Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Nursing Practice 2: Care pathways part one and two reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures by The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures has been the number one choice for nurses since it first published, over 30 years ago. One of the world's most popular books on clinical skills and procedures, it provides detailed procedure guidelines based on the latest research findings and expert clinical advice, enabling nurses and students to deliver clinically effective patient-focused care. The ninth edition of this essential, definitive guide, written especially for pre-registration nursing students, now includes a range of new learning features throughout each chapter that have been designed to support student nurses to support learning in clinical practice. Providing essential information on over 200 procedures, this manual contains all the skills and changes in practice that reflect modern acute nursing care.
Call Number: 610.73 DOU + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Psychiatric Drugs Explained by Now in its sixth edition, and written by an author internationally recognised in his field, Psychiatric Drugs Explained offers a wealth of information in a handy easy-to-use format. Organised by disorder, and providing a comprehensive review of drug effects, action and side-effects, this fully updated new edition covers the latest drugs on the market, and explores changes in prescribing practice. The author's approach is distinctive and reader-friendly, to help guide mental health professionals through the benefits and impacts of psychotropic drugs. Additional topics include management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders. Includes management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders Gives particular focus on areas that are of major concern to mental health practitioners including management of dependence and withdrawal and issues of consent, abuse and liability 'User Issues' boxes highlight the most crucial aspects of drug effects and their implications Key references point the reader to the most up-to-date research and literature in the field Fresh design and updated artwork gives added appeal to the volume Organised by disorder this new edition now covers the latest drugs on the market and explores changes in prescribing practice Includes updated references pointing the reader to the most recent research and literature in the field
Call Number: 615.78 HEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Basic Notes in Psychiatry by Junior hospital psychiatrists, general practitioners and medical students will find this book a valuable study aid, as will psychiatric nurses, psychiatric social workers, psychiatric occupational therapists and clinical psychologists.
Call Number: 616.89 LEV
Publication Date: 2005
Medicines Management in Mental Health Nursing by Medicines are a crucial part of the jigsaw when considering how to provide recovery-focussed care in mental health. It is important that mental health nurses understand how psychiatric drugs work, what the common treatments are and appreciate the ethical and legal dimensions that affect how medicines can and should be used in mental health care. Using innovative activities and real-life case studies, this book has been carefully designed to provide all this and more making it the ideal resource to build knowledge and confidence in this crucial area of practice. Key features · Clear explanations of both the underlying biology and pharmacology as well as the wider practicalities of working with medicines · Provides accessible information on the most common conditions and treatments · Linked to the NMC standards and essential skills clusters · Activities and case studies help students to apply what they have learnt to practice and consider the full impact that medicines will have on service users
Call Number: 616.8918 MUT
Publication Date: 2017
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology by Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology continues to be an accessible and comprehensive introductory text to pathophysiology, written specifically for nursing and healthcare students to assist in the understanding of human anatomy, and the complex disease patterns that affect normal physiology. Thoroughly updated, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, this new edition incorporates additional learning features including reflective questions at the end of each chapter, investigation boxes, medication alerts, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, vital signs boxes relating to physiological measurements as well as inclusion of the National Early Warning Score. With emphasis placed on a multidisciplinary approach, Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology highlights the importance of contemporary, safe, and effective practice in an environment in which the delivery of care is constantly evolving.
Call Number: 616.07 PEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Mental Health Nursing by A concise and user-friendly guide, Handbook of Mental Health Nursing helps nursingnbsp;students learn the essential skills required for practice. This practical handbook is informed by an interdisciplinary understanding of mental health problems and the recovery from mental health difficulties. Features: Highlights case studies and draws on narratives of patient experience to help caregivers make educated decisions in partnership with service users Focuses on assessment, classification, models of therapeutic practice, specific mental health problems and needs, and the organization of care Use a values-based approach integrating evidence-based data with service users' perceptions Presents case studies and participant narratives throughout Includes practical exercises designed to develop skills and understanding in person-centred care This book is an essential purchase for all students and educators in mental health nursing and related health and social care fields.
Call Number: 616.89 TEE + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Planning Care in Mental Health Nursing by This practical text provides a systematic overview of the process of planning care for specific client groups and interventions. It draws on the experience of good practice, and explores areas such as assessment process, theoretical framework, practice development and the skills necessary to plan care.
Call Number: 616.89 TUM
Publication Date: 2004