Exploring Entrepreneurship by
A detailed and critical analysis of the multiple types of entrepreneurship, helping students to understand the practical skills and theoretical concepts needed to create their very own entrepreneurial venture.Split into two parts, the book provides an even balance between theory and practice. Part 1 covers the practical activities involved in new entrepreneurial ventures, and Part 2 uses the latest research to explore entrepreneurship from different perspectives.The expanded third edition of Exploring Entrepreneurship includes:* Additional coverage of entrepreneurship and the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), corporate entrepreneurship, variety and diversity in entrepreneurship, and entrepreneurial approaches to the delivery of public services* New and updated Case Studies that tackle cutting-edge practical issues* New and updated Researcher Profiles from leading international scholars* Enhanced Recommended Reading sections in each chapter with concise introductions to the latest research findingsEssential online resources for students, including selected SAGE journal articles, pre-reading suggestions, self-assessment questions and revision tips, plus a range of lecturer resources, are available.Suitable reading for students taking modules in Entrepreneurship or Small Business Management at upper undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
Entrepreneurship : successfully launching new ventures by 
Innovation and Entrepreneurship by
Innovation and Entrepreneurship 3rd Edition is an accessible text on innovation and entrepreneurship aimed specifically at undergraduate students studying business and management studies, but also those on engineering and science degrees with management courses. The text applies key theories and research on innovation and entrepreneurship and then reviews and synthesises those theories and research to apply them in a much broader and contemporary context, including the corporate and public services, emerging technologies and economies, and sustainability and development and creating and capturing value from innovation and entrepreneurship. In this third edition the authors continue to adopt an explicit process model to help organise the material with clear links between innovation and entrepreneurship. This text has been designed to be fully integrated with the Innovation Portal at www.innovation-portal.info, which contains an extensive collection of additional resources for both lecturers and students, including teaching resources, case studies, media clips, innovation tools, seminar and assessment activities and test questions.
Entrepreneurship : the practice and mindset by 
Entrepreneurship Marketing by
Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) dominate the market in terms of sheer number of organisations; yet, scholarly resource materials to assist in honing skills and competencies have not kept pace. This well renowned textbook guides students through the complexities of entrepreneurship from the unique perspective of marketing in SME contexts, providing a clear grounding in the principles, practices, strategies, challenges, and opportunities faced by businesses today. SMEs now need to step up to the terrain of mobile marketing and consumer-generated marketing and utilise social media marketing tools. Similarly, the activities of various stakeholders in SME businesses like start-up accelerators, business incubators, and crowdfunding have now gained more prominence in SME activities. This second edition advances grounds covered in the earlier edition and has been fully updated to reflect this new, dynamic business landscape. Updates include: A consideration of social media imperatives on SME marketing; Discussion of forms of capital formation and deployment for marketing effectiveness, including crowdfunding; Updated international case studies drawn from diverse backgrounds; Hands-on practical explorations based on real-life tasks to encourage deeper understanding. This book is perfect for students studying SMEs, Marketing and Enterprise at both advanced undergraduate and postgraduate levels, as well as professionals looking to obtain the required knowledge to operate their businesses in this increasingly complex and turbulent marketing environment.
Business Model Generation by
Business Model Generation is a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation. Co-created by 470 "Business Model Canvas" practitioners from 45 countries, the book features a beautiful, highly visual, 4-color design that takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization. It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Along the way, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition. Business Model Generation features practical innovation techniques used today by leading consultants and companies worldwide, including 3M, Ericsson, Capgemini, Deloitte, and others. Designed for doers, it is for those ready to abandon outmoded thinking and embrace new models of value creation: for executives, consultants, entrepreneurs, and leaders of all organizations. If you're ready to change the rules, you belong to "the business model generation!"
