A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care by
Have you heard of 'evidence-based practice' but don't know what it means?
Are you struggling with relating evidence to your practice?
Do you want a straight forward, clearly written and practical guide to evidence-based practice?
This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence-based practice is, how to relate it to practice or use it in academic work. Fully updated in this brand new edition, this book uses simple and easy to understand language to help those new to the topic. It provides a step by step guide to what we mean by evidence-based practice and how to apply this concept to your practice and learning.
This new edition features:
- Additional explanations with examples from health and social care practice, using a wider range of reviews and research
- Inclusion of contemporary issues such as predatory journals, use of social media and rapid reviews
- Practical solutions to the challenges of using more and better evidence in busy practice settings and in academic work
- Revised and expanded useful web links highlighted throughout the book
- Clearer explanations of difficult research terms and an updated glossary
- New end-of-chapter quizzes to help assess how much you have learned
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is key reading for both students and professionals who need to search for, appraise and apply evidence in nursing, allied health care or social care.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses 3d edn. by
This ideal starter text for student nurses makes pharmacology less intimidating by focusing on the knowledge needed at pre-registration level in order to practice as a newly qualified nurse.
Noted for its clear layout and jargon-free language, this updated edition introduces pharmacology in a friendly, informative way. The book does not assume previous knowledge of pharmacology, or a level of confidence with maths and drugs calculations.
This new edition has been carefully expanded to include a new chapter introducing drug calculations and measurements as well as more detail on drugs used in chronic conditions, as well as more on pharmacology for the older patient and for other specific groups such as children, pregnant women or those with minor illness. More case scenarios have been added to encourage nurses to apply knowledge to a range of different people with a range of needs.
Mental Health Law in England and Wales 2nd edn. by
This revised second edition is a complete guide to the Mental Health Act 1983, as amended by the 2007 Act, and is a comprehensive and up-to-date reference work for any mental health professional - from social workers and occupational therapists, to GPs and nurses. It will also be of value to patients and their elatives and carers. Featuring clear guidance on how mental health law operates in practice, this book also describes in close detail how people can be admitted to psychiatric hospital or treated within the community. This revised second edition contains important updates including the Mental Health Tribunal Practice Directions and the recent introduction of the Care Quality Commission and the Health Inspectorate (Wales). The 2007 amendment to the Mental Health Act provides a legal basis for informal admission, compulsory admission (sometimes referred to as 'sectioning'), as well as guardianship and the new Community Treatment Order, and this too is covered and explained. Also dealt with are the provisions for mentally disordered offenders who may come into mental health services via the courts or by being transferred from prison. Written by a Solicitor, a Mental Health Act Commissioner and an Approved Social Worker with working experience of putting the law into practice, this book includes: " The full text of the main body of the Mental Health Act (as amended) , as well as the relevant rules and regulations. " Practical advice and checklists for working with the Act. " Updated Case Law and relevant case examples to illustrate key points.
Handbook of Psychosocial Interventions with Older Adults by
In the past decade, evidence based practice (EBP) has emerged as one of the most important movements to improve the effectiveness of clinical care. As the number of older adults continues to grow, it is essential that practitioners have knowledge of effective strategies to improve both the medical and the psychosocial aspects of older persons' lives. The purpose of this work is to present systematic reviews of research-based psychosocial interventions for older adults and their caregivers. The interventions presented focus on a variety of critical issues facing older adults today including medical illnesses (cardiac disease, diabetes, arthritis/pain, cancer, and HIV/AIDS), mental health/cognitive disorders (depression/anxiety, dementia, substance abuse), and social functioning (developmental disabilities, end-of-life, dementia caregivers, grandparent caregivers). For each of these areas the prevalence of the problem, the demographics of those affected, and the nature and consequences of the problem are discussed. The empirical literature is then reviewed. A treatment summary highlights the type and nature of research supporting the interventions reviewed and is followed by a conclusion section that summarizes the status of intervention research for the specified issue. A Treatment Resource Appendix for each area is included. These appendices highlight manuals, books, articles and web resources that detail the treatment approaches and methodologies discussed. This book was previously published as a special issue of the Journal of Gerontological Social Work.
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by
Provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law, helping them to better understand the legal obligations they face, and leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice. Written in clear and straightforward language, the book covers issues such as equality and human rights, confidentiality, negligence, disability, children's rights and mental health. It is also supported by insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law to nursing and how it underpins practice. New to this edition: · Fully mapped to the latest NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · New chapter covering death, dying and organ donation · Updated to take account of the Deprivation of Liberty Act · New content covering GDPR, Social Media and Safeguarding of Adults and Children
Complementary and Alternative Treatments in Mental Health Care by
The widespread use of nonconventional treatments, or complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), and the increasing evidence supporting their therapeutic benefits call for a concerted scientific effort to integrate treatments that work into mainstream medicines.
