Advanced Paediatric Life Support by
Advanced Paediatric Life Support is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care, written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group. Using their structured approach, a tried and tested practical method of treating children during the crucial first few hours of a life threatening illness or injury, Advanced Paediatric Life Support is used by doctors, nurses and allied health professionals dealing with emergencies in children. Its clear layout and straightforward style make it a highly practical tool both for training and in the event of an emergency. The sixth edition includes major new features bringing it right up to date, including: The latest International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation (ILCOR) 2015 Guidelines The latest consensus guidelines on paediatric trauma Enhanced discussions on the importance of human factors A new and improved design including full colour photographs and diagrams Free access to the Wiley E-Text With this book at hand, all those providing care during paediatric emergencies can be confident in having comprehensive and authoritative guidance on the recognition and management of life threatening conditions necessary to save a child's life. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine by
It is now more than ten years since the publication of the first edition of Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine and interest in this specialty continues to grow at a local and international level. Paediatric emergency medicine can be a challenging and difficult area for doctors. Children cannot always communicate their problems verbally, while parents are anxious and the possibility of a missed diagnosis is ever present. Although the principles in managing paediatric patients are the same as adults there are significant differences in patterns of illness and response. In addition, the therapies available vary widely between adult and paediatric practice. Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine provides clear, concise and comprehensive coverage of all the major topics that present within paediatric emergency medicine. It offers a consensus approach to diagnosis and treatment, drawing on the latest evidence available. Short chapters with key point boxes allow for the quick and easy retrieval of information, essential when time is short. This Third Edition captures the major changes in guidelines across the specialty in the assessment and management of paediatric patients, whilst refining established approaches to practice. The text reviews both new technologies and the better application of older techniques which have led to changes in practice. There are significant updates to the sections on resuscitation and trauma, the clinical applications of bedside ultrasound, analgesia and sedation. There is also a new focus on the teaching and research sections.
Children in Intensive Care by
Children in Intensive Care fulfils a unique role in supporting clinical staff during the day-to-day management of the sick child. Presented in quick reference format, and in plain English, the book offers a unique guide to the wide variety of situations that a practitioner is likely to encounter during daily practice. Rich with reference tables, algorithms, artworks and 'Alert' boxes, the book offers a wealth of information which ranges from physiology to drug dosage calculation, drug compatibility lists, reference ranges, and X-ray interpretation. New chapters include oncologic emergencies, pain management and sedation, together with the latest information on the management of sepsis, the collapsed child, and care of the child following spinal surgery. Information presented in quick reference format, with accompanying reference tables, to facilitate on-the-spot usage Advanced Life Support Group algorithms provide safe and easy-to-follow protocols to the management of emergency situations Contains input from a broad range of paediatric specialists - intensivists, anaesthetists, haematologists, oncologists, air ambulance physicians and retrieval nurses, pharmacists, specialist dieticians, and respiratory physiotherapists - to ensure full coverage and accuracy of information Contains helpful 'Quick Guide' and 'Warning' boxes to provide key information at a glance, while helpful mnemonics assist with learning Contains chapters on normal child development, safe-guarding children and young people, and patient transport Perfect for use on the wards, theatres, high-dependency units and intensive care units as well as during retrieval and A&E Ideal for newcomers and experienced staff alike, whether they be junior doctors or nursing staff Additional authorship brings the expertise of Marilyn McDougall, a Senior Paediatric Intensive Care Consultant Contains brand new chapters - oncology emergencies and pain & sedation - as well as the latest information on topics including sepsis and the collapsed neonate, and care of children after spinal surgery Comprehensively expanded cardiac chapter presents new surgical approaches as well as practical tips on pacing, care of chest drains and basic echocardiograph terminology Drug chapter now includes reversal agents, new drug profiles and an updated compatibilities chart Expanded artwork program explains clinical concepts and practical procedures
Paediatric Clinical Examination Made Easy by
Fully revised, this is an updated new edition of a much-loved book which has built a reputation for pithy, entertaining good sense over the course of six editions. 'Children are different. Paediatrics is much more than medicine miniaturised.' From reviews of the previous edition: 'All in all a very handy book for the student, the resident or other professionals working with children. I had a lot of fun reading it.' 'The book is full of wonderful illustrations, and funny and profound advice with quotations, like the words of Sir Dominic Corrigan (1853): "The trouble with many doctors is not that they do not know enough but that they do not see enough", or the advice to teach thy tongue to say" "I do not know" (Rabbi Moses Maimonides or Rambam, 1135-1204). I have used this book for my final medical year paediatrics exams, the DCH and the MRCP and it has been a great help. It reminds us of the most important and basic things - history and examination, and of course a friendly demeanour.' Short, manageable chapters Clinical examples of examination techniques Very helpful tips and topics section Clinical checklists Simply illustrated Updated throughout New section of 'questions of fives' questions Short glossary of Latin terms
