Making Sense of Change Management. 4th edn. by 
How to prepare for interviews and develop your career : as a nurse or midwife by 
Understanding Organizations by
Organizations are a part of everyday life, whether in schools, hospitals, police stations or commercial companies. In this classics text, Charles Handy argues that the key to successful organizations lies in a better understanding of the needs and motivations of the people within them. Understanding Organizations offers an extended 'dictionary' of the key concepts -- culture, motivations, leadership, role-playing, co-ordinating and consultation -- and then shows how this 'language' can help us find new solutions to familiar problems. Few management writers have been as consistently challenging and influential as Charles Handy. Firmly established as one of the core business texts, this book is essential reading for anyone interested in organizations and how to make them work better.
Leadership roles and management functions in nursing by 
Organisational Behaviour in the Workplace by
A comprehensive textbook, completely refreshed to engage students through real life case studies and develop their critical thinking. A new title to reflect the focus on organisational behaviour and written specifically for undergraduate first year students.
Management & Organisational Behaviour by 
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management by
Successfully make the transition to professional nursing practice. Two books in one, for the price of one--all the issues and trends coverage you need, plus leadership and management content. The completely revised and updated 6th Edition of this popular resource prepares you to meet the challenges you'll face as a professional in today's changing health care environment. You'll explore your future responsibilities as a leader and a manager and the workplace issues and trends that you'll encounter in practice. A wealth of resources online at DavisPlus provides tools to hone your skills and prepare for the future, including interactive case studies, review questions, bonus chapters, a resume template, sample letters and emails, and much more.
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management by
Easy-to-read and understand coverage of the concepts essential to assuming leadership and management roles Comprehensive, practical advice on how to develop and sustain a successful nursing career Historical perspectives on nursing today Information on career mobility, advanced degrees, magnet status, practice levels, and professional organizations Beginning- and end-of-chapter case studies that promote clinical reasoning Content on evidence-based practice, situational leadership, staffing, diversity, and team building Self-assessment tools to identify personal strengths and empower the development of leadership skills Detailed information on the NCLEX exam Integrated coverage of Canadian nursing
Leadership in Health Care by
The Fourth Edition of Leadership in Healthcare responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today and includes updated content to reflect the new guidelines set out in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards. The need for leadership in an everyday context is highlighted throughout the book with reference to both theory and practice. There are case studies, practical examples, reflective questions and even anecdotes from the authors′ own experience, showing students the potential and application of leadership. There are also activities that enable students to engage with every facet of leadership, as it connects to topics such as team-work, communication, problem-solving, emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Content updates in-line with the 2018 NMC Standards, the new NMC code, and Revalidation. The book is supported by online resources for both students and lecturers, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions.
Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of Nursing Children and Young People by
Nurses and healthcare professionals are constantly faced withethical and philosophical dilemmas when working with children ineveryday practice. Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of NursingChildren and Young People is a comprehensive text on the ethicsand philosophy behind paediatric nursing that reflects thecontemporary issues encountered while working with children andyoung people. The title provides a philosophical and historical analysisof the subject, looking at a review of sociological and politicaltheories concerning the nature of childhood, and providing acritical analysis of contemporary notions about childhood. It thengoes on to look at moral theories and their application topaediatric nursing practice, ethical issues when caring forchildren of all ages, from infancy to adolescence. It considersissues of disabled children, confidentiality, mental health issues,children's rights, and pain management. With case studies andactivities throughout, this book will enable students and newlyqualified nurses both to understand philosophical concepts andissues but also to articulate their own reflections andobservations on these subjects. Written by children's nurses for children's nurses With contributions from internationally recognised experts inthe field Reflective scenarios, further reading, extensive referencing,case studies, guided questions, and resources throughout Includes appendices on the RCPCH Guidelines onWithdrawal of Treatment, the ICN Ethical Code, the Summary of theUNCRC, and the RCPCH Guidelines for the Conduct of EthicalResearch
Interprofessional working : an essential guide for health and social care professionals 2nd ed. by 
Leadership, Management and Team Working in Nursing by
To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.With all nurses expected to demonstrate leadership, management and team working skills it is vital that students engage with this aspect of their training as early as possible. As well as covering all of the core theory and knowledge, the authors encourage the reader to explore their own values and experiences when it comes to leadership that will help to develop emotional intelligence and a solid understanding of what good leadership and management practice looks like and why it matters to them. Key features: · Written with the needs of student nurses firmly in mind with activities and case studies that bring theory to life · Linked to the 2018 NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses · Provides practical guidance on the immediate challenges that the new nurse will face
Leadership and Nursing Care Management by
Develop your management and leadership skills. Leadership and Nursing Care Management, 6th Edition maintains its AONE competencies, and features the most up-to-date, evidence-based blend of practice and theory related to the issues that impact nursing management and leadership today. A fresh, conversational writing style provides you with an easy-to-understand, in-depth look at these prevalent issues. Key topics include the nursing professional's role in law and ethics, staffing and scheduling, delegation, cultural considerations, care management, human resources, outcomes management, safe work environments, preventing employee injury, and time and stress management. UNIQUE! Chapters divided according to AONE competencies for nurse leaders, managers, and executives. Research Notes in each chapter summarize relevant nursing leadership and management studies and highlight the practical applications of research findings. Case Studies at the end of each chapter present real-world leadership and management situations and illustrate how key concepts can be applied to actual practice. Critical Thinking Questions at the end of each chapter present clinical situations followed by critical thinking questions that allow you to reflect on chapter content, critically analyze the information, and apply it to the situation. Full-color design and photos makes content more vivid. Updated! Chapter on the Prevention of Workplace Violence emphasizes the AONE, Joint Commission's, and OSHA's leadership regarding ethical issues with disruptive behaviors of incivility, bullying, and other workplace violence. Updated! Chapter on Workplace Diversity includes the latest information on how hospitals and other healthcare facilities address and enhance awareness of diversity. Updated! Chapter on Data Management and Clinical Informatics covers how new technology helps patients be informed, connected, and activated through social networks; and how care providers access information through mobile devices, data dashboards, and virtual learning systems.