High-Impact Tools for Teams by
Take advantage of a powerful visual management tool for teams as you work together and deliver great results. It's been used by thousands of teams for project success! 59% of U.S. workers say that communication is their team's biggest obstacle to success, followed by accountability at 29% (Atlassian). High-Impact Tools for Teams explains a simple, powerful tool that helps team leaders and members align and get clarity on exactly who is responsible for each part of the team's most important activities and projects. The tool is complemented by 4 trust add-ons that help teams build trust and increase psychological safety, so every member can be confident in sharing ideas or concerns about obstacles the team may face. It's a proven tool for project teams, based on years of research, and thousands of teams are already using the Team Alignment Map to run effective "get-to-action meetings", give projects a good start and de-silo organizations. Co-author Alex Osterwalder is the international best-selling author who co-created the Business Model Canvas, a strategic management tool used by 1 million+ industry leaders globally. Plan as a team and know who does what Uncover and proactively remove the most likely obstacles to any project Boost team member contributions Run more effective team meetings Get more successful projects With the guidance of High-Impact Tools for Teams, you can be better prepared as a team leader or team member to plan effectively, reduce risks, and collaborate with others. Your team will be accountable and ready to deliver results!
Testing Business Ideas by
A practical guide to effective business model testing 7 out of 10 new products fail to deliver on expectations. Testing Business Ideas aims to reverse that statistic. In the tradition of Alex Osterwalder's global bestseller Business Model Generation, this practical guide contains a library of hands-on techniques for rapidly testing new business ideas. Testing Business Ideas explains how systematically testing business ideas dramatically reduces the risk and increases the likelihood of success for any new venture or business project. It builds on the internationally popular Business Model Canvas and Value Proposition Canvas by integrating Assumptions Mapping and other powerful lean startup-style experiments. Testing Business Ideas uses an engaging 4-color format to: Increase the success of any venture and decrease the risk of wasting time, money, and resources on bad ideas Close the knowledge gap between strategy and experimentation/validation Identify and test your key business assumptions with the Business Model Canvas and Value Proposition Canvas A definitive field guide to business model testing, this book features practical tips for making major decisions that are not based on intuition and guesses. Testing Business Ideas shows leaders how to encourage an experimentation mindset within their organization and make experimentation a continuous, repeatable process.
Value Proposition Design by
The authors of the international bestseller Business Model Generation explain how to create value propositions customers can't resist Value Proposition Design helps you tackle the core challenge of every business -- creating compelling products and services customers want to buy. This highly practical book, paired with its online companion, will teach you the processes and tools you need to create products that sell. Using the same stunning visual format as the authors' global bestseller, Business Model Generation, this sequel explains how to use the "Value Proposition Canvas" to design, test, create, and manage products and services customers actually want. Value Proposition Design is for anyone who has been frustrated by new product meetings based on hunches and intuitions; it's for anyone who has watched an expensive new product launch fail in the market. The book will help you understand the patterns of great value propositions, get closer to customers, and avoid wasting time with ideas that won't work. You'll learn the simple process of designing and testing value propositions, that perfectly match customers' needs and desires. In addition the book gives you exclusive access to an online companion on Strategyzer.com. You will be able to assess your work, learn from peers, and download pdfs, checklists, and more. Value Proposition Design is an essential companion to the "Business Model Canvas" from Business Model Generation, a tool embraced globally by startups and large corporations such as MasterCard, 3M, Coca Cola, GE, Fujitsu, LEGO, Colgate-Palmolive, and many more. Value Proposition Design gives you a proven methodology for success, with value propositions that sell, embedded in profitable business models."
