Predicting and Changing Health Behaviour by
There is currently great interest in how social cognitions are related to health behaviour but - often - little practical understanding of the area. Predicting Health Behaviour brings together current research and practical details of how models of social cognition can be applied in health research.Predicting Health Behaviour provides the theoretical background and examples of how to apply the most common social cognition models to the explanation of health behaviours. Each chapter has been written by key researchers in the area, and they follow a common structure which enables this book to be read as a 'user-manual'. Each chapter provides a general review of relevant research, applying the model to a variety of health behaviours (such as dietary choice, screening behaviour and sex) and discussing the strengths and weaknesses of models including the health belief model, protection motivation theory, the theory of planned behaviour, health locus of control and self-efficacy. The final chapter includes a critique of the general approach, and signposts future directions for research.Predicting Health Behaviour examines how to assess the advantages and disadvantages of using each of these models; appropriately apply each model to their work; and adequately analyse and report the results. It will be important reading for health professionals, and researchers and students of health and health psychology.
Health Promotion and Public Health for Nursing Students by
Preventing illness and improving the general health of the population is a vital priority for the health service with nurses expected to play a central role. Written using clear language, Health Promotion and Public Health for Nursing Students explains what health promotion is and how it interacts with public health. It shows how health promotion can be implemented while drawing on the main theories, models, and evidence that inform practice. The book covers the essential topics like lifestyle changes, health screening, and patient education, giving readers the necessary tools and confidence to integrate health promotion into your day to day nursing practice. Transforming Nursing Practice is a series tailor made for preregistration student nurses. Each book in the series is: Affordable Mapped to the NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters Focused on applying theory to practice Full of active learning features "The set of books is an excellent resource for students. The series is small, easily portable, and valuable. I use the whole set on a regular basis." --Fiona Davies, Senior Nurse Lecturer, University of Derby
Marmot, M (2010) Fair Society, Healthy Lives - The Marmot Review: Executive Summary
Marmot, M. et al. (2020) Health Equity in England: The Marmot Review: Executive Summary
Foundations for Health Promotion by
The fourth edition of Foundations for Health Promotion continues to offer a wealth of information in a friendly, easy-to-read format. This edition has been comprehensively updated and includes a new feature of learning activities with indicative answers to help students and practitioners to reflect on their practice. 'Pull out' boxes of case studies and examples help the reader to identify the evidence base for health promotion and illustrate the range of health promotion practice. Divided into four parts, the book first explains the theoretical concepts of health, health education and health promotion and the ethical and political aspects of practice. The second part explores strategies to promote health and some of the dilemmas that they pose. The third part explores how a range of different settings, such as hospitals and schools, can be oriented towards positive health and well-being. The fourth part focuses on the implementation of health promotion interventions and is designed to help practitioners to reflect on their practice by examining what drives their choice of strategy. Foundations for Health Promotion, Fourth Edition will be ideal for a range of disciplines including health service professionals in primary and acute settings, those working in local and municipal authorities to promote health and wellbeing, health educators and trainers. Comprehensive updating and expansion to reflect recent research findings and major organizational and policy changes Clear structure and signposting for ease of reading and study Wide choice of examples and illustrative case studies reflect the needs of a variety of professional groups in health services, local and municipal services and education Ineractive learning activities with indicative answers help readers consolidate their learning Comprehensively updated and expanded to reflect major organizational and policy changes Interactive learning activities with indicative answers at the end of each chapter 'Pull out' boxes illustrate recent research findings and case studies of practice
Fundamentals of Health Promotion for Nurses by
Fundamentals of Health Promotion for Nurses is a concise, accessible introduction to health promotion and public health for pre-registration nursing students and newly qualified nurses. Promoting the health and wellbeing of patients is a vital part of the nursing role, and the updated second edition of this user-friendly book discusses the foundations for health promotion practice using practical examples, activities and discussion points to encourage readers to reflect on their values, debate the issues and apply their knowledge and understanding to practice.
Essentials of Health Promotion by
A complete one-stop-shop for any student of health promotion. How to improve and protect public health is one of the biggest questions facing the 21st century and this book exists to help tackle it head on. Setting out the What, Why, When, Who, Where and How of health promotion across 20 bite-sized chapters. It explores the full range of theories, context and strategies that influence contemporary health promotion. Key features: Comprehensive coverage: all facets of health promotion introduced and explained Combines the theoretical with the practical: knowledge blended with the key skills and attributes needed for effective health promotion Extensive range of global case studies: read about the enormous range of possibilities and creative ways health promotion can be achievedThis is the ideal textbook for any undergraduate or pre-registration student starting their health promotion or public health journey. It provides a complete package of information that will lay the groundwork for your learning and future practice and will help you succeed with assignments, essays and exams.
