The Fundamentals of Graphic Design by Ambrose, G; Harris, P; Ball, N.Introducing students to the field of graphic design through inspirational examples and clear, practical advice, The Fundamentals of Graphic Design has been fully updated to reflect the changes in today's technologies and graphic design practice. With a new section expanding the coverage of digital design tools and new material on social media, apps plus more on design for the Web, the book gives students a unique overview of what graphic designers do and how they work, historical influences on the field, and coverage of design thinking and the production process.
Call Number: 741.6 AMB
Publication Date: 2019
Drawing Ideas by Baskinger, M; Bardel, W.An intensive how-to primer for design professionals for creating compelling and original concept designs through drawing by hand. Award-winning designers and workshop leaders Mark Baskinger and William Bardel bring us this thorough course in drawing to create better graphic layouts, diagrams, human forms, products, systems, and more. Their drawing bootcamp provides essential instruction on thinking, reasoning, and visually exploring concepts to create compelling products, communications, and services. In a unique board binding that mimics a sketchbook, Drawing Ideas provides a complete foundation in the techniques and methods for effectively communicating to clients and audiences through clear and persuasive drawings.
Call Number: eBook + 741.2 BAS
Publication Date: 2013
Sketchbooks by Brereton, R.Now published in paperback,Sketchbooks provides a revealing glimpse into the inner workings and private inspiration of creatives from the worlds of advertising, design, graphic design, fashion design, art, street art, and illustration. The material is complemented by interviews in which artists explain how they use their sketchbooks and how they relate to finished works. These, along with the sketchbooks themselves, give readers a direct and unmediated insight into the process of research and creation.
Call Number: 702.8 BRE
Publication Date: 2012
Collage by Craig, B.Collage has a relatively short, but incredibly rich history. The popularity of collage is on the increase again, partly as a result of such postmodernist concerns as pluralism, multiplicity and hybridity. This book features works by international artists Picasso, Schwitters and Ernst, through to Hannah Hoch, Martha Rosler, John Stezaker, Richard Hamilton, Layla Curtis, David Salle, Eduardo Poalozzi, Javier Rodriguez, Robert Rauschenberg, Mimei Thompson, David Thorpe, Fred Tomaselli and many more.
Call Number: 709.04 CRA
Publication Date: 2008
Visible Signs by Crow, D.Basic semiotic theories are taught in most art schools as part of a contextual studies program, but many students find it difficult to understand how these ideas might impact on their own practice. Visible Signs tackles this problem by introducing key theories and concepts, such as signs and signifiers, and language and speech, within the framework of visual communication. Each chapter provides an overview of a particular facet of semiotic theory, with inspiring examples from graphic design, typography, illustration, advertising and art to illustrate the ideas discussed in the text. Creative exercises at the end of the book will help exemplify these ideas through practical application. The fourth edition of Visible Signs includes new imagery and updated exercises, as well as coverage of propaganda, diversity in 'neutral' communication (like emojis), and issues related to social media representation.
Call Number: eBook + 741.6014 CRO
Publication Date: 2022
Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing by Dexter, E.Drawing has recently experienced a renewal of importance in the art world; in fact, it has rarely been as widely represented in the biennials, art fairs, and exhibitions as it is now. Similar in concept, scope and structure to Phaidon's successful volume Vitamin P, Vitamin Dpresents, in A to Z order, the work of 109 artists who have emerged internationally since 1990 using the medium of drawing. Whether representational or abstract, small or large in scale, using only one line or rich in colors and pattern, drawings have a highly descriptive and meticulously detailed quality that is being explored by an increasing number of contemporary artists. Extending beyond the traditional image associated with this medium, Vitamin Dhopes to illustrate the complexity, variety, and relevance of the practice of drawing today.
Call Number: 741.9 DEX
Publication Date: 2007
An Illustrated Life by Gregory, D.Find Insight and Inspiration for Your Creative Life An artist's journal is packed with sketches and captions; some rough, some polished. The margins sometimes spill over with hurriedly scrawled shopping lists and phone numbers. The cover may be travel-worn and the pages warped from watercolors. Open the book, and raw creativity seeps from each color and line. The intimacy and freedom on its pages are almost like being inside the artist's mind: You get a direct window into risks, lessons, mistakes, and dreams. The private worlds of these visual journals are exactly what you'll find inside An Illustrated Life. This book offers a sneak peak into the wildly creative imaginations of 50 top illustrators, designers and artists. Included are sketchbook pages from R. Crumb, Chris Ware, James Jean, James Kochalka, and many others. In addition, author Danny Gregory has interviewed each artist and shares their thoughts on living the artistic life through journaling. Watch artists--through words and images--record the world they see and craft the world as they want it to be. The pages of An Illustrated Life are sometimes startling, sometimes endearing, but always inspiring. Whether you're an illustrator, designer, or simply someone searching for inspiration, these pages will open a whole new world to you.
Call Number: 741.0922 GRE
Publication Date: 2008
The Drawing Book by Kovats, T.'The Drawing Book' is a beautifully designed hardback edition with over 450 colour and black and white illustrations. The book looks at the importance of drawing as both a formative process and art form in its own right.
