Identity and the Life Cycle by
This book collects three early papers that--along with Childhood and Society--many consider the best introduction to Erikson's theories. "Ego Development and Historical Change" is a selection of extensive notes in which Erikson first undertook to relate to each other observations on groups studied on field trips and on children studied longitudinally and clinically. These notes are representative of the source material used for Childhood and Society. "Growth and Crises of the Health Personality" takes Erikson beyond adolescence, into the critical stages of the whole life cycle. In the third and last essay, Erikson deals with "The Problem of Ego Identity" successively from biographical, clinical, and social points of view--all dimensions later pursued separately in his work.
The SAGE Handbook of Counselling and Psychotherapy by
At over 600 pages and with more than 100 contributions, this Fourth Edition brings together the essentials of counselling and psychotherapy theory, research, skills and practice. Including new content on assessment, theory, applications and settings, and with new chapter overviews and summaries, this continues to be the most comprehensive and accessible guide to the field for trainees or experienced practitioners.
Counseling Older People by
This book provides insight into the primary issues faced by older adults; the services and benefits available to them; and the knowledge base, techniques, and skills necessary to work effectively in a therapeutic relationship. Dr. Kampfe offers empirically and anecdotally based strategies and interventions for dealing with clients' personal concerns and describes ways counselors can advocate for older people on a systemic level. Individual and group exercises are incorporated throughout the book to enhance its practicality. Topics covered include an overview of population demographics and characteristics; counseling considerations and empowering older clients; successful aging; mental health and wellness; common medical conditions; multiple losses and transitions; financial concerns; elder abuse; veterans' issues; sensory loss; changing family dynamics; managing Social Security and Medicare; working after retirement age; retirement transitions, losses, and gains; residential options; and death and dying. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website. *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to permissions@counseling.org.
The Handbook of Transcultural Counselling and Psychotherapy by
"With its diversity throughout including almost 40 authors from different therapeutic modalities, continents and professional fields the book indeed is both an 'invitation and challenge' and a means 'to aid transcultural therapists in conducting their work in a sensitive and informed manner'. It brings to mind a colourful and well stocked market comprising two parts. The first provides nourishing food for practitioners such as contributions to theory, use of interpreters, training, supervision, research and case studies. The second offers an outstanding exploration of the impact of different cultural backgrounds orchestrated by the editor, whose compilation from a UK perspective might be a useful example for other cultural and language areas. The involved reader will be delighted to have this inspiring handbook to hand." Gerhard Stumm, Ph.D., psychotherapy trainer, Vienna "Therapists pride themselves on cherishing the uniqueness of every client. This book offers a powerful challenge for it plainly demonstrates that a commitment to honouring uniqueness cannot be divorced from a sensitivity to the cultural, racial, spiritual and ethnic differences that clients present in an increasingly multicultural society. Here is an impressive compendium that illuminates the many clinical, training, relational and supervisory issues involved together with the widest range of contributions from diverse cultures that I have ever encountered in one volume. Colin Lago is to be congratulated on editing an invaluable resource which is both stimulating and disturbing in its implications." Brian Thorne, Emeritus Professor of Counselling, University of East Anglia and Co-founder of The Norwich Centre This fascinating book examines recent critical thinking and contemporary research findings in the field of transcultural counselling and psychotherapy. It also explores the effects of different cultural heritages upon potential clients and therapists. The first part of the book reflects the curriculum, context and content of counselling and psychotherapy training courses, with regards to sensitivity to diversity. It covers key issues such as: Implications of identity development for therapeutic work Ethnic matching of clients and therapists Working with interpreters and bi-cultural workers Overcoming racism, discrimination and oppression within the counselling process An overview of current research within this field In the second part, the authors give personal accounts that explore the impact of cultural heritage on people who have moved from their countries of origin to 'Western' countries,, such as the UK or the USA. The Handbook of Transcultural Counselling and Psychotherapy will be of immense value to a wide range of readers, including counselling and therapy practitioners, supervisors, trainees, agency managers and colleagues in other therapy-related services. Contributors: Aileen Alleyne, Alison Barty, Anita Chakraborty, Divine Charura, Riccardo Draghi-Lorenz, Patricia Eschoe, Farkhondeh Farsimadan, Tiane Corso Graziottin, Delroy Hall, Fiona Hall, Addila Khan, Indu Khurana, Colin Lago, Courtland C. Lee, Yair Maman, Susan McGinnis, Isha Mckenzie-Mavinga, Roy Moodley, Renate Motschnig, Sheila Mudadi-Billings, GoEun Na, Seamus Nash, Bernie Neville, Yuko Nippoda, Ladislav Nykl, Simon du Plock, Judy Ryde, Antony Sigalas, Harbrinder Dhillon Stevens, Patsy Sutherland, Rachel Tribe, Andrea Uphoff, Valerie Watson, Tony Wright, Jin Wu and Neelam Zahid.
