Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Family and Child-Centred Care reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Child-Centred Nursing: Promoting Critical Thinking by Child-Centred Nursing presents a unique approach by bringing children to the fore of the discussion about their health and health care. It encourages you to think critically about children, their families and contemporary practice issues. It promotes reflection on how you can develop innovative practice so as to improve children's health outcomes and their experiences of health care. Clinical case studies and critical thinking exercises are included in each chapter, creating and sustaining a clear link between professional practice, research and theory. The book is essential reading for all pre-registration and post-graduate students studying children's and young people's health care.
Call Number: 618.92 CAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by This popular textbook is aimed at children's nurses in a wide range of practice settings including primary, ambulatory, and tertiary care. Covering the full age and specialty spectrum this text brings together chapters from among the best-known children's nurses in the UK. It describes family-centred child healthcare drawing upon practice throughout the UK and further afield. This innovative text provides up to date information on a wide range of topics. Each chapter offers readers additional material on Evolve. Full Microsoft PowerPoint presentations that facilitate interactive learning augment the written chapters and provide information not normally possible in a standard textbook e.g. colour photographs, video clips. Although intended for nurses the book adopts an interprofessional, problem-solving and reflective approach aimed at students, practitioners and child health educators. Material is offered from levels 1-3 and some of the ancillary material extends into the postgraduate arena.
Call Number: 618.92 GLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Fundamentals of Children′s Applied Pathophysiology by Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology introduces nursing and healthcare students to the pathophysiology of the child, and offers an applied full-colour visual approach throughout. Explaining the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology, it enables the reader to develop the understanding, knowledge, and skills required to know how to respond and provide safe and effective high-quality care to children and their families. Key features: Written by an experienced author team Filled with superb full-colour illustrations Packed with learning features, including key words, test-your-knowledge, exercises, further reading, and learning outcomes Includes case studies to help readers understand how to apply the knowledge in clinical practice Contains links to clinical observations, vital signs to look out for, investigations boxes, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, and medication alerts Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology is an ideal book for pre-registration nursing students, including child and adult nurses, as well as for all healthcare professionals who come into contact with children and their families.
Call Number: 618.92007 GOR + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Law and Ethics in Children's Nursing by Law and Ethics in Children's Nursing is an important andpractical guide on the legal and ethical spects of child healthcarethat enables nurses to understand the legal and ethicalprinciples that underpin everyday nursing practice. It explores theconcept of childhood and children's rights, the extent to whichtheir rights are upheld in a variety of settings, and therelationship between law and ethics and how they interact inresolving problems and dilemmas that commonly arise in practice. With case studies, learning outcomes and scenarios throughout,Law and Ethics in Children's Nursing places the care andtreatment of children in a legal and ethical framework, andexplores the way in which legal and ethical aspects of children'snursing differ from those of adults. It explores general principlessuch as autonomy and consent, confidentiality, accountabilityand negligence. It then goes on to look at specialist areas such asabortion, sterilisation, research, mental health, organ donation,child protection and death.
Call Number: 174.29892 HEN + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Essentials of Nursing Children and Young People by This innovative and student-friendly textbook provides up-to-date information on the core content of child nursing courses and helps students understand how it applies to practice. Covering all settings throughout, including the acute and community ones, it focuses on the importance of child and family centred care, by having them directly involved through the use of voices and case studies. This book provides a comprehensive framework for student knowledge development by including: Activities and theory stop-points to encourage students to develop their critical thinking skills. Pointers to further reading resources, including journal articles and videos for students to explore and build knowledge more independently. A range of online resources including extra scenarios for lecturers to use in their teaching and MCQs for students to revise. Essential reading for undergraduate nursing students specialising or wanting to specialise in children and young people nursing.
Call Number: 618.92 PRI
Publication Date: 2018
Child and Family-Centred Healthcare by The definitive book on family centred care for health professionals, this popular text has been thoroughly revised in line with contemporary health policy. Including greater emphasis on child-centred care, interprofessional working and care in community settings; it is a valuable resource for all those working with children and families.
