The Therapeutic Relationship by
This text provides coverage of the uses and abuses of thetherapeutic relationship in counselling, psychology, psychotherapyand related fields. It provides a framework for integration,pluralism or deepening singularity with reference to five kinds oftherapeutic relationship potentially available in every kind ofcounselling or psychodynamic work. The work incoporates training and supervision perspectives andexamples of course design, uses in assessment and applications togroup and couples as well as to organizations. Dealing with an issue of increasing complexity, the book shouldbe of value and significance to psychotherapists, psychoanalysts,clinical and counselling psychologists and other professionalsworking in the field of helping human relationships such asdoctors, social workers, teachers and counsellors.
Relational Integrative Psychotherapy by
Designed specifically for the needs of trainees and newly-qualified therapists, Relational Integrative Psychotherapy outlines a form of therapy that prioritizes the client and allows for diverse techniques to be integrated within a strong therapeutic relationship. Provides an evidence-based introduction to the processes and theory of relational integrative psychotherapy in practice Presents innovative ideas that draw from a variety of traditions, including cognitive, existential-phenomenological, gestalt, psychoanalytic, systems theory, and transactional analysis Includes case studies, footnotes, 'theory into practice' boxes, and discussion of competing and complementary theoretical frameworks Written by an internationally acclaimed speaker and author who is also an active practitioner of relational integrative psychotherapy
Gestalt Therapy: 100 Key Points & Techniques by
Gestalt therapy offers a present-focused, relational approach, central to which is the fundamental belief that the client knows the best way of adjusting to their situation. By working to heighten awareness through dialogue and creative experimentation, gestalt therapists create the conditions for a client's personal journey to health. Gestalt Therapy: 100 Key Pointsnbsp;and Techniques provides a concise guide to this flexible and far-reaching approach. Topics discussed include: the theoretical assumptions underpinning gestalt therapy gestalt assessment and process diagnosis field theory, phenomenology and dialogue ethics and values evaluation and research. As such this book will be essential reading for gestalt trainees, as well as all counsellors and psychotherapists wanting to learn more about the gestalt approach.
The Reality Game by
In the years since it was first published, The Reality Game has become a classic text. For all those training and practising in humanistic and integrative psychotherapy it is an essential guide to good practice, and an excellent introduction to the skills used in individual and group therapy. This new edition has been updated to take into account changes in the field and John Rowan's own work, while still providing guidance on establishing and developing the relationship between counsellor and client, and covering: assessment; the initial interview; the opening session; aims; transference; resistance and supervision. With the student's needs always at the forefront, this extensively revised new edition responds to the questions most often asked by trainees in these disciplines, and includes discussions of ethics and new chapters on transpersonal psychology, and on dialogical self-theory. It will be a must read for psychotherapists and counsellors in practice and training especially those involved in humanistic and integrative psychotherapy.
Practising Existential Therapy by
Drawn from the author's experience as an internationally-recognised theorist, lecturer and practitioner, this practical book elucidates the notoriously difficult and distinctly different therapeutic approach, existential therapy. Balancing theory and practice, the book provides trainees with an accessible introduction to the author's own three phase structural model for existential therapy, one which has become widely established and used in training and practice.Substantially revised and updated throughout, Part One examines the philosophical underpinnings, essential theory and distinctive features of existential therapy while Part Two goes on to present the author′s structural model for practice. Both parts are now prefaced by useful schematic overviews which introduce the content and pinpoint key themes in each chapter, helping readers to navigate the text with ease. Practical exercises encourage further engagement with the text and the themes, issues and practices under consideration. Seen by existential therapists across the world as one of the most influential books on the topic, this new edition is an essential read for all those training, practising or interested in existential therapy.
Existential Therapy by
Existential Therapy: Distinctive Features offers an introduction to what is distinctive about this increasingly popular method. Written by two practicing existential psychotherapists, with many years' experience, it provides an accessible, bitesize overview of this increasingly used psychological therapy. Using the popular Distinctive Features format, this book describes 15 theoretical features and 15 practical techniques of Existential Therapy. Existential Therapy will be a valuable source for for psychotherapists, clinical, health and counselling psychologists, counsellors, psychiatrists, and all who wish to know more about the existential approach.
Current Psychotherapies by
Now in its eleventh edition and used in top Counseling, Psychology and Social Work programs, CURRENT PSYCHOTHERAPIES helps you learn, compare and apply the major systems of psychotherapy in a way that will be meaningful in your future practice. Every chapter is written by either an originator or a leading proponent of a system. Each of these distinguished figures describes the basic principles of the system and highlights how it differs from other systems. A case example in every theory chapter guides you through the problem, evaluation, treatment and follow-up process. A companion volume, CASE STUDIES IN PSYCHOTHERAPY, is available in this title's MindTap; it offers detailed cases that illustrate the basic techniques and methods of each theory.
Existential Therapies by
`This book achieves what it sets out to do: "to introduce readers to the rich tapestry of existential therapeutic approaches". I found it concise and easy to read, despite the fact that it deals with some fairly complex ideas′ - CounsellingResource.com `One can only applaud the bravery of an author who gently send up Kierkegaard′s wilful obscurantism and cleans out the acrid smoke of Gauloises from the room. With welcome clarity and sanity, Mick Cooper efficiently lays out the concepts, techniques and directions adopted by several key figures in the broad field of existentially informed psychotherapy. In an excellent first chapter, Mick Cooper pointed out my `ontic′ from my `ontological′; and I could see, behind the long-words-with-dashes, the true resonance of these ideas with real human and therapeutic issues, dilemmas and goals′ - Clinical Psychology `This book proves to be a real treasure chest: what you always wanted to know about existential psychotherapy but failed to find anywhere else in such a comprehensive, clear and concise manner. In that sense, this publication provides a missing link. One merit of the book is its systematic structure. As extensive, and in part as heterogeneous as existential philosophy and therapy also maybe, Mick Cooper had nevertheless been able to build convincing clusters with, on the one hand, an enormous understanding of details and, on the other, a far-sightedness that, like a map, provides orientation in the diversity of existential therapy. I really appreciate this publication and can recommend it very strongly′ - Person-Centred and Experiential Psychotherapies `Existential Therapies will I suspect, suddenly make "existentialism" come alive. The author, Mick Cooper loves his subject, it fascinates and enthrals him, and we get to experience some of that, even though the book is "academic". The connections and overlaps with person-centred psychology are there for us to be, but so are the differences′ - Person-Centred Practice `As an overview of a number of different existential therapies the book is extremely welcome and manages in a relatively short space to cover a wide arena. Overall I rate the book highly. To pull together a large and somewhat disparate literature, then make sense of it and finally retains the reader′s interest, is difficult′ - Existential Analysis `Mick Cooper has done an impressive job in writing a much needed, current and user friendly survey of the field of existential therapies. If I were to teach this course, I would use this book. I applaud Mick Cooper for having admirably achieved the aim he set out to achieve. All this makes Mick Cooper′s book a must-read for anyone wishing to explore the topic of existential therapy′ - Society for Laingian Studies Website `What makes this book unique is that all the different strands of Existential philosophy are always clearly linked to practice′ - Counselling and Psychotherapy Journal `This is a very fresh book, not treading well-worn paths and genuinely informing us about a small but important field. This is really an indispensable book for anyone who wants to understand existentialist approaches to therapy′ - Self and Society `This publication marks a milestone providing an excellent, clear and critical overview of the contrasting forms of the approach as it is currently practised′ - Emmy van Deurzen, New School of Psychotherapy and Counselling, Schiller University, London `This is a book of superb thoroughness and scholarship - an unprecedented guide to existential therapy′s chief positions and controversies′ - Kirk J Schneider, President of the Existential-Humanistic Institute, USA `Combines scholarship with a writing style that makes difficult concepts accessible. This book should be required reading on any course where the existential tradition plays a part, and that includes person-centred courses and all sympathetic to the idea that psychotherapy is, in essence, a human encounter where warmth, understanding and a deep respect for the individual are key values′ - Tony Merry, University of East London `the concepts stand out like lightning in a night sky′ - Jim Bruce, librarian, Canada What does it mean to practice in an existential way? What are the different existential approaches? What are their strengths and limitations? Existential Therapies addresses these key questions, and more, by providing students and practitioners with an invaluable introduction to the diverse and multifaceted world of existential therapeutic practices. Focusing on practical, face-to-face work with clients, the book: · introduces readers to six key existential therapies · discusses key figures and their contributions, including Irvin Yalom, Emmy van Deurzen, Ernesto Spinelli, Viktor Frankl and R D Laing · compares and contrasts the various approaches, highlighting areas of commonality and difference · outlines key debates within the existential therapy field · provides detailed suggestions for further reading Existential Therapies offers students and practitioners of all orientations much that they can incorporate into their own therapeutic work, and each approach is vividly brought to life through therapist-client dialogues and case studies. Written in an accessible, warm, and engaging manner, Existential Therapies is an essential introduction to this rich, vibrant and stimulating field.