Answering that call is the groundbreaking Complementary and Alternative Treatments in Mental Health Care, a concise, practical reference that reviews the many CAM approaches used in North America and Europe to treat -- or self-treat -- mental health problems, and the history and rationale for a variety of CAM treatments, including the risks and benefits of their integration into mainstream mental health care. Two dozen contributors with both conventional and nonconventional expertise present current information about safe, effective mental health treatments -- including herbals and other natural products, stress management, homeopathy, Ayurveda, and traditional Chinese medicine -- that have not yet been fully examined or endorsed by the institutions of conventional biomedicine. This book: * Covers background issues, including conceptual and historical foundations, emerging ideas and trends, safety issues, potential drug interactions and adverse effects, and medical-legal issues pertaining to use of nonconventional treatments in mental health care.* Reviews the evidence and offers practical clinical guidelines for the most widely used nonconventional treatments. Twelve chapters cover specific nonconventional modalities or alternative professional systems of medicine currently used to treat mental illness, addressing historical uses of the specified modality, significant recent research findings, unresolved safety issues, and evidence supporting use of the specified approach in common psychiatric disorders, from major depressive and bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and generalized anxiety disorder to obsessive-compulsive disorder, dementia, and sleep and substance abuse disorders. Practical clinical applications of complementary and alternative approaches are discussed throughout the book.* Closes with three appendixes and a subject and author index. Appendix A ranks evidence for the various treatment modalities by major psychiatric disorder and is cross-referenced with the material in Part II. Appendix B lists important Web sites, textbooks, professional associations, and other resources. Appendix C contains a glossary of key terms used in complementary and alternative medicine.
Written for both conventionally and nonconventionally trained mental health care professionals, Complementary and Alternative Treatments in Mental Health Care provides both an ideal reference for clinicians whose patients inquire about the uses of many CAM therapies and a critical, balanced review of the nonconventional modalities most widely used in Western countries to treat mental or emotional problems.
Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by
A concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories, this new edition of Fundamentals of Nursing Models, Theories & Practice provides a thorough overview of the body of knowledge on the topic, and a clear outline of their relevance to everyday nursing practice. Linking the development of theory to practice, this full-updated text features learning outcomes, key concept summaries and reflective exercises to aid the study of this key element of all modern nursing courses. Special Features Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles Accessible and user-friendly with a range of features to help study, including key concepts, learning objectives and reflective exercises Useful for all pre-registration nursing students, as well as newly qualified nurses Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring case studies, multiple choice questions, exercises and activities
Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by
Vital Notes for Nurses: Nursing Models, Theories and Practice provides a concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories and clearly outlines their relevance to everyday nursing practice. It encourages the reader to view theories from a broader conceptual base, enabling them to be more objective when it comes to clinical practice.
Suitable for nursing students and newly qualified nurses, the authors explore the relationship between nursing theories and practice, specifically analysing their origins, development, selection and use. It discusses how nursing theories evolve, how they relate to nursing roles, how to select a nursing theory relevant to your practice, and how to evaluate theories critically.
Introduction to Health Psychology. 4th edn. by
This fourth edition retains the highly praised approach of previous editions, with each chapter providing an overview of the theory and research before moving on to explore applications and intervention practice. The primary goals of health psychologists are to describe, predict and then to intervene and this book continues to reflect that process.
Public Health and Health Promotion by
The aim of this book is to identify the difficulties of working for health - a challenge which health service providers in the UK and elsewhere have to face and expect health care professionals to address. Professionals in this area are increasingly having to shift their attention from health promotion to the broader public health arena. To do this poses specific problems - linking theory and practice, identifying and evidence base and establishing guiding principles and values on which practice should be based. The new edition will continue the emphasis on examples from practitioners work which was popular in the first edition but will enhance this aspect by including a much wider range of case study material reflecting the diversity of health promotion practice. All the case studies will be accompanied by commentaries from the authors allowing the reader to see the relevance to their own practice.
Mental Health Nursing by
This new edition of Mental Health Nursing: an evidence-based approach has been fully updated to include the latest research-based guidance. A wide variety of client problems is covered with , so that students are assured that what they learn is underpinned by a sound evidence base for treatment, and qualified mental health nurses can be confident that their practice is informed by the most up-to-date research. Skills acquisition is emphasised and experiential exercises encourage connections between theory and practice.
Citizenship and Mental Health by
More than 50 years ago, President Kennedy gave an address to congress that launched the community mental health movement in the U.S. This movement involved a vast and complex effort to replace the wholesale institutionalization of people with serious mental illnesses with community mentalhealth centers, public education on mental illness, and prevention efforts. The mission and main thrust of this new movement, however, were quite simple: we would provide effective mental health treatment to people in their home communities and provide the conditions for them to have "a life in thecommunity."Starting in the 1990s with Jim, a person who was homeless and initially refused help from outreach workers, Citizenship and Mental Health tells a 20-year story of practice, theory, and research to support the full participation of persons with mental illnesses who, in many cases, have also beenhomeless, have criminal charges in their past, and are poor. As the first of its kind, this book addresses the concept of citizenship as an applied theory for fulfilling the promise of the community mental health center movement. Citizenship is defined as a strong connection to the 5 R's of rights,responsibilities, roles, resources, and relationships that society offers to its members, and a sense of belonging that comes from others' recognition of one's valued membership in society. The citizenship model supports the strengths, hopes, and aspirations of people with mental illnesses to becomeneighbors, community members, and citizens.
