Doing a literature review in health and social care : a practical guide by
"It is refreshing to see both a researcher's and a clinician's viewpoint. The case examples in the clinician sections are great learning tools. This is a wonderful reference for both new therapists and seasoned veterans. Researchers also will learn how clinicians use theories in the real world."Score: 92, 4 Stars--Doody's Medical Reviews "iThe format, whereby the evidence for efficacy of psychological interventions for the problem in question is reviewed by an expert followed by a clinician presenting a case where these treatments were actually utilized, and the real-life problems one runs up against in the course of treatment is innovative enough. But then to repeat this for 65 different problems in a manageable and succinct format represents a true integration of science and practice in a way that will move us forward.i" oDavid H. Barlow, PhD, ABPP, Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders, Boston University It is only through the development of true partnerships between researchers and clinicians that mental health treatment can achieve an optimal level of success. This highly accessible desk reference will assist clinicians in easily incorporating findings from current evidence-based research into their day-to-day practice. It bridges the gap between empirical research and the needs of practicing clinicians and clinicians-in-training. The guide brings together respected researchers and clinicians to discuss approaches to treating over 60 problem areas for adults, adolescents, and children. It provides concise, easily digestible summaries of the most current evidence-based research regarding interventions for many of the most common clinical disorders and mental health issues encountered in everyday clinical practice. These summaries present research that has been translated by experienced clinicians into practical applications that can be easily incorporated in therapeutic practice.Research coverage of each problem area includes: Brief description Incidence/ prevalence data Summary findings of best practices for treatment Suggestions for research directions Key references for further consultationThe corresponding clinical application includes: Response to the research summary Case example that applies the evidence-based research to clinical practice Identification of challenges and cultural considerations in applying these interventions Suggestions for future researchKey references By presenting the perspectives of the mental health researcher and clinician side by side, this reference facilitates an important dialogue that narrows the gap between research and practice and ultimately fosters better mental health outcomes for clients.Key Features: Covers over 60 of the most frequently encountered disorders and issues for both adult and pediatric clients that mental health clinicians face todayBrings together leading researchers and clinicians to discuss their approaches to treating a clinical problem area Summarizes the current research on treatments in each problem areaInterprets research for clinicians, offering practice wisdom that helps them become more effective evidence-based practitioners"
Becoming a Reflexive Researcher : Using Our Selves in Research by
'This is an optimistic book which advocates and describes a different research paradigm to be practiced and developed. Read it and research!'- Lapidus'She has achieved her aim of the book being readable and giving insight into the processes of doing research through the lenses of the personal stories of researchers, whilst still writing a text that could be used as a core research method text for those who are themselves becoming reflective researchers. No matter what your background in the social sciences this original book, grounded in the reflexive practice of an experienced teacher and researcher, is well worth checking out'.- Escalate'Etherington (U, of Bristol) uses several narratives, including her own research diary and conversations with students and academics to demonstrate the way reflective research works in practice. Illustrating her points with poetry, paintings, metaphors and dreams, she suggests that recognizing the role of self in research can open up opportunities for creative and personal transformations. She also explores the use of reflexivity in counseling and psychotherapy practice and research.'- Book NewsThis book raises important questions about whether or not researchers can ever keep their own lives out of their work. In contrast to traditional impersonal approaches to research, reflexive researchers acknowledge the impact of their own history, experiences, beliefs and culture on the processes and outcomes of inquiry.In this thought-provoking book, Kim Etherington uses a range of narratives, including her own research diary and conversations with students and academics, to show the reader how reflexive research works in practice, linking this with underpinning philosophies, methodologies and related ethical issues. Placing her own journey as a researcher alongside others, she suggests that recognising the role of self in research can open up opportunities for creative and personal transformations, and illustrates this idea with poetry, paintings and the use of metaphors and dreams. She explores ways in which reflexivity is used in counselling and psychotherapy practice and research, enabling people to become agents in their own lives.This book encourages researchers to reflect on how self-awareness can enrich relationships with those who assist them in their research. It will inspire and challenge students and academics across a wide range of disciplines to find creative ways of practising and representing their research.
Doing Research in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
From leading researcher and bestselling author, John McLeod, this new edition of Doing Research in Counselling and Psychotherapy is a book for students and practitioners who wish to undertake a small-scale publishable research study. The focus is on research projects that are appropriate for student and practitioner researchers: qualitative interview-based research, practice-based outcome studies, case studies, and autoethnographic research. These different genres of research provide a grounding in the main approaches used in counselling and psychotherapy research. This accessible and comprehensive ′how to′ guide on conducting a successful research project in counselling and psychotherapy takes you step-by-step through the research journey: initial engagement with the idea of doing research, developing a research question, appreciating the strengths and limitations of both qualitative and quantitative methods, conducting a study, and then finally writing up the findings for potential publication. Supported by a wide range of case examples and points for reflection, as well as extensive on-line resources, this highly practical introduction to research in counselling, psychotherapy and allied disciplines is essential reading for any trainee or practitioner learning about the research process for the first time.
