Interpersonal Relationships by
Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts. UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications. UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication. UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing. UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis. Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills. Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship - all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery. NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
Foundations of Adult Nursing by
Covering the issues, themes and principles that explain what it means to be a nurse today, this book provides the theory students need to know and applies it to the diverse patient groups and settings that students will encounter on their placements. Key features of the book are: It introduces the core aspects of adult nursing An evidence-based approach with discussion of literature, policy and research and suggested further reading for every chapter Over 30 case studies to help students understand the realities of practice across a range of settings including primary care and the community Stop and think boxes which challenge assumptions and encourage reflection A companion website with sample questions for lecturers to use in seminars, multiple choice questions for student revision and free SAGE journal articles The book has been closely mapped to the NMC′s 2018 Standards for Proficiency, Education and Training and supports students across their entire degree programme as they develop into nurses of the future ready to deliver and lead care.
The Study Skills Handbook by
This is the ultimate guide to study skills, written by million copy bestselling author Stella Cottrell. Her tried and tested approach, based on over twenty years' experience of working with students, has helped over a million students to achieve their potential. When it comes to studying, there is no one-size-fits-all approach. This engaging and accessible guide shows students how to tailor their learning to their individual needs in order to boost their grades, build their confidence and increase their employability. Fully revised for the fifth edition, it contains everything students need to succeed. This is an invaluable resource for undergraduate students of all disciplines, and is also ideal for postgraduates, mature students and international students. It prepares students for what to expect before, during and after their studies at university.
Values and Ethics for Care Practice by
Values and ethics are integral to the provision, practice and delivery of patient-centred health and social care. This book, which is an expanded and updated version of the 2008 title Values for Care Practice, introduces readers to these concepts and helps them understand how they can apply them to become compassionate care professionals. The patient perspective and patient voice are seen and heard throughout the book. Readers are encouraged to reflect on their personal values and on those underpinning health and social care work and to understand how values and ethics are articulated in the latest Codes of Practice. The text uses activities and case studies to enable readers to apply theory in their practice. This book will help readers to understand why good caring is more than merely a practical intervention; it also requires a personal investment and quality of character that involves genuine concern and respect for others.
Essentials of nursing practice by 
Diamond's legal aspects of nursing: a definitive guide to law for nurses by
The definitive guide to the law that all nurses need to know. Written specifically for student nurses as well as those already in practice, Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is your essential practical guide to the legal principles you need to be aware of in your everyday nursing practice. Building on previous editions of the book by Bridgit Dimond, this 8th edition has been significantly reworked by a new author team with extensive experience in teaching nursing law. It has also been fully updated and revised in line with recent legal developments and the new Nursing standards to ensure it continues to meet the requirements of nursing law modules.
Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice Skills by
To deliver safe and effective patient care student nurses need to find, critique, and use evidence in every day nursing decisions and academic work, Consequently they need a new textbook that goes further than simply explaining research methods. Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Skills has beendeveloped as a one stop shop for research theory and evidence based practice skills for all aspects of the pre-registration nursing course - in both the classroom and on clinical placement.Taking a logical approach, the authors introduce the role of evidence based practice in nursing before explaining how research is produced and how students can find, read and critique it in order to make informed care decisions. Theory is applied to both academic and clinical work so readers caneasily see how to weigh up the evidence before applying it to a nursing decision. Useful for the entire undergraduate course, the content is mapped against the skills required of registered nurses and includes practical advice for completing final year academic assignments.Written in an easy to read, student friendly manner the authors have brought together trustworthy and reliable advice in a way that's easy to dip into any time you need it- from writing an assignment, devising a nursing plan, documenting your placement learning outcomes, or finding advice ondisseminating evidence for practice. This book has been truly designed to help student nurses become evidence based practitioners and to develop their nursing practice.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Nursing Evidence -Based Practice Skills features:* Practical tools such as checklists and notes to help students to really put the theory into practice* Web links to authoritative sources of research will quickly direct students to the best evidence* Hyperlinked bibliographies mean readers can easily access the referenced articles in the book* Audio interviews will put the subject in to context* Our interactive glossary will help newcomers to the subject to understand the language of research
Beginning Reflective Practice by 
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by
InEvidence-based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare, the authors usecase studies, examples, and theoretical overviews to guide readers through the concept of evidence-based practice and provides practical guidance on its utilisation in clinical practice. The new 4th edition has been fully updated to reflect contemporary practice, and includes a new chapter on the 'History and Development of Clinical Academics,'which looks at clinical academic careers and the impact and benefits this has for nurses and healthcare professionals on their clinical practice. Written to support nurses at pre and post-registration, the book includes an interdisciplinary focus covering health and social care curricula.