Fundamentals of Marketing Research by
Click on the Supplements tab above for further details on the different versions of SPSS programs.Fundamentals of Marketing Research covers all facets of marketing research including method, technique, and analysis at all levels. The methodological scope regarding research design, data collection techniques, and measurement is broad with three chapters devoted to the critical area of measurement and scaling. The presentation is from primarily a pragmatic and user-oriented perspective which aides the student to evaluate the research presented to them. This text explores cutting-edge technologies and new horizons while ensuring students have a thorough grasp of research fundamentals.Key Features- Contains a wealth of modern methods and techniques not found in competing texts. Provides numerous illustrative cases at the end of each section. Integrates international marketing research throughout instead of placing it in a separate chapter. Has a full chapter devoted to the essential topic of online research. An Instructor's Manual on CD-ROM provides instructors with examination questions, additional background material on discussion questions in the text, and other helpful aidsFundamentals of Marketing Research has been bundled at no additional cost to the students, with a license to use www.SurveyZ.com to prepare and distribute an online survey.
The Practice of Market Research by
The Practice of Market Research offers a comprehensive and understandable account of the techniques and practical tasks involved in setting up and running marketing or social research projects. Linked to the professional body MRS (the Market Research Society) and with plenty of real-life examples from big-name companies such as McDonalds and Levis as well as governments and charities, the author's depth of insight and experience of the real world of market research is evident throughout this book. The book offers: A well-rounded overview of market research Strong coverage of both qualitative and quantitative aspects of market research, including research design, sampling, qualitative data analysis and research ethics Valuable insight into the day-to-day tasks of a researcher Guidance and examples on everything from writing a proposal and creating a project timetable to preparing a report and giving a presentation This book is an ideal companion to any student's market research course or research project and an indispensable guidebook with a long shelf-life for market research practitioners and people in the industry.
A Concise Guide to Market Research by
This book offers an easily accessible and comprehensive guide to the entire market research process, from asking market research questions to collecting and analyzing data by means of quantitative methods. It is intended for all readers who wish to know more about the market research process, data management, and the most commonly used methods in market research. The book helps readers perform analyses, interpret the results, and make sound statistical decisions using IBM SPSS Statistics. Hypothesis tests, ANOVA, regression analysis, principal component analysis, factor analysis, and cluster analysis, as well as essential descriptive statistics, are covered in detail. Highly engaging and hands-on, the book includes many practical examples, tips, and suggestions that help readers apply and interpret the data analysis methods discussed. The new edition uses IBM SPSS version 25 and offers the following new features: A single case and dataset used throughout the book to facilitate learning New material on survey design and all data analysis methods to reflect the latest advances concerning each topic Improved use of educational elements, such as learning objectives, keywords, self-assessment tests, case studies, and much more A glossary that includes definitions of all the keywords and other descriptions of selected topics Links to additional material and videos via the Springer Multimedia App
How to Design and Report Experiments by
How to Design and Report Experiments is the perfect textbook and guide to the often bewildering world of experimental design and statistics. It provides a complete map of the entire process beginning with how to get ideas about research, how to refine your research question and the actual design of the experiment, leading on to statistical procedure and assistance with writing up of results. While many books look at the fundamentals of doing successful experiments and include good coverage of statistical techniques, this book very importantly considers the process in chronological order with specific attention given to effective design in the context of likely methods needed and expected results. Without full assessment of these aspects, the experience and results may not end up being as positive as one might have hoped. Ample coverage is then also provided of statistical data analysis, a hazardous journey in itself, and the reporting of findings, with numerous examples and helpful tips of common downfalls throughout. Combining light humour, empathy with solid practical guidance to ensure a positive experience overall, Designing and Reporting Experiments will be essential reading for students in psychology and those in cognate disciplines with an experimental focus or content in research methods courses.
Perfect Pitch by
A professional "pitching coach" for one of the world's largest marketing conglomerates, Jon Steel shares his secrets and explains how you can create presentations and pitches that win hearts, minds, and new business. He identifies the dos and don'ts and uses real-world examples to prove his points. If you make pitches for new business, this is the perfect book for you.