Mindful Leadership: a guide for the healthcare professions by
Leadership is liberating, and the development of leadership in health care organisations is vital. In this timely and exciting textbook, Christopher Johns addresses the most vital aspects of health care development and education, and reveals the tensions of becoming a leader within health care organizations. Being able to understand and work towards resolving these tensions is essential in becoming an effective leader. To be an effective leader, however, requires an awareness and acceptance of circumstances that is best termed 'mindfulness'. Equipped with the theoretical and practical-know-how to drive forward health reform and ensure quality, this book will enable health care students and practitioners to become reflective and genuinely mindful leaders.
Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing : theory and application by 
Clinical Governance: a guide to implementation for healthcare professionals by 
Management and Organisational Behaviour by
Now in its 11th edition Laurie Mullins's Management & Organisational Behaviour is the essential guide to OB for students today. Over half a million students have used this engaging and practically focused book as their introduction to the world of management and organisational behaviour, and it continues to evolve and improve to serve the needs of modern students.Using both theory and practical, real-world examples, the textbook considers how organisational performance can be improved through effective management of people. This unique approach to the subject enables students to relate Organisational Behaviour to Management in the broader social and cultural contexts.
Leadership Theory & Practice 7th edn. by 
Organizational Culture and Leadership by
Regarded as one of the most influential management books of all time, this fourth edition of Leadership and Organizational Culture transforms the abstract concept of culture into a tool that can be used to better shape the dynamics of organization and change. This updated edition focuses on today's business realities. Edgar Schein draws on a wide range of contemporary research to redefine culture and demonstrate the crucial role leaders play in successfully applying the principles of culture to achieve their organizational goals.
Clinical Judgement and Decision-Making for Nursing Students by 
Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing by
For courses in nursing leadership and management in programs, including baccalaureate degrees in generic and BSN completion, and graduate-level nursing programs. The essential information and key skills nurses need to become effective managers and leaders More than ever before, today's rapidly changing, volatile healthcare environment demands highly developed management skills and superb leadership. Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing will help both practicing and student nurses manage successfully today, as well as into the future. This book combines practicality with conceptual understanding, tapping expertise of contributors from many relevant disciplines, especially healthcare management professionals. Updated to reflect the current state of healthcare, the 9th edition offers new or expanded coverage of the Affordable Care Act; evolving models of healthcare; cultural and gender diversity; quality management; emotional leadership; social media; harassing, bullying, and lack of civility in healthcare; emergency preparedness for terrorism, disasters, and mass shootings; and prevention of workplace violence. Two new chapters round out this award-winning text: "Understanding Legal and Ethical Issues" and "Imagining the Future." Also available packaged with MyLab(tm) Nursing or via Pearson eText. MyLab is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Pearson eText offers a simple-to-use, mobile, personalized reading experience that lets instructors connect with and motivate students - right in their eTextbook. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab, or via Pearson eText, ask your instructor to confirm the correct ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab, search for: 0134848640 / 9780134848648 Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing Plus MyNursingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 9/e Package consists of: 0134153111 / 9780134153117 Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing, 9/e 013476093X / 9780134760933 MyNursingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing, 9/e If you would like to purchase the Pearson eText version, search for: 0134873564 / 9780134873565 Pearson eText Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing -- Access Card, 9/e
Evidence Synthesis for Decision Making in Healthcare by
E-book only
Leadership in organisations. 9th edn. (Print copy) by 