The Biological Basis of Clinical Observations by
Accurate clinical observations are fundamental to competent and safe healthcare practice. The Biological Basis of Clinical Observations gives readers the understanding needed to perform clinical observations accurately, make accurate judgements about the patient¿s condition and make accurate decisions concerning patient care. This useful textbook integrates clear explanations of the techniques involved in making clinical observations, alongside the biological knowledge which gives them meaning. For each topic, it explains the pathological basis for variations in observed results, focusing on relevant anatomy and physiology, genetics and pharmacology, and the basic principles of care. In addition to new chapters on blood tests and pregnancy, the text has been updated throughout. It now incorporates increased coverage of paediatrics, movement and the musculo-skeletal system, the lymphatic system, pregnancy, diabetes, homeostasis and infection, among other areas. Topics discussed include: temperature cardiovascular observations respiratory observations urinary and bowel observations neurological observations nutrition fluid balance skin drug side effects, interactions and allergies. The Biological Basis of Clinical Observations is a unique text which integrates explanations of essential procedures with the biological knowledge that underpins practice. It is essential reading for all nursing and health students preparing for clinical practice.
A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing by
This innovative textbook provides a concise and accessible guide for undergraduate students specializing in children and young people's nursing in the UK and further afield. Each chapter has been fully updated to reflect current knowledge and practice. The wide range of topics covered includes all the essentials, such as contemporary child health policy and legal issues; knowledge and skills for practice; and caring for children with special needs. Students will learn how to recognize the deteriorating child, use procedural play and distraction, and consider the mental health of children and young people. A Textbook of Children's and Young People's Nursing is written by multidisciplinary experts, rooted in child-centred healthcare within a family context, and draws upon best contemporary practice. It is an invaluable resource that will help nursing students provide effective, evidence-based care. Key points, summary boxes and clearly defined aims, objectives and learning outcomes to support learning Conversation boxes to enliven the text Patient scenarios to relate theory to practice New chapters on skin health and the use of therapeutic play Suggestions for seminar discussion topics to help teachers Resource lists and online resources for further study or research Online slides to complement chapters within book
Children and Young People's Nursing Skills at a Glance by
Children and Young People's Nursing Skills at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration children's nursing students. Highly visual, each clinical skill is covered in a two-page spread, with superb colour illustrations accompanied by clear informative text. Providing up to date, evidence-based information on a wide range of clinical skills that are required by today's children's nurses, this comprehensive and accessible text makes it easy for the reader to grasp the fundamentals in order to meet the care needs of the child and family, both in the hospital and community setting. Structured around the key systems of the body, the book is divided into sixteen sections, and covers all the essential clinical skills, including: Principles of assessment Communication Record keeping Drug calculations and administration Safeguarding Care planning Respiratory and cardiac care Gastrointestinal care ECG reading and interpretation Neurological assessment Musculoskeletal care. Aimed at both student nurses and those newly qualified, Children and Young People's Nursing Skills at a Glance provides need to know, rapid information to ensure safe and effective clinical practice.
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology by
Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology introduces nursing and healthcare students to the pathophysiology of the child, and offers an applied full-colour visual approach throughout. Explaining the anatomy of the human body, and the effects of disease or illness on normal physiology, it enables the reader to develop the understanding, knowledge, and skills required to know how to respond and provide safe and effective high-quality care to children and their families. Key features: Written by an experienced author team Filled with superb full-colour illustrations Packed with learning features, including key words, test-your-knowledge, exercises, further reading, and learning outcomes Includes case studies to help readers understand how to apply the knowledge in clinical practice Contains links to clinical observations, vital signs to look out for, investigations boxes, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, and medication alerts Fundamentals of Children's Applied Pathophysiology is an ideal book for pre-registration nursing students, including child and adult nurses, as well as for all healthcare professionals who come into contact with children and their families.
Growth and Development Across the Lifespan by
Promote healthy behaviors and healthy lifestyles throughout the life cycle! Growth and Development Across the Lifespan, 3rd Edition helps you plan and implement appropriate care for patients at each age and stage of life. Explaining concepts of physical, cognitive, social, and personality development, this text provides strategies for improving patient health and quality of life for each age group. Healthy People 2030 objectives are used to set a framework for positive health behaviors. From noted educators and authors Gloria Leifer and Eve Fleck, this book shows how a knowledge of normal growth and aberrations can be used to design individual approaches to patient care. Patient teaching strategies are provided for every development stage, providing age-appropriate patient education tips. Cultural influences on health are included in a separate Cultural Considerations in Health Care chapter and in special boxes throughout the text. Lifespan Considerations boxes focus on issues specific to development stages. Health Promotion boxes highlight critical health issues related to each life stage. Safety Alert boxes focus on key safety issues for each life stage. Critical Thinking scenarios and questions appear at the end of each chapter to help you consider all variables when planning care across the lifespan. Learning features include objectives, key terms, key points, and review questions in each chapter. NEW! Healthy People 2030 goals and objectives are incorporated throughout the book. NEW! Case studies are included in life stage chapters. NEW! Updated physical activity guidelines are included from the World Health Organization, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Journal of the American Medical Association, and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NEW! Updated content includes microbiomes, obesity, nutrition, telehealth, social media, substance abuse, and gun safety. NEW! Review questions are added to the Evolve companion website.
Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics by
This sixth edition of the acclaimed and award-winning 'Sunflower book' comprehensively covers the undergraduate curriculum in paediatrics and child health. Topics are made accessible with numerous colour images, diagrams and case studies, and revision is facilitated by key points and summary boxes. This has made the book a firm favourite of medical students as well as trainees approaching clinical speciality exams, both in the UK and internationally. Highly illustrated with hundreds of colour images and diagrams to assist learning. Case studies to explain important or complex clinical problem Key learning points: the editors identify the most clinically relevant facts. Summary boxes to aid revision.
Paediatrics at a Glance by
Paediatrics at a Glance provides an introduction to paediatrics and the problems encountered in child health as they present in primary, community and secondary care, from birth through to adolescence. Thoroughly updated to reflect changes in understanding of childhood illness over the last 5 years, the 4th edition of this best-selling textbook diagrammatically summarises the main differential diagnoses for each presenting symptom, while accompanying text covers important disorders and conditions as well as management information. Paediatrics at a Glance: * Is an accessible, user-friendly guide to the entire paediatric curriculum * Features expanded coverage of psychological issues and ethics in child health * Includes more on advances in genetics, screening and therapy of childhood illness * Contains new videos of procedures and concepts on the companion website * Includes a brand new chapter on Palliative Care - an emerging area in the specialty * Features full colour artwork throughout * Includes a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/paediatrics featuring interactive self-assessment case studies, MCQs, videos of the procedures and concepts covered in the book, and links to online resources Paediatrics at a Glance is the ideal companion for anyone about to start a paediatric attachment or module and will appeal to medical students, junior doctors and GP trainees as well as nursing students and other health professionals.
Ross and Wilson Pocket Reference Guide to Anatomy and Physiology by 
Numeracy in Children's Nursing by
Numeracy in Children's Nursing and Healthcare is a handy, practical book which highlights the importance of numbers, numeracy and calculations in children's nursing practice, instilling nursing students and qualified nurses with confidence and competence when working with numbers and calculating drug doses. This accessible guide covers all aspects of numeracy from basic skills through to complex drug administration, and provides case studies throughout enabling the reader to apply the theory to practice. Each chapter adopts the same accessible and easy-to-follow format, featuring learning outcomes, a case scenario, key numeracy information, hints and tips, activities and exercises, and a glossary of terms.
Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Children's Nurses by
Registered Nurses must have thorough knowledge of pharmacology, medicines administration, and the effects of medicines. Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Children's Nurses is written for nurses and allied health professionals involved in the care of children and young people (CYP) to focus exclusively on pharmacology. Filling a gap in current literature on the subject, this much-needed resource develops the competence and confidence required to prescribe, dispense, and administer medicines to children and young people. Emphasising the importance of patient-centered care to CYP, the text describes the role of the healthcare provider working with CYP and their families; explains how to use pharmaceutical and prescribing reference guides; discusses legal and ethical issues; examines pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics, and more. Helping readers respond appropriately and compassionately to the needs of those receiving care and their families, this textbook: Covers a wide range of medications used in diabetes, cancer, mental health, and other areas Features a wealth of full-colour images and numerous pedagogical tools including learning objectives, self-test questions, and reflective exercises to enable readers to contextualise and assess their knowledge Presents case studies to reinforce learning, and illustrate the application of theory to practice Provides authoritative and practical guidance on formulations, adverse drug reactions, analgesics, antibiotics, immunisations, and the medications most commonly used when providing care to CYP Includes access to a companion website with interactive MCQs, case studies, references, an image bank, and links to further reading and supplemental resources Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Children's Nurses is essential reading for undergraduate children's nursing students, trainee nursing associates, those undertaking healthcare programmes of study, as well as those seeking to better understand pharmacology.
Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy and Physiology by
When caring for the well or ill child, recognising andresponding to their anatomical and physiological differences isessential. Fundamentals of Children?s Anatomy andPhysiology provides child nursing students and registerednurses with a succinct but complete overview of the structure andfunction of the child?s body, plus clinical applicationsthroughout to demonstrate how the concepts relate to real-lifenursing. Each chapter lists learning outcomes and includes clinical considerations, body maps, a range ofhigh-quality illustrations and test-your-knowledge questions. The book is also accompanied by a companion website with furtherself-assessment and quizzes.
Essentials of Nursing Children and Young People by
This innovative and student-friendly textbook provides up-to-date information on the core content of child nursing courses and helps students understand how it applies to practice. Covering all settings throughout, including the acute and community ones, it focuses on the importance of child and family centred care, by having them directly involved through the use of voices and case studies. This book provides a comprehensive framework for student knowledge development by including: Activities and theory stop-points to encourage students to develop their critical thinking skills. Pointers to further reading resources, including journal articles and videos for students to explore and build knowledge more independently. A range of online resources including extra scenarios for lecturers to use in their teaching and MCQs for students to revise. Essential reading for undergraduate nursing students specialising or wanting to specialise in children and young people nursing.
Managing Pain in Children by
Providing an evidence-based, practical guide to care in all areas of children's pain management, Managing Pain in Children offers nurses and other healthcare professionals an introduction to the skills and expertise to manage children's pain effectively. This fully-updated second edition first explores the relevant anatomy and physiology of children, the latest policy guidelines surrounding pain management and ethical issues involved in managing children's pain. Various pain assessment tools available for children and non-drug methods of pain relief are then explored and applied to practice in relation to acute pain, chronic pain, palliative care and the management of procedural pain. The evidence base, assessment techniques, pain-relieving interventions, and guidance for best practice in both hospital and community settings are covered throughout, making this title an ideal resource for all nurses and healthcare professionals working with children.
Advanced Paediatric Life Support by
Advanced Paediatric Life Support is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care, written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group. Using their structured approach, a tried and tested practical method of treating children during the crucial first few hours of a life threatening illness or injury, Advanced Paediatric Life Support is used by doctors, nurses and allied health professionals dealing with emergencies in children. Its clear layout and straightforward style make it a highly practical tool both for training and in the event of an emergency. The sixth edition includes major new features bringing it right up to date, including: The latest International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation (ILCOR) 2015 Guidelines The latest consensus guidelines on paediatric trauma Enhanced discussions on the importance of human factors A new and improved design including full colour photographs and diagrams Free access to the Wiley E-Text With this book at hand, all those providing care during paediatric emergencies can be confident in having comprehensive and authoritative guidance on the recognition and management of life threatening conditions necessary to save a child's life. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from iTunes, Google Play or the MedHand Store.
The Developing Child 13th edn. by
The Developing Child gives students the tools they need to organise, retain, and apply information from the broad field of child psychology, while offering balanced coverage of theory and application.
