Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Nursing Theory 5: Preparing for Professional Practice reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Essential Reading (to purchase)
Leadership in Health Care by This new and updated fourth edition responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today by introducing you to the key skills needed to become an effective and inspiring healthcare leader, whatever level you are working at.Designed to guide you through a structured approach to improving your leadership and management skills, this book uses case studies, practical examples, and reflective questions to help you engage with every aspect of leadership. From teamwork, communication, and problem-solving, to emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection, and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated to incorporate the latest NMC Standards of proficiency for nurses A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Online resources for teaching and learning, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions Suitable for all professions allied to medicine, including students of adult, mental health, children and learning disability nursing and midwifery, as well as nursing associates, specialist community public health nurses, physician associates, paramedic sciences, and more.
Call Number: 362.1068 BAR
Publication Date: 2019
The Primacy of Caring by First-person accounts from practising nurses provide students with role models in this text that focuses on patients responses to stress.
Call Number: 610.73019 BEN
Publication Date: 1989
Making Health Policy. 2nd edn by "This comprehensive and practical text provides a clear introduction to health policy analysis ... The book combines an overview of the theoretical base of the field with a range of real world examples drawn from different settings ... It is widely recognised as an essential text of international relevance, for students and practitioners alike. I highly recommend it to the new generation of activist-scholars in the field." Lucy Gilson, Professor of Health Policy and Systems, University of Cape Town, South Africa Part of the Understanding Public Health series, this bestselling book is the leading text in the field. It focuses on how health policy is made nationally and globally, clearly explaining the key concepts from political science with a wide array of engaging examples. This edition is fully updated to reflect new research and ways of thinking about the health policy process. Written by leading experts, this clear and accessible book addresses the "how" of health policy making in a range of international settings. The book provides an accessible approach to understanding: Health policy analysis Power and policy making Public and private sector Agenda setting Government roles in policy Interest groups and policy Policy implementation Globalization and policy process Policy research and evaluation Doing policy analysis Making Health Policy 2nd edition is an ideal resource for students of public health and health policy, public health practitioners and policy makers. Understanding Public Health is an innovative series published by Open University Press in collaboration with the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine. It provides self-directed learning covering the major issues in public health affecting low, middle and high-income countries. Series Editors: Rosalind Plowman and Nicki Thorogood. "This book is excellent and unique in the way it addresses complexity within the field of global health and policies in a simplified and practical way. Each chapter is structured to include Activities and Feedback, which fosters reflection and adult learning. This approach makes the book ideal for teaching at all levels of university. I highly recommend it." Göran Tomson, Professor of International Health Systems Research, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden "This is an excellent and accessible introduction to the politics of health policy-making by three of the world''s leading scholars on the subject. If anyone thinks that improving the health of a population is solely about getting the interventions and policy content right, this book will surely disavow them of that belief. Political dynamics matter, and the authors draw on the most up-to-date research to provide practitioners and students with clear, sensible, evidence-based guidance on how to manage these dynamics." Jeremy Shiffman, Associate Professor of Public Administration and Policy, American University, USA. "Making Health Policy is a must-read for those studying and working in global health. It provides a unique introduction to core concepts in global health policy and brings politics to the core of public health. Why do some issues get more attention than others? Why is evidence-based policy-making so difficult? How can we understand and study power in the health system? This book provides answers to these crucial questions." Devi Sridhar, James Martin Lecturer in Global Health Politics, Oxford University, UK "Having used the earlier edition of this book, I would highly recommend it. The book provides an outstanding mix of policy theories, described in clear and accessible terms, with up-to-date and engaging examples from across the world that illustrate the application of those theories. Frequent activities throughout the book provide openings for greater student engagement in the subject matter. It''s a great resource for teaching." Sara Bennett, Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, USA "This book is an excellent teaching tool on policy making in the field of public health. It is very clearly structured and written, and provides a wealth of concrete examples to illustrate new concepts ... One of the key strengths is to highlight the political nature of health policy making, not presenting it as a technocratic process, but very much part of power dynamics at the local, national and global level." Chantal Blouin, Associate Director, Centre for Trade Policy and Law, Carleton University/University of Ottawa, Canada "A great introduction and reference for health policy students, offering clear and concise explication of key theories about policy-making and applied to the health sector. This book unravels the complex world of health politics and decision-making, making it comprehensible for many who have difficulty understanding the system they work in, or aspire to enter the world of health policy to make a difference." Professor Vivian Lin, School of Public Health, La Trobe University, Australia
Call Number: 362.1 BUS + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Lean Hospitals by Organizations around the world are using Lean to redesign care and improve processes in a way that achieves and sustains meaningful results for patients, staff, physicians, and health systems. Lean Hospitals, Third Edition explains how to use the Lean methodology and mindsets to improve safety, quality, access, and morale while reducing costs, increasing capacity, and strengthening the long-term bottom line. This updated edition of a Shingo Research Award recipient begins with an overview of Lean methods. It explains how Lean practices can help reduce various frustrations for caregivers, prevent delays and harm for patients, and improve the long-term health of your organization. The second edition of this book presented new material on identifying waste, A3 problem solving, engaging employees in continuous improvement, and strategy deployment. This third edition adds new sections on structured Lean problem solving methods (including Toyota Kata), Lean Design, and other topics. Additional examples, case studies, and explanations are also included throughout the book. Mark Graban is also the co-author, with Joe Swartz, of the book Healthcare Kaizen: Engaging Frontline Staff in Sustainable Continuous Improvements, which is also a Shingo Research Award recipient. Mark and Joe also wrote The Executive's Guide to Healthcare Kaizen.
