The Practice of Social Research by
Known as the gold standard for research methods, Babbie's THE PRACTICE OF SOCIAL RESEARCH gives you a definitive guide to research as practiced by social scientists. Combining a straightforward approach with the author's renowned sense of humor, this student-friendly text equips you with the tools and knowledge to apply research concepts as both researcher and consumer. The author emphasizes the process by showing you how to design and construct projects, introducing today's various observation modes and answering critical questions about research methods, such as how to conduct online surveys and analyze both qualitative and quantitative data. The 15th Edition includes the latest General Social Survey findings along with new coverage of the global use of social research, the emerging role of big data, demographic analysis and more. Also available: MindTap digital learning solution.
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data. To help you choose best approach for your research, this book includes: · Worksheets and decision aids to help you plan and organise your literature review · Worked examples and case studies to show you what - and what not - to do in practice · Troubleshooting tips and answers to all your frequently asked questions · Online access to a literature review starter template, an exercise workbook, project diary template, and a source credibility checklist. The perfect project support for any social sciences student, this edition also includes a new chapter on analysing mixed methods research.
Research Methods in Education by
This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project by
This practical book sets out how to approach each stage of your research project, from choosing a research design and methodology to collecting and analysing data and communicating your results - and showcases best practice along the way. Packed with pragmatic guidance for tackling research in the real world, this fourth edition: Offers support for diving into a project using digital data, with how-to guidance on conducting online and social media research Empowers you to confidently disseminate your work and present with impact Helps you map out your research journey and put a plan in place with decision trees in every chapter Challenges you to be reflective and critical about the research you consume and undertake Zina O′Leary′s detailed and down-to-earth approach gives you the research skills and momentum you need to successfully complete your research project.
Research with Children : Theory & Practice by 
Introduction to Social Research by
In the new edition of Introduction to Social Research, Keith Punch takes a fresh look at the entire research process, from formulating a research question to writing up your research. Covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods, the book focuses on matching research questions to appropriate methods. Offering concise, balanced coverage, this book clearly explains the underlying principles of social research and shows you how to put this understanding into practice. The third edition includes: - A new chapter on literature searching and reviewing - Expanded coverage of ethics - A new section on using the internet in research - A range of additional student learning features - A brand new companion website including full-text journal articles, additional case studies and student exercises. Using a range of examples from student research and published work, the book is an ideal introduction for any social science student taking a research methods course or embarking on their own undergraduate or postgraduate research project.
Children’s Research Centre. The CRC is all about children by children. The primary objective is to empower children and young people as active researchers. The CRC recognises that children are experts on their own lives and they value the child's perspective and believe in promoting child voice by supporting children to carry out research on topics that are important to them. The CRC is based at the Open University in Milton Keynes and the website has links to numerous schools and community organisations nationally and internationally and exist to contribute to the body of knowledge on childhood and children's lived experiences.
Economic and Social Research Council The Research Methods Programme aimed to improve methodological quality by funding research that directly enhanced methodological knowledge and developed tools to enhance research quality. It also disseminated methodological developments and good practice through training courses, on-line resources, seminars and awareness-raising events.
Young Lives Young Lives is an international study of childhood poverty, involving 12,000 children in 4 countries over 15 years. It is led by a team in the Department of International Development at the University of Oxford in association with research and policy partners in the 4 study countries: Ethiopia, India, Peru and Vietnam.
International Childhood and Youth Research Network (ICYRNet) This website aims to inform organizations and individuals who are interested in childhood and youth research. The website is supported by the member organizations of the International Childhood and Youth Research Network.
Centre for the Study of Childhood and Youth
The Centre aims to be a multidisciplinary Centre of international excellence in the study of childhood and youth that can contribute to theory and its application to policy and practice. The Centre is strongly committed to actively involving children and young people in the research process. Historically research on childhood and youth ignored or marginalised the voice of the child. The Centre is actively involved in exploring and developing methodological approaches that redresses this and gives 'voice' to children and young people in the research approach.
The Centre is also actively involved in trying to improve the lives of children and young people. Many of its members are involved in helping to shape and influence both national and local policy-making especially in relation to children's and young people's services. As a result the Centre is committed to working closely with policy makers, practitioners and other interest groups who are aiming to improve both the lives of children and young people and the quality of services. This involves the Centre in a programme of knowledge transfer and dissemination to a broad audience including children, young people and their families.