There are no essential readings for this module
This page provides information specific to your module. For more information and resources for
Early Years Practice/Early Childhood Studies, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Doing your research project : a guide for first-time researchers 6th ed. by
Step-by-step advice on completing an outstanding research project.
This is the market-leading book for anyone doing a research project for the first time. Clear, concise and extremely readable, this bestselling resource provides a practical, step-by-step guide from initial concept through to completion of your final written research report.
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design. 3rd edn. by 
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by 
Introducing Research Methodology by
Lecturers/instructors - request a free digital inspection copy here In the Second Edition of this textbook designed for new researchers, Uwe Flick takes readers through the process of producing a research project. The book gives readers the fundamental data collection and analysis skills that they need for their first project, as well as a good understanding of the research process as a whole. It covers both quantitative and qualitative methods, and contains plenty of real-life examples from the author′s own research. The book will help readers to answer questions such as: why do social research in the first place? how do I develop a researchable question? what is a literature review and how do I conduct one? how could I collect and analyze data? what if I want to do my research online?
Doing Your Early Years Research Project by
This bestselling guide to undertaking your Early Years research project takes the reader on a practical step-by-step journey. Breaking down each section into accessible and digestible topics, and accompanied by a multitude of practical examples, case studies, research summaries and key points, the author brings this process to life. The updated and revised fourth edition includes: Useful additional resources at the end of each chapter Extended material on the child's voice within research Signposted glossary terms throughout the text Updated website materials for further study From learning how to structure and organise your project, through to the final presentation and written report of your findings, this is the essential guide and companion for undergraduate and postgraduate students throughout their early childhood and social science courses. Guy Roberts-Holmes will be discussing key ideas in Doing Your Early Years Research Project, a SAGE Masterclass for early years students and practitioners in collaboration with Kathy Brodie. Find out more here.
