Welcome to your Digital Interpretations reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
The Production Manual by Ambrose, G. ; Harris, P.From the basics such as working with typography through using images and working with color, exploring different pre-press techniques and the processes involved in bringing a product to press and with a resulting pleasing end product, the authors present everything that the reader needs to know in a straightforward and visually strong way. This new edition completely updates the information on the production process, highlighting new techniques and expanding its coverage on digital technologies. In addition, new interviews are included from design studios using creative or unique production techniques. Since students may eventually be working with international clients, the authors includes both metric and imperial measurements so that students will become familiar with the differences. Expanded coverage of environmental and sustainability issues, especially as they relate to paper choice and use of special processes/inks has also been added.
Call Number: 741.60222 AMB
Publication Date: 2016
Graphic Design: A User's Manual by Bierut, M.; Shaughnessy, A.This book offers students, novice designers, and battle-toughened professionals alike an insider's guide to the complexities of current graphic design practice and thinking. It contains all you need to know to survive and prosper in the complex, ever-shifting world of graphic design. Set out in A-Z style and written in a realistic, conversational, and insightful way, the book provides advice on the fundamental topics and issues that face designers in their daily lives. It looks at everything from kerning to presenting, from budgeting to dealing with rejection, from annual reports to interface design. Adrian Shaughnessy, author of the best-sellingHow to be a Graphic Designer Without Losing Your Soul, is himself a successful designer, and brings a wealth of experience to this very useful and entertaining book.
Make It Now! by Burrill, A.'If you're stuck for an idea, have a big decision to handle or need a new perspective on a problem, here are some approaches for thinking, communicating and creativity. An upbeat guide that anyone can use to help with the big and small challenges we face every day.' Anthony Burrill A life-affirming guide to new thinking, creative problem-solving and getting things done from graphic artist Anthony Burrill. Full of inspiration and ideas, his best-loved prints as well as new work, this book will get you thinking bigger and better and recharge your creativity.
Call Number: 741.6 BUR
Publication Date: 2017
Graphic Icons by Clifford, J.Who are history's most iconic graphic designers? Let the debate begin here. In this gorgeous, visual overview of the history of graphic design, students are introduced to 50 of the most important designers from the early 20th century to the present day. This fun-to-read, pretty-to-look-at graphic design history primer introduces them to the work and notable achievements of such industry luminaries as El Lissitzky, Alexander Rodchenko, A.M. Cassandre, Alvin Lustig, Cipe Pineles, Armin Hofmann, Paul Rand, Saul Bass, Herb Lubalin, Milton Glaser, Stefan Sagmeister, John Maeda, Paula Scher, and more. Who coined the term "graphic design"? Who designed the first album cover? Who was the first female art director of a mass-market American magazine? Who created the "I Want My MTV" ad campaign? Who created the first mail-order font shop? In Graphic Icons: Visionaries Who Shaped Modern Graphic Design, students start with the who and quickly learn the what, when, why, and where behind graphic design's most important breakthroughs and the impact they had, and continue to have, on the world we live in.
Call Number: 741.60922 CLI
Publication Date: 2013
100 Ideas That Changed Graphic Design by Heller, S; Vienne, V.This accessible book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design. Lavishly illustrated, it is both a great source of inspiration and a provocative record of some of the best examples of graphic design from the last hundred years. The entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).
Call Number: 741.609 HEL
Publication Date: 2019
Real World Print Production with Adobe Creative Cloud by McCue, C.Sharpen your print production skills with this definitive resource created specifically for design professionals who need to create files using the Adobe Creative Cloud, including InDesign, Photoshop, Illustrator, and Acrobat and output for printing. The previous edition was steady seller, helping designers who have no training in print get up and running quickly and not make expensive mistakes on their projects. Completely updated for CS6 and the CC, this book also helps designers with some print experience tackle more complex projects. The book covers all the Adobe Suite programs they need to know to produce successful projects, rather than buying 4 or 5 different books. This book is considered the complete resource for understanding the print cycle, how ink works on paper, managing fonts, using color spaces, handling images, and preparing files for print or electronic output. Print expert Claudia McCue shares her hands-on techniques to prepare files, edit photos and graphics, and prevent common problems without missing a deadline. This book is brimming with insightful advice, illustrations, and shortcuts that will have you quickly and professionally producing your work in no time. Covers: Acrobat XI, InDesign CC, Photoshop CC, and Illustrator CC for Macintosh and Windows
Call Number: 686.22544 MCC
Publication Date: 2013
Making and Breaking the Grid by Samara, T.For designers working in every medium, layout is arguable the most basic, and most important, element. Effective layout is essential to communication and enables the end user to not only be drawn in with an innovative design but to digest information easily. Making and Breaking the Grid is a comprehensive layout design workshop that assumes that in order to effectively break the rules of grid-based design, one must first understand those rules and see them applies to real-world projects. Text reveals top designers' work in process and rationale. Projects with similar characteristics are linked through a simple notational system that encourages exploration and comparison of structure ideas. Also included are historical overviews that summarize the development of layout concepts, both grid-based and non-grid based, in modern design practice.
