The Ethics of Research with Children and Young People by
Ethical questions are at the centre of research with children and young people. This clear and practical text informs students and researchers about the relevant laws and guidelines and current debates in research ethics. Priscilla Alderson and Virginia Morrow cover ethics at every stage of research, and with all kinds of young research participants, particularly those who are vulnerable or neglected. They break down the process of research into ten stages, each with its own set of related questions and problems, and they show how these need to be addressed. This practical book is essential reading for anyone who conducts or reviews research with children or young people. Priscilla Alderson is Emerita Professor of Childhood Studies at the Institute of Education University of London. Virginia Morrow is Senior Research Officer in the Department of International Development, University of Oxford.
On Writing Qualitative Research by
This text is both about writing up qualitative research and is itself a qualitative study. The written reflections of students on the writing process and the interpretations and presentations of their findings provide a base of data which the authors have, in turn, analyzed and incorporated into their text. They have added accounts of their own experiences, and those of their colleagues and other published authors. All of these are woven into a theoretical framework that discusses them in detail.
Qualitative Data Analysis by
Balancing theoretical foundations with practical strategies, this book helps you develop an approach to your qualitative analysis that is both systematic and insightful.It demonstrates the importance of tying analysis into every aspect of research, from design, through data collection and management, to writing up, and provides step-by-step guidance on how to embed analysis from start to finish. Grounded in the reality of doing research, this second edition: * Presents visual and text-based methods for analysis, using manual and digital tools * Inspires confidence as you code, connect and interrogate observational, text and visual data * Showcases best practice and helps you navigate real-life dilemmas using case studies of research from across the social sciences.Together with rich online resources including videos, datasets and journal articles, this is an important new edition for all students undertaking qualitative research, with a focus on analysis and design.
Doing a Systematic Review by
Written in a friendly, accessible style by an expert team of authors with years of experience in both conducting and supervising systematic reviews, this is the perfect guide to using systematic review methodology in a research project. It provides clear answers to all review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? What's the best way to manage my review? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?
Doing Interviews by
This is a concise introduction to the richness and scope of interviewing in social science research, teaching the craft of interview research with practical, hands-on guidance. Incorporating discussion of the wide variety of methods in interview-based research and the different approaches to reading the data, this book will help you to navigate the broad field of qualitative research with confidence and get out there and start collecting your data.
Research with Children by
The entirely revised third edition of Research with Children forms a unique resource book on the methodology of childhood research with a core emphasis on theory driven practices. As in the previous two editions, this edition presents particular standpoints in the field, whilst also reflecting the latest developments in the now well-established interdisciplinary field of childhood studies. A rich collection of contributions from leading researchers across a range of disciplinary backgrounds, research practices and theoretical perspectives discuss central questions of epistemology and methodology, demonstrating the links between theory and practice. This edition includes exciting new chapters on: Internet-based research and contemporary technology, Family based research, Children as researchers, Participatory research in the global context, New directions for childhood research. Both theoretical and practical questions are set out in a well-argued fashion that enables easier navigation through the various complexities of the epistemological and methodological questions arising in contemporary research practices with children. As such, this text will appeal to both the newcomer to childhood studies and to experienced researchers in the field. With fully updated chapters, new material and a revised, clearer structure, this new edition will be a valuable resource for researchers working with children.
Understanding Research with Children and Young People by
How do views about children shape research concerned with their lives? What different forms can research with children take? What ethical issues does it involve? How does it impact on policy and practice, and on the lives of children themselves?This book helps you to understand how research is designed and carried out to explore questions about the lives of children and young people. It tackles the methodological, practical and ethical challenges involved, and features examples of actual research that illustrate: Different strategies for carrying out research Common challenges that arise in the research process Varying modes of engagement that researchers can adopt with participants and audiences; and The impact that research can have on future studies, policy and practice.
