Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Nursing Practice 1: Care Delivery reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Medicines Management in Children's Nursing by Children′s nurses must develop the crucial skills of correct medicines management and calculations in order to provide safe care to their patients. This book specifically supports pre-registration students in meeting the required competencies for medicines management needed to pass formal assessment and qualify as a children′s nurse. It is clearly structured around the NMC Essential Skills Clusters for medicines management, covering legal aspects, drugs calculations, administration, storage, record keeping, introductory pharmacology, patient communication and contextual issues in medication. The book is written in user-friendly language and uses patient scenarios to explain concepts and apply theory to practice.
Call Number: 615.1083 BLA
Publication Date: 2011
Clinical Skills for Children's Nursing by Children's nurses require excellent clinical skills to provide high quality care to children and young people across a range of different ages. After the first year of their training, children's nursing students must master skills of increasing complexity whilst developing clinical judgementand confidence. Therefore, it is vital that links are made to children's biology and development, family needs, legal issues and problem solving but until now, it has been hard to find all this in one place.Clinical Skills in Children's Nursing is designed for children's and general nursing students in second year onwards to facilitate the transition from closely supervised beginners, to qualified professionals. By clearly explaining essential principles, evidence and special considerations, this texthelps students to build up their confidence, not just in performing skills, but also in decision-making in readiness for registration and beyond.Step-by-step guides to performing core and advanced procedures are presented in tables for easy comprehension and revision, illustrated by photographs and drawings. Each skill draws on the available evidence base, which is updated regularly on the accompanying Online Resource Centre.Uniquely, this text develops students' critical thinking skills and ability to deliver child centred care by providing clear links to anatomical, physiological and child development milestones as well as regular nursing alerts which help prevent readers from making common mistakes.Clearly reflecting the Nursing and Midwifery Council's Essential Skills Clusters for registration and beyond, Clinical Skills in Children's Nursing is designed to support student nurses develop into competent practitioners. Supported by a dedicated Online Resource Centre with up-to-date evidence,realistic scenarios, and a wealth of other tools.On the Online Resource Centre:For registered lecturers and mentors:* Figures from the book, ready to download and use in teaching materialFor students:* Evidence, guidelines and protocols, reviewed and updated every 6 months* Over 40 interactive scenarios* Active web links provide a gateway to the articles cited in the book* Flashcard glossary to help learn key terms
Call Number: 618.92 COY
Publication Date: 2010
Professional Skills in Nursing by What do I need to learn in order to progress through my course? How do I achieve the best possible patient-care? Professional Skills for Nurses answers both of these questions and supports the development of key nursing skills underpinned by theory. Designed specifically to meet the needs of nursing students in the initial stages of training, the book focuses on the essential knowledge and skills needed for effective patient-care while at the same time helping students to achieve the NMC outcomes required for entry into branch programs.Each chapter focuses on a key aspect of nursing care backed up with practical tips, examples drawn from all branches of nursing, and a range of study activities to help you reflect on your learning and get the most from practice placements.Key themes in healthcare such as ethics, evidence-based practice and health promotion are discussed throughout the book, highlighting how these relate to everyday nursing practice. Focusing on the core skills covered in the initial stages of training, Professional Skills in Nursing is the ideal introduction for students during the Common Foundation Program.
Call Number: 610.73 DEB + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures by The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures has been the number one choice for nurses since it first published, over 30 years ago. One of the world's most popular books on clinical skills and procedures, it provides detailed procedure guidelines based on the latest research findings and expert clinical advice, enabling nurses and students to deliver clinically effective patient-focused care. The ninth edition of this essential, definitive guide, written especially for pre-registration nursing students, now includes a range of new learning features throughout each chapter that have been designed to support student nurses to support learning in clinical practice. Providing essential information on over 200 procedures, this manual contains all the skills and changes in practice that reflect modern acute nursing care.
Call Number: 610.73 DOU + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Reflective Practice in Nursing by Reflective practice enables nursing students to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences they have each day and ifnurtured properly can provide skills that they will come to rely on throughout their nursing careers. Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies, the new fourth edition of this bestselling book shows readers what reflection is, why it is so important and how they can use it to improve their nursing practice.Key features include:*All chapters linked to the new 2018 NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses *Updated learning features such as activities and case studies to help students apply the theory to practice.
