Mental Health Nursing Skills by
Mental Health Nurses require a diverse skills base to aid service users and their carers on their journey to recovery. During their training, students need to acquire and demonstrate skills to show that the care they provide is evidence-based and effective. Skills as diverse as assessment,forming therapeutic interactions, caring for physical and mental health needs as well as leadership and management, can be difficult to learn and master - until now!Mental Health Nursing Skills provides students with a highly evidence-based and practical account of the skills required for nursing practice. Written in response to the Chief Nursing Officer's review of Mental Health Nursing in England and that of the Scottish Executive, the authors translatetheory into clearly applied skills supported by practice examples, tips and online activities. By inviting contributions from nursing academics, researchers and practitioners this text reflects the best of theory and practice.Each chapter discusses the policy and evidence base for each skