Relational Integrative Psychotherapy by
Designed specifically for the needs of trainees and newly-qualified therapists, Relational Integrative Psychotherapy outlines a form of therapy that prioritizes the client and allows for diverse techniques to be integrated within a strong therapeutic relationship. Provides an evidence-based introduction to the processes and theory of relational integrative psychotherapy in practice Presents innovative ideas that draw from a variety of traditions, including cognitive, existential-phenomenological, gestalt, psychoanalytic, systems theory, and transactional analysis Includes case studies, footnotes, 'theory into practice' boxes, and discussion of competing and complementary theoretical frameworks Written by an internationally acclaimed speaker and author who is also an active practitioner of relational integrative psychotherapy
Practical counselling skills; an integrative approach. by 
Skills in Psychodynamic Counselling and Psychotherapy by
This is a step-by-step guide to the key skills and techniques of the psychodynamic approach used at each stage of the therapeutic process. Updated in a second edition, the book includes a new chapter on neuropsychology and its implications for theory and practice, new content on working in the NHS and other settings, additional case material and updates to all chapters reflecting recent literature, research and understanding.
Gestalt Therapy: 100 Key Points & Techniques by
Gestalt therapy offers a present-focused, relational approach, central to which is the fundamental belief that the client knows the best way of adjusting to their situation. By working to heighten awareness through dialogue and creative experimentation, gestalt therapists create the conditions for a client's personal journey to health. Gestalt Therapy: 100 Key Pointsnbsp;and Techniques provides a concise guide to this flexible and far-reaching approach. Topics discussed include: the theoretical assumptions underpinning gestalt therapy gestalt assessment and process diagnosis field theory, phenomenology and dialogue ethics and values evaluation and research. As such this book will be essential reading for gestalt trainees, as well as all counsellors and psychotherapists wanting to learn more about the gestalt approach.
Working at relational depth in counselling & psychotherapy by
Eagerly awaited by many counsellors and psychotherapists, this new edition includes an updated preface, new content on recent research and new developments and debates around relational depth, and new case studies. This groundbreaking text goes to the very heart of the therapeutic meeting between therapist and client. Focusing on the concept of ′relational depth′, the authors describe a form of encounter in which therapist and client experience profound feelings of contact and engagement with each other, and in which the client has an opportunity to explore whatever is experienced as most fundamental to her or his existence. The book has helped thousands of trainees and practitioners understand how to facilitate a relationally-deep encounter, identify the personal 'blocks' that may be encountered along the way, and consider new therapeutic concepts - such as ′holistic listening′ - that help them to meet their clients at this level. This classic text remains a source of fresh thinking and stimulating ideas about the therapeutic encounter which is relevant to trainees and practitioners of all orientations.
The therapist's use of self by 
Existential Therapy by
Existential Therapy: Distinctive Features offers an introduction to what is distinctive about this increasingly popular method. Written by two practicing existential psychotherapists, with many years' experience, it provides an accessible, bitesize overview of this increasingly used psychological therapy. Using the popular Distinctive Features format, this book describes 15 theoretical features and 15 practical techniques of Existential Therapy. Existential Therapy will be a valuable source for for psychotherapists, clinical, health and counselling psychologists, counsellors, psychiatrists, and all who wish to know more about the existential approach.
Skilled helper; a problem-management and opportunity-development approach to helping. 9th ed. by 
Integrative therapy : a practitioner's guide by
'Integrative Therapy' reviews research on effective approaches in psychotherapy and counselling. The authors argue for the integration of theories and methods to best meet the needs of different clients at different stages.
Psychodynamic Counselling in Action by
This substantially revised fifth edition of a classic text includes an updated preface, new content on the therapeutic relationship, substantially revised chapters on the middle phase of counselling and reflections on the influence of other modalities and shared aspects of practice across approaches. Each chapter now includes an annotated Further Reading section to help deepen knowledge and reinforce learning of key aspects of the counselling process.
Pluralistic Therapy by
Pluralistic Therapy: Distinctive Features offers an introduction to what is distinctive about this increasingly popular method. Written by one of the co-founders of pluralistic therapy, and a leading UK figure in counselling and psychotherapy, this book describes 15 theoretical features and 15 practical techniques for practitioners. Pluralistic therapy is a flexible, integrative approach to counselling and psychotherapy, which has also found applications in fields such as mental health, life coaching and careers guidance. Pluralistic Therapy: Distinctive Features will provide an essential guide to students and practitioners of psychotherapy, or an allied area of practice, who are open to learning about new ideas and techniques from current interdisciplinary research.
The reality game : a guide to humanistic counselling and psychotherapy by
In the years since it was first published, The Reality Game has become a classic text. For all those training and practising in humanistic and integrative psychotherapy it is an essential guide to good practice, and an excellent introduction to the skills used in individual and group therapy. This new edition has been updated to take into account changes in the field and John Rowan's own work, while still providing guidance on establishing and developing the relationship between counsellor and client, and covering: assessment; the initial interview; the opening session; aims; transference; resistance and supervision. With the student's needs always at the forefront, this extensively revised new edition responds to the questions most often asked by trainees in these disciplines, and includes discussions of ethics and new chapters on transpersonal psychology, and on dialogical self-theory. It will be a must read for psychotherapists and counsellors in practice and training especially those involved in humanistic and integrative psychotherapy.
Person-Centred Counselling in Action by
It is now 25 years since the first edition of Person-Centred Counselling in Action appeared, offering the definitive exposition of the theory and practice of the person-centred approach. Since then the book has supported and inspired hundreds of thousands of trainees and practitioners worldwide. This important Fourth Edition maintains the book′s accessibility, clarity and verve whilst incorporating new developments in the approach. John McLeod joins authors Dave Mearns and Brian Thorne to contribute an exciting new chapter on research relevant to the person-centred field. Person-Centred Counselling in Action, Fourth Edition will be an invaluable resource for those embarking on their first stages of training. Well-established practitioners and even seasoned scholars will continue to find much to interest and stimulate them. Dave Mearns is professor of counselling and retired Director of the Counselling Unit of the University of Strathclyde. He has written seven books including Working at Relational Depth in Counselling and Psychotherapy (with Mick Cooper) and is co-editor of the international journal, Person-Centered and Experiential Psychotherapies. Brian Thorne is Emeritus Professor of Counselling at the University of East Anglia, Norwich where he was previously Director of Counselling and of the Centre for Counselling Studies. He is also a Co-founder of the Norwich Centre and continues to work there as a Professional Fellow. John McLeod is Emeritus Professor of Counselling at the University of Abertay Dundee and adjunct Professor of Psychology at the University of Oslo, Norway.
Skills in Existential Counselling and Psychotherapy by
This is the definitive practical introduction to a skills-based approach in existential therapy. Accessible for those without a philosophical background, it describes the concrete and tangible skills, tasks and interactions of existential practice. It covers the theoretical background and history of existential therapy, along with taking a phenomenological approach to practice and individual clients. This second edition has been thoroughly updated to reflect recent thinking, and expanded to include: * A new chapter on the applications of existential therapy in wider contexts, such as supervision and coaching. * A new chapter covering professional issues and challenges, such as working in the NHS, engaging with research and the use of the Internet in existential therapy. * A companion website which includes video content, featuring the authors explaining each chapter's underpinning theory, and demonstrating the principles in practice. A much needed resource for trainees as well as experienced practitioners keen to expand their knowledge, the authors make the existential approach accessible to all those who wish to find out what it has to offer.