Call Number: 610.73 EST
Publication Date: 2019
Developing Practical Skills for Nursing Children and Young People by Clinical skills are essential to the practice of nursing and learning these skills requires a wealth of both factual knowledge and technical expertise. Supplementing practical teaching, Developing Practical Skills for Nursing Children and Young People is a comprehensive skills text that describes clinical skills in the style of a tutor teaching at the bedside. Each chapter presents the essential skills for practice in a step-by-step format alongside an evidence-based rationale--anticipating common problems and suggesting practical solutions.
The book is essential reading for all student nurses working with child patients, as well as qualified paediatric nurses. It is also relevant to anyone assessing and planning care for an infant, child, or young person on the ward, clinic, or in the community. An accompanying website provides further reading lists, self-assessment questions, and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter.
From fundamental care processes to advanced nursing skills, the book and website enables readers to make a smooth transition from learner to hands-on-nurse.
Call Number: 618.92 GLA + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Clinical Skills in Child Health Practice by This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It is a textbook of clinical skills that offers an excellent resource for all professionals providing care for children and young people. It presents a detailed step-by-step approach to clinical skills that may be used in both hospital and community settings. Each skill is presented with the evidence base required to ensure up-to-date safe practice. Chapters provide rationale for each step of the skill and are enhanced by diagrams and photographs to give the practitioner clear guidance and the confidence to perform unfamiliar skills. The accompanying PowerPoint presentations are a resource for both lecturers teaching clinical skills and individual students who are either encountering a skill for the first time or want to update their knowledge.
Call Number: 618.92 KEL + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
The Great Ormond Street Hospital Manual of Children's Nursing Practices by Clinical skills are a fundamental aspect of nursing care of children and young people. The Great Ormond Street Hospital Manual of Children's Nursing Practices is an evidence-based manual of practical skills in children's nursing which builds on the extensive expertise developed at Great Ormond Street Hospital. It encompasses all aspects of children's nursing from the most basic aspects of everyday practice to advanced practice in high dependency and intensive care to provide a comprehensive resource for all qualified nurses, students, and other health-care professionals involved in caring for children, both in the hospital and the community setting.
Children's and young people's nursing presents unique challenges. The Great Ormond Street Hospital Manual utilises the latest clinical research and expert clinical knowledge to address these challenges, and provides the underlying theory and evidence for nursing care of children. It provides a definitive guide to clinical skills procedures in children's and young people's nursing which enables nurses working with children and young people to practice confidently and deliver clinically effective family-centred care.
Call Number: 618.9200231 MAC + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Essential Mental Health Nursing Skills by This book will help to identify the skills and resources that students already have and show how these can be developed into the essential skills needed for nursing in the mental health practice environment. Essential Mental Health Nursing Skills draws on the policy and theory underpinning mental health nursing but focusses on the practical aspects, providing an easily understandable guide to what to do and how to do it. It also provides a practical framework that can be applied in any setting. Examples are given to show how skills can be applied across the diversity of modern mental health nursing. Essential Mental Health Nursing Skills is also designed to be taken into the practice environment so that it can easily be referred to it when learning a skill.
Call Number: 616.89 OCA + eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Passing Calculations Tests in Nursing by With an easy-to-use format, this book is all you need to face calculations tests with confidence and pass the first time. It teaches simple numeracy skills that will stand you in good stead, both during your initial nurse training and your career in practice. This new edition now includes tests for those students looking to undertake Continuing Professional Development to achieve Non-Medical Prescribing Nurse qualifications. It also contains: over 360 practice questions with an extra 400+ available online easy-to-understand explanations that take the fear out of maths a diagnostic chapter to help you identify problem areas activities, scenarios and case studies from everyday nursing situations More than just a book... There is a dedicated website accompanying this book providing further questions and practice, interactive tests, a flashcard glossary and more.
Call Number: 615.1401513 STA
Publication Date: 2018
Contexts of Contemporary Nursing by A wide variety of factors impact on the scope of nursing practice, including government policies, organisational structures, the media, education, future healthcare directions and service users themselves. It is an NMC requirement that nurses understand these factors in order to deliver quality care. This book provides a clear and practical introduction to these contexts for the new nursing student. The new edition (formerly ′Nursing in Contemporary Healthcare Practice′) has been revised to cover the organisational structures that students will find themselves working in, the various bodies involved in healthcare policy and the big issues in current and future healthcare delivery.
Call Number: 610.730941 WIL + eBook
Publication Date: 2010