Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Nursing Theory 2: Holistic Care reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses 3d edn. by This ideal starter text for student nurses makes pharmacology less intimidating by focusing on the knowledge needed at pre-registration level in order to practice as a newly qualified nurse.
Noted for its clear layout and jargon-free language, this updated edition introduces pharmacology in a friendly, informative way. The book does not assume previous knowledge of pharmacology, or a level of confidence with maths and drugs calculations.
This new edition has been carefully expanded to include a new chapter introducing drug calculations and measurements as well as more detail on drugs used in chronic conditions, as well as more on pharmacology for the older patient and for other specific groups such as children, pregnant women or those with minor illness. More case scenarios have been added to encourage nurses to apply knowledge to a range of different people with a range of needs.
Call Number: 615.1 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Mental Health Nursing Skills by Mental Health Nurses require a diverse skills base to aid service users and their carers on their journey to recovery. During their training, students need to acquire and demonstrate skills to show that the care they provide is evidence-based and effective. Skills as diverse as assessment,forming therapeutic interactions, caring for physical and mental health needs as well as leadership and management, can be difficult to learn and master - until now!Mental Health Nursing Skills provides students with a highly evidence-based and practical account of the skills required for nursing practice. Written in response to the Chief Nursing Officer's review of Mental Health Nursing in England and that of the Scottish Executive, the authors translatetheory into clearly applied skills supported by practice examples, tips and online activities. By inviting contributions from nursing academics, researchers and practitioners this text reflects the best of theory and practice.Each chapter discusses the policy and evidence base for each skill, so students know their practice is rigorous, before outlining a step-by-step description of that skill. 'Practice Example and Tips' boxes demonstrate how the skill can be used on placements. Students can develop their skills throughonline quizzes, scenarios and activities on a free dedicated Online Resource Centre, which also provides updates on evidence, clinical guidelines and protocols every six months.Clearly mapped against all the benchmarks expected by professional nursing bodies and suitable for all settings, Mental Health Nursing Skills provides a high quality and student friendly account of the skills that are required for nursing practice.
Call Number: 616.89 CAL
Publication Date: 2009
Health Promotion for Nurses by With the increase of chronic disease and pressure on health professionals to improve patient outcomes, the demand for skilled professionals in the field of health promotion is stronger than ever before. This timely text provides insight into the principles of health promotion, and enables the reader to translate them into practice. The book covers traditional health promotion concepts, and incorporates their use with chronic diseases. Furthermore, the authors cover program planning, implementation, and evaluation, and discuss practical applications of this process. This text helps bridge the gap between the theoretical and the practical, and provides professionals working in the field of health promotion the necessary tools to apply the skills in their practice. It contains case studies and exercises to provide examples of how theoretical concepts can be applied in real-life situations, and also includes chapter objectives, summaries, articles, key terms, and review questions to help guide readers through the material.This text is divided into four sections: -Health Promotion and Theory -Health Promotion in Action -Health Promotion and Evidence Based Practice -Resources for PracticeInstructor Resources include: -Suggested Answers for Case Studies -Review Questions -Ask Yourself Exercises -PowerPoint Presentations -Test Bank
Call Number: 610.73 CLA
Publication Date: 2012
Sociology for Nurses. 3rd edn. by Sociology for Nurses has become a leading textbook and an invaluable companion for students wishing to get to grips with how sociology can positively transform professional nursing practice. This thoroughly revised new edition maintains its commitment to providing jargon-free explanations of sociological theories and evidence to show how studying sociology can be useful in all branches of nursing. Readers will develop a clear understanding of what sociology is and why it is essential to practice, gain deeper awareness of social issues such as gender, ethnicity, class and the life course, and become more familiar with the social contexts of health policy and nursing as a profession. With updates in every chapter, the third edition includes a new chapter on research methods, a reorganized collection of chapters on health policy, extended coverage of long-term illness and disability, as well as contemporary case studies on topical healthcare issues such as dementia, the 'obesity epidemic' and recent attempts to integrate health and social care. In addition, the book provides clearly defined learning aims, a useful glossary of sociological concepts, structured activities and questions for discussion, and annotated suggestions for further reading. The editors and contributing authors to the book have a wealth of experience teaching sociology to nurses at diploma and degree pre-registration and post-registration levels. Their book will continue to spark interest and debate among all student nurses, particularly those approaching sociology for the first time. Please visit the accompanying website at: http://www.politybooks.com/sociologyfornurses.
Call Number: 610.73 DEN + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Care Planning in Mental Health by Care planning and delivery are essential parts of everydaypractice for all mental health practitioners. This new edition ofCare Planning in Mental Health: Promoting Recovery movesaway from a professionally-oriented model of care planning towardsthe active promotion of the personal narrative as being central toplanning effective mental health care. It outlines essentialconcepts linked to the recovery process which is carried out inpartnership with people with mental health problems and thoseclosest to them.
