Doing a Literature Review In Health and Social Care : a practical guide by 
How to do a systematic literature review in nursing. by
eBook of 2012 edn also available.
The Research Process in Nursing by
Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation by 
How to Read a Paper by
The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health, and social care? Now in its Sixth Edition, this easy to read guide provides a concise overview of different research methods and terminology, and helps readers understand how research is implemented in practice. The new Sixth Edition includes: Case examples of real research from a variety of settings and countries Updates in light of the new NMC standards, more on critical appraisal tools and service improvement Chapter learning outcomes and key points A companion website featuring an interactive glossary, reflective exercises, FREE access to SAGE journal articles for students, SAGE videos, seminar notes for lecturers, and more! This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students of nursing and health in the UK and internationally.
Nursing Research: an introduction. 2nd edn. by
Nursing Research: An Introduction answers all your questions on the nursing research process. It gives you the knowledge you need to understand nursing research, evidence-based practice and critical appraisal so you can complete your own project and excel in your studies. Key features of the book are: Detailed, practical coverage of key methods such as how to do a literature review or conduct a survey so that you are able to do your own research. A wealth of examples of research in action so you can see how it works in practice. Reflective exercises to help you critically engage with what is being discussed. A companion website including free access to relevant journal articles and flashcards to help you remember key terms, as well as resources to help lecturers deliver research courses. It will be essential reading for nursing undergraduates, postgraduates and all new researchers. Pam Moule is Professor of Health Services Research and Director of the Centre for Health and Clinical Research at the University of the West of England, Bristol. Margaret Goodman is part-time Senior Lecturer in Research, based in the Faculty of Health and Life Sciences at the University of Coventry.
Nursing research: principles, process and issues by 
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care by
Have you heard of 'evidence based practice' but don't know what it means? Are you having trouble relating evidence to your practice? This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence based practice is or how to relate it to practice. Fully updated in this brand new edition, this book is simple and easy to understand - and designed to help those new to the topic to apply the concept to their practice and learning with ease. The book provides a step by step guide to what we mean by evidence based practice and how to apply it. This new edition features: Additional material on literature reviews and searching for literature Even more examples for health and social care practice Extra material on qualitative research and evidence based practice Expanded section on hierarchies of evidence and how to use them A Beginner's Guide to Evidence Based Practice in Health and Social Care is key reading for everyone involved in looking at and applying evidence in healthcare.
Critical Thinking Skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by
In the Fourth Edition of this bestselling book, John W Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history and key elements of each of five qualitative inquiry traditions: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography and case study - putting them side by side, so that we can see the differences. The authors relate research designs to each of the traditions of enquiry. They compare theoretical frameworks and ways to employ standards of quality, as well as strategies for writing introductions to studies, collecting data, analyzing data, writing a narrative and verifying results. New in this edition: Updated materials on each tradition More on interpretive frameworks and ethics More visual depictions of the five approaches Two new topical articles in Chapter 5, reproduced in full in the appendices.
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by 
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation by
how to write your nursing dissertation How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation provides nursing and healthcare students with authoritative information on developing, writing, and presenting an evidence-based practice healthcare dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment. Written by experienced healthcare professionals, this comprehensive textbook offers clear and straightforward guidance on sourcing, accessing, and critically appraising evidence, helping students develop their clinical research and writing skills. The authors address the common difficulties encountered throughout the process of writing a dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment, and offer expert tips and practical advice for managing time, developing study skills, interpreting statistics, publishing aspects of the work in a journal or at a conference, and more. Now in its second edition, this bestselling guide presents relatable and engaging scenarios to illustrate the setting of standards, explore legal and ethical frameworks, examine auditing and benchmarking, and demonstrate how evidence is applied to real-world problems. Covering the entire dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment process from a nursing and healthcare perspective, this innovative textbook: Helps students develop and appropriately answer a clear dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment Addresses the fundamental aspects of evidence-based practice in an accessible and readable style Features new and updated content on mini dissertations, final assessments, and evidence-informed decision-making projects that many healthcare institutions now require Presents up-to-date information that meets the needs of new healthcare roles, such as the Nursing Associate and Healthcare Assistant Includes access to a companion website containing downloadable information, an unabridged dissertation sample, and links to additional resources How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation is a must-have guide for nursing and healthcare students, trainees, other healthcare students required to complete an evidence-based practice project, and anyone looking to strengthen their critical appraisal and assignment writing skills.
Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice Skills by 
Nursing Research: methods and critical appraisal for evidence-based practice by
Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Essentials of Nursing research: appraising evidence for nursing practice by 
Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research by
Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research is a companion to Essentials of Nursing Research . It reinforces key concepts covered in the textbook through a variety of question types and exercises that make it easy to remember essential information and build critical-thinking skills. Application exercises help you read, comprehend, and critique nursing studies. You will answer Questions of Fact, which guide you in reading the eight research articles in the study guide's appendices, and Questions for Discussion, which aid you in assessing the merits of various aspects of the studies. Study questions pose queries about research studies that make you think critically about research reports and how to conduct research. Matching exercises challenge your ability to link related terms and concepts. Completion exercises test your memory and are a great refresher before an exam. Includes eight full research articles and answers to selected study guide exercises.
Nursing Research: generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice by 
Understanding Nursing Research by
Focusing on connecting understanding of nursing research with evidence-based practice, this text teaches students how to read, critique, and utilize research reports. The text explains each step of the research process and is organized around student-centered questions that may be encountered while using research. These questions include how the conclusions were reached, which patients the conclusions apply to, how the study was done, and why it was done that way. New to this edition are updates on informatics in nursing research and the role of research in shaping policy, and updated articles reflecting the current trends and issues in nursing practice. This new edition has also been streamlined for ease of reading to the beginning nursing student.
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by 
Conducting Research Literature Reviews 5th edn. by
Providing readers with an accessible, in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature, Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper is perfect for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows readers how to explain the need for and significance of research, as well as how to explain a study's findings. Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, the Fifth Edition features new research, examples, and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences, expanded coverage of qualitative research, updated and revised meta-analysis procedures, a brand new glossary of key terms, double the number of exercises, and additional examples of how to write reviews.
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. It is intended to assist: Professionals and academics in the healthcare field who undertake or teach research in clinical or educational settings; Postgraduates who are undertaking qualitative research and want to revise qualitative research approaches and procedures before going on to more specialist texts; and Undergraduates in their last year who wish to learn about qualitative perspectives or carry out a project using these approaches. Fully updated from the earlier editions by Holloway and Wheeler, it reflects recent developments in nursing research. This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research. With applied and practical examples throughout, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is essential reading for those who are looking for a comprehensive introduction to qualitative research.
Critical Thinking and Writing for Nursing Students by 
Qualitative Research Practice by
Why use qualitative methods? What kinds of questions can qualitative methods help you answer? How do you actually do rigorous and reflective qualitative research in the real world? Written by a team of leading researchers associated with NatCen Social Research (the National Centre for Social Research) this textbook leads students and researchers through the entire process of qualitative research from beginning to end - moving through design, sampling, data collection, analysis and reporting. In this fully revised second edition you will find: a practical account of how to carry out qualitative research which recognises a range of current approaches and applications; a brand new chapter on ethics; a brand new chapter on observational research; updated advice on using software when analysing your qualitative data; and new case studies which illustrate issues you may encounter and how problems have been tackled by other researchers. This book is an ideal guide for students, practitioners and researchers faced with the challenges of doing qualitative research in both applied and academic settings in messy real-life contexts.
Nursing Research: Designs and Methods by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It has been written by nurses for nurses and is research-minded, conceptually and theoretically up-to-date and student-centred. It is a comprehensive introduction to nursing research that will allow readers to build up their understanding of the research process and develop confidence in its practical application. Text supported by examples from 'real life' research International perspective on nursing research Comprehensive coverage including established and innovative designs and methods
Succeeding in Research Project Plans and Literature Reviews for Nursing Students by