Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Nursing Theory 4: Evidenced based contemporary practice reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Essential Reading (to purchase)
Leadership in Health Care by This new and updated fourth edition responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today by introducing you to the key skills needed to become an effective and inspiring healthcare leader, whatever level you are working at.Designed to guide you through a structured approach to improving your leadership and management skills, this book uses case studies, practical examples, and reflective questions to help you engage with every aspect of leadership. From teamwork, communication, and problem-solving, to emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection, and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated to incorporate the latest NMC Standards of proficiency for nurses A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Online resources for teaching and learning, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions Suitable for all professions allied to medicine, including students of adult, mental health, children and learning disability nursing and midwifery, as well as nursing associates, specialist community public health nurses, physician associates, paramedic sciences, and more.
Call Number: 362.1068 BAR
Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by Do your students find research difficult to engage with or want a textbook that is easy to read? Right from the start of their programme it is crucial for nursing students to be able to understand and evaluate current research to support their learning. This book helps students recognise what good research is by providing an introductory guide to the main research methodologies used in nursing. It simplifies complex terminology and puts research into context for nursing students, with clear examples and case studies. Key features · Written in clear, easy to follow language · Each chapter is linked to relevant NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters · A companion website with 9 podcasts to bring topics from the book to life.
Call Number: 610.73072 ELL
Publication Date: 2016
The Research Process in Nursing by Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process inNursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to knowabout research methods. This established textbook reflects thesignificant advances in nursing research and the importance ofevidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource forboth the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which linkstheory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety ofresearch concepts to theoretical learning and professionalpractice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from arange of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USAand Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, whichclearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursingstudents, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detailto be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
Call Number: 610.73072 GAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
How to Read a Paper by Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Call Number: 610.72 GRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice Skills by To deliver safe and effective patient care student nurses need to find, critique, and use evidence in every day nursing decisions and academic work, Consequently they need a new textbook that goes further than simply explaining research methods. Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Skills has beendeveloped as a one stop shop for research theory and evidence based practice skills for all aspects of the pre-registration nursing course - in both the classroom and on clinical placement.Taking a logical approach, the authors introduce the role of evidence based practice in nursing before explaining how research is produced and how students can find, read and critique it in order to make informed care decisions. Theory is applied to both academic and clinical work so readers caneasily see how to weigh up the evidence before applying it to a nursing decision. Useful for the entire undergraduate course, the content is mapped against the skills required of registered nurses and includes practical advice for completing final year academic assignments.Written in an easy to read, student friendly manner the authors have brought together trustworthy and reliable advice in a way that's easy to dip into any time you need it- from writing an assignment, devising a nursing plan, documenting your placement learning outcomes, or finding advice ondisseminating evidence for practice. This book has been truly designed to help student nurses become evidence based practitioners and to develop their nursing practice.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Nursing Evidence -Based Practice Skills features:* Practical tools such as checklists and notes to help students to really put the theory into practice* Web links to authoritative sources of research will quickly direct students to the best evidence* Hyperlinked bibliographies mean readers can easily access the referenced articles in the book* Audio interviews will put the subject in to context* Our interactive glossary will help newcomers to the subject to understand the language of research
Call Number: 610.73072 HOL
Publication Date: 2010
Clinical Governance by Clinical Governance: A Guide to Implementation for HealthcareProfessionals provides a comprehensive overview of what ismeant by clinical governance and how it can be implemented inpractice. It explores the evolution of clinical governance, its keycomponents, legal implications, the barriers to implementing it,and its impact. Clinical Governance provides step-by-step practicaladvice, facilitating better understanding of the key principles ofclinical governance. This third edition has been fully updatedthroughout to incorporate a more integrated approach to achievingclinical governance, with an additional chapter on education andtraining. Each chapter includes reflective questions, activitiesand case studies taken from clinical practice as well as a fulllist of references and further reading.
Call Number: 362.1068 MCS + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Medicines Management in Mental Health Nursing by Medicines are a crucial part of the jigsaw when considering how to provide recovery-focussed care in mental health. It is important that mental health nurses understand how psychiatric drugs work, what the common treatments are and appreciate the ethical and legal dimensions that affect how medicines can and should be used in mental health care. Using innovative activities and real-life case studies, this book has been carefully designed to provide all this and more making it the ideal resource to build knowledge and confidence in this crucial area of practice. Key features · Clear explanations of both the underlying biology and pharmacology as well as the wider practicalities of working with medicines · Provides accessible information on the most common conditions and treatments · Linked to the NMC standards and essential skills clusters · Activities and case studies help students to apply what they have learnt to practice and consider the full impact that medicines will have on service users
Call Number: 616.8918 MUT
Publication Date: 2017
Nursing Research by Learning about research can be a daunting task. This best-selling core text book offers a comprehensive introduction to important research concepts, processes and issues. The author guides readers who are new to research but also introduces new debates and perspectives to those with some experience wanting to develop their skills further. This popular book equips students with the information and skills they need to read, comprehend and critique research. Whether an undergraduate taking an introductory research module, a postgraduate nursing student embarking on a project, or an experienced practitioner wanting to sharpen your skills, Parahoo's accessible writing style will ensure readers are able to utilise research throughout their study and in everyday practice.