TALK LIKE TED : the 9 public speaking secrets of the world's top minds. by 
Pitch Anything: an Innovative Method for Presenting, Persuading, and Winning the Deal by
Gold Medal Winner--Tops Sales World's Best Sales and Marketing Book "Fast, fun and immensely practical." --JOE SULLIVAN, Founder, Flextronics "Move over Neil Strauss and game theory. Pitch Anything reveals the next big thing in social dynamics: game for business." --JOSH WHITFORD, Founder, Echelon Media "What do supermodels and venture capitalists have in common? They hear hundreds of pitches a year. Pitch Anything makes sure you get the nod (or wink) you deserve." --RALPH CRAM, Investor "Pitch Anything offers a new method that will differentiate you from the rest of the pack." --JASON JONES, Senior Vice President, Jones Lang LaSalle "If you want to pitch a product, raise money, or close a deal, read Pitch Anything and put its principles to work." --STEVEN WALDMAN, Principal and Founder, Spectrum Capital "Pitch Anything opened my eyes to what I had been missing in my presentations and business interactions." --LOUIE UCCIFERRI, President, Regent Capital Group "I use Oren's unique strategies to sell deals, raise money, and handle tough situations." --TAYLOR GARRETT, Vice President, White Cap "A counter-intuitive method that works." --JAY GOYAL, CEO, SumOpti About the Book: When it comes to delivering a pitch, Oren Klaff has unparalleled credentials. Over the past 13 years, he has used his one-of-a- kind method to raise more than $400 million--and now, for the fi rst time, he describes his formula to help you deliver a winning pitch in any business situation. Whether you're selling ideas to investors, pitching a client for new business, or even negotiating for a higher salary, Pitch Anything will transform the way you position your ideas. According to Klaff, creating and presenting a great pitch isn't an art--it's a simple science. Applying the latest findings in the field of neuroeconomics, while sharing eye-opening stories of his method in action, Klaff describes how the brain makes decisions and responds to pitches. With this information, you'll remain in complete control of every stage of the pitch process. Pitch Anything introduces the exclusive STRONG method of pitching, which can be put to use immediately: Setting the Frame Telling the Story Revealing the Intrigue Offering the Prize Nailing the Hookpoint Getting a Decision One truly great pitch can improve your career, make you a lot of money--and even change your life. Success is dependent on the method you use, not how hard you try. "Better method, more money," Klaff says. "Much better method, much more money." Klaff is the best in the business because his method is much better than anyone else's. And now it's yours. Apply the tactics and strategies outlined in Pitch Anything to engage and persuade your audience--and you'll have more funding and support than you ever thought possible.
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
The Reflective Entrepreneur by
In a world where entrepreneurial success often seems deceptively accessible, it is not always clear what makes a person entrepreneurial. In this book, Dimo Dimov offers a reflective insight into the entrepreneurial journey, striking up a conversation about entrepreneurship in order to challenge and untangle existing preconceptions. A discussion of challenges and tensions such as idea versus opportunity, genius versus lunatic, and skill versus luck forms the foundation of the book, while the second part offers actions and considerations which can help the reader to seek opportunities in a fractious environment. The final part of the text focuses on the collective spirit in entrepreneurship, arising from the interplay between participation and outcomes. The author brings a succinct diversity to the field, making this book essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students on entrepreneurship courses, as well as scholars, researchers, and practitioners looking for a new perspective on entrepreneurship.
Reflective Writing by
Packed with practical advice, this concise guide explains what reflective writing is and how to approach it. It equips students with all the key information and strategies they need to develop an appropriate reflective writing style, whatever their subject area. Annotated examples from a range of disciplines and contexts show students how to put these tips into practice. It concludes with a section on applying reflective practices to personal development and career planning. This handy guide is an indispensable resource for students of all disciplines and levels, who are required to develop and demonstrate reflective qualities in their work. It will be particularly useful to students writing reflective logs on placements. New to this Edition: - Contains more content on the value and importance of reflection in other life contexts, so that students can appreciate its relevance from an early stage; - Features a short overview of academic writing genres, to help students make connections between reflective writing and other forms of academic writing with which they are already familiar - Covers alternative ways of capturing reflection, such as free-writing, blogs/vlogs and other technologies - Includes new examples which show how students have re-worked their initial drafts to produce a better, more appropriate response
Consult your subject guide for recommended journals.
