Managing Pain in Children by
Providing an evidence-based, practical guide to care in all areas of children's pain management, Managing Pain in Children offers nurses and other healthcare professionals an introduction to the skills and expertise to manage children's pain effectively. This fully-updated second edition first explores the relevant anatomy and physiology of children, the latest policy guidelines surrounding pain management and ethical issues involved in managing children's pain. Various pain assessment tools available for children and non-drug methods of pain relief are then explored and applied.
Child-Centred Nursing by
Child-Centred Nursing presents a unique approach by bringing children to the fore of the discussion about their health and health care. It encourages you to think critically about children, their families and contemporary practice issues. It promotes reflection on how you can develop innovative practice so as to improve children's health outcomes and their experiences of health care. Clinical case studies and critical thinking exercises are included in each chapter, creating and sustaining a clear link between professional practice, research and theory. The book is essential reading for all pre-registration and post-graduate students studying children's and young people's health care.
A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by
This innovative textbook provides a concise and accessible guide for undergraduate students specializing in children and young people's nursing in the UK and further afield. Each chapter has been fully updated to reflect current knowledge and practice. The wide range of topics covered includes all the essentials, such as contemporary child health policy and legal issues; knowledge and skills for practice; and caring for children with special needs. Students will learn how to recognize the deteriorating child, use procedural play and distraction, and consider the mental health of children and young people. A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing is written by multidisciplinary experts, rooted in child-centred healthcare within a family context, and draws upon best contemporary practice. It is an invaluable resource that will help nursing students provide effective, evidence-based care. Key points, summary boxes and clearly defined aims, objectives and learning outcomes to support learning Conversation boxes to enliven the text Patient scenarios to relate theory to practice New chapters on skin health and the use of therapeutic play Suggestions for seminar discussion topics to help teachers Resource lists and online resources for further study or research Online slides to complement chapters within book
Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology by
Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology contains the critical knowledge required to provide safe and effective care to young people. Emphasising the application of evidence-based theory to practice, this comprehensive yet accessible textbook helps nursing and healthcare students understand how children's anatomical and physiological systems influence disease processes and treatment options differently than in adults. Highly visual, succinct yet comprehensive, this textbook presents an overview of the structure and function of each body system, supported by clinical applications demonstrating how the concepts relate to nursing in practice. Fully revised to reflect the Future Nurse Curriculum Standards, this second edition contains a new chapter on physical growth and development, discussion of social, political, and environmental impacts to children's health and wellbeing, updated problems and activities, and more. Each chapter includes a range of effective pedagogical tools, such as learning objectives, clinical considerations, body maps, and self-assessment questions. Designed to prepare students for their careers in delivering high-quality care for children in a range of settings, this leading textbook: Provides information on the anatomical and physiological changes that leads to an altered state of health Emphasises clinical application throughout, applying the anatomy and physiology to common health conditions in children Offers a structured and comprehensive approach to child-related anatomy and physiology theory to prepare students for practice Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology is essential reading for nursing and healthcare students, and a useful reference for nurses, nursing associates, healthcare assistants, assistant practitioners, and other professionals working in the field. All content is reviewed by students for students. If you would like to be one of our student reviewers, go to www.reviewnursingbooks.com to find out more.
Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long-Term Conditions by
The second edition of Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long Term Conditions remains the only nursing-specific text on the care of paediatric patients with chronic illness. Written to meet the needs of nursing students and professionals alike, this comprehensive volume provides authoritative and up-to-date information on the context, theory, and practice of delivering holistic care to children and families in a range of health and social care settings. Contributions from a team of experienced academics, educators, and practitioners offer valuable insight into the impact of chronic illness on children and parents, the practical implications of meeting their physical, psychological, and social needs, empowering them to be 'experts' in their care, and many more vital aspects of long-term paediatric care. This edition features new and revised content reflecting contemporary guidelines and evidence-based practice, including updated clinical case studies and a new chapter examining the impact of having a sibling with a long-term condition. Emphasising a multi-disciplinary approach to managing chronic illness, this important resource: Provides numerous case studies and activities illustrating the application of theoretical principles and current evidence in nursing practice Investigates the genetic basis of chronic illness and the differing onsets of long-term conditions Discusses current political, economic, and social policies that are influencing healthcare for children and bringing challenges to managers and practitioners Examines both classic and contemporary theories of grief, loss, coping, and adaptation Explores ethical, legal, and professional aspects of nursing children and young people with chronic illness Addresses evolving nursing roles, the importance of acute emergency care, and the planning and delivery of effective transition from child to adult services Nursing Care of Children and Young People with Long Term Conditions is required reading for student and registered children's nurses, as well as for practitioners in related health and social care disciplines.
