Welcome to your Programming for Graphics reading list. Here you will find resources selected by your course team to support you throughout this module.
Real-Time Rendering by Akenine-Moller, T., Haines, E., Hoffman, N.Thoroughly revised, this third edition focuses on modern techniques used to generate synthetic three-dimensional images in a fraction of a second. With the advent of programmable shaders, a wide variety of new algorithms have arisen and evolved over the past few years. This edition discusses current, practical rendering methods used in games and other applications. It also presents a solid theoretical framework and relevant mathematics for the field of interactive computer graphics, all in an approachable style. The authors have made the figures used in the book available for download for fair use.:Download Figures. Reviews Rendering has been a required reference for professional graphics practitioners for nearly a decade. This latest edition is as relevant as ever, covering topics from essential mathematical foundations to advanced techniques used by today's cutting edge games. -- Gabe Newell, President, Valve, May 2008 Rendering ... has been completely revised and revamped for its updated third edition, which focuses on modern techniques used to generate three-dimensional images in a fraction of the time old processes took. From practical rendering for games to math and details for better interactive applications, it's not to be missed. -- The Bookwatch, November 2008 You'll get brilliantly lucid explanations of concepts like vertex morphing and variance shadow mapping--as well as a new respect for the incredible craftsmanship that goes into today's PC games. -- Logan Decker, PC Gamer Magazine , February 2009 > -- Gabe Newell, President, Valve, May 2008 Rendering ... has been completely revised and revamped for its updated third edition, which focuses on modern techniques used to generate three-dimensional images in a fraction of the time old processes took. From practical rendering for games to math and details for better interactive applications, it's not to be missed. -- The Bookwatch, November 2008 You'll get brilliantly lucid explanations of concepts like vertex morphing and variance shadow mapping--as well as a new respect for the incredible craftsmanship that goes into today's PC games. -- Logan Decker, PC Gamer Magazine , February 2009
Call Number: 006.6773 MOL
Publication Date: 2008
OpenGL Superbible by Sellers, G., Wright, R., Haemel, N., Wright, R.OpenGL® SuperBible, Seventh Edition, is the definitive programmer's guide, tutorial, and reference for OpenGL 4.5, the world's leading 3D API for real-time computer graphics. The best introduction for any developer, it clearly explains OpenGL's newest APIs; key extensions; shaders; and essential, related concepts. You'll find up-to-date, hands-on guidance for all facets of modern OpenGL development--both desktop and mobile. The authors explain what OpenGL does, how it connects to the graphics pipeline, and how it manages huge datasets to deliver compelling experiences. Step by step, they present increasingly sophisticated techniques, illuminating key concepts with worked examples. They introduce OpenGL on several popular platforms, and offer up-to-date best practices and performance advice. This revised and updated edition introduces many new OpenGL 4.5 features, including important ARB and KHR extensions that are now part of the standard. It thoroughly covers the latest Approaching Zero Driver Overhead (AZDO) performance features, and demonstrates key enhancements with new example applications. Coverage includes A practical introduction to real-time 3D graphics, including foundational math Core techniques for rendering, transformations, and texturing Shaders and the OpenGL Shading Language (GLSL) in depth Vertex processing, drawing commands, primitives, fragments, and framebuffers Compute shaders: harnessing graphics cards for more than graphics Pipeline monitoring and control Managing, loading, and arbitrating access to data Building larger applications and deploying them across platforms Advanced rendering: light simulation, artistic and non-photorealistic effects, and more Reducing CPU overhead and analyzing GPU behavior Supercharging performance with persistent maps, bindless textures, and fine-grained synchronization Preventing and debugging errors New applications: texture compression, text drawing, font rendering with distance fields, high-quality texture filtering, and OpenMP Bonus material and sample code are available at openglsuperbible.com.
Call Number: 006.68 WRI
Publication Date: 2015
Mathematics for 3D Game Programming and Computer Graphics by Lengyel, E.Sooner or later, all game programmers run into coding issues that require an understanding of mathematics or physics concepts such as collision detection, 3D vectors, transformations, game theory, or basic calculus. Unfortunately, most programmers frequently have a limited understanding of these essential mathematics and physics concepts. MATHEMATICS AND PHYSICS FOR PROGRAMMERS, THIRD EDITION provides a simple but thorough grounding in the mathematics and physics topics that programmers require to write algorithms and programs using a non-language-specific approach. Applications and examples from game programming are included throughout, and exercises follow each chapter for additional practice. The book's companion website provides sample code illustrating the mathematical and physics topics discussed in the book.