Essentials of Health Promotion by
A complete one-stop-shop for any student of health promotion. How to improve and protect public health is one of the biggest questions facing the 21st century and this book exists to help tackle it head on. Setting out the What, Why, When, Who, Where and How of health promotion across 20 bite-sized chapters. It explores the full range of theories, context and strategies that influence contemporary health promotion. Key features: Comprehensive coverage: all facets of health promotion introduced and explained Combines the theoretical with the practical: knowledge blended with the key skills and attributes needed for effective health promotion Extensive range of global case studies: read about the enormous range of possibilities and creative ways health promotion can be achievedThis is the ideal textbook for any undergraduate or pre-registration student starting their health promotion or public health journey. It provides a complete package of information that will lay the groundwork for your learning and future practice and will help you succeed with assignments, essays and exams.
Foundations for Health Promotion by
This hugely popular textbook provides a broad-based and user-friendly introduction to health promotion and its use in practice. Written by Professor Jane Wills, the book takes the reader through health promotion theory, strategy and methods, settings and implementation. It is clearly structured and accessibly written, with a discursive style that will appeal to readers of all levels and sufficient theoretical depth for undergraduates and postgraduates alike. Foundations for Health Promotion is suitable for students and practitioners of nursing, medicine, dentistry, allied health and social work, who will learn the essentials of health promotion as a discipline and reflect on its potential for their own work. Packed with interactive exercises to consolidate learning Focus on application of knowledge to practice Self-reflection on practice in each chapter to encourage deeper engagement Case studies and research examples provide evidence base for health promotion in different professions and areas of practice New chapters on health protection, communicating health and healthy universities New chapter on evaluating research and evidence - key components of workforce competencies Thoroughly revised and updated throughout to reflect recent changes in health promotion theories, practice and policy Accompanying videos narrated by Professor Wills give an overview of key topics
Health Psychology: a biopsychosocial approach by
Providing a thorough biopsychosocial approach, Health Psychology is your ideal companion to studying this subject. Exploring bio-social, developmental and lifestyle factors and how these relate to physical and psychological disturbances, this lively and approachable guide takes you through this key topic for psychology, health sciences, nursing and education students.Using case studies and up to date research, the author brings to life the important practical applications in this area, helping you to understand the varied ways the biological, physiological and social factors affect psychology and how effective interventions can influence the health of a population.
Understanding the Sociology of Health by
Why do health inequalities exist? How do gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity or class affect health? What is the healthcare impact of technology? How does climate change relate to health and illness and what does sociology have to teach us about pandemics? This textbook exists to answer these complex questions providing a complete overview of all the key sociological debates, themes, theories and research. Key features: Takes a global perspective providing comparative examples throughout Grapples with the most pressing healthcare debates including climate change and environment, pandemics and society, racism, health inequality and gender identity Breaks the complexities down using extremely clear language throughout Lecturers and instructors can also access a range of additional teaching resources available from the SAGE website. Though aimed primarily at students on health and social care courses and professions allied to medicine, this textbook provides valuable insights for anyone interested in the social aspects of health.
Predicting and Changing Health Behaviour by
There is currently great interest in how social cognitions are related to health behaviour but - often - little practical understanding of the area. Predicting Health Behaviour brings together current research and practical details of how models of social cognition can be applied in health research.Predicting Health Behaviour provides the theoretical background and examples of how to apply the most common social cognition models to the explanation of health behaviours. Each chapter has been written by key researchers in the area, and they follow a common structure which enables this book to be read as a 'user-manual'. Each chapter provides a general review of relevant research, applying the model to a variety of health behaviours (such as dietary choice, screening behaviour and sex) and discussing the strengths and weaknesses of models including the health belief model, protection motivation theory, the theory of planned behaviour, health locus of control and self-efficacy. The final chapter includes a critique of the general approach, and signposts future directions for research.Predicting Health Behaviour examines how to assess the advantages and disadvantages of using each of these models; appropriately apply each model to their work; and adequately analyse and report the results. It will be important reading for health professionals, and researchers and students of health and health psychology.