Essentials of Nursing Children and Young People by
This innovative and student-friendly textbook provides up-to-date information on the core content of child nursing courses and helps students understand how it applies to practice. Covering all settings throughout, including the acute and community ones, it focuses on the importance of child and family centred care, by having them directly involved through the use of voices and case studies. This book provides a comprehensive framework for student knowledge development by including: Activities and theory stop-points to encourage students to develop their critical thinking skills. Pointers to further reading resources, including journal articles and videos for students to explore and build knowledge more independently. A range of online resources including extra scenarios for lecturers to use in their teaching and MCQs for students to revise. Essential reading for undergraduate nursing students specialising or wanting to specialise in children and young people nursing.
Promoting Psychological Well-Being in Children with Acute and Chronic Illness by
Living with a chronic illness can have a significant psychological impact on a child and his or her family, and it is essential that this aspect of their care is not overlooked. This book provides a comprehensive guide to promoting the psychological well-being of children with chronic illnesses and medical conditions, covering support within health, social services and education. It discusses issues such as the impact of diagnosis and the experiences of children and their families in managing their medical condition and treatment. Strategies to support children and help them to cope with medical conditions are demonstrated, including cognitive behavioural and systemic approaches, and techniques such as relaxation and motivational interviewing. Case examples from clinical practice are given to illustrate the application of psychological ideas and frameworks to a variety of medical conditions and psychological difficulties. The book also includes a comprehensive resources section of where to look for further information. This will be an essential book for all professionals working with children with medical conditions, including psychologists, doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, counsellors, social workers, speech and language therapists, dieticians and play therapists.
Principles of Biomedical Ethics by
Building on the best-selling tradition of previous editions, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, provides a highly original, practical, and insightful guide to morality in the health professions. Acclaimed authors Tom L. Beauchamp and James F. Childress thoroughly develop and advocate for four principles that lie at the core of moral reasoning in health care: respect for autonomy, nonmaleficence, beneficence, and justice. Drawing from contemporary research--and integrating detailed case studies and vivid real-life examples and scenarios--they demonstrate how these prima facie principles can be expanded to apply to various conflicts and dilemmas, from how to deliver bad news to whether or not to withhold or withdraw life-sustaining treatments.
Illuminating both theory and method throughout, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, considers what constitutes moral character and addresses the problem of moral status: what rights are due to people and animals, and when. It also examines the professional-patient relationship, surveys major philosophical theories--including utilitarianism, Kantianism, rights theory, and virtue theory--and describes methods of moral justification in bioethics. Ideal for courses in biomedical ethics, bioethics, and health care ethics, the text is enhanced by hundreds of annotated citations and a substantial introduction that clarifies key terms and concepts.
Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing by
Thoroughly revised and updated, this new edition of Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing is a comprehensive, evidence-based text for nurses and allied health professionals caring for sick newborn infants. This user-friendly text focuses on the common problems and related care occurring within the neonatal specialty. All previous chapters have been thoroughly updated and new content includes chapters on, for example, organisation of neonatal care, assessment of the neonate, the premature and low birth weight neonate as well as palliative care. In addition, the book now includes a broad and in-depth web-based companion comprising online resources, case studies with answer guides and learning activities. This accessible and interactive approach enables nurses to recognise, rationalise and understand clinical problems using an evidence-based approach. Divided into four parts, the book provides an overview of neonatal care, and a detailed look at the physical and emotional wellbeing of neonate and family, a range of clinical aspects of neonatal care, and key practices and procedures. Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing will be essential reading for both new and experienced nurses, allied health professionals and students learning about neonatal care including those undertaking qualifications in the neonatal specialism and pre-registration students taking relevant modules or placements.
Interprofessional working : an essential guide for health- and social-care professionals 2nd ed. by
This new edition of Interprofessional Working: An Essential Guide for Health and Social Care Professionals provides the underpinning theoretical and practical knowledge all undergraduate nursing and healthcare students will need to learn how to successfully communicate and work effectively as part of an integrated, interprofessional team. As part of the topical Nursing and Health Care Practice series, this highly accessible text offers a host of practice based, real-life scenarios to show theory in practice along with a real 'life case studies, boxed features and new activities to develop critical thinking and understanding.