Call Number: 618.92 SMI + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Care Planning in Children and Young People's Nursing by Care Planning in Children and Young People's Nursingaddresses a selection of the most common concerns that arise whenplanning care for infants, children and young people within thehospital and community setting. Clear and detailed, this textreflects both the uniqueness and diversity of contemporarychildren's nursing and utilizes images and case studies to providea holistic insight into the practice of care planning through thereporting of best available evidence and current research, policyand education. Divided into sections for ease of reference, Care Planning inChildren and Young People?s Nursing explores both thetheory and practice of care planning. Chapters on the principles ofcare planning include issues such as managing risk, safeguardingchildren, ethical and legal implications, integrated care pathways,interprofessional assessment, and invaluable parent perspectives.Additional chapters on the application of planning care examine thepractical aspects of a wide range of specific conditions includingcystic fibrosis, obesity, cardiac/renal failure and HIV/AIDS. Eachchapter is interactive, with questions, learning activities andpoints for discussion creating an engaging and enquiry-basedlearning approach. Care Planning in Children and Young People?sNursing is a definitive resource, reflecting innovativepractice which is suitable for undergraduate and postgraduate nurseeducation.
Call Number: 618.9200231 COR + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Children and Young People's Nursing by Underpinned by a rights-based approach, this essential text critically analyses the theory and practice of children and young people¿s nursing from several perspectives - public health, acute and community based care, education and research. Chapters address the clinical, legal, ethical, political and professional issues and controversies which impact on the care delivered to children, young people and their families both nationally and internationally. This new edition continues to promote reflection and critical thinking about the practice of children¿s nursing and professional development.
Call Number: 618.92 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Legal Aspects of Nursing by Bridgit Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is the definitive guide to the essential law that nurses and healthcare professionals need to know. Written in an engaging style, the book shows the application of the law to everyday nursing situations showing the relevance and importance of legal considerations to nursing practice. The book covers the legal system and legal issues relating to medicine in general, before examining more specific areas, such as children and the elderly.
Call Number: 344.041 DIM & eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Promoting Psychological Well-Being in Children with Acute and Chronic Illness by Living with a chronic illness can have a significant psychological impact on a child and his or her family, and it is essential that this aspect of their care is not overlooked. This book provides a comprehensive guide to promoting the psychological well-being of children with chronic illnesses and medical conditions, covering support within health, social services and education. It discusses issues such as the impact of diagnosis and the experiences of children and their families in managing their medical condition and treatment. Strategies to support children and help them to cope with medical conditions are demonstrated, including cognitive behavioural and systemic approaches, and techniques such as relaxation and motivational interviewing. Case examples from clinical practice are given to illustrate the application of psychological ideas and frameworks to a variety of medical conditions and psychological difficulties. The book also includes a comprehensive resources section of where to look for further information. This will be an essential book for all professionals working with children with medical conditions, including psychologists, doctors, nurses, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, counsellors, social workers, speech and language therapists, dieticians and play therapists.
Call Number: 618.92044 EDW + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Children and Young People's Nursing at a Glance by Children and Young People?s Nursing at a Glance, isthe perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registrationchildren?s nursing students from the publishers of themarket-leading at a Glance series. Divided into sevensections it explores assessment and screening, working withfamilies, the newborn infant, the developing child, child healthpolicy, nursing the sick child and young person and chronic andlife-limiting conditions. This comprehensive book is an invaluable resource forpre-registration nursing students as well as newly qualified nurseswanting to consolidate and expand their knowledge of children andyoung people?s nursing. Breaks down complex aspects of child health care in anaccessible and un-intimidating way The perfect revision and consolidation textbook Linked closely with the NMC standards for pre-registrationnursing education, and the essential skills clusters framework Highly visual colour presentation, with approximately 130illustrations Includes boxes, summary boxes, key points and recommendationsfor practice to improve the learning experience Supported by a companion website featuring over 500 interactivemultiple choice questions(www.ataglanceseries.com/nursing/children) Available in a range of digital formats - perfect for 'on thego' study and revision
Call Number: 618.9200231 GLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Communication Skills for Children's Nurses by "This excellent text will help nurses develop an awareness of a range of communication frameworks and how they might be utilised in contemporary child health nursing to communicate with children, their families, fellow healthcare professionals and each other in their day to day working lives... It should be on every student's reading list!" Dr Edward Alan Glasper, Professor of Children's and Young People's Nursing, The University of Southampton, UK "This is an important and much needed book. Logical and well presented, it has episodes of reflection which can be implemented, and activities that provide exemplars about communication that will enhance learning. I particularly found useful the chapters on the legal and ethical aspects, research and communicating with children using technology." Linda Shields, Professor of Nursing - Tropical Health, James Cook University and Townsville Health Service District, Australia This guide will help children's nurses tocommunicate with confidence, sensitivity and effectiveness; to meet the individual needs of children and their families. The book explores different aspects of communicating in this challenging environment using vignettes, examples, practice insights and tips. The book emphasises the importance of listening to and respecting children's views and rights, in addition to respecting parent responsibility, rights and duty to act in the child's best interests. The authors show how a balance between protective exclusion and facilitated inclusion is core to communicating with children and families. Key topics covered include: Communicating during challenging and sensitive times The importance of being culturally sensitive and self-aware Meeting the needs of vulnerable and disadvantaged children Engaging with children who experience difficulty in communicating Ethical and legal dimensions of communicating with families Appreciating the nature of 'voice' in research with children Contributors: Stacey Atkinson, Frances Binns, Debbie Fallon, Noirín Hayes, Paula Hicks, Philomena Keogh, Ursula Kilkelly, Philip Larkin, Joan Livesley, Emer Murphy, Colman Noctor, Eileen Savage, Joanna Smith, Vicky Stewart and Janet Wray.