Bryman's social Research Methods 6E by
Clear, comprehensive, and trusted, Bryman's Social Research Methods has guided over a quarter of a million students through their research methods course and student research project. The thoroughly updated sixth edition offers unrivalled coverage of quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods with renewed focus and a fresh, modern feel.The authors have worked closely with lecturers and students in thoroughly updating the sixth edition to reflect the current social science landscape, and carefully streamlining content to make it relevant and appealing to today's students. As a result, the text's comprehensive coverage - which includes many new examples and additional material on areas such as social media research and big data - is now even clearer, more focused, and easier to navigate.NEW TO THIS EDITIONThoroughly but sensitively updated by three new authors. Dr Tom Clark, Dr Liam Foster, and Dr Luke Sloan bring specialist expertise and have worked closely with students and lecturers to build on Alan Bryman's impressive legacy.Extensively streamlined to provide even more focused coverage of the key aspects of social research, with adjustments made throughout to improve clarity and aid navigation.A clean, attractive new design makes the material easier than ever to read and use.Coverage - including citations and real research examples - has been broadened to better reflect the concerns and contexts of the book's geographically diverse, multi-disciplinary readership. Discussions of feminist perspectives have also been updated to highlight wider issues relating to marginalised groups and power dynamics in research, and inclusive, ethical practices are consistently endorsed.New material on recent developments within social research, including social media research and big data, has been embedded throughout and the numerous examples of real research have been thoroughly updated.In new 'Learn from experience' boxes, recent social science graduates from across the UK and Europe share their experiences of conducting a student research project. These candid accounts will inspire readers and help them to avoid common pitfalls and emulate successful approaches.Expanded digital resources now include a 'research process in practice' simulation, answers to the end-of-chapter questions, videos from the new 'Learn from experience' graduate panel, and screencast tutorials covering the data analysis software packages SPSS, Nvivo, R, and Stata.This title is available as an eBook. Please contact your Learning Resource Consultant for more information.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by
The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research. The Fifth Edition contains 19 new chapters, with 16 revised--making it virtually a new volume--while retaining six classic chapters from previous editions. New contributors to this edition include Jamel K. Donnor and Gloria Ladson-Billings; Margaret Kovach; Paula Saukko; Bryant Keith Alexander; Thomas A. Schwandt and Emily F. Gates; Johnny Saldaña; Uwe Flick; Mirka Koro-Ljungberg, Maggie MacLure, and Jasmine Ulmer; Maria Elena Torre, Brett G. Stoudt, Einat Manoff, and Michelle Fine; Jack Bratich; Svend Brinkmann; Eric Margolis and Renu Zunjarwad; Annette N. Markham; Alecia Y. Jackson and Lisa A. Mazzei; Jonathan Wyatt, Ken Gale, Susanne Gannon, and Bronwyn Davies; Janice Morse; Peter Dahler-Larsen; Marc Spooner; and David A. Westbrook. SAGE is offering a 30% discount on the Handbook. Enter code DENZIN30 at checkout to apply the discount.
The SAGE handbook of online research methods by
Online research methods are popular, dynamic and fast-changing. This edition offers both updates of existing subject areas and new chapters covering more recent developments, such as social media, big data, data visualization and CAQDAS. It covers online data capture and collection, online surveys, digital quantitative analysis, visual ethnography, and more.
The Sage handbook of qualitative data analysis by
How we understand and define qualitative data is changing, with implications not only for the techniques of data analysis, but also how data are collected. New devices, technologies and online spaces open up new ways for researchers to approach and collect images, moving images, text and talk. The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection systematically explores the approaches, techniques, debates and new frontiers for creating, collecting and producing qualitative data. Bringing together contributions from internationally leading scholars in the field, the handbook offers a state-of-the-art look at key themes across six thematic parts: Part I Charting the Routes Part II Concepts, Contexts, Basics Part III Types of Data and How to Collect Them Part IV Digital and Internet Data Part V Triangulation and Mixed Methods Part VI Collecting Data in Specific Populations
Theorizing Childhood by
In recent years there has been a rapid growth of interest in the sociological study of childhood. This new book draws together the major developments in the field. In particular, the book discusses contemporary sociological and anthropological research in order to develop key links between the study of childhood and social theory, exposing its historical, political and cultural dimensions.
Creative Research Methods in the Social Sciences by
Creative research methods can help to answer complex contemporary questions, which are hard to answer using traditional methods alone. Creative methods can also be more ethical, helping researchers to address social injustice. This accessible book is the first to identify and examine the four areas of creative research methods: arts-based research, research using technology, mixed-method research and transformative research frameworks. Written in a practical and jargon-free style, with over 100 boxed examples, it offers numerous examples of creative methods in practice, from the social sciences, arts, and humanities around the world. Spanning the gulf between academia and practice, this useful book will inform and inspire researchers by showing readers why, when, and how to use creative methods in their research.
Qualitative Research Methods, Fourth Edition by
This book is a practical guide to conducting and analysing qualitative research. It explores some of the more commonly used types of qualitative research methods, the management of qualitative research, and the different areas of application. This fourth edition includes updated references and examples throughout the text as well as a new chapter on conducting cross-cultural research qualitatively.
Research Methods in Early Childhood by
This provides a clear and comprehensive guide to the different types of research methods, with a particular focus on how these methods can be used in early childhood. Known for its supportive writing style, this best-selling text follows a linear and progressive structure that logically helps students work effectively through their course. Using examples, case studies, and reflection points, the book then expertly illustrates how to translate theory into practice. Penny Mukherji and Deborah Albon will be discussing ideas from Research Methods in Early Childhood in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie. To sign up, or for more information, click here.
The content analysis guidebook by
Content analysis is one of the most important but complex research methodologies in the social sciences. In this thoroughly updated Second Edition of The Content Analysis Guidebook, author Kimberly Neuendorf provides an accessible core text for upper-level undergraduates and graduate students across the social sciences. Comprising step-by-step instructions and practical advice, this text unravels the complicated aspects of content analysis.
Little quick fix :Research Proposal by
When it comes to research proposals, there′s the good, the bad, and the messy; there are essential elements and students often forget them, miss them, or struggle to find a workable plan. Zina O′Leary′s Research Proposal Little Quick Fix gives you a clever, beautiful workbook packed with real-life examples to keep you on track. Use it to: work through guided exercises; understand the elements of the proposal; and, put them together thoughtfully to create your very own research proposal--fast. Little Quick Fix titles provide quick but authoritative answers to the problems, hurdles, and assessment points students face in the research course, project proposal, or design--whatever their methods learning is. Lively, ultra-modern design; full-colour, each page a tailored design. An hour′s read. Easy to dip in and out of with clear navigation enables the reader to find what she needs--quick. Direct written style gets to the point with clear language. Nothing needs to be read twice. No fluff. Learning is reinforced through a 2-minute overview summary; 3-second summaries with super-quick Q&A DIY tasks create a work plan to accomplish a task, do a self-check quiz, solve a problem, get students to what they need to show their supervisor. Checkpoints in each section make sure students are nailing it as they go and support self-directed learning. How do I know I'm done? Each Little Quick Fix wraps up with a finale checklist that allows the reader to self-assess they've got what they need to progress, submit, or ace the test or task.
Handling Qualitative Data by
Viewing data as the heart of qualitative research, this book provides clear guidance on the steps involved in collecting and managing primary & secondary data while equipping you with a toolkit that they can apply to data in any context.In her positive and jargon-free style, the author discusses how setting up, working with, making sense of and presenting data can be a springboard into learning key research skills and reflecting on methodological issues. New to this edition: Ethical practice learning features, such as exercises and reflective questions Thoughtful guidance on the newer challenges in handling qualitative data, like data security and access to online data New chapters provide clear advice on communicating data to different audiences, and creating impactful data visualizations Online resources that illustrate how to work with data in real research projects; including a 'stepping into software' space that provides practical tips and guidance on using qualitative analysis software effectively
Ethical Research with Children by
An increasing interest in children's lives has tested the ethical and practical limits of research. Rather than making tricky ethical decisions, transparent researchers tend to gloss over stories that do not fit with sanitized narratives. This book aims to fill this gap by making explicit the lived experiences of research with children.