Dimond's legal aspects of Nursing. 8th edn. by 
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Care for Children by
The first edition of this book was the first authoritative, systematic and comprehensive text to define the increasingly important and evolving specialty of paediatric palliative care. It explores both the clinical aspects and the multidimensional and holistic nature of care for the dyingchild, based on the knowledge that all human experience has a physical, emotional, psychological and spiritual impact. The book covers ways of providing support in all of these areas both for the child, families, and carers, recognising the importance of teamwork and taking an evidence-basedapproach.The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Care for Children is about the care of children for whom cure of their underlying disease is not possible. It encompasses the physical management of symptoms such as pain and nausea, as well as social issues such as accessing appropriate education, emotional issuessuch as techniques for communication, and spiritual issues such as feelings of guilt and isolation. The book suggests that if we are to maintain the quality of life for a child it is essential to recognise all these dimensions and try to address them. This can only be done by recognising the skillsof a wide range of professionals and working together in ways that are not always intuitive to any one discipline. It explores the multidimensional and holistic nature of care for the dying child. Those working in paediatric palliative care recognise that all human experience has emotional,psychological and spiritual impact as well as physical, and this book offers the essential information needed for those involved in paediatric care to find ways of providing support in all of these areas.Comprehensive in scope, exhaustive in detail, and definitive in authority, this second edition has been thoroughly updated to cover new practices, current epidemiological data and the evolving models that support the delivery of palliative medicine to children. Paediatric palliative care is nowdeveloping in countries with differing health care systems, and being adapted to suit individual illnesses and the varying resources and geography in different parts of the world. This book is an essential resource for anyone who works with children worldwide.
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by
Provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law, helping them to better understand the legal obligations they face, and leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice. Written in clear and straightforward language, the book covers issues such as equality and human rights, confidentiality, negligence, disability, children's rights and mental health. It is also supported by insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law to nursing and how it underpins practice. New to this edition: · Fully mapped to the latest NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · New chapter covering death, dying and organ donation · Updated to take account of the Deprivation of Liberty Act · New content covering GDPR, Social Media and Safeguarding of Adults and Children
Palliative Care Nursing of Children and Young People by
"Children's palliative care is an evolving specialty and as such our knowledge base cannot remain static. This book constantly challenges the reader to critically analyze their own practices and beliefs within an evidence-based framework and as such makes a valuable contribution to the growing body of knowledge on this important subject." - Susan Fowler-Kerry, in the Foreword. This book caters for readers from different working environments and levels of experience. It is ideal for paediatric nurses with no specialist palliative care knowledge, and also for palliative care nurses with no specialist paediatric experience. Other healthcare professionals and therapists working with children, young people and their families will also find this book invaluable. It will also be ideal for undergraduate and postgraduate health and social care students, and professionals involved in children's hospices, community services and charity groups. "This book captures not just the rapidly evolving evidence base, but also as many current developments as possible and applies them in a meaningful way to the care of infants, children, and young people living with life-limiting illness, and their families. It offers an overview of contemporary issues and helps to stimulate the type of dialogue that can bring about the actions that will make a real difference for the children, young people and families in our care." - Rita Pfund, in the Preface.
Interpersonal Relationships 8th edn. by
Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts. UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications. UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication. UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing. UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis. Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills. Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship - all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery. NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
Cancer in Children and Adolescents by
Over the last six decades, there has been tremendous improvement in the survival rate for the majority of children affected by cancer in the United States and in Western Europe. Despite dramatic advances in the "developed" world, 85% of children diagnosed with cancer globally will not survive this disease. Cancer in Children and Adolescents is an accessible textbook that covers the complexities and interdisciplinary nature of cancer occurrences and provides the fundamentals of diagnosis and management of cancers that affect children and adolescents. Distinguished for its global focus, many chapters in Cancer in Children and Adolescents are co-authored by recognized specialists from around the world.Cancer in Children and Adolescents is divided into four major sections:Section 1: The Laboratory Biology and Diagnostic Evaluation of Childhood CancerSection 2: Principles of Cancer Therapy in ChildrenSection 3: Tumors of ChildrenSection 4: Supportive Care
Children and Young People's Nursing by
Underpinned by a rights-based approach, this essential text critically analyses the theory and practice of children and young people's nursing from several perspectives - public health, acute and community based care, education and research. Chapters address the clinical, legal, ethical, political and professional issues and controversies which impact on the care delivered to children, young people and their families both nationally and internationally. This new edition continues to promote reflection and critical thinking about the practice of children's nursing and professional development.
Children's nursing case book by 
Nursing the Neonate by
Written by a multidisciplinary team of medical and nursing experts, this fully-updated second edition provides evidence-based coverage of all frequently seen neonatal conditions. Divided into chapters based on body-systems, each section includes discussion of relevant embryology, anatomy and physiology. Designed for real-life practice in the ward, each chapter includes clear guidelines for procedure and discussion of best practice. Case studies are used throughout to aid discussion of specific equipment, conditions, and situations. An essential resource for neonatal nursing and midwifery students, as well as practicing neonatal nurses, this acclaimed text may also be of use to junior doctors beginning neonatology. Evidence-based theory clearly linked to application in the ward with case studies throughout Procedure and equipment guidelines included, with specific recommendations for practice Accessible format designed for easy reading and reference Highly illustrated with relevant diagrams and pictures