Through The Developing Child Helen Bee and Denise Boyd generate excitement about scientific inquiry by connecting research with applications. All integrated features within the text are designed to engage students and provide them with the support they need to understand, learn, and apply the material.
Children and Young People's Nursing at a Glance by
Children and Young People?s Nursing at a Glance, isthe perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registrationchildren?s nursing students from the publishers of themarket-leading at a Glance series. Divided into sevensections it explores assessment and screening, working withfamilies, the newborn infant, the developing child, child healthpolicy, nursing the sick child and young person and chronic andlife-limiting conditions. This comprehensive book is an invaluable resource forpre-registration nursing students as well as newly qualified nurseswanting to consolidate and expand their knowledge of children andyoung people?s nursing. Breaks down complex aspects of child health care in anaccessible and un-intimidating way The perfect revision and consolidation textbook Linked closely with the NMC standards for pre-registrationnursing education, and the essential skills clusters framework Highly visual colour presentation, with approximately 130illustrations Includes boxes, summary boxes, key points and recommendationsfor practice to improve the learning experience Supported by a companion website featuring over 500 interactivemultiple choice questions(www.ataglanceseries.com/nursing/children) Available in a range of digital formats - perfect for 'on thego' study and revision
Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students at a Glance by
Anatomy and Physiology for Nursing and Healthcare Students at a Glance The market-leading at a Glance series is popular among healthcare students and newly qualified practitioners for its concise, simple approach and excellent illustrations. Each bite-sized chapter is covered in a double-page spread with clear, easy-to-follow diagrams, supported by succinct explanatory text. Covering a wide range of topics, books in the at a Glance series are ideal as introductory texts for teaching, learning and revision, and are useful throughout university and beyond. Everything you need to know about anatomy and physiology ... at a Glance! An ideal introduction and revision guide for anatomy and physiology As part of the popular At a Glance series, Anatomy & Physiology for Nursing & Healthcare Students provides a wonderful introduction to the topic and is written with the student nurse in mind. This is also a useful reference guide for any healthcare professional looking for a quick refresher on the human body. The book strikes a balance between being succinct without being superficial, with concise writing that provides an overview of anatomy and physiology. Helping nurses develop practical skills and deliver increasingly complex care for patients through the study of how the body functions, readers will also find: A user-friendly approach that includes bite-size pieces of information and full-colour diagrams to help students retain, recall, and apply facts to their practice Clinical practice points that aim to encourage readers to relate to the theoretical concepts in practice New to the second edition: a chapter on anatomical terms and emphasising the importance of the correct anatomical terminology in communication between healthcare professionals Includes access to a companion website with self-assessment questions for each chapter This quick and easy-to-digest introduction to anatomy and physiology is the perfect textbook for nursing students in all fields of practice, allied healthcare students including paramedics and physiotherapists, and newly qualified nurses and nursing associates. It is also an ideal reference book for anyone looking for an overview of the human body. The book is also available in a range of digital formats which allows for easy access on the go. For more information on the complete range of Wiley nursing and health publishing, please visit: www.wiley.com To receive automatic updates on Wiley books and journals, join our email list. Sign up today at www.wiley.com/email All content reviewed by students for students Wiley nursing books are designed exactly for their intended audience. All of our books are developed in collaboration with students. This means that our books are always published with you, the student, in mind. If you would like to be one of our student reviewers, go to www.reviewnursingbooks.com to find out more. This new edition is also available as an e-book. For more details, please see www.wiley.com/buy/9781119757207
Essential Paediatrics and Child Health by
Essential Paediatrics and Child Health is a comprehensive and practical guide to paediatric disorders as they present to the student and practitioner, offering step-by-step guidance on symptom assessment, history taking, physical examination, investigation and diagnosis, management and treatment, patient education, follow-up and prognosis. With full-colour images and a range of unique and innovative learning features, this completely revised new edition of the award-winning book Paediatrics and Child Health will prove an invaluable resource for medical students and junior doctors on their journey through contemporary paediatrics. Organises paediatric disorders into system-based chapters for easy navigation, with symptom-based and integrative discussions of all the important diseases and disabilities in paediatrics Combines up-to-date descriptions of the latest in basic and clinical science with the core competencies expected of students in paediatric rotations Self-directed learning is made easy by means of navigation diagrams, tables, key-point and "at-a-glance" boxes, links to guidelines and other summary aids Sections on student experience, self-assessment, doing well in paediatric clinical placements and preparing for examinations and OSCEs Includes a completely new introduction with perspectives on the nature of paediatrics and how best to become engaged and immersed within it, and new content on communication, national guidelines, imaging techniques, genetics and epigenetics, prescribing for children toxicology, the latest advances in diagnosing and treating disease, and much more Provides a companion website containing physical examination instruction videos, a complete set of interactive patient scenarios and multiple-choice questions Essential Paediatrics and Child Health is the ideal companion for medical students and junior doctors to succeed in their studies and clinical practice.