Health is made at home, hospitals are for repairs by 
Children and Young People's Nursing: Principles for Practice by
Underpinned by a rights-based approach, this essential text critically analyses the theory and practice of children and young people¿s nursing from several perspectives - public health, acute and community based care, education and research. Chapters address the clinical, legal, ethical, political and professional issues and controversies which impact on the care delivered to children, young people and their families both nationally and internationally. This new edition continues to promote reflection and critical thinking about the practice of children¿s nursing and professional development.
Health Promotion throughout the life span by
Promote health and wellness for all ages and population groups! Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 9th Edition provides a comprehensive guide to leading health promotion concepts, from assessment to interventions to application. Its lifespan approach addresses patients' unique needs with case studies and care plans, with an assessment framework based on Gordon's Functional Health Patterns. New to this edition is expanded coverage of genomics and QSEN competencies. Written by nursing experts Carole Edelman and Elizabeth Kudzma, this bestselling text covers all the latest research and trends in health promotion and disease prevention. Separate chapters on population groups - the individual, family, and community - highlight the unique aspects of assessment and health promotion for each group. Coverage of growth and development helps you apply health promotion concepts to each age and each stage of development through the lifespan. Case studies present realistic situations with questions asking you to apply key concepts, and care plans include nursing diagnoses, defining characteristics, related factors, expected outcomes, and interventions. Quality and Safety Scenario boxes focus on QSEN-related competencies with examples of health promotion. Innovative Practice boxes outline unique and creative health promotion programs and projects currently being implemented. Healthy People 2020 boxes present goals and objectives relating to national health issues and priorities. Research for Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize current health-promotion studies showing the links between research, theory, and practice. Diversity Awareness boxes address cultural perspectives relating to planning care. Hot Topics boxes introduce significant issues, trends, and controversies in health promotion. Think About It clinical scenarios open each chapter, and include questions to encourage critical thinking. NEW! An increased focus on genomics reflects scientific evidence supporting the use of genetic tests and family health history to guide public health interventions. NEW! Expanded discussion of QSEN competencies is included, as related to health promotion. NEW! Guidelines and recommendations are included from the latest Guide to Clinical Preventive Services from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force. NEW! The latest information about the Affordable Care Act is included. NEW! Updated photos reflect the latest in health promotion and disease prevention.
Health promotion throughout the life span by Health Psychology by
Providing a thorough biopsychosocial approach, Health Psychology is your ideal companion to studying this subject. Exploring bio-social, developmental and lifestyle factors and how these relate to physical and psychological disturbances, this lively and approachable guide takes you through this key topic for psychology, health sciences, nursing and education students.Using case studies and up to date research, the author brings to life the important practical applications in this area, helping you to understand the varied ways the biological, physiological and social factors affect psychology and how effective interventions can influence the health of a population.
Understanding the Sociology of Health by
Why do health inequalities exist? How do gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity or class affect health? What is the healthcare impact of technology? How does climate change relate to health and illness and what does sociology have to teach us about pandemics? This textbook exists to answer these complex questions providing a complete overview of all the key sociological debates, themes, theories and research. Key features: Takes a global perspective providing comparative examples throughout Grapples with the most pressing healthcare debates including climate change and environment, pandemics and society, racism, health inequality and gender identity Breaks the complexities down using extremely clear language throughout Lecturers and instructors can also access a range of additional teaching resources available from the SAGE website. Though aimed primarily at students on health and social care courses and professions allied to medicine, this textbook provides valuable insights for anyone interested in the social aspects of health.
Health for All Children by
Since publication of the fourth edition of this highly successful book, there have been a number of Government initiatives, reports and policies on how the health of children can best be protected and promoted. This revised fourth edition incorporates recent material on the National ServiceFramework, 'Every Child Matters', the public health report 'Choosing Health', and the Children Act. It has also been informed by new research on a variety of topics including Sure Start, obesity, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and language acquisition.Health for all Children 4/e (revised) continues the themes of previous editions, in particular highlighting the growing evidence that behavioural problems and educational failure are not inevitable, and can be prevented. Thus the role of screening for developmental problems, while not ignored, isset in the context of what can be done to promote language development, reading, and enthusiasm for learning.Changes made to the fourth edition, and continued in this revised edition, include dealing with the health care needs of children of school age as well as pre-school children. It also outlines the needs of special groups of children, including those who are vulnerable or disabled and those livingin unusual circumstances. The legislative framework is outlined and hallmarks of good practice described. Promoting children's health is a key focus, with updated information on nutrition and injury prevention, and emphasis on the importance of parent education and support, language, and literacyskills, with a review of behavioural management programmes for parents. It also describes the duties laid on PCTs with regard to education and social services support.This established and successful book continues to be essential reading for all health professionals who work with children, whether in the community or at the receiving end of referrals. It will also provide vital background knowledge for those charged with the responsibility of planning,commissioning and monitoring. This revised fourth edition provides the most up to date evidence in a rapidly changing field.
