented work relationships Motivate and inspire to break through the pervasive new cynicism Leverage the electronic global village to deliver better results Business is evolving at an increasingly rapid rate, and leaders must keep pace with the changes or risk stagnation. People work differently, are motivated differently, and have different expectations today--business as usual is quickly losing its effectiveness. The Leadership Challenge helps you stay current, relevant, and effective in the modern workplace.
The Personality of the Organization by
Continuing the themes of Containing Anxiety in Institutions, Menzies Lyth reflects on a variety of social situations: the dynamics of the Fire Brigade, conflicts between psychiatric hospitals and the communities that they serve and family patterns of consumption. The collection concludes with a survey of the psychological aftermath of disaster.
Consult your subject guide for recommended websites.