A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by
This innovative textbook provides a concise and accessible guide for undergraduate students specializing in children and young people's nursing in the UK and further afield. Each chapter has been fully updated to reflect current knowledge and practice. The wide range of topics covered includes all the essentials, such as contemporary child health policy and legal issues; knowledge and skills for practice; and caring for children with special needs. Students will learn how to recognize the deteriorating child, use procedural play and distraction, and consider the mental health of children and young people. A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing is written by multidisciplinary experts, rooted in child-centred healthcare within a family context, and draws upon best contemporary practice. It is an invaluable resource that will help nursing students provide effective, evidence-based care. Key points, summary boxes and clearly defined aims, objectives and learning outcomes to support learning Conversation boxes to enliven the text Patient scenarios to relate theory to practice New chapters on skin health and the use of therapeutic play Suggestions for seminar discussion topics to help teachers Resource lists and online resources for further study or research Online slides to complement chapters within book
Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Children's Nurses by
Registered Nurses must have thorough knowledge of pharmacology, medicines administration, and the effects of medicines. Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Children's Nurses is written for nurses and allied health professionals involved in the care of children and young people (CYP) to focus exclusively on pharmacology. Filling a gap in current literature on the subject, this much-needed resource develops the competence and confidence required to prescribe, dispense, and administer medicines to children and young people. Emphasising the importance of patient-centered care to CYP, the text describes the role of the healthcare provider working with CYP and their families; explains how to use pharmaceutical and prescribing reference guides; discusses legal and ethical issues; examines pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics, and more. Helping readers respond appropriately and compassionately to the needs of those receiving care and their families, this textbook: Covers a wide range of medications used in diabetes, cancer, mental health, and other areas Features a wealth of full-colour images and numerous pedagogical tools including learning objectives, self-test questions, and reflective exercises to enable readers to contextualise and assess their knowledge Presents case studies to reinforce learning, and illustrate the application of theory to practice Provides authoritative and practical guidance on formulations, adverse drug reactions, analgesics, antibiotics, immunisations, and the medications most commonly used when providing care to CYP Includes access to a companion website with interactive MCQs, case studies, references, an image bank, and links to further reading and supplemental resources Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Children's Nurses is essential reading for undergraduate children's nursing students, trainee nursing associates, those undertaking healthcare programmes of study, as well as those seeking to better understand pharmacology.
Essential Paediatrics and Child Health by
Essential Paediatrics and Child Health is a comprehensive and practical guide to paediatric disorders as they present to the student and practitioner, offering step-by-step guidance on symptom assessment, history taking, physical examination, investigation and diagnosis, management and treatment, patient education, follow-up and prognosis. With full-colour images and a range of unique and innovative learning features, this completely revised new edition of the award-winning book Paediatrics and Child Health will prove an invaluable resource for medical students and junior doctors on their journey through contemporary paediatrics. Organises paediatric disorders into system-based chapters for easy navigation, with symptom-based and integrative discussions of all the important diseases and disabilities in paediatrics Combines up-to-date descriptions of the latest in basic and clinical science with the core competencies expected of students in paediatric rotations Self-directed learning is made easy by means of navigation diagrams, tables, key-point and "at-a-glance" boxes, links to guidelines and other summary aids Sections on student experience, self-assessment, doing well in paediatric clinical placements and preparing for examinations and OSCEs Includes a completely new introduction with perspectives on the nature of paediatrics and how best to become engaged and immersed within it, and new content on communication, national guidelines, imaging techniques, genetics and epigenetics, prescribing for children toxicology, the latest advances in diagnosing and treating disease, and much more Provides a companion website containing physical examination instruction videos, a complete set of interactive patient scenarios and multiple-choice questions Essential Paediatrics and Child Health is the ideal companion for medical students and junior doctors to succeed in their studies and clinical practice.