Call Number: 362.11068 GRA + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Building the Reflective Healthcare Organisation by Healthcare organisations have to manage change in order to evolve and improve care. This book explores the use of reflective practice as a practical tool to examine growth and change and to develop an effective health care organisation.
Call Number: 362.1068 GHA + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Guide to Nursing Management and Leadership by The 8th edition of this popular text has been completely revised and updated to include the latest strategies for improving your nursing leadership and management skills. It offers in-depth coverage and practical management strategies for a wide range of workplace issues such as delegation, diversity, evidence-based practice, stress management, quality improvement, legal issues, and recruitment and retention. A detailed analysis of today's nursing environment prepares you to successfully manage in the midst of a nursing shortage and an emerging multigenerational workforce. UNIQUE! A logical organization of 15 chapters separated into leadership and management sections corresponds to the number of weeks in a typical semester. Complete coverage of management issues gives you a solid understanding of financial management, technology, nursing informatics, legal and ethical issues, error reduction, quality improvement, recruitment and retention, and personnel evaluation and development. In-depth discussions of key leadership concepts help you develop effective communication, stress management, and decision-making skills. Information on hot topics such as disaster management and bioterrorism keep you at the forefront of today's complex health care environment. A global approach to nursing management reflects an increasing emphasis on diversity and the evolving clinical environment. Thought-provoking quotations throughout each chapter help relate complex theories and issues to everyday practice. Major Concepts & Definitions boxes outline and summarize the most significant ideas presented in each chapter and help clarify new terminology. Research Perspective boxes in each chapter summarize key nursing management studies, with a consistent format that outlines the purpose, methods, results, and conclusions of each study. Evolve® companion website offers practice worksheets, critical thinking activities, and case studies that challenge you to apply new concepts to realistic practice scenarios. Updated two-color design highlights key information for easy reference. Information on succession planning helps you expand the process beyond simply replacing positions to identifying and nurturing a pool of potential candidates for future leadership success. Tables, boxes, and illustrations synthesize and streamline complex issues and theories for quick reference. Expanded online resources give you easy access to self-assessment questions, case studies, and critical thinking activities for further study outside of the classroom.
Call Number: 362.173068 MAR
Publication Date: 2008
Clinical Governance by Clinical Governance: A Guide to Implementation for HealthcareProfessionals provides a comprehensive overview of what ismeant by clinical governance and how it can be implemented inpractice. It explores the evolution of clinical governance, its keycomponents, legal implications, the barriers to implementing it,and its impact. Clinical Governance provides step-by-step practicaladvice, facilitating better understanding of the key principles ofclinical governance. This third edition has been fully updatedthroughout to incorporate a more integrated approach to achievingclinical governance, with an additional chapter on education andtraining. Each chapter includes reflective questions, activitiesand case studies taken from clinical practice as well as a fulllist of references and further reading.
Call Number: 362.1068 MCS + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Nursing in Partnership with Patients and Carers by Future healthcare services are changing to give patients more rights over their own healthcare. The NMC requires that nurses work in partnership with those in their care. This book provides a timely guide to enabling patient and carer participation in nursing care. It challenges the reader to see the person in the patient and explores the nature of the nurse-patient relationship. It gives practical advice on how students can promote participation on placements and in practice. The book also offers an insight into the realities of being a carer, and discusses how quality of patient experiences can be assessed.
