How to do a systematic literature review in nursing: A step-by-step guide. by
From writing a review question to writing up a review, this practical book presents a useful workbook companion for students undertaking their first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement.
The Research Process in Nursing by
Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
Nursing Research by
This book answers all your students′ questions on the nursing research process. Restructured to follow their progress from being a novice nurse researcher to an experienced one, it gives them the knowledge to understand evidence-based practice and critical appraisal and to succeed in their own projects. Key features of the book are: Updated practical coverage of key methods such as conducting a survey and a section on the Research Excellence Framework International research examples in action Reflective exercises A companion website including access to journal articles and flashcards. It is essential reading for nursing undergraduates, postgraduates and all new researchers.
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health and social care? Now in its 7th edition, this introductory guide provides you with a concise overview of the different research methods and terminology that you will come across when undertaking research in any course related to nursing, health and social care. The book's easy-to-follow structure takes you from research novice to confident researcher, helping you to make sense of research and understand how it is implemented in healthcare practice. The new edition includes: Updates in line with the 2018 NMC standards, with more information on the impact of GDPR, consent and vulnerable groups, Personal and Public Involvement (PPI), and work-based projects. Improved case examples of real research, with more on group work, poster presentations, research output and dissemination, literature reviews, and dissertations. Upgraded activities that include reflective exercises, critical appraisal tools, a dissemination plan, and a glossary, all in the book. This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students within the health and therapy professions, nurses, midwives, physiotherapists, radiographers, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, and paramedics.
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation by
The book is written using a very clear and engaging scenario style. This has been used to provide a logical structure and progression to the ideas embodied within the text that readers will find relevant to their dissertation work. We are confident that this book will provide you, the reader; with a clear knowledge of the fundamental aspects of evidence-based practice needed to write your healthcare dissertation/project or evidence informed decision-making assignment and help provide you with the knowledge to deliver quality evidence based care within current healthcare environments
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by
This best-selling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review for students in all areas of health and social care. It is vital reading for all those doing their undergraduate dissertation or any study which involves doing a literature review.
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care by
This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence-based practice is, how to relate it to practice or use it in academic work. Fully updated in this brand new edition, this book uses simple and easy to understand language to help those new to the topic. It provides a step by step guide to what we mean by evidence-based practice and how to apply this concept to your practice and learning.
A Beginner's Guide to Critical Thinking and Writing in Health and Social Care by
This bestselling guide takes you through every stage of becoming a critical thinker, from approaching your subject to writing your essays or dissertation in health and social care. Each chapter tackles a different aspect of critical thinking and shows you how it''s done using examples and simple language.
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by
If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. It is intended to assist: Professionals and academics in the healthcare field who undertake or teach research in clinical or educational settings; Postgraduates who are undertaking qualitative research and want to revise qualitative research approaches and procedures before going on to more specialist texts; and Undergraduates in their last year who wish to learn about qualitative perspectives or carry out a project using these approaches. Fully updated from the earlier editions by Holloway and Wheeler, it reflects recent developments in nursing research. This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research. With applied and practical examples throughout, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is essential reading for those who are looking for a comprehensive introduction to qualitative research.
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals by
This long-standing textbook provides a clear overview of evidence-based practice. It explores the basic prinicples of knowledge, evidence and decision making and guides students through the process of crtitquing and using evidence in their day-to-day practice. The 5th edition has been updated to reflect contemporary approaches, drawing from lessons learned during the Covid-19 pandemic and includes a new chapter explaining the difference between evaluation, audit and research. Additional features: case studies, activities and end of chapter crossword puzzles help students consolidate their understanding provides a collection of practical appraisal tools and templates to use when reviewing differnet sources of research extensive glossary providing clear definitions of key terminology
Nursing Research: methods and critical appraisal by
Become better at understanding and applying nursing research to your everyday work with Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 9th Edition. Written by an all-star team of educators and research experts, this four-time recipient of the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year is the perfect text to help ground you in the processes behind nursing research and evidence-based practice. This new ninth edition has been thoroughly updated and refocused to better match the needs of the nurse who will read and apply research versus the professional researcher herself. This new edition also features: new research examples and vignettes; easy-to-use navigation tools; enhanced readability; expanded information on how to integrate interprofessional education and evidence-based practice; and well-balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methods. It's a must-have resource for any nurse wanting to take advantage of the nursing research and evidence-based practice currently out there. Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice. Effective learning aids in every chapter include Key Terms, Learning Outcomes, Helpful Hints, Evidence-Based Practice Tips, Appraising the Evidence, Critiquing Criteria, Critique of a Research Study, Critical Thinking Decision Paths, Critical Thinking Challenges, and Key Points. NEW! Revised, refocused, and streamlined content throughout to better address the needs of consumers of research for evidence-based clinical practice. NEW! All-new research examples and Research Vignettes have been added throughout to demonstrate the most current high-quality published studies, and to exemplify the work on prominent nurse-researchers. NEW! Content on mixed-methods research along with secondary analysis has been added to the chapter on nonexperimental designs. NEW! Expanded coverage of systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines addresses these important aspects of research. UNIQUE! Integration of interprofessional education concepts and activities addresses the growing interest in interprofessional education and interprofessional collaborative practice. NEW! Enhanced readability and navigation tools make it easier for you to locate, understand, and retain information in the text. NEW! Revamped coverage of theory content and strategies for developing an evidence-based practice feature consolidated chapters that are more visual and less text-heavy.
Nursing research: principles, process and issues by 
Essentials of Nursing Research : Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice by
Give your students everything they need to actively learn how to apply research to nursing practice.
Updated to reflect the latest innovations in research methods, this worldwide bestseller helps students learn how to read and critique research reports, speak the language of nursing research, and develop an appreciation of research to enhance nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck present research essentials, dig into the research steps, and explore quantitative and qualitative research, igniting student curiosity and encouraging them to pursue a professional pathway that incorporates thoughtful appraisals of evidence.
Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research by
Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research is a companion to Essentials of Nursing Research . It reinforces key concepts covered in the textbook through a variety of question types and exercises that make it easy to remember essential information and build critical-thinking skills. Application exercises help you read, comprehend, and critique nursing studies. You will answer Questions of Fact, which guide you in reading the eight research articles in the study guide's appendices, and Questions for Discussion, which aid you in assessing the merits of various aspects of the studies. Study questions pose queries about research studies that make you think critically about research reports and how to conduct research. Matching exercises challenge your ability to link related terms and concepts. Completion exercises test your memory and are a great refresher before an exam. Includes eight full research articles and answers to selected study guide exercises.
Nursing Research : Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice by
Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice, 10th Edition has been thoroughly updated and revised to emphasize the link between research and evidence-based practice, The 10th edition of this classic textbook presents state-of-the-art methods for conducting high-quality studies. The for-purchase Resource Manual includes application exercises, models of comprehensive research critiques, and a Toolkit (which appears on thePoint), that contains exemplary research tools such as consent forms, a demographic questionnaire, and statistical table templates--all in easily adapted Word documents.
Statistics and Data Analysis for Nursing Research by
The second edition of Statistics and Data Analysis for Nursing, uses a conversational style to teach students how to use statistical methods and procedures to analyse research findings. Students are guided through the complete analysis process from performing a statistical analysis to the rationale behind doing so. In addition, management of data, including how and why to recode variables for analysis, how to "clean" data, and how to work around missing data, is discussed.