Call Number: 741.60222 SAM
Publication Date: 2005
Recommended Reference Reading
Adobe Indesign CC Classroom in a Book by Anton, K.K.; DeJarld, T.Creative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe InDesign choose Adobe InDesign CC Classroom in a Book (2019 release) from Adobe Press. The 15 project-based step-by-step lessons show users the key techniques for working in InDesign. Designers will build a strong foundation of typographic, color, page layout, and document-construction skills that will enable them to produce a broad range of print and digital publications--from a simple postcard to an interactive Adobe PDF with form fields. The real-world tasks in this comprehensive book are presented in an easy-to-follow, step-by-step format and are designed to train beginning Adobe InDesign users in the program--from fundamental features to powerful layout and output skills. This book also enables experienced InDesign users to elevate their skills, understand best practices, and learn about new features. Enhancements in this version target usability and productivity, including the ability to browse fonts visually, using Content Aware Fit for intelligent image placement, use Layout Adjust to automatically adjust layout when changing page sizes, and quickly access common controls in the Properties panel. The online companion files include all the necessary assets for readers to complete the projects featured in each lesson. All buyers of the book get full access to the Web Edition: A Web-based version of the complete ebook enhanced with video and multiple-choice quizzes.
Call Number: 686.22544 ANT + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Adobe Photoshop CC and Lightroom CC for Photographers Classroom in a Book by Concepcion, R.Adobe Lightroom CC and Photoshop CC for Photographers Classroom in a Book contains lessons that cover the basics and beyond, providing countless tips and techniques to help you become more productive with the programs. You can follow the book from start to finish or choose only those lessons that interest you. Using Lightroom CC and Photoshop CC together can dramatically speed your workflow and decrease editing time. This book teaches you exactly when to use each program and how to pass images back and forth between them at the highest possible quality. You'll learn how to import, organize, correct and add creative color effects in Lightroom using global and local editing tools, as well as how to merge multiple exposures and stitch panoramas. In Photoshop, you'll learn practical techniques for combining photos, pro-level retouching, creating precise selections, masking, turning a photo into a painting and pencil sketch, and adding creative blur effects. Back in Lightroom, you'll learn how to show off your masterpieces by exporting them en masse, sharing via social media, creating fine art-style signed print layouts, slideshows, photo book, and web gallery projects.
Call Number: 006.686 CON + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Adobe Illustrator CC Classroom in a Book by Wood, B.Creative professionals seeking the fastest, easiest, most comprehensive way to learn Adobe Illustrator CC (2019 release) choose Adobe Illustrator CC Classroom in a Book (2019 release) from the best-selling series of hands-on software training workbooks from Adobe Press. The 15 project-based lessons show users the key techniques for realizing your creative potential with Adobe Illustrator CC. Following hands-on step-by-step projects, users create logos, illustrations, posters, and more. Explore the new streamlined Tools panel and all of the features essential for being creative in Illustrator, including working with the Shaper tool and Live Shapes along with dynamic symbols to streamline graphics creation. Create website assets and export them in multiple formats to support modern responsive web designs. From exacting illustration to free-form painting, you'll build a strong foundation in Illustrator as you progress through the lessons. The online companion files include all the necessary assets for readers to complete the projects featured in each. All buyers of the book get full access to the Web Edition: A Web-based version of the complete ebook enhanced with video and multiple-choice quizzes.