Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A-Z eResources List
Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
A-Z eJournal List
Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
If you're unable to find the article you're looking for, we can order articles for you using the resource request service. You should check the service details for your local University of Suffolk library.
University of Suffolk Ipswich students:
You can request to order an article by completing the correct form and returning a signed copy to the Information Desk at the library.
The number of article requests available to you depends on your level of study.
Database and Journal information
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
Art Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Arts & Humanities Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text reflects the full interdisciplinary of contemporary study in arts and humanities, with the inclusion of selected titles from related fields that are also covered by these indexes, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women’s studies
Art, Design & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive survey of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.
BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art (Getty Research Institute) This link opens in a new window
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
Proquest Design and Arts covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metal smithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture
JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
full-text journal articles covering a wide range of subject areas. JSTOR is an archive database so does not include current content. Coverage includes: 19th & 20th century American Art, archaeology, art & art history, classics, economics, film, folklore, history, history of art, language & literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, political science, religion, social sciences, sociology, women's studies
JSTOR Language & Literature Archive and Current Collection This link opens in a new window
provides journal subscriptions from multiple publishers bundled as collections that serve research and curriculum needs in core subject areas. Featuring titles such as Antioch Review; Interdisciplinary Literary Studies; Modern Philology; and The Modern Language Review, providing a diverse set of high-quality journals that serve researchers and scholars in fields that rely on language and literature titles to support their work.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world
Adbusters 2004- University of Suffolk Ipswich
Aperture 2009- University of Suffolk Ipswich & Art Full-text 2012-
Baseline 2004-2007, 2009- University of Suffolk Ipswich
Blueprint 1998 University of Suffolk Ipswich, 2004- University of Suffolk Bury
Computer Graphics Review
Creative Review 2000- University of Suffolk Ipswich, 2004 University of Suffolk Bury, Art Full-text 1997-
Eye: The International review of Graphic Design 1996- University of Suffolk Ipswich, Art Full-text 2009-
Illustration 2011- University of Suffolk Ipswich
Journal of Design History 2002- University of Suffolk Ipswich
Varoom 2011- University of Suffolk Ipswich
Ultrabold 2011- University of Suffolk Ipswich
All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0