Integrative Counselling and Psychotherapy by
This is an accessible and user friendly guide to the theory and practice of relational counseling and psychotherapy. It offers a meta-theoretical framework for the integration of the three most popular counseling and psychotherapy modalities: humanistic, psychodynamic and cognitive-behavioral including mindfulness and compassion based approaches. This exciting new text:outlines the history of integration in the field of psychotherapy and counselingclarifies the nature of psychotherapeutic integrationdefines different models of integrationprovides a clear and rich discussion of what it means to work relationallyoutlines a coherent and flexible framework for practice, in terms of theory as well as techniquedemonstrates how this framework can be successfully utilized both in brief and long term therapy for a wide range of client issues and problemsprovides a detailed guide to working with the Relational-Integrative Model (RIM) for a range of professional issues, including ethics, research, supervision, therapist self-care and personal developmentBrimming with vivid case examples, mind-maps and therapeutic dialogue, this invaluable book will help develop the theoretical knowledge and skills base of students, trainers and practitioners alike.
Gestalt Therapy by
Gestalt Therapy has been developing steadily for the last 50 years, in America as well as in Europe. It is cureently practieed in diffeeent eettings: individual, group, and family therapies; personal growth; social, medical and business organizations.
Pluralistic Therapy by
Pluralistic Therapy: Distinctive Features offers an introduction to what is distinctive about this increasingly popular method. Written by one of the co-founders of pluralistic therapy, and a leading UK figure in counselling and psychotherapy, this book describes 15 theoretical features and 15 practical techniques for practitioners. Pluralistic therapy is a flexible, integrative approach to counselling and psychotherapy, which has also found applications in fields such as mental health, life coaching and careers guidance. Pluralistic Therapy: Distinctive Features will provide an essential guide to students and practitioners of psychotherapy, or an allied area of practice, who are open to learning about new ideas and techniques from current interdisciplinary research.
The Transpersonal : Spirituality in Psychotherapy and Counselling by
In this new edition of The Transpersonal, John Rowan takes account of the growing interest in spirituality, assessing the many new developments in the field and providing an essential overview of the multitude of guides now available on the subject. By providing a clear and highly readable introduction to the realm of the transpersonal, this book eliminates many of the misunderstandings that plague this area. It relates the transpersonal to everyday life as well as to professional concerns and the various schools of therapy. Divided into three parts, Being, Doing and Knowing, it encourages the reader to explore the levels of consciousness, the techniques involved in transpersonal work and the underlying theory. The unique relationship between the therapist and client is examined in detail, as are the imagined and imaginal world, personal mythology and transcultural work. An entirely new section is included on the ways in which the transpersonal therapist can use the concept of subpersonalities. This fully updated and revised version of John Rowan's original pioneering text provides a highly practical guide which will be useful to anyone working with the growing number of people with spiritual concerns.