Cite Them Right by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The 11th edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online. New to this Edition: - Updated examples for all referencing styles to match the latest referencing standards - Now covers IEEE referencing - Expanded APA, MHRA, OSCOLA and Vancouver sections - Advice on how to reference first language texts that are not in English - Coverage of even more sources, including body art, collages, musicals, sewing patterns, Snapchat, WhatsApp and working papers - Simplified advice on referencing legal and parliamentary sources
Nursing Practice by
Nursing Practice is the essential, textbook to support you throughout your entire nursing degree, from your first year onwards. It explores all the clinical and professional issues that you need to know in one complete volume. Written in the context of the latest Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards for Pre-Registration Nursing Education and the Essential Skills Clusters, this book covers all fields of nursing: Adult, Child, Mental Health, Learning Disabilities and also Maternity care, in both acute and community settings. With full colour illustrations, and plenty of activities and user-friendly features throughout, this evidence-based text encompasses essential nursing theory and practice, providing students with information to support their success. Learning features in the book include: Hear it from the experts- tips and advice from real life nurses, patients and their carers, and student nurses Red Flags- alerting the student to potential dangers Primary Care Considerations- informs students about care issues in the community setting Fields boxes- giving further insight into other fields of nursing, making the book relevant to all fields of nursing practice Medicines Management boxes provide key information about medicines Self-assessment and activities throughout A companion website to this title is available at www.wileynursingpractice.com Here you'll find a range of resources for both the student and the lecturer, including: Over 350 interactive multiple choice questions Flashcards Glossary Links to references and further reading Illustrations from the book Worksheets
Values-Based Interprofessional Collaborative Practice by
The provision of care within the context of the modern health service environment involves a wide range of professionals. The health care team might include general practitioners, nurses, midwives, hospital doctors, physiotherapists, other allied health professionals, as well as receptionists and practice managers. To optimise delivery of care at both individual and population levels, team members must work collaboratively with colleagues in their own profession and others. This book, in the Values-Based Medicine series, adds the dimension of values to the more usual discussions of teamwork, considering interactions between health care professionals and how these might be affected by differences in professional and personal values. Examples of scenarios based on real-life experience promote learning and reflection. Anybody working or training in health care and who aspires to collaborate successfully with their colleagues in other specialties will find this book extremely valuable, as will educators who facilitate learners in teamwork.
Interprofessional Working in Health and Social Care by
There will always be a need for professionals to work collaboratively if they are to provide the highest standard of care. Interprofessional working encourages practitioners to understand the roles of other professionals and to learn from each other, as well as from service users and carers, to ensure the full benefit of this collaboration is realised. It is an essential element of both education and practice for today's professionals. Interprofessional Working in Health and Social Care discusses the rationale, skills and conditions required for interprofessional working. In addition, it provides an overview of the roles and perspectives of different health professionals across a broad rangeof expertise: education, housing, medicine, midwifery, nursing, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, police, probation, radiography, social work and youth work. The second edition:* Offers a broad variety of case studies from a range of fi elds and settings. * Includes a new chapter dedicated to interprofessional working with service usersand carers. * Looks forward, offering brand new content on new and emerging roles such asspecialist paramedics and approved mental health practitioners. This book is a valuable tool for students and practitioners across the health and social care discipline, employing engaging case studies and reflective activities to support learning about interprofessional and interagency collaboration. Erratum: please note the term 'Approved Mental Health Practitioner' has been used in error, instead of 'Approved Mental Health Professional'. This will be corrected as soon as possible on the next reprint and the e-book version has been corrected.
Fundamental Aspects of Research for Nurses by 
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance by
Nursing and Healthcare Research at a Glance is perfect for nursing and healthcare students, as well as newly qualified practitioners and anyone looking for a refresher or introduction to research. Covering a broad range of topics gathered under key sections, this essential book combines informative diagrams and images to provide memorable information for students on one page, and accessible, clearly written text on the facing page. It includes information on a range of quantitative and qualitative research methods, the process of gaining ethical permission, conducting research with special groups including children, and successfully conducting reviews of the literature. Key features include: Clear and informative full colour illustrations throughout An emphasis on need-to-know research information for busy students and healthcare staff A wide range of research methods, currently used in modern healthcare research An impressive line-up of specialist and well-known experts in the field of health and nursing research This book provides quick access to the principles and reality of research and its implementation within the education and practice environment. It is essential reading for anyone in health service education and service settings with limited time who need to draw on research evidence.
Planning Your Essay by
With essays, the key to success is in the planning. This handy guide takes students through the complete essay writing process, from planning the task and analysing the question to structuring, drafting and editing their work. It provides clear and concise guidance on how to reference, approach different types of essay and make the most of tutors' feedback. The book also includes useful models for different types of essays from a range of disciplines and a new chapter on adding a critical dimension to written assignments. This is an essential resource for students of all disciplines and levels who are assessed on the basis of their ability to write essays.