Consult your subject guide for recommended websites.
Entrepreneurship Fourth edition by
Entrepreneurship, 4th Edition delves into the trials and tribulations of entrepreneurship so students will have the necessary tools to start their own businesses. It provides coverage on social enterprises and ethics due to the rise in green trends and corporate scandals. Up-to-date examples and references provide entrepreneurs with the most essential information
New Venture Creation by
If you are looking for an engaging textbook, rich in learning features, which will help you to guide your students through the process of developing and launching a start-up, this is it. With his innovative New Venture Creation Framework, Paul Burns breaks the venture creation process up into three key phases: Research, Business Model Development, and Launch. At every stage crucial steps and considerations are revealed, providing comprehensive coverage of the subject. Practical advice is combined with academic research, enabling you to run a course which is both relevant and rigorous. The second edition of this popular textbook is essential reading for any undergraduate or postgraduate course in new venture creation. It will also prove useful for shorter courses on entrepreneurship and in enterprise centres and entrepreneurship hubs.
Innovation Management: Context, Strategies, Systems and Processes by
In a world of increasingly sophisticated customer needs, innovation is becoming central to corporate growth and prosperity, and is being recognised as a source of vitality and competitive advantage. What do we mean by 'innovation', and what must companies do to leverage it in order to support their short-term objectives and long-term strategies? This book attempts to answer these questions by progressively building up a common understanding of innovation and creativity, positioned strategically against business needs, and exploited through innovation frameworks and best-in-class practices. Throughout the book, a series of examples and case studies are introduced to aid understanding and provide insights across many industries and business scenarios.
Opportunity-Centred Entrepreneurship by
The second edition of this core textbook focuses on the practical elements of opportunity creation, recognition and exploitation. It aims not only to analyse what constitutes entrepreneurship but also enables readers to develop their own entrepreneurial skills. Taking a highly practical and accessible approach, this text connects the theory and practice of entrepreneurship in useful and insightful ways that can be applied in the real-world. This is a book that focuses on learning for, rather than about, enterprise. Written by a leading authority in the field, Opportunity-Centred Entrepreneurship will be essential reading for undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA students taking courses such as enterprise, new venture creation, creativity and innovation, small business management and corporate entrepreneurship. It has also been designed to support practitioners who are seeking to develop their entrepreneurial skills, whether they are start-up entrepreneurs, career-changers, or managers focusing on innovation and business development. It does not require prior knowledge of other business subjects.
Innovation Management and New Product Development by
Explore key concepts of managing innovation and engage with latest developments in the field Innovation Management and New Product Development, 7th Edition, by Trott is an established textbook on innovation management, management of technology, new product development and entrepreneurship. It provides an evidence-based approach to managing innovation in a wide range of contexts, including manufacturing, services, small to large organisations and the private and public sectors. The book keeps you abreast of the recent developments in the field of innovation and how the subject is being discussed in the wider business world through up-to-date examples, case studies, illustrations and images in every chapter. Clear and informed coverage of the management processes of new product development, coupled with a practical orientation of taking you through real-life challenges and dilemmas, makes it an essential textbook for MBA, MSc and advanced undergraduate courses. Pearson, the world's learning company.
Strategic Entrepreneurship by
The text offers an up-to-date, accessible and rigorous examination of a strategic approach to entrepreneurial management and emphasises its distinction from small business management. The text integrates both conceptual and practical ideas from a broad grounding within wider economic, psychological and other social science disciplines. The book is written in a clear style, with coherent and logical organisation of themes, and effective visualisation of key ideas to facilitate students' learning and lecturers' course planning & delivery. It provides comprehensive coverage of the fast-growing field of entrepreneurship teaching and research.