Call Number: 610.73072 PAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Mental Health Nursing by Do you want to know how to help people with mental health problems? This book introduces you to the core skills and essential knowledge you need to deliver high-quality care. Mental Health Nursing is a practical, values- and evidence-based resource which will guide and support you through your pre-registration mental health nursing programme and into your own practice. Dedicated chapters focus on the major mental health problems, and are clearly structured so that you can quickly and easily identify what you want learn about helping people with, for example, depression, anxiety, psychosis, or acute mental health problems. The most up-to-date theories, as well as mental health policies and law from all four countries of the UK, are explained accessibly by experienced lecturers and nurse practitioners who show you through real-life case scenarios how you can use your newly-acquired knowledge and skills to deliver high-quality care yourself. You will also be encouraged - through regular reflection and discussion points - to see things with a critical eye and to engage in and drive on the debates that make mental health nursing such an exciting field to be studying and working in. Set within a framework which emphasises and makes clear the core skills, values and knowledge-base you need to become capable mental health nurse, you will find this book a vital companion as you progress through your studies and onto helping people confidently in everyday life.
Call Number: 616.890231 PRY
Publication Date: 2011
Clinical Judgement and Decision Making in Nursing by Clinical decision-making is an indispensable facet of professional nursing care. It is essential that students develop sound decision-making skills in order to deal with the challenges they will encounter as registered nurses. This book enables pre-registration nursing students to understand, develop and apply these skills in order to practise safely and effectively. The structure of the book helps the student progress in effective decision-making right from the first to final year of their programme. The book links theory to previous students' experiences and clinical scenarios to show how to use these skills in practice.Transforming Nursing Practice is a series tailor made for pre-registration student nurses. Each book in the series is: Affordable Mapped to the NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters Focused on applying theory to practice Full of active learning features
Call Number: 610.73 STA
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Mental Health Nursing by A concise and user-friendly guide, Handbook of Mental Health Nursing helps nursingnbsp;students learn the essential skills required for practice. This practical handbook is informed by an interdisciplinary understanding of mental health problems and the recovery from mental health difficulties. Features: Highlights case studies and draws on narratives of patient experience to help caregivers make educated decisions in partnership with service users Focuses on assessment, classification, models of therapeutic practice, specific mental health problems and needs, and the organization of care Use a values-based approach integrating evidence-based data with service users' perceptions Presents case studies and participant narratives throughout Includes practical exercises designed to develop skills and understanding in person-centred care This book is an essential purchase for all students and educators in mental health nursing and related health and social care fields.
Call Number: 616.89 TEE + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Nursing and Mental Health Care by Improving mental health for all is increasingly important in nursing as more people suffer from mental health issues, ranging from stress through to diagnosed illnesses. It is crucial that all nurses, not just mental health nurses, are aware of mental health problems and the impact these have on patients, families and carers. This book gives a clear overview of mental health in nursing, relevant for all fields of practice. It explains the core features of the mental health nursing field, and explores aspects of mental health that every nurse should understand in order to provide holistic care to their patients.
Call Number: 616.890231 TRE
Publication Date: 2011
Planning Care in Mental Health Nursing by This practical text provides a systematic overview of the process of planning care for specific client groups and interventions. It draws on the experience of good practice, and explores areas such as assessment process, theoretical framework, practice development and the skills necessary to plan care.
Call Number: 616.89 TUM
Publication Date: 2004
Engaging Reflection in Practice by Engaging reflection in practice: a narrative approachdevelops Chris Johns? existing models and ideas for activelyengaging in reflective practice and demonstrates their applicationto holistic practice and everyday nursing care. Central to thisbook is a narrative account building on extracts from hisreflective journal over a period of two years, which enables thereader to fully understand what being a reflective practitionerinvolves, how it evolves and how reflective practice influencespractice over time. Part 1 addresses the nature of reflective practice and holisticcare and explores how the author developed his narrative account inpart 2. Either part may be read independently of the other.
Call Number: 610.7301 JOH
Publication Date: 2006
Critical reflection in practice: generating knowledge for care by The terms 'critical reflection' and 'reflective practice' are at the heart of modern healthcare. But what do they really mean? Building on its ground-breaking predecessor, entitled Critical Reflection for Nursing and the Helping Professions, this heavily revised second edition analyses and explores reflection. It presents a structured method that will enable you to both challenge and develop your own practice. This book is the essential guide to critical reflection for all students, academics and practitioners.
Call Number: 610.7301 ROL
Publication Date: 2010