Development Through Adulthood by
Now updated for its second edition, this illuminating textbook explores the developmental stages and changes during adulthood that define some of the most pivotal years of our lives. Relationships, cognitive ageing, parenthood, personality shifts, life crises, fulfilment, funerals, friendships, retirement, and death - all are presented in light of psychological theory and the latest research. Taking a thematic approach, the chapters cover interdependent areas of our cognitive, psychological, social, cultural and moral lives that constitute this fascinating area in psychology. Providing an empirical analysis, Robinson considers models for understanding behaviour and development, methods of collecting data and study design. Academically rigorous and elegantly written, Development through Adulthood is the perfect guide to classic and current research in the field. It is essential reading for students studying adult or lifespan development, gerontology and the psychology of ageing. It will also appeal to those studying an applied social science, and anyone interested in fully understanding adulthood and ageing. New to this Edition: - Spotlights on landmark studies, fully updated to cover the latest key research in each subject area - Increased focus on gender issues - Real-world applications boxes updated with current and relevant examples of important intervention strategies
The Body Keeps The Score: Mind, Brain and Body in the Transformation of Trauma by 
Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy: A Handbook for the Mental Health Practitioner by 
Reporting in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
Trainee therapists need to show practical competence through the production of client reports and case studies. Reporting in Counselling and Psychotherapy is a unique hands-on guide to this element of practical work. Using clinical examples to guide the reader, and a detailed analysis of case study and process report writing, it will show how to present clear, concise and properly presented reports. The book will be an invaluable tool, not only for those embarking on practical training in psychotherapy, counselling and psychology, but also for trainers in these areas and for clinicians writing clinical reports or case presentations.
Experiencing Endings and Beginnings by
Throughout life we undergo many changes in our circumstances, beginnings and endings of relationships, gains and losses. This book highlights the emotional turmoil which, to a greater or lesser extent, accompanies these changes. It considers the nature of the anxieties aroused by a new situation and the ending of a previous state at various stages in life. Endings and beginnings are shown to be closely related, for every new situation entered into, more often than not, involves having to let go of some of the advantages of the previous one as well as losing what is familiar and facing fear of the unknown. The author shows how all these aspects of change evoke primitive anxieties, stemming from our earliest experiences of coming into this world. While beginning life outside holds the promise of a wider, more enriching existence it involves the loss of the known, relative safety of life inside mother's body. Moreover, the human newborn is at first utterly helpless, totally dependent on others to keep him alive.
Neuroscience for Counsellors by
This is an invaluable resource for counsellors and therapists looking to reinvigorate their practice and enhance their understanding of clients' needs. Each chapter focuses on different discoveries in neuroscience, explains them in plain English and provides guidance on how to put this knowledge to practical use in the therapy room. It covers specific psychological and neurological diagnoses including bipolar affective disorder, eating disorders and ADHD, as well as other more general issues such as attachment and addiction. The book also contains recommendations backed by evidence from neuroscience for optimum mental health involving nutrition, sleep and exercise, and a comprehensive glossary of technical terms. Presenting the practical applications of neuroscience, this book will be of immeasurable use to counsellors, psychotherapists and psychologists, and also of interest to social workers and mental health practitioners.
Thinking about the Lifecourse by
How we change over time - who we love, what work we do, how we die - is shaped both by internal, and external influences. This book explores the important subject of human growth and development by combining the social context of how people live with their personal ways of thinking and being. The result is a greater understanding of why people are who they are. Taking a psychosocial approach to exploring human growth and development, this book: - Provides an insightful exploration of the human life course by looking at significant life stages and key themes (such as parenting, ill-health and violence) - Draws on both contemporary and classic research in the fields of psychology and sociology, to deliver an in-depth analysis of issues about self and society - Moves beyond traditional, limiting approaches to understanding people's lives toward an interdisciplinary, psychosocial approach Whether you are studying on a Social Work, Nursing or related Health or Social Care degree, or taking a course in the newly emerging field of Psychosocial Studies, this book is a clear and ground-breaking contribution to the understanding of human growth and development.