Doing Qualitative Research by
Need practical advice on how to do your first qualitative research project? This book will guide you through each step of the research process: from brainstorming ideas and working with your supervisor to navigating the field to writing up your results. Driven by examples from other students' projects, the book features discussions on translating social problems into research topics, collecting data in the wake of a pandemic, and guidance from Qualitative Data Analysis Software expert Christian Schmieder to help you summarise, categorise, and review qualitative data. A new chapter on how much data you need answers the age-old question: 'how many interviews or case studies are enough?' It also includes: - Articles and websites to build your bibliography - Questions to test your knowledge - Videos from world-leading qualitative experts - Activities to dig deeper into key concepts and think critically about research - Lessons-learned discussions with other researchers - Exercises to help you choose the right path for your project. Key features: in addition to the online Silverman Workshops, the book includes top tips, end-of-chapter checklists to test your understanding, and annotated further reading so you can develop your knowledge further.
Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods by
An informative real-world guide to studying the "why" of human behavior Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods is a practical, comprehensive guide to the collection and presentation of qualitative data. Unique in the market, this book describes the entire research process -- from design through writing -- illustrated by examples of real, complete qualitative work that clearly demonstrates how methods are used in actual practice. This updated fourth edition includes all new case studies, with additional coverage of mixed methods, non-sociological settings, funding, and a sample interview guide. The studies profiled are accompanied by observation field notes, and the text includes additional readings for both students and instructors. More than just theory, this guide is designed to give you a real-world practitioner's view of how qualitative research is handled every step of the way. Many different disciplines rely on qualitative research as a method of inquiry, to gain an in-depth understanding of human behavior and the governing forces behind it. Qualitative research asks "why" and "how," and the data is frequently complex and difficult to measure. This book shows you how to effectively handle qualitative work, regardless of where it's being applied. Understand the strengths and limitations of qualitative data Learn how experts work around common methodological issues Compare actual field notes to the qualitative studies they generated Examine the full range of qualitative methods throughout the research process Whether you're studying sociology, psychology, marketing, or any number of other fields, especially in the social and behavioral sciences, human behavior is the central concern of your work. So what drives human behavior? That's what qualitative research helps to explain. Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods gives you the foundation you need to begin seeking answers.
Doing Visual Research with Children and Young People by
Visual media offer powerful communication opportunities. Doing Visual Research with Children and Young People explores the methodological, ethical, representational and theoretical issues surrounding image-based research with children and young people. It provides well-argued and illustrated resources to guide novice and experienced researchers through the challenges and benefits of visual research. Because new digital technologies have made it easier and cheaper to work with visual media, Pat Thomson brings together an international body of leading researchers who use a range of media to produce research data and communicate findings. Situating their discussions of visual research approaches within the context of actual research projects in communities and schools, and discussing a range of media from drawings, painting, collage and montages to film, video, photographs and new media, the book offers practical pointers for conducting research. These include why visual research is used how to involve children and young people as co-researchers complexities in analysis of images and the ethics of working visually institutional difficulties that can arise when working with a 'visual voice' how to manage resources in research projects Doing Visual Research with Children and Young People will be an ideal guide for researchers both at undergraduate and postgraduate level across disciplines, including education, youth and social work, health and nursing, criminology and community studies. It will also act as an up-to-date resource on this rapidly changing approach for practitioners working in the field. Pat Thomson is Professor of Education and Director of Research in the School of Education, University of Nottingham, UK. She is a former school principal of disadvantaged schools in Australia.