Call Number: 618.9200231 LAM + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by Children's and young people's (CYP) nursing requires special skills and a unique perspective. The Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing gives concise, practical and expert advice on all aspects of the nurse's role. Helping you achieve the best possible results for yourpatients, the authors offer a wealth of recommendations, guidance and information from their years of experience. Whatever situation you are in, the Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing will give you the information you need.This second edition has been fully revised to include the most up to date legislation, policy and practice including significant changes in child safeguarding, immunisation, medicines, resuscitation protocols and the common assessment framework. It also includes the updated NICE guidelines onvarious aspects of child health care including the management of children with asthma and fever. The chapter on neonatal care has been expanded and enhanced to include care and breastfeeding of the pre-term infant, as well as developmental care and kangaroo care. Additional and updated topicsinclude working with diverse communities, cochlea implants, intussusception, and a revised chapter focusing on professional issues - including new topics such as research and involving young people in health services. Designed to allow any nurse to deliver safe and effective care, basic principles and emergency protocols enable action to be taken in any setting and without expert assistance. The contents are arranged to mirror the key concepts of CYP nursing. Core content includes assessment; management; andadvice to the family; with sections on recognition of deviations from the norm; the interpretation of clinical findings and investigations; and measures to promote successful care practice. Key topics include normal growth and development, religion, culture and spirituality, professional issues,pain, palliative care and a separate section on paediatric emergencies. So you can find the information you need without delay, the book is clearly laid out and concisely written in an easily readable note-based style. All this is available at your fingertips, in a pocket-sized handbook withhard-wearing plastic covers.Written by practising nurses and subject experts, the Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing 2e continues to be a unique and invaluable companion to practising and student nurses, and to all who need to understand the special issues associated with children's and young people'snursing.
Call Number: 618.92 GLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Children's nursing case book by Nursing children and young people is increasingly complex requiring nurses to apply their knowledge and skills to a wide scope of illnesses and situations. The challenges to nurses to analyse, reflect on different perspectives and then adapt practices to the benefit of service users are reflected in this book.
Each scenario in this text is created based on real life cases and practice. The 23 cases connect knowledge with practice and guide you through the anatomy and physiology and the physical and psychological responses to stressors, which are then linked to intervention decisions.
Call Number: 618.920023 LON
Publication Date: 2016
Person-Centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care by Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care is a comprehensive and practical resource for all nurses and healthcare practitioners who want to develop person-centred ways of working. This second edition which builds on the original text Person Centred Nursing, has been significantly revised and expanded to provide a timely and topical exploration of an important subject which underpins all nursing and healthcare, edited by internationally renowned experts in the field. Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care looks at the importance of person-centred practice (PCP) from a variety of practice, strategic, and policy angles, exploring how the principles of PCP underpin a variety of perspectives, including within leadership and in the curriculum. The book explores not only a range of methodologies, but also covers a variety of different healthcare settings and contexts, including working within mental health services, acute care, nursing homes, the community, and working with children and people with disabilities. Key features: Significantly updated and expanded since the previous edition, taking into account the considerable changes in recent health care advancements, including the 'Francis' report Builds on previous perspectives of person-centredness in nursing and applies them in a broader nursing and health care context Includes a stronger exploration on the role of the service-user Shows the use of life-story and narrative approaches as a way of putting the individual's identity at the heart of the care relationship Includes learning features such as links to current practice developments and reflective questions
Call Number: 610.6 MCC + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Nursing Care and the Activities of Living by This book gives a practical focus to the underpinning theory of nursing in order to help students through the academic part of their undergraduate course as well as their placement. The book is based on the activities of living model so each activity has its own chapter, allowing readers to dip in and out. It is essential reading for students, enabling them to understand and manage the many clinical issues they face on a daily basis when nursing adults on wards, in clinics and in the community setting.
Call Number: 610.73 PEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2010