Call Number: 610.730699 REE
Publication Date: 2011
Clinical Judgement and Decision Making in Nursing by Clinical decision-making is an indispensable facet of professional nursing care. It is essential that students develop sound decision-making skills in order to deal with the challenges they will encounter as registered nurses. This book enables pre-registration nursing students to understand, develop and apply these skills in order to practise safely and effectively. The structure of the book helps the student progress in effective decision-making right from the first to final year of their programme. The book links theory to previous students' experiences and clinical scenarios to show how to use these skills in practice.Transforming Nursing Practice is a series tailor made for pre-registration student nurses. Each book in the series is: Affordable Mapped to the NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters Focused on applying theory to practice Full of active learning features
Call Number: 610.73 STA
Publication Date: 2017
Handbook of Mental Health Nursing by A concise and user-friendly guide, Handbook of Mental Health Nursing helps nursingnbsp;students learn the essential skills required for practice. This practical handbook is informed by an interdisciplinary understanding of mental health problems and the recovery from mental health difficulties. Features: Highlights case studies and draws on narratives of patient experience to help caregivers make educated decisions in partnership with service users Focuses on assessment, classification, models of therapeutic practice, specific mental health problems and needs, and the organization of care Use a values-based approach integrating evidence-based data with service users' perceptions Presents case studies and participant narratives throughout Includes practical exercises designed to develop skills and understanding in person-centred care This book is an essential purchase for all students and educators in mental health nursing and related health and social care fields.
Call Number: 616.89 TEE + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Nursing Law and Ethics by Nursing Law and Ethics explores a variety of key legaland ethical issues in nursing practice using a thought-provokingand holistic approach. It addresses both what the lawrequires and what is right, and explores whether these two arealways the same. The book provides an overview of the legal, ethical andprofessional dimensions of nursing, followed by exploration of keyissues in greater depth. This edition features updatedlegislation and new material on patient safety. Key topics are accompanied by both a legal and an ethicalperspective, covering both law and ethics Case examples throughout place concepts in a real-lifecontext Written by experts in the field and includes contributions fromleading nurses, lawyers and ethicists Accessible, relevant, and comprehensive, this title is ideal forpre- and post-registration nurses.
Call Number: 344.041 TIN
Publication Date: 2013
Freedom to Change: Four Strategies to Put Your Inner Drive into Overdrive by Break free to make real change for yourself and others Have you ever felt like your progress was being blocked, not just by your own circumstances, but by the presence and actions of others? Freedom to Change releases you from the trap of constantly telling yourself that you'd be more successful at teaching, leading, or contributing to an organization if only others didn't stand in your way. In his engaging, irreverent style, bestselling author Michael Fullan explores the two kinds of freedom in our daily lives: freedom from obstacles versus freedom to take initiative and act. Gaining freedom from barriers has no value in itself until it is partnered with an equally determined sense of what you truly want. What change would you like to bring about for yourself or those around you? Given that human nature and productivity are fundamentally social, Fullan prescribes four dynamically interrelated actions we can take: Consciously seeking a balance between our own autonomy and cooperation with others Improving the feedback exchange'giving more valuable responses, as well as eliciting, hearing, and accepting feedback more effectively Building accountability to others into the fabric of our working lives Finding ways to influence others with the changes we've made and want to spread Illustrated and enriched with examples from education, business, and nonprofit sectors, Freedom to Change offers recommendations for both individuals and organizations seeking to enhance connectedness and independence.
Call Number: 650.1 FUL + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Psychology and Sociology in Nursing by This book explores sociology and psychology relevant to nursing and explains why it is so important to understand these disciplines in order to be a good nurse. It is written specifically for nursing students, and clearly explains the key concepts using nursing case studies and examples. Chapters move from individual and personal issues onto society as a whole and explore the psychological and sociological basis that underpins all aspects of nursing practice. Key features: All content linked to the sociological and psychological requirements in the NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Activities to help build critical thinking, independent learning and decision-making skills Case studies and scenarios that link sociological and psychological theory to nursing practice A key text for nursing students in all fields of practice
Call Number: 610.73019 GOO
Publication Date: 2019
Analytical Models for Decision Making by Health care systems are complex and, as a result, it is often unclear what the effects of changes in policy or service provision might be. At the same time, resources for health care tend to be in short supply, which means that public health practitioners have to make difficult decisions. This book describes the quantitative and qualitative methods that can help decision-makers to structure and clarify difficult problems and to explore the implications of pursuing different options. The accompanying CD ROM provides the opportunity to try out some of the proposed solutions. The book examines: Models and decision-making in health care Methods for clarifying complex decisions Models for service planning and resource allocation Modelling for evaluating changes in systems Series Editors: Rosalind Plowman and Nicki Thorogood.
Call Number: 362.1068 SAN + eBook
Publication Date: 2006