Developing Research Questions by
Undertaking a research project is a crucial, but often overwhelming aspect of any social sciences degree, and selecting a research question can be one of the toughest parts of the process. What makes an appropriate topic for research? How do you transform an idea into a 'researchable' question? And, once you've got a question, where do you go from there? Developing Research Questions steers readers through the complex process of starting a research project. The book explains how to break down initial ideas from broad topics into appropriate research questions, and gives detailed guidance on how to refine questions as the research project develops. Each chapter is packed with handy hints, tips and examples that show how to avoid common mistakes and pitfalls in the research process. Linking hypotheses and questions with research design and methods at every step, this text takes readers from the start through to the final stage of answering their questions and drawing conclusions.< This is a no-fuss, practical guide to forming your own research question. It is an indispensable resource for social scientists carrying out research projects at all levels.
Reflexive Methodology by
Reflexivity is an essential part of the research process. Mats Alvesson and Kaj Sköldberg make explicit the links between techniques used in empirical research and different research traditions, giving a theoretically informed approach to qualitative research. The authors provide balanced reviews and critiques of the major schools of grounded theory, ethnography, hermeneutics, critical theory, postmodernism and poststructuralism, discourse analysis, genealogy and feminism. Useful reading for students and researchers across the social sciences.The first edition established itself as a ground-breaking success, providing researchers with an invaluable guide to a central problem in research methodology - namely, how to put field research and interpretations in perspective, paying attention to the interpretive, political and rhetorical nature of empirical research. The second edition introduced a new chapter on positivism, social constructionism and critical realism, and offered new conclusions on the applications of methodology.This third edition of Reflexive Methodology provides further updates on new research, including neorealism, and illustrations and applications of reflexive methodology in formulating research strategies, that build on the acclaimed and successful previous editions
The Craft of Research, Fourth Edition by
With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique. The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today. Its chapters on finding and engaging sources now incorporate recent developments in library and Internet research, emphasizing new techniques made possible by online databases and search engines. Bizup and FitzGerald provide fresh examples and standardized terminology to clarify concepts like argument, warrant, and problem. Following the same guiding principle as earlier editions--that the skills of doing and reporting research are not just for elite students but for everyone--this new edition retains the accessible voice and direct approach that have made The Craft of Research a leader in the field of research reference. With updated examples and information on evaluation and using contemporary sources, this beloved classic is ready for the next generation of researchers.
Research Methods in Education by
This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
New Directions in Theorizing Qualitative Research by
What can it mean to resist in these troubled times, and how can we do so through theory? This volume presents novel ideas on how to accomplish this in the context of the field of qualitative research. The authors show us how we might go beyond pre-existing, systematized research methodologies to find our way. They challenge us to go beyond facile modes of thought and slow down any mechanistic practices of research, a slowing that can be surprisingly generative regarding pedagogy and knowledge production. The articles think through theories such as ones theorizing the postcolonial for the purpose of responding to global hegemony regarding institutional experiences of academe. They engage with practices of new materialism and show the multiform ways in which theory can be a companion to us in our journey of research. Further, the articles question hold-overs from humanist and modernist thought so that we might perform an inclusive pedagogy. Rather than falling into the cynical view that the world is too troubled to change, this volume presents a sound vision that we have no option but to engage in theoretical practice, for now, there's no time not to think.
An Introduction to Qualitative Research by
The definitive guide to the full qualitative research process, from design to dissemination, this is everything you need to understand how good quality research is produced, and how to use and enrich your own work with it. New to this edition: - A new structure follows the research process step-by-step - Brand new chapter on digital methods and social media data explores cutting-edge research - Multi-disciplinary case studies give you real research examples whatever your subject - Focused reading exercises help you explore the literature and build a better bibliography - Integrated online resources, to master the key concepts, discover real research and track your progress An Introduction to Qualitative Research has everything a social science student needs to understand and explore the richness of qualitative research.