Call Number: 741 KOV
Publication Date: 2006
Freehand - New Typography Sketchbooks by Heller, S; Talarico, L.Steven Heller, the world's foremost graphic-design commentator, and Lita Talarico, design educator, open up designers' personal sketchbooks to provide an intimate look at the creative processes behind typefaces, word-images and logos. Arranged alphabetically by name, the world's most exciting designers and typographers, including Philippe Apeloig, Ed Benguiat, Hoefler Type Foundry, Henrik Kubel, Toshi Omagari and Francesco Zorzi, present a staggering range of unique and exciting ways to communicate through letters and words. Sketchbook pages reveal the designers' creative processes across diverse briefs, concepts, languages and alphabets, from Roman to Cyrillic to Arabic. Aimed at all those who engage creatively with type, whether by hand or on screen, this rich compendium of typographic ideas stresses the importance of typographic thinking at a time when reading habits are evolving, while celebrating the varied and innovative ways that designers practise this time-honoured craft.
Call Number: 686.22 HEL
Publication Date: 2018
Experimental Drawing, 30th Anniversary Edition by Kaupelis, R.Stimulating exercises to help beginner to advanced students push the boundaries of traditional drawing. As with most art forms, it's best to comprehend traditional drawing techniques before you break the rules. But once you've mastered the basics, you may find that you gravitate to more abstract ways of rendering everything from still lifes to figures. However, this book is not only about avant-garde style; it is experimental in that it forces the artist out of his or her comfort zone, whatever that might be. In this book, renowned New York University professor, Robert Kaupelis, shares the tutorials that he used with his students, offering illustrations of drawings and paintings from old masters to contemporary artists (and even some outstanding works from his students) to explain techniques. Covering everything from creating form through contour drawings to drawing with new technology, Experimental Drawing helps you zero in on concepts and form ideas that may take your work to a new and more intriguing level. Some of the innovative exercises you'll find here include:nbsp; nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;* Drawing models while blindfolded nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;Engagingnbsp;in group drawing sessions popularized during thenbsp;Dada era nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;Utilizing different drawing materials likenbsp;glass, plastic, feathers, string, sponges, metal dust, and more nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;Reducing a post'snbsp;brushstroke from six to one nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;Using cross-contour lines for a more abstract still life nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;Integrating a grid system on anbsp;carefully rendered scene to create an illusion ofnbsp;distorted space and movement nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;*nbsp;And much more... This classic volume's inventive and stimulating projects will help serious artists develop their own vision and their own way to draw. Includes more than 200 spectacular drawings by old and modern masters from Michelangelo to Jasper Johns.
Call Number: 741.2 KAU
Publication Date: 1992
Sketchbook by O'Donnell, T.This book explores influential designers' sketchbooks as a truer reflection of a designer's thought processes, preoccupations, and problem-solving strategies than can be had by simply viewing finished projects. Highly personal and idiosyncratic, sketchbooks offer an arena for unstructured exploration, a space free from all budgetary and client constraints. Visually arresting objects in their own right, this book aims to elevate sketches from mere ephemera to important documents where the reader can glean valuable insight into the creative process, and apply it to their own practices. Featured designers include Ralph Caplan, Nigel Holmes, Chris Bigg, Eva Jiricna, Jason Munn, Gary Baseman, Marian Bantjes, and many others.
Call Number: eBook + 745.4 ODO
Publication Date: 2009
Drawn In by Rothman, J.Sketchbooks offer a fascinating glimpse into private pages where artists brainstorm, doodle, develop and work on ideas, and keep track of their musings. Artists use these journals to document their daily lives, produce their initial ideas for bigger projects, and practice their skills. Using a variety of media from paint to pencil to collage, these pages can become works of art themselves. They often feel fresh and alive because they are first thoughts and often not reworked. These pages capture the artist's personalities along with glimpses of their process of working and inspirations. In Drawn In, you can take a peek inside the sketchbooks of 44 high-profile, amazingly talented artists as they discuss their collections and how they use them. Featuring a spectrum of creators from illustrators and fine artists to graphic designers and cartoonists, this books offers an inside, full-color glimpse into pages filled with pencil and pen sketches, thumbnail drawings, unpublished comics, elaborate collages, loose clippings, and much more. Become inspired by these incredible artists and the pages they share in Drawn In!
Call Number: 741.9 ROT
Publication Date: 2011
Drawing for Graphic Design by Samara, T.Here is a complete, comprehensive drawing reference for design students and professionals alike who want to implement drawing as a professional tool. In Drawing for Graphic Design, Timothy Samara empowers readers to add drawing to their design vocabulary, featuring case studies of commercial projects from start to finish along with a showcase of real-world projects that integrate drawing as an intrinsic part of their visual communication. Filled with original author drawings and sketches, it's a must-have reference that will benefit designers of all levels.
Call Number: eBook + 741.6 SAM
Publication Date: 2012
Creative Drawing by Smagula, H. J.Howard Smagula explores the traditions, concepts and technical skills of drawing, addressing the needs of beginners and intermediate level students. He discusses such topics as visual thinking, colour, portraits, and cartoons, and also includes practical projects using basic equipment and materials.