Call Number: 794.81526 LEN
Publication Date: 2011
3D Math Primer for Graphics and Game Development by Dunn, F., Parberry, I.This engaging book presents the essential mathematics needed to describe, simulate, and render a 3D world. Reflecting both academic and in-the-trenches practical experience, the authors teach you how to describe objects and their positions, orientations, and trajectories in 3D using mathematics. The text provides an introduction to mathematics for
Call Number: 006.6 DUN and eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Essential Mathematics for Games and Interactive Applications by Van Verth, J.Essential Mathematics for Games and Interactive Applications, 2nd edition presents the core mathematics necessary for sophisticated 3D graphics and interactive physical simulations. The book begins with linear algebra and matrix multiplication and expands on this foundation to cover such topics as color and lighting, interpolation, animation and basic game physics. Essential Mathematics focuses on the issues of 3D game development important to programmers and includes optimization guidance throughout. The new edition Windows code will now use Visual Studio.NET. There will also be DirectX support provided, along with OpenGL - due to its cross-platform nature. Programmers will find more concrete examples included in this edition, as well as additional information on tuning, optimization and robustness. The book has a companion CD-ROM with exercises and a test bank for the academic secondary market, and for main market: code examples built around a shared code base, including a math library covering all the topics presented in the book, a core vector/matrix math engine, and libraries to support basic 3D rendering and interaction.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Game Engine Architecture, Second Edition by Gregory, J.Hailed as a "must-have textbook" (CHOICE, January 2010), the first edition of Game Engine Architectureprovided readers with a complete guide to the theory and practice of game engine software development. Updating the content to match today's landscape of game engine architecture, this second edition continues to thoroughly cover the major components that make up a typical commercial game engine. New to the Second Edition Information on new topics, including the latest variant of the C++ programming language, C++11, and the architecture of the eighth generation of gaming consoles, the Xbox One and PlayStation 4 New chapter on audio technology covering the fundamentals of the physics, mathematics, and technology that go into creating an AAA game audio engine Updated sections on multicore programming, pipelined CPU architecture and optimization, localization, pseudovectors and Grassman algebra, dual quaternions, SIMD vector math, memory alignment, and anti-aliasing Insight into the making of Naughty Dog's latest hit, The Last of Us The book presents the theory underlying various subsystems that comprise a commercial game engine as well as the data structures, algorithms, and software interfaces that are typically used to implement them. It primarily focuses on the engine itself, including a host of low-level foundation systems, the rendering engine, the collision system, the physics simulation, character animation, and audio. An in-depth discussion on the "gameplay foundation layer" delves into the game's object model, world editor, event system, and scripting system. The text also touches on some aspects of gameplay programming, including player mechanics, cameras, and AI. An awareness-building tool and a jumping-off point for further learning, Game Engine Architecture, Second Editiongives readers a solid understanding of both the theory and common practices employed within each of the engineering disciplines covered. The book will help readers on their journey through this fascinating and multifaceted field.
Call Number: 794.81536 GRE
Publication Date: 2014
Physically Based Rendering by Pharr, M., Humphreys, G.Physically Based Rendering, Second Edition, describes both the mathematical theory behind a modern photorealistic rendering system as well as its practical implementation. A method known as literate programming combines human-readable documentation and source code into a single reference that is specifically designed to aid comprehension. The result is a stunning achievement in graphics education. Through the ideas and software in this book, you will learn to design and employ a full-featured rendering system for creating stunning imagery. This new edition greatly refines its best-selling predecessor by streamlining all obsolete code as well as adding sections on parallel rendering and system design; animating transformations; multispectral rendering; realistic lens systems; blue noise and adaptive sampling patterns and reconstruction; measured BRDFs; and instant global illumination, as well as subsurface and multiple-scattering integrators. These updates reflect the current state-of-the-art technology, and along with the lucid pairing of text and code, ensure the book's leading position as a reference text for those working with images, whether it is for film, video, photography, digital design, visualization, or gaming. The book that won its authors a 2014 Academy Award for Scientific and Technical Achievement from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences New sections on subsurface scattering, Metropolis light transport, precomputed light transport, multispectral rendering, and much more Includes a companion site complete with source code for the rendering system described in the book, with support for Windows, OS X, and Linux: visit www.pbrt.org Code and text are tightly woven together through a unique indexing feature that lists each function, variable, and method on the page that they are first described