The Study Skills Toolkit for Students with Dyslexia by
Lecturers, request you electronic inspection copy herePacked with helpful advice, checklists and templates, this book will help you improve your study skills throughout your time at university. Written in a straightforward, no-nonsense style, the guidance can be broken down into manageable chunks. Issues covered include: procrastination planning your assignment understanding your essay question researching, writing and referencing your written work managing your own well-being. Drawing on years of experience running study skills workshops in higher education, Monica Gribben has written an accessible book for students with dyslexia that shows how to work through the challenges that studying presents. The companion website www.sagepub.co.uk/gribben has podcasts, worksheets and electronic resources to support each chapter. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Using Research in Practice by
Latest research findings can provide an evidence base for health care practice which ultimately improves outcomes for patients. With so much published research out there, how do you find, evaluate and use the most relevant studies to shape your own health care practice? This friendly book walks you through the key stages of locating, selecting and evaluating research findings in health care. Offering an engaging, practice-based approach to an often daunting task, the book: Explores how to appraise and apply data drawn from a range of quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods studies; Demonstrates how research findings can influence decision-making and can improve your own practice, as well as that of your team; Uses stimulating practice scenarios and worked examples to provide a transferrable blueprint for evidence based practice; Drawing on the author's extensive research and teaching experience within the field of practice development, Using Research in Practice is an essential text for any health care student or practitioner seeking to evaluate and develop their own evidence base.
Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care by
This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. 　 Now in its third edition, Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it's facing. Other topics include: Health, illness and religious beliefs; Mental health and culture; Women's and men's health in a multicultural society; Caring for the elderly; Death and bereavement. 　 Key features: Includes international perspectives and issues relating to overseas nurses studying and working in the UK; Case studies, reflective exercises, summary boxes and website links designed to stimulate discussion and shared practice; Fully updated with guidelines for practice and education.
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health and social care? This introductory guide provides you with a concise overview of the different research methods and terminology that you will come across when undertaking research in any course related to nursing, health and social care. The book′s easy-to-follow structure takes you from research novice to confident researcher, helping you to make sense of research and understand how it is implemented in healthcare practice. The new edition includes: Updates in light of the 2018 NMC standards, with more information on the impact of GDPR, consent and vulnerable groups, Personal and Public Involvement (PPI), and work-based projects. Improved case examples of real research, with more on group work, poster presentations, research output and dissemination, literature reviews, and dissertations. Upgraded activities that include reflective exercises, critical appraisal tools, a dissemination plan, and a glossary, all in the book. This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students within the health and therapy professions, nurses, midwives, physiotherapists, radiographers, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, and paramedics.
Nursing research: principles, process and issues by
Learning about research can be a daunting task. This best-selling core text book offers a comprehensive introduction to important research concepts, processes and issues. The author guides readers who are new to research but also introduces new debates and perspectives to those with some experience wanting to develop their skills further.
This popular book equips students with the information and skills they need to read, comprehend and critique research. Whether an undergraduate taking an introductory research module, a postgraduate nursing student embarking on a project, or an experienced practitioner wanting to sharpen your skills, Parahoo's accessible writing style will ensure readers are able to utilise research throughout their study and in everyday practice.
Compassion, Caring and Communication. 2nd edn. by 
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by
If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
Studying with Dyslexia by
As a dyslexic student you have a unique learning style. Understanding this can help you take control and study in a way that is most effective for you. Full of practical advice and visual examples, this friendly book will guide you through the dyslexic learning style. It gives you all the essential knowledge and ideas needed to manage your dyslexia positively. Handy for students at any level, this easy-to-read guide: * suggests core strategies for doing things differently to work with your dyslexia, instead of against it * covers individual study skills, including organisation, reading, writing and taking exams * provides information on the support that should be available to you as a student
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Nursing by
The new edition of this well regarded book introduces the underpinning theory and concepts required for the development of first class communication and interpersonal skills in nursing. By providing a simple to read overview of the central topics, students are able to quickly gain a solid, evidence-based grounding in the subject. Topics covered include: empathy; building therapeutic relationships; using a variety of communication methods; compassion and dignity; communicating in different environments; and culture and diversity issues. Three new chapters have been added that point readers towards further ways of approaching their communication skills that are less model and technique driven and focusing more on therapeutic considerations, as well as looking at the politics of communication.
Fundamentals of Palliative Care for Student Nurses by
Fundamentals of Palliative Care for Student Nurses is a thorough yet accessible introduction and overview of a key area of the nursing programme. This textbook clearly explains the palliation of symptoms and the social context of death and dying. Engaging with the latest guidelines and curriculum, it highlights the practical and communicative skills required for induction programmes and continuing professional development. KEY FEATURES: A full-colour, student-friendly, introduction to the essentials of palliative, or end of life care A topical and timely subject area, explored clearly and concisely Full of interactive pedagogy and features, including quizzes, multiple choice questions, vignettes/case studies and activities Features a companion website with links to further reading, additional activities and resources, and self-testing interactive multiple choice questions Fundamentals of Palliative Care for Student Nurses focuses on this area with expert knowledge and compassion, preparing students in order to help them provide the best possible care for their patients and their families.