Call Number: 616.89 HAL + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Person-Centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care by Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care is a comprehensive and practical resource for all nurses and healthcare practitioners who want to develop person-centred ways of working. This second edition which builds on the original text Person Centred Nursing, has been significantly revised and expanded to provide a timely and topical exploration of an important subject which underpins all nursing and healthcare, edited by internationally renowned experts in the field. Person-centred Practice in Nursing and Health Care looks at the importance of person-centred practice (PCP) from a variety of practice, strategic, and policy angles, exploring how the principles of PCP underpin a variety of perspectives, including within leadership and in the curriculum. The book explores not only a range of methodologies, but also covers a variety of different healthcare settings and contexts, including working within mental health services, acute care, nursing homes, the community, and working with children and people with disabilities. Key features: Significantly updated and expanded since the previous edition, taking into account the considerable changes in recent health care advancements, including the 'Francis' report Builds on previous perspectives of person-centredness in nursing and applies them in a broader nursing and health care context Includes a stronger exploration on the role of the service-user Shows the use of life-story and narrative approaches as a way of putting the individual's identity at the heart of the care relationship Includes learning features such as links to current practice developments and reflective questions
Call Number: 610.6 MCC + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by Vital Notes for Nurses: Nursing Models, Theories and Practice provides a concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories and clearly outlines their relevance to everyday nursing practice. It encourages the reader to view theories from a broader conceptual base, enabling them to be more objective when it comes to clinical practice.
Suitable for nursing students and newly qualified nurses, the authors explore the relationship between nursing theories and practice, specifically analysing their origins, development, selection and use. It discusses how nursing theories evolve, how they relate to nursing roles, how to select a nursing theory relevant to your practice, and how to evaluate theories critically.
Call Number: 610.7301 MCK + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Nursing Older Adults by This timely textbook aims to provide adult nurses with the principles and practice insights needed to deliver exceptional care in partnership with older adults. Written by a world renowned author team and includes contributions by older people, ensuring their needs and concerns about nursing care are reflected across the book. This important book:
Considers the social perspectives, wider issues and themes, such as ageism, policy, services and demographics
Evaluates daily activities and needs, including: mobility, nutrition, communication, sexuality and leisure
Features scenarios based on real situations and narratives from older people
Examines the use of affirmative language to promote wellbeing and dignity when nursing older adults
Nursing Older Adults will help nurses to better appreciate the experiences and strengths of older people. The book emphasises the importance of undertaking a collaborative approach when shaping the care that older people receive in a variety of healthcare settings.
Call Number: 618.970231 REE + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Critical reflection in practice: generating knowledge for care by The terms 'critical reflection' and 'reflective practice' are at the heart of modern healthcare. But what do they really mean?
Building on its ground-breaking predecessor, entitled Critical Reflection for Nursing and the Helping Professions, this heavily revised second edition analyses and explores reflection. It presents a structured method that will enable you to both challenge and develop your own practice.
This book is the essential guide to critical reflection for all students, academics and practitioners.
Call Number: 610.7301 ROL
Publication Date: 2010
Psychological Interventions in Mental Health Nursing by This ground-breaking and accessible book is the ideal resource for trainee and qualified mental health nurses looking for a guide to the main psychological therapies and interventions available in practice.
Framed by the Nursing and Midwifery Council''s (2010) standards for pre-registration nursing education and written by experts in the field, the book explains which interventions are most effective for each of the most common mental health disorders. It also shows you how these interventions work in practice and illustrates the skills required to use them in your own practice.
The book also:
Provides a practical and pragmatic approach to the delivery of psychological interventions
Promotes collaboration, effective risk management and consideration of the value-base of mental health nursing practice
Encourages critically reflective learning through use of scenarios and interactive quizzes
Considers the influence of policies and guidelines
Particular attention is paid to the ethical context of psychological interventions and to the use of psychological interventions by newly qualified mental health nurses. The book challenges you to question your underlying beliefs, values and assumptions.
Bursting with examples based on real practitioners'' experiences, this is a must have book for pre-registration mental health nursing students and qualified mental health nurses looking to develop their therapeutic skills and understanding.
Call Number: 616.8914 SMI
Publication Date: 2012
Introduction to Mental Health Nursing by This engaging new textbook provides a student focused introduction to the main issues and themes in mental health nursing. The book requires no previous knowledge and the content has been carefully chosen to reflect the most significant aspects of this important and rewarding area of nursing.
The book includes specific chapters on:
Social inclusion and the Ten Essential Shared Capabilities.
Mental health promotion
Mental health at different stages of the life course
Physical health issues in mental health settings
Mental health law
Therapeutic interventions, specifically Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) and psychoanalytic/psychodynamic approaches
The concept of recovery
Scenarios and exercises are used to demonstrate integration of theory and practice. These can be easily linked to your placement experience and overall learning and development. Readers are encouraged to develop an analytical and investigative approach to their studies.
Other important areas covered in the book include the National Service Framework (NSF) for Mental Health, the Care Programme Approach (CPA) and the Tidal Model of mental health nursing.
Call Number: 616.89 WRY + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Health Studies. 2nd edn. by This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume. Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies.
Call Number: 362.1 NAI + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Nursing Care and the Activities of Living. 2nd edn. by This book gives a practical focus to the underpinning theory of nursing in order to help students through the academic part of their undergraduate course as well as their placement. The book is based on the activities of living model so each activity has its own chapter, allowing readers to dip in and out. It is essential reading for students, enabling them to understand and manage the many clinical issues they face on a daily basis when nursing adults on wards, in clinics and in the community setting.
Call Number: 610.73 PEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2009