Mary Sheridan's from Birth to Five Years by
From Birth to Five Years, based on the pioneering work of Mary Sheridan, is widely regarded as the go-to reference for health, education and social care professionals, or anyone concerned with the developmental progress of pre-school children. In this new fourth edition, the text has been developed to further align it with current child development philosophies and practices, and to support the wider group of professionals that are now required to take steps for promoting children¿s development as part of their assessment and management plans. This book aims to improve the clinical management of children with developmental disorders, through providing the full range of developmental attainments, methods of observation, and advice about when to seek help. Features of this completely revised edition include: For students and tutors ¿ information on theoretical aspects of development, with further reading suggestions and references including the most recent international studies in the field A new section on the development of attention and self-regulation Contemporary case studies with guidance on when to raise concerns for students and teachers Discussion points to stimulate class debate To complement this book, a new companion volume, From Birth to Five Years: Practical Developmental Examination, offers a step-by-step ¿how to¿ guide, including guidance on enquiry and observation, how to chart typical and atypical patterns, and ¿red flags¿ for recognising significant delay or abnormality. To consolidate and expand on the practical and theoretical information across both books, a new companion website is available at www.routledge.com/cw/sharma, which includes the following additional learning material: An interactive timeline of the key developmental domains Introductions to theory with links to further reading Research summaries Video clips demonstrating practical assessment skills
Ross and Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness by
Now in its fourteenth edition, this best-selling textbook has been honed over many years to provide a clear, straightforward introduction to the human body for students of nursing, allied health or biomedical and paramedical science. The book covers the core essentials of anatomy and physiology, including basic pathology and pathophysiology of important diseases and disorders. This new edition presents additional illustrations to enhance understanding of key concepts, including pathophysiology and diagnostics. Included for the first time is an introduction to surface anatomy, while other updating reflects current scientific knowledge and developments, including coronavirus. Enhanced learning features and an extensive online resource help you grasp all the important areas. Like millions of readers before you, you will treasure Ross & Wilson as a go-to resource that you will refer to time and again to support this critical aspect of your healthcare education. Clear and easy to read - suitable for students new to the area and anyone whose first language is not English Hundreds of stunning illustrations and images to make learning easy Helpful learning features such as Learning Outcomes boxes, colour coding and orientation icons to facilitate navigation Definitions of common prefixes, suffixes and roots, examples, glossary and an appendix of normal biological values Self-assessment activities in each chapter, including 'spot check' questions for each section and case studies with answers to develop understanding of key principles Accompanying website with animations, videos, audio-glossary and other self-assessment material Evolve Study Resources Online content offered with Ross & Wilson Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Illness 14th edition includes: New for this edition - a set of expert-narrated 3D videos summarizing key topics in the book, powered by Complete Anatomy: the world's most advanced 3D anatomy platform Over 120 animations clarifying underlying principles and make learning fun More than 1700 audio glossary entries Body Spectrum © online colouring and self-test software Self-assessment questions to help students test their knowledge
