Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Counselling Reading Lists: Databases and Journals

A-Z eResources List

Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

A-Z eJournal List

Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Requesting Articles

Requesting Articles 

If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.

University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library. 

The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.  
 

Database and Journal information

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

CINAHL Plus with Full Text 

The world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Full-text archive of journal articles (excluding the last few years.)  Titles include Family Relations; Journal of Family and Marriage; Social Psychology Quarterly.

Lexis Library
the UK’s most authoritative and comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley.

MEDLINE

(We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer) contains over 12 million journal citations and abstracts with authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Coverage from 1950 until present day.

Oxford Journals Archive
Full-text academic social sciences journal articles. Titles include British Journal of Social Work.

ProQuest Central
is a multidisciplinary, full-text database that provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subject areas.

ProQuest Family Health
covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context including food and nutrition and children's health

ProQuest Psychology Journals
provides abstracts and indexing for more than 650 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.

PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal

PsycTHERAPY

APA PsycTherapy offer psychotherapy videos that provide a gateway for students and practitioners to witness first-hand, proven approaches and common obstacles faced during therapy sessions.  As a dynamic teaching and learning tool, APA PsycTherapy provides a rich assortment of filmed interactions between known therapists and individuals, couples, and families. Featuring renowned therapists and professors, the videos in this database cover cognitive therapy approaches to more than 250 topics, including life satisfaction, self-perception and cognitive distortions.

SAGE Premier
Includes over 645 peer-reviewed, full-text journals and over 500,000 articles, dating back to 1999 spanning subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, medicine and many more. 

ScienceDirect
is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.  There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, with a growing content base.

Taylor & Francis
collaborates with researchers, scholarly societies, universities and libraries worldwide to bring knowledge to life.  The collection encompasses over 1,600 titles and is one of the world's leading publishers of scholarly journals, spanning content areas such as Humanities, Social Sciences, Science and Technology.

Wiley Online Library
Provides a broad and deep multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, and physical sciences, social sciences and the humanities.

How to use Journals

Attribution

All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0