Qualitative Data Analysis with ATLAS.ti by
Now updated to cover latest versions and featuring instructions for both Mac and Windows users, this book is still the go-to source of support for getting to grips with qualitative data analysis using ATLAS.ti. With over twenty years of experience using, developing, and teaching ATLAS.ti, Susanne Friese is the perfect data analysis tour guide. Aware of common challenges and sticking points, she eases readers from readying and organizing data into coding and querying it, providing not only tips on how to prepare for analysis, but also the tools and technical know-how needed to observe, examine, and discuss data. Placing quick software 'skills training' tutorials alongside different stages of the data analysis process, she gives readers the opportunity to integrate software training with their actual analysis.
Participatory Research with Children and Young People by
This book sets out a clear framework for conducting participatory research with children and young people within a discussion of the rights of the child. Through extensive case studies and a close review of contemporary literature, in relation to early childhood through to late adolescence, the book serves as a critical guide to issues in participative research for students and researchers.The book includes chapters on: Designing your research project Ethical considerations Innovative methods Publication and dissemination.
Childhood by
In this book Chris Jenks looks at what the ways in which we construct our image of childhood can tell us about ourselves. After a general discussion of the social construction of childhood, the book is structured around three examples of the way the image of the child is played out in society: the history of childhood from medieval times through the enlightenment 'discovery' of childhood to the present the mythology and reality of child abuse and society's response to it the 'death' of childhood in cases such as the James Bulger murder in which the child itself becomes the perpetrator of evil. Part of the highly successful Key Ideas series, this book gives students a concise, provocative insight into some of the controlling concepts of our culture.
Interviews in Qualitative Research by
This dynamic user-focused book will help you to get the data you want from your interviews. It provides practical guidance regarding technique, gives top-tips from real world case studies and shares achievable checklists and interview plans. Whether you are doing interviews in your own research or just using other researchers' data, this book will tell you everything you need to know about designing, planning, conducting and analyzing quality interviews. It explains how to: - Construct ethical research designs - Record and manage your data - Transcribe your notes - Analyse your findings - Disseminate your conclusions Written using clear, jargon-free terminology and with coverage of practical, theoretical and philosophical issues all grounded in examples from real interviews, this is the ideal guide for new and experienced researchers alike. Nigel King is Professor of Applied Psychology at the University of Huddersfield. Christine Horrocks is Professor of Applied Social Psychology and Head of the Department of Psychology at Manchester Metropolitan University. Joanna Brooks is Lecturer in the Manchester Centre for Health Psychology at the University of Manchester.
Knowing Differently by
Knowing differently: setting the scene -- Expressions of energy: an epistemology of presentational knowing -- The work of portrayal: expressive approaches to educational research -- Young and strapped in America: learning through a short story about a Latino youth finding meaning in Tupac's rap -- The use of the short story form to report case study data in qualitative research -- Autoethnographic introspection in ethnographic fiction: a method of inquiry -- Gaining insight into women's knowing of postnatal depression using drawings -- Multimodal conversation -- methods for shared moments of meaning with vulnerable people -- Dance as method: the process and product of movement in educational research -- One small step -- Therapeutic narrative analysis: a methodological proposal for the interpretation of musical traces -- Knowing through music: implications for research -- Participatory research -- an empowering methodology with marginalized populations -- Critical reflection as a research methodology -- The right circumstances fro multidisciplinary research -- Knowing together differently -- intersubjective responding -- Knowing differently -- by way of conclusion.
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences by
Such diverse thinkers as Lao-Tze, Confucius, and U.S. Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld have all pointed out that we need to be able to tell the difference between real and assumed knowledge. The systematic review is a scientific tool that can help with this difficult task. It can help, for example, with appraising, summarising, and communicating the results and implications of otherwise unmanageable quantities of data. This book, written by two highly-respected social scientists, provides an overview of systematic literature review methods: Outlining the rationale and methods of systematic reviews; Giving worked examples from social science and other fields; Applying the practice to all social science disciplines; It requires no previous knowledge, but takes the reader through the process stage by stage; Drawing on examples from such diverse fields as psychology, criminology, education, transport, social welfare, public health, and housing and urban policy, among others. Including detailed sections on assessing the quality of both quantitative, and qualitative research; searching for evidence in the social sciences; meta-analytic and other methods of evidence synthesis; publication bias; heterogeneity; and approaches to dissemination.