Promoting Health in Children and Young People by 
Safeguarding and Child Protection for Nurses, Midwives and Health Visitors: A practical guide by
Nurses, midwives and health visitors have a statutory duty to safeguard and promote the welfare of children and young people. In this clear and invaluable guide, Catherine Powell focuses on the practical aspects of safeguarding and how healthcare professionals should respond to safeguarding children concerns.
Essentials of Nursing Children and Young People by
This innovative and student-friendly textbook provides up-to-date information on the core content of child nursing courses and helps students understand how it applies to practice. Covering all settings throughout, including the acute and community ones, it focuses on the importance of child and family centred care, by having them directly involved through the use of voices and case studies. This book provides a comprehensive framework for student knowledge development by including: Activities and theory stop-points to encourage students to develop their critical thinking skills. Pointers to further reading resources, including journal articles and videos for students to explore and build knowledge more independently. A range of online resources including extra scenarios for lecturers to use in their teaching and MCQs for students to revise. Essential reading for undergraduate nursing students specialising or wanting to specialise in children and young people nursing.
Child Health Psychology: a biosocial perspective by
Winner of the British Psychological Society Book Award 2017 - Textbook category "A long overdue prioritisation of child and adolescent health psychology... Taking an interdisciplinary stance to a textbook can be a difficult task. However, despite introducing a variety of concepts, this text is very accessible and a joy to read. A use of both old and new case studies and examples helps to chart the progress in the field... an excellent book for health psychology modules and postgraduate teaching." - The Psychologist "This book is well evidenced, has a sound theoretical and scientific basis, and at the same time is insightful and readable - reflecting the author's enthusiasm for the topic. It will stimulate the reader to find out more about this fascinating area." - Vivien Swanson, University of Stirling "Engagingly written in a style that draws the reader in, it covers all the bases and provides an excellent introduction to the area." - Paul D. Bennett, Swansea University Child Health Psychology: A Biopsychosocial Perspective is the first sole-authored textbook dedicated to the topic of health psychology as it applies to children and adolescents, drawing on research from several related disciplines including psychoneuroimmunology and developmental psychobiology. With an overarching biopsychosocial lifespan perspective, Turner-Cobb examines the effects of early life experience on health outcomes, as well as covering the experience of acute and chronic illness during childhood. Lots of helpful aids are provided per chapter including key learning objectives, textboxes putting spotlights on key pieces of research, lists of key concepts to revise, useful websites and further reading suggestions. With a perspective designed to both inform and to challenge, this stimulating textbook will introduce you to the central relevance and many applications of child health psychology. It will be of interest to final year undergraduate and postgraduate students in health and clinical psychology, as well as to students in health sciences, nursing, and childhood studies.
Public Health and Health Promotion for Nurses at a Glance by
Public Health and Health Promotion for Nurses at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for nursing students and practitioners. Health promotion is a growing core component of nursing care, and this text combines superb illustrations with accessible information to make the key concepts of health promotion clear and easy to understand. It also provides guidance for how this can be applied in daily practice in all fields of nursing to promote the health of individual patients and communities. Divided into six sections, the first looks at the relationship between the outcomes of public health and the outcomes of nursing, before going on to explore the definitions and different approaches of health promotion.This includes the causes and determinants of morbidity and mortality, and the skills and resources that can support nurses in promoting health with individual patients. It also examines strategies for working with communities to improve health, as well as the ethics of health promotion in nursing. The perfect revision and consolidation textbook Closely linked with the public health outcomes as represented by the NMC, the 6Cs of nursing, essential nursing skills clusters as well as the implications for nursing arising from recent inquiries. Highly visual colour presentation, with full colour illustrations throughout
Promoting the health of school age children by
"Children and young people are high on the political agenda in health, education and social care. This book considers factors that impact on children and young people and the strategies that are in place, or developing, to meet their needs using the themes of government policies such as Every Child Matters, Safeguarding Children, and Our Health Our Care Our Say." "School nurses have long moved from a purely biomedical perspective, utilising a wider outlook drawing on sociology, psychology, health promotion, social and health policy and educational theory. Their approach introduces a different perspective to others working with children, from an education social care or health angle. This book is relevant to those promoting health at individual, school or population level and will continue the process of bringing different professional groups together."