Doing Practice-based Research in Therapy : a Reflexive Approach by 
Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy by
"A fantastic accomplishment. Mick Cooper brings together a vast amount of material in a relevant and interesting way." -John McLeod, University of Abertay Dundee "Highly accessible, even for 'statisticophobes'. It is simple, without being simplistic, and brings quite complex concepts to a level that novices can grasp." -Maureen O'Hara, National University, La Jolla, California Are some therapies more effective than others? How important is the relationship? Which clients do best in therapy? Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy answers these questions and many more, providing trainees, students, practitioners and researchers with a comprehensive introduction to the latest findings in the field. Accessible even to those with no prior knowledge of research methods, this book sets out the evidence for the effectiveness of therapy in an entirely jargon-free way. Clearly laying out the factors associated with positive therapeutic outcomes, it gives suggestions for further reading, definitions of key terms, and questions for discussion. This is therefore an ideal text for anybody studying or training in counseling and psychotherapy. This book also gives practitioners the knowledge and confidence to justify their therapeutic work on empirical grounds, an increasingly important requirement. More than that, it makes research findings accessible and provides information on how to practice counseling and psychotherapy in an effective way. Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy does the hard work for you; it is vital reading for anyone who wants the facts, presented in a simple, clear, and engaging way.
Qualitative Methods for Health Research by
Packed with practical advice and research quick tips, this book is the perfect companion to your health research project. It not only explains the theory of qualitative health research so you can interpret the studies of others, but also showcases how to approach, start, maintain, and disseminate your own research. It will help you: Understand the role of the researcher Develop an effective research proposal Seek ethical approval Conduct interviews, observational studies, mixed methods, and web-based designs Use secondary and digital sources Code, manage, and analyse data Write up your results Whether you are studying public health, sports medicine, occupational therapy, nursing, midwifery, or another health discipline, the authors will be your surrogate supervisors and guide you through evaluating or undertaking any type of health research.
Translating Psychological Research into Practice by
It is refreshing to see both a researcher's and a clinician's viewpoint. The case examples in the clinician sections are great learning tools. This is a wonderful reference for both new therapists and seasoned veterans. Researchers also will learn how clinicians use theories in the real world.Score: 92, 4 Stars√>=Doody's Medical Reviews "The format, whereby the evidence for efficacy of psychological interventions for the problem in question is reviewed by an expert followed by a clinician presenting a case where these treatments were actually utilized, and the real-life problems one runs up against in the course of treatment is innovative enough. But then to repeat this for 65 different problems in a manageable and succinct format represents a true integration of science and practice in a way that will move us forward." √>=David H. Barlow, PhD, ABPP, Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders, Boston University It is only through the development of true partnerships between researchers and clinicians that mental health treatment can achieve an optimal level of success. This highly accessible desk reference will assist clinicians in easily incorporating findings from current evidence-based research into their day-to-day practice. It bridges the gap between empirical research and the needs of practicing clinicians and clinicians-in-training. The guide brings together respected researchers and clinicians to discuss approaches to treating over 60 problem areas for adults, adolescents, and children. It provides concise, easily digestible summaries of the most current evidence-based research regarding interventions for many of the most common clinical disorders and mental health issues encountered in everyday clinical practice. These summaries present research that has been translated by experienced clinicians into practical applications that can be easily incorporated in therapeutic practice. Research coverage of each problem area includes: Brief description Incidence/ prevalence data Summary findings of best practices for treatment Suggestions for research directions Key references for further consultation The corresponding clinical application includes: Response to the research summary Case example that applies the evidence-based research to clinical practice Identification of challenges and cultural considerations in applying these interventions Suggestions for future research Key references By presenting the perspectives of the mental health researcher and clinician side by side, this reference facilitates an important dialogue that narrows the gap between research and practice and ultimately fosters better mental health outcomes for clients. Key Features: Covers over 60 of the most frequently encountered disorders and issues for both adult and pediatric clients that mental health clinicians face today Brings together leading researchers and clinicians to discuss their approaches to treating a clinical problem area Summarizes the current research on treatments in each problem area Interprets research for clinicians, offering practice wisdom that helps them become more effective evidence-based practitioners
Introduction to Social Psychology by
This is the fifth, completely revised and updated edition of an introductory social psychology text that has had huge success in Europe and across the globe. It has been specially designed to meet the needs of students at all levels, with contributions written by leading social psychologists, each an acknowledged expert on the topics covered in a given chapter. An Introduction to Social Psychology benefits hugely from an updated range of innovative pedagogical features intended to catch the imagination, combined with a rigorous editorial approach, which results in a cohesive and uniform style accessible to all.
Making Sense of Research in Nursing, Health and Social Care by
What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health and social care? This introductory guide provides you with a concise overview of the different research methods and terminology that you will come across when undertaking research in any course related to nursing, health and social care. The book′s easy-to-follow structure takes you from research novice to confident researcher, helping you to make sense of research and understand how it is implemented in healthcare practice. The new edition includes: Updates in light of the 2018 NMC standards, with more information on the impact of GDPR, consent and vulnerable groups, Personal and Public Involvement (PPI), and work-based projects. Improved case examples of real research, with more on group work, poster presentations, research output and dissemination, literature reviews, and dissertations. Upgraded activities that include reflective exercises, critical appraisal tools, a dissemination plan, and a glossary, all in the book. This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students within the health and therapy professions, nurses, midwives, physiotherapists, radiographers, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, and paramedics.