Interviewing As Qualitative Research by
This popular text, now in its fifth edition, provides step-by-step guidance for new and experienced researchers who want to use interviewing as a research method. This user-friendly guide explains the rationale for interviewing and the complexity of selecting interview participants, important interviewing techniques, and how to work with the results of interviews. Appropriate for individual and classroom use, this expanded edition includes: a revised assessment of the utility of Computer-Assisted Qualitative Data Analysis systems; contributions by Julie Simpson, the Director of Research Integrity Services at the University of New Hampshire, about preparing research for local Institutional Review Boards; and guidance for obtaining informed consent when using technology to interview, when interviewing abroad, and when hoping to include children as participants. Book Features: Principles and methods that can be adapted to a range of interviewing approaches. A clear and inviting presentation appropriate for both individual use and for classes. Ideas to help readers analyze and improve their own approach, as well as suggestions for group practice. An interviewing technique that stresses listening, with guidance for avoiding leading questions. Examples of doctorial students' research demonstrating that interviewing can deal with life and death issues, as well as everyday life. Updated references to help readers deepen their understanding of interviewing as qualitative research.
Interpreting Qualitative Data by
Now with entertaining and inspiring videos from the author and a wealth of online resources to support the text the approachable, clear and friendly Sixth Edition of David Silverman′s classic text equips you with the tools to tackle key issues faced by qualitative researchers and establish good practice in your own research.
Qualitative Research Methods by
Qualitative Research Methods: Collecting Evidence, Crafting Analysis, Communicating Impact is a comprehensive guide on both the theoretical foundations and practical application of qualitative methodology. Adopting a phronetic-iterative approach, this foundational book leads readers through the chronological progression of a qualitative research project, from designing a study and collecting and analyzing data to developing theories and effectively communicating the results-allowing readers to employ qualitative methods in their projects as they follow each chapter. Coverage of topics such as qualitative theories, ethics, sampling, interview techniques, qualitative quality, and advice on practical fieldwork provides clear and concise guidance on how to design and conduct sound research projects. Easy-to-follow instructions on iterative qualitative data analysis explain how to organize, code, interpret, make claims, and build theory. Throughout, the author offers her own backstage stories about fieldwork, analysis, drafting, writing, and publishing, revealing the emotional and humorous aspects of practicing qualitative methods. Now in its second edition, this thorough and informative text includes new and expanded material covering post-qualitative research, phenomenology, textual analysis and cultural studies, gaining access to elite and difficult to access populations, persuasive writing, novel interviewing approaches, and more. Numerous examples, case studies, activities, and discussion questions have been updated to reflect current research and ensure contemporary relevance. Written in an engaging and accessible narrative style by an acclaimed scholar and researcher Offers new and updated examples of coding and qualitative analysis, full-color photos and illustrations, and a companion instructor website Synthesizes the most up-to-date multidisciplinary literature on qualitative research methods including seven main approaches to qualitative inquiry: grounded theory, case study, ethnography and ethnography of communication, phenomenology, narrative inquiry and autoethnography, participatory action research, and creative, performative, and arts-based research Presents innovative qualitative data collection methods and modern representation strategies, such as virtual ethnography, photovoice, and mobile interviewing Qualitative Research Methods: Collecting Evidence, Crafting Analysis, Communicating Impact is an ideal resource for undergraduate and graduate students, instructors, and faculty across multiple disciplines including the social sciences, healthcare, education, management, and the humanities, and for practitioners seeking expert guidance on practical qualitative methods.
Basic Content Analysis by
This second edition has been completely updated to include new studies, new computer applications and an additional chapter on problems and issues that can arise when carrying out content analysis in four major categories: measurement, indication, representation and interpretation.