Psychological Interventions in Mental Health Nursing by
This ground-breaking and accessible book is the ideal resource for trainee and qualified mental health nurses looking for a guide to the main psychological therapies and interventions available in practice.
Framed by the Nursing and Midwifery Council''s (2010) standards for pre-registration nursing education and written by experts in the field, the book explains which interventions are most effective for each of the most common mental health disorders. It also shows you how these interventions work in practice and illustrates the skills required to use them in your own practice.
The book also:
Provides a practical and pragmatic approach to the delivery of psychological interventions
Promotes collaboration, effective risk management and consideration of the value-base of mental health nursing practice
Encourages critically reflective learning through use of scenarios and interactive quizzes
Considers the influence of policies and guidelines
Particular attention is paid to the ethical context of psychological interventions and to the use of psychological interventions by newly qualified mental health nurses. The book challenges you to question your underlying beliefs, values and assumptions.
Bursting with examples based on real practitioners'' experiences, this is a must have book for pre-registration mental health nursing students and qualified mental health nurses looking to develop their therapeutic skills and understanding.
Theories for mental health nursing: a guide for practice by
An understanding of the theories that shape and define mental health policy and practice is essential for every mental health nurse. This book gives you the knowledge you need to understand those complex and varying theories, concepts and approaches. It helps you to deconstruct mental health and become a critical practitioner by drawing on a wealth of literature and research. Topics covered include cognitive behavioural therapy, recovery, risk and critical theories.
Handbook of Mental Health Nursing by
A concise and user-friendly guide, Handbook of Mental Health Nursing helps nursingnbsp;students learn the essential skills required for practice. This practical handbook is informed by an interdisciplinary understanding of mental health problems and the recovery from mental health difficulties. Features: Highlights case studies and draws on narratives of patient experience to help caregivers make educated decisions in partnership with service users Focuses on assessment, classification, models of therapeutic practice, specific mental health problems and needs, and the organization of care Use a values-based approach integrating evidence-based data with service users' perceptions Presents case studies and participant narratives throughout Includes practical exercises designed to develop skills and understanding in person-centred care This book is an essential purchase for all students and educators in mental health nursing and related health and social care fields.
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by
Like its predecessors, this new edition offers a balanced introduction to the human body especially developed to meet the needs of the one-semester course. It provides an effective blend of stunning art and clearly written text to illuminate the complexities of the human body. Class-tested pedagogy is woven into the narrative and figures to ensure that students gain a solid understanding of the material.
Introduction to the Human Body by
This updated edition offers a balanced introduction to the complexities of the human body. Class-tested pedagogy and figures are seamlessly woven into the narrative to ensure that students gain a solid understanding of the material. Outstanding visual elements provide students with greater clarity and a more engaging learning experience of the structure, functions and organ systems of the body.
Recovery by
In this book the author charts the journey of recovery from severe and disabling mental health problems. The book's optimistic tone challenges the prevailing notion that recovery is an outcome open only to a minority. It describes the necessary transformation of mental health services into a recovery culture. At the heart of the book are five recovery stories which are a testament to the indomitable nature of the human spirit that enables us to rise above adversity. It is these themes that mental health professionals must engage with if they are to be guides and companions to people on their recovery journeys.
Risk Assessment and Management in Mental Health Nursing by
Risk assessment and management is a core element of mental health practice, and all nurses need to be aware of the risks surrounding them and their patients in order to create a safe working environment. This timely and accessible text explores how nurses can enhance their skills, and improve their practice so that risk is assessed and managed safely and effectively. Risk Assessment and Management in Mental Health Nursing explores issues including context and definitions of risk, risk assessment tools and techniques, strategies for preventing risk situations, suicide, self-harm, neglect, forensic aspects of risk, substance misuse, ethical considerations, , victimology, risk to others and risk to self. Special Features: Written in the context of latest policy developments such as the National Service Frameworks Discusses the role of the mental health nurse in the assessment and management of risk Explores an increasingly important and timely subject in mental health practice Practical focus, with case studies throughout Written by experts in the field.
Contexts of Contemporary Nursing by
A wide variety of factors impact on the scope of nursing practice, including government policies, organisational structures, the media, education, future healthcare directions and service users themselves. It is an NMC requirement that nurses understand these factors in order to deliver quality care. This book provides a clear and practical introduction to these contexts for the new nursing student. The new edition (formerly ′Nursing in Contemporary Healthcare Practice′) has been revised to cover the organisational structures that students will find themselves working in, the various bodies involved in healthcare policy and the big issues in current and future healthcare delivery.