Reflective Practice in Nursing by
To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.Reflective practice enables nursing students to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences they have each day and ifnurtured properly can provide skills that they will come to rely on throughout their nursing careers.Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies, the new fourth edition of this bestselling book shows readers what reflection is, why it is so important and how they can use it to improve their nursing practice. Key features include: All chapters linked to the new 2018 NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Updated learning features such as activities and case studies to help students apply the theory to practice.
Communication Skills for Children's Nurses by
"This excellent text will help nurses develop an awareness of a range of communication frameworks and how they might be utilised in contemporary child health nursing to communicate with children, their families, fellow healthcare professionals and each other in their day to day working lives... It should be on every student's reading list!" Dr Edward Alan Glasper, Professor of Children's and Young People's Nursing, The University of Southampton, UK "This is an important and much needed book. Logical and well presented, it has episodes of reflection which can be implemented, and activities that provide exemplars about communication that will enhance learning. I particularly found useful the chapters on the legal and ethical aspects, research and communicating with children using technology." Linda Shields, Professor of Nursing - Tropical Health, James Cook University and Townsville Health Service District, Australia This guide will help children's nurses tocommunicate with confidence, sensitivity and effectiveness; to meet the individual needs of children and their families. The book explores different aspects of communicating in this challenging environment using vignettes, examples, practice insights and tips. The book emphasises the importance of listening to and respecting children's views and rights, in addition to respecting parent responsibility, rights and duty to act in the child's best interests. The authors show how a balance between protective exclusion and facilitated inclusion is core to communicating with children and families. Key topics covered include: Communicating during challenging and sensitive times The importance of being culturally sensitive and self-aware Meeting the needs of vulnerable and disadvantaged children Engaging with children who experience difficulty in communicating Ethical and legal dimensions of communicating with families Appreciating the nature of 'voice' in research with children Contributors: Stacey Atkinson, Frances Binns, Debbie Fallon, Noirín Hayes, Paula Hicks, Philomena Keogh, Ursula Kilkelly, Philip Larkin, Joan Livesley, Emer Murphy, Colman Noctor, Eileen Savage, Joanna Smith, Vicky Stewart and Janet Wray.
A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by
This innovative textbook provides a concise and accessible guide for undergraduate students specializing in children and young people's nursing in the UK and further afield. Each chapter has been fully updated to reflect current knowledge and practice. The wide range of topics covered includes all the essentials, such as contemporary child health policy and legal issues; knowledge and skills for practice; and caring for children with special needs. Students will learn how to recognize the deteriorating child, use procedural play and distraction, and consider the mental health of children and young people. A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing is written by multidisciplinary experts, rooted in child-centred healthcare within a family context, and draws upon best contemporary practice. It is an invaluable resource that will help nursing students provide effective, evidence-based care. Key points, summary boxes and clearly defined aims, objectives and learning outcomes to support learning Conversation boxes to enliven the text Patient scenarios to relate theory to practice New chapters on skin health and the use of therapeutic play Suggestions for seminar discussion topics to help teachers Resource lists and online resources for further study or research Online slides to complement chapters within book
Cite Them Right by
This is the leading guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism, covering everything from understanding plagiarism and identifying sources to setting out quotations and creating a reference list. Comprehensive and accessible, it provides readers with detailed examples of print and electronic sources, business, government, technical and legal publications, works of art, images and much more. Packed with practical tips and example sources in both citations and reference lists, it makes referencing manageable and easy to follow for everyone. The eleventh edition of this bestselling book is an essential resource for anyone doing original research for written assignments, including students, teachers, authors, librarians and non-academic researchers. Cite Them Right is also available as an institutional subscription product, Cite Them Right Online.
Interpersonal Relationships by
Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts. UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications. UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication. UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing. UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis. Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills. Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship - all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery. NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
A beginner's guide to evidence-based practice in health and social care.3rd edn. by
This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence-based practice is, how to relate it to practice or use it in academic work. Fully updated in this brand new edition, this book uses simple and easy to understand language to help those new to the topic. It provides a step by step guide to what we mean by evidence-based practice and how to apply this concept to your practice and learning.
A Beginner's Guide to Critical Thinking and Writing in Health and Social Care by
This bestselling guide takes you through every stage of becoming a critical thinker, from approaching your subject to writing your essays or dissertation in health and social care. Each chapter tackles a different aspect of critical thinking and shows you how it's done using examples and simple language.
Fundamental aspects of legal, ethical and professional issues in nursing 3rd edition by 
Skills for Success by
Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today's employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Part 1 prompts students to think about what 'success' means to them and to think more deeply about what matters to them, what inspires them, and what will help them to achieve their long-term ambitions. This section also helps students to better manage their time, energies and resources so that they can achieve the kind of success they want. Part 2 shows students how to refine their people and task management skills, enabling them to become the effective communicators and problem-solvers that today's employers want. Part 3 develops students' creative and reflective thinking, thereby strengthening students' academic and professional abilities. Part 4 helps readers to reflect on what employers really want from job applicants and explains how they can take concrete action to improve their job prospects. Chapters contain guidance on how to put forward a strong application, how to make the best use of placements, and how to keep records so that students feel more in control during the application process. Internationally acclaimed study skills author Stella Cottrell provides students with the ingredients they need to create their own recipe for success. Whether you're just starting at college or university, or about to leave a postgraduate programme, Skills for Success will help you to think creatively and constructively about personal, academic and career goals.New to this Edition:- Contains increased coverage of different styles and models of leadership, and managing and leading teams- Includes more material on engaging with cultural difference- Provides students with guidance on looking after their mental health and wellbeing, to help reduce stress around planning for life after university- Features more insights and case studies from employersAccompanying online resources for this title can be found at bloomsburyonlineresources.com/skills-for-success. These resources are designed to support teaching and learning when using this textbook and are available at no extra cost.