Managing Pain in Children by
Providing an evidence-based, practical guide to care in all areas of children's pain management, Managing Pain in Children offers nurses and other healthcare professionals an introduction to the skills and expertise to manage children's pain effectively. This fully-updated second edition first explores the relevant anatomy and physiology of children, the latest policy guidelines surrounding pain management and ethical issues involved in managing children's pain. Various pain assessment tools available for children and non-drug methods of pain relief are then explored and applied to practice in relation to acute pain, chronic pain, palliative care and the management of procedural pain. The evidence base, assessment techniques, pain-relieving interventions, and guidance for best practice in both hospital and community settings are covered throughout, making this title an ideal resource for all nurses and healthcare professionals working with children.
The Biological Basis of Clinical Observations by
Accurate clinical observations are fundamental to competent and safe healthcare practice. The Biological Basis of Clinical Observations gives readers the understanding needed to perform clinical observations accurately, make accurate judgements about the patient¿s condition and make accurate decisions concerning patient care. This useful textbook integrates clear explanations of the techniques involved in making clinical observations, alongside the biological knowledge which gives them meaning. For each topic, it explains the pathological basis for variations in observed results, focusing on relevant anatomy and physiology, genetics and pharmacology, and the basic principles of care. In addition to new chapters on blood tests and pregnancy, the text has been updated throughout. It now incorporates increased coverage of paediatrics, movement and the musculo-skeletal system, the lymphatic system, pregnancy, diabetes, homeostasis and infection, among other areas. Topics discussed include: temperature cardiovascular observations respiratory observations urinary and bowel observations neurological observations nutrition fluid balance skin drug side effects, interactions and allergies. The Biological Basis of Clinical Observations is a unique text which integrates explanations of essential procedures with the biological knowledge that underpins practice. It is essential reading for all nursing and health students preparing for clinical practice.
Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing by
Thoroughly revised and updated, this new edition of Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing is a comprehensive, evidence-based text for nurses and allied health professionals caring for sick newborn infants. This user-friendly text focuses on the common problems and related care occurring within the neonatal specialty. All previous chapters have been thoroughly updated and new content includes chapters on, for example, organisation of neonatal care, assessment of the neonate, the premature and low birth weight neonate as well as palliative care. In addition, the book now includes a broad and in-depth web-based companion comprising online resources, case studies with answer guides and learning activities. This accessible and interactive approach enables nurses to recognise, rationalise and understand clinical problems using an evidence-based approach. Divided into four parts, the book provides an overview of neonatal care, and a detailed look at the physical and emotional wellbeing of neonate and family, a range of clinical aspects of neonatal care, and key practices and procedures. Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing will be essential reading for both new and experienced nurses, allied health professionals and students learning about neonatal care including those undertaking qualifications in the neonatal specialism and pre-registration students taking relevant modules or placements.
Ethical and Philosophical Aspects of Nursing Children and Young People by 
Reflective Practice in Nursing by
From reviews of previous editions: 'This excellent book provides useful guidance on the use of reflection in practice.... a helpful addition to any nursing library.' Primary Health Care '...an excellent investment in any nurses' library portfolio.' Journal of Advanced Nursing 'An extremely welcome addition to nursing's literature on thoughtful, knowledgeable practice.' Nursing Times 'This is an excellent practical guide to reflective practice...I would highly recommend this book to all practice teachers and students.' Journal of Practice Nursing The ability to reflect on practice has become a competency demanded of every healthcare professional in recent years. It can be a daunting prospect- but this practical and accessible text guides the way, using the latest research and evidence to support the development of skills in reflective practice and provides help and advice on how to get started, how to write reflectively and how to continue to use reflective practice in everyday situations. This fifth edition of Reflective Practice in Nursing is an indispensable guide for students and practitioners alike who wish to learn more about reflective practice, as well as containing essential information for teachers and lecturers.
Child-Centred Nursing: promoting critical thinking by
Child-Centred Nursing presents a unique approach by bringing children to the fore of the discussion about their health and health care. It encourages you to think critically about children, their families and contemporary practice issues. It promotes reflection on how you can develop innovative practice so as to improve children's health outcomes and their experiences of health care. Clinical case studies and critical thinking exercises are included in each chapter, creating and sustaining a clear link between professional practice, research and theory. The book is essential reading for all pre-registration and post-graduate students studying children's and young people's health care.
Reflective Practice in Nursing by
To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.Reflective practice enables nursing students to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences they have each day and ifnurtured properly can provide skills that they will come to rely on throughout their nursing careers.Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies, the new fourth edition of this bestselling book shows readers what reflection is, why it is so important and how they can use it to improve their nursing practice. Key features include: All chapters linked to the new 2018 NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Updated learning features such as activities and case studies to help students apply the theory to practice.
Children and Young People's Nursing at a Glance by
Children and Young People?s Nursing at a Glance, isthe perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registrationchildren?s nursing students from the publishers of themarket-leading at a Glance series. Divided into sevensections it explores assessment and screening, working withfamilies, the newborn infant, the developing child, child healthpolicy, nursing the sick child and young person and chronic andlife-limiting conditions. This comprehensive book is an invaluable resource forpre-registration nursing students as well as newly qualified nurseswanting to consolidate and expand their knowledge of children andyoung people?s nursing. Breaks down complex aspects of child health care in anaccessible and un-intimidating way The perfect revision and consolidation textbook Linked closely with the NMC standards for pre-registrationnursing education, and the essential skills clusters framework Highly visual colour presentation, with approximately 130illustrations Includes boxes, summary boxes, key points and recommendationsfor practice to improve the learning experience Supported by a companion website featuring over 500 interactivemultiple choice questions(www.ataglanceseries.com/nursing/children) Available in a range of digital formats - perfect for 'on thego' study and revision
Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by
Children's and young people's (CYP) nursing requires special skills and a unique perspective. The Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing gives concise, practical and expert advice on all aspects of the nurse's role. Helping you achieve the best possible results for yourpatients, the authors offer a wealth of recommendations, guidance and information from their years of experience. Whatever situation you are in, the Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing will give you the information you need.This second edition has been fully revised to include the most up to date legislation, policy and practice including significant changes in child safeguarding, immunisation, medicines, resuscitation protocols and the common assessment framework. It also includes the updated NICE guidelines onvarious aspects of child health care including the management of children with asthma and fever. The chapter on neonatal care has been expanded and enhanced to include care and breastfeeding of the pre-term infant, as well as developmental care and kangaroo care. Additional and updated topicsinclude working with diverse communities, cochlea implants, intussusception, and a revised chapter focusing on professional issues - including new topics such as research and involving young people in health services. Designed to allow any nurse to deliver safe and effective care, basic principles and emergency protocols enable action to be taken in any setting and without expert assistance. The contents are arranged to mirror the key concepts of CYP nursing. Core content includes assessment; management; andadvice to the family; with sections on recognition of deviations from the norm; the interpretation of clinical findings and investigations; and measures to promote successful care practice. Key topics include normal growth and development, religion, culture and spirituality, professional issues,pain, palliative care and a separate section on paediatric emergencies. So you can find the information you need without delay, the book is clearly laid out and concisely written in an easily readable note-based style. All this is available at your fingertips, in a pocket-sized handbook withhard-wearing plastic covers.Written by practising nurses and subject experts, the Oxford Handbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing 2e continues to be a unique and invaluable companion to practising and student nurses, and to all who need to understand the special issues associated with children's and young people'snursing.
