Medicines Management in Children's Nursing by
Children′s nurses must develop the crucial skills of correct medicines management and calculations in order to provide safe care to their patients. This book specifically supports pre-registration students in meeting the required competencies for medicines management needed to pass formal assessment and qualify as a children′s nurse. It is clearly structured around the NMC Essential Skills Clusters for medicines management, covering legal aspects, drugs calculations, administration, storage, record keeping, introductory pharmacology, patient communication and contextual issues in medication. The book is written in user-friendly language and uses patient scenarios to explain concepts and apply theory to practice.
Understanding Medicines Management for Nursing Students by
Understanding medicines management is central to the nursing role. As a nurse, you will need to make informed decisions about medicine use and optimisation, tailored to each patient. This book equips you with the theoretical and practical foundation to do just that. It covers all key components of medicines management, using a scenario-based approach to illustrate how each topic relates to your practice. Key features · Fully mapped to the NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · Scenarios and activities help you to translate the theory into nursing practice · Acts as a stepping stone to support your readiness to undertake a prescribing qualification upon registration
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Master key pharmacological concepts and practices with the most comprehensive, authoritative guide available Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs Delivers the knowledge and insight needed to excel in every facet of pharmacology!. Encompasses all aspects of medical pharmacology, including botanicals and over-the-counter drugs Major revisions of the chapters on immunopharmacology, antiseizure, antipsychotic, antidepressant, antidiabetic, anti-inflammatory, and antiviral drugs, prostaglandins, and central nervous system neurotransmitters New chapter on the increasingly relevant topic of cannabis pharmacology Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information Revised full-color illustrations provide more information about drug mechanisms and effects and help clarify important concepts Trade Name/Generic Name tables are provided at end of each chapter for easy reference when writing a chart order or prescription Includes descriptions of important new drugs released through May 2019 New and updated coverage of general concepts relating to recently discovered receptors, receptor mechanisms, and drug transporters
Reflective Practice: writing and professional development by
Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance by
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is recognised as an excellent starting point for pharmacology study. This international best-seller is the perfect companion for all medical and health students, providing an accessible, visual overview of pharmacology. This 8th edition has been extensively updated, especially in the areas of anaesthetics, drugs used in AIDs, cardiovascular drugs, drugs used in anxiety, depression and schizophrenia, urological drugs, drug metabolism, as well as practical concerns such as drug indications and side effects. Ideal for USMLE and pharmacology exam revision, Medical Pharmacology at a Glance features: * The basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption and excretion * Chapters based on diseases or syndrome, for efficient clinical learning * An emphasis on drug mechanisms * References to the pathophysiology of disease, to aid understanding of drug choice and action * Case studies with questions and full explanation of answers * A companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/pharmacology featuring online cases and flashcards
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by
Comprehensive yet easy to use, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has been providing core basic and clinical science information to students and healthcare practitioners worldwide for more than 25 years. The fully revised 9th Edition keeps you up to date with all that's new in the field, including new and emerging drugs and recent studies. From cover to cover, you'll progressively increase your knowledge of all relevant aspects of pharmacology, from a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Keeps you up-to-date with new information in this fast-changing field, including significantly revised coverage of CNS drugs, cognitive enhancers, anti-infectives, biologicals/biopharmaceuticals, lifestyle drugs, and more. Includes access to unique features online, including more than 100 brand new chapter-specific multiple-choice questions and 6 new cases for immediate self-assessment. Features a color-coded layout for faster navigation and cross-referencing. Clarifies complex concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes and full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing by
The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing is an authoritative and accessible overview of the vital skills, contemporary issues and essential knowledge relevant to both students and healthcare practitioners. Written as a response to the growing emphasis placed on prescribing in the modern health service, this text provides up-to-date information on safe and effective prescribing. This wide-ranging book helps students and trainees develop foundational knowledge of the key areas and prescribing competencies and provides healthcare professionals with a continued source of current information. Now in its third edition, this text has been fully updated and revised to reflect changes in legislation, current practices and new guidelines. New and updated topics include independent prescribing for therapeutic radiologists, supplementary prescribing for dietitians, paramedics working in advanced roles to independently prescribe and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Competency Framework for all Prescribers. Provides up-to-date information essential to safe and effective prescribing in a clear, easy-to-understand style Discusses current issues and practices in pharmacology, prescribing and therapeutics and medicine management Links to the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Competency Framework for all Prescribers for non-medical prescribers Presents learning objectives, key theme summaries, activities and numerous case studies Offers access to additional online resources including interactive exercises, quizzes, self-assessment tests and web links The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing is an essential resource for students, nurses, dieticians, pharmacists, and allied health practitioners pursuing a prescribing qualification or looking for an updated refresher on the subject.