Critical Thinking Skills by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Diamond's legal aspects of nursing: a definitive guide to law for nurses by
The definitive guide to the law that all nurses need to know. Written specifically for student nurses as well as those already in practice, Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is your essential practical guide to the legal principles you need to be aware of in your everyday nursing practice. Building on previous editions of the book by Bridgit Dimond, this 8th edition has been significantly reworked by a new author team with extensive experience in teaching nursing law. It has also been fully updated and revised in line with recent legal developments and the new Nursing standards to ensure it continues to meet the requirements of nursing law modules.
Understanding Research for Nursing Students 4th edn. by
If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
Children and Young People's Nursing at a Glance by
Children and Young People's Nursing at a Glance, is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration children's nursing students from the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series. Divided into seven sections it explores assessment and screening, working with families, the newborn infant, the developing child, child health policy, nursing the sick child and young person and chronic and life-limiting conditions. This comprehensive book is an invaluable resource for pre-registration nursing students as well as newly qualified nurses wanting to consolidate and expand their knowledge of children and young people's nursing. Breaks down complex aspects of child health care in an accessible and un-intimidating way The perfect revision and consolidation textbook Linked closely with the NMC standards for pre-registration nursing education, and the essential skills clusters framework Highly visual colour presentation, with approximately 130 illustrations Includes boxes, summary boxes, key points and recommendations for practice to improve the learning experience Supported by a companion website featuring over 500 interactive multiple choice questions (www.ataglanceseries.com/nursing/children) Available in a range of digital formats - perfect for 'on the go' study and revision
Communication and Interpersonal Skills in Nursing by
The new edition of this well regarded book introduces the underpinning theory and concepts required for the development of first class communication and interpersonal skills in nursing. By providing a simple to read overview of the central topics, students are able to quickly gain a solid, evidence-based grounding in the subject. Topics covered include: empathy; building therapeutic relationships; using a variety of communication methods; compassion and dignity; communicating in different environments; and culture and diversity issues. Three new chapters have been added that point readers towards further ways of approaching their communication skills that are less model and technique driven and focusing more on therapeutic considerations, as well as looking at the politics of communication.
Nursing Research: An Introduction by
This book answers all your students′ questions on the nursing research process. Restructured to follow their progress from being a novice nurse researcher to an experienced one, it gives them the knowledge to understand evidence-based practice and critical appraisal and to succeed in their own projects. Key features of the book are: Updated practical coverage of key methods such as conducting a survey and a section on the Research Excellence Framework International research examples in action Reflective exercises A companion website including access to journal articles and flashcards. It is essential reading for nursing undergraduates, postgraduates and all new researchers.
Numeracy in Children's Nursing by
Numeracy in Children's Nursing and Healthcare is a handy, practical book which highlights the importance of numbers, numeracy and calculations in children's nursing practice, instilling nursing students and qualified nurses with confidence and competence when working with numbers and calculating drug doses. This accessible guide covers all aspects of numeracy from basic skills through to complex drug administration, and provides case studies throughout enabling the reader to apply the theory to practice. Each chapter adopts the same accessible and easy-to-follow format, featuring learning outcomes, a case scenario, key numeracy information, hints and tips, activities and exercises, and a glossary of terms.
Critical Thinking and Writing in Nursing by
A clear and practical guide to help students develop critical thinking, writing and reflection skills. It explains what critical thinking is and how students should use it throughout their nursing programme. This new edition also provides content on the reflective practice requirements for revalidation and is mapped to the new 2018 NMC standards. This text provides an innovative new framework that helps students appreciate different levels of critical thinking and reflection required of degree level study. The book demonstrates the transferable nature of critical thinking and reflection from academic contexts to the real practice of nursing.Key features: Clear and straightforward introduction to critical thinking directly written for nursing students, with chapters relating the subject to specific study and practice contexts Student examples and scenarios throughout, including running case studies from four nursing students Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses
Academic Writing and Referencing for Your Nursing Degree by
If you are embarking on a university nursing degree, the books in this series will help you acquire and develop the knowledge, skills and strategies you need to achieve your goals. They provide support in all areas important for university study, including institutional and disciplinary policy and practice, self-management, and research and communication. Tasks and activities are designed to foster aspects of learning which are valued in higher education, including learner autonomy and critical thinking, and to guide you towards reflective practice in your study and work life. Academic Writing and Referencing for your Nursing Degree provides you with a sound knowledge and understanding of: what constitutes good academic writing in nursing a range of strategies for writing successful essays and reports the importance of clarity and coherence in your writing about nursing how to improve your academic style, grammar and punctuation, and formatting and presentation referencing conventions in the field of nursing, and of how to avoid plagiarism.
The Research Process in Nursing by
Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health, and social care? Now in its Sixth Edition, this easy to read guide provides a concise overview of different research methods and terminology, and helps readers understand how research is implemented in practice. The new Sixth Edition includes: Case examples of real research from a variety of settings and countries Updates in light of the new NMC standards, more on critical appraisal tools and service improvement Chapter learning outcomes and key points A companion website featuring an interactive glossary, reflective exercises, FREE access to SAGE journal articles for students, SAGE videos, seminar notes for lecturers, and more! This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students of nursing and health in the UK and internationally.