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by
Provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law, helping them to better understand the legal obligations they face, and leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice. Written in clear and straightforward language, the book covers issues such as equality and human rights, confidentiality, negligence, disability, children's rights and mental health. It is also supported by insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law to nursing and how it underpins practice. New to this edition: · Fully mapped to the latest NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · New chapter covering death, dying and organ donation · Updated to take account of the Deprivation of Liberty Act · New content covering GDPR, Social Media and Safeguarding of Adults and Children
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Care for Children by
The importance of palliative care for children facing life threatening illness and their families is now widely acknowledged as an essential part of care, which should be available to all children and families, throughout the child's illness and at the end of life. The new edition of theOxford Textbook of Palliative Care for Children brings together the most up to date information, current knowledge, evidence, and developments of clinical practice in the field.The book is structured into four sections. 'Foundations of Care' describes core issues, the foundations on which paediatric palliative care is based. 'Child and Family Care' looks at different aspects of psychological, social, and cultural care for the sick child or young person, and their family.These chapters cover the time course of the illness, around the time of death and support for the bereaved family. 'Symptom Care' focuses on the uses of medication, specific symptoms, and their management. Finally, 'Delivery of Care' examines practical approaches to care in different environmentsand the needs of clinicians.Two new editors join the team from Canada and South Africa, reflecting our aims to contribute towards the development of care for children across the world, and to be a resource for both experienced clinicians and those new to the field.Comprehensive in scope, exhaustive in detail, and definitive in authority, this third edition has been thoroughly updated to cover new practices, current epidemiological data, and the evolving models that support the delivery of palliative medicine to children. This includes two new chapters,looking in detail at 'Decision Making' and 'Perinatal Care', and a new section highlighting the emerging importance of 'Palliative Care for Children in Humanitarian Crises'. This book is an essential resource for anyone who works with children worldwide.
Children's nursing case book by 
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology by
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology introduces nursing and healthcare students to the pathophysiology of the child, and offers an applied full-colour visual approach throughout. Explaining the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology, it enables the reader to develop the understanding, knowledge, and skills required to know how to respond and provide safe and effective high-quality care to children and their families. Key features: Written by an experienced author team Filled with superb full-colour illustrations Packed with learning features, including key words, test-your-knowledge, exercises, further reading, and learning outcomes Includes case studies to help readers understand how to apply the knowledge in clinical practice Contains links to clinical observations, vital signs to look out for, investigations boxes, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, and medication alerts Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology is an ideal book for pre-registration nursing students, including child and adult nurses, as well as for all healthcare professionals who come into contact with children and their families.
Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology by
Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology contains the critical knowledge required to provide safe and effective care to young people. Emphasising the application of evidence-based theory to practice, this comprehensive yet accessible textbook helps nursing and healthcare students understand how children's anatomical and physiological systems influence disease processes and treatment options differently than in adults. Highly visual, succinct yet comprehensive, this textbook presents an overview of the structure and function of each body system, supported by clinical applications demonstrating how the concepts relate to nursing in practice. Fully revised to reflect the Future Nurse Curriculum Standards, this second edition contains a new chapter on physical growth and development, discussion of social, political, and environmental impacts to children's health and wellbeing, updated problems and activities, and more. Each chapter includes a range of effective pedagogical tools, such as learning objectives, clinical considerations, body maps, and self-assessment questions. Designed to prepare students for their careers in delivering high-quality care for children in a range of settings, this leading textbook: Provides information on the anatomical and physiological changes that leads to an altered state of health Emphasises clinical application throughout, applying the anatomy and physiology to common health conditions in children Offers a structured and comprehensive approach to child-related anatomy and physiology theory to prepare students for practice Fundamentals of Children and Young People's Anatomy and Physiology is essential reading for nursing and healthcare students, and a useful reference for nurses, nursing associates, healthcare assistants, assistant practitioners, and other professionals working in the field. All content is reviewed by students for students. If you would like to be one of our student reviewers, go to www.reviewnursingbooks.com to find out more.
Essentials of Nursing Children and Young People by
This innovative and student-friendly textbook provides up-to-date information on the core content of child nursing courses and helps students understand how it applies to practice. Covering all settings throughout, including the acute and community ones, it focuses on the importance of child and family centred care, by having them directly involved through the use of voices and case studies. This book provides a comprehensive framework for student knowledge development by including: Activities and theory stop-points to encourage students to develop their critical thinking skills. Pointers to further reading resources, including journal articles and videos for students to explore and build knowledge more independently. A range of online resources including extra scenarios for lecturers to use in their teaching and MCQs for students to revise. Essential reading for undergraduate nursing students specialising or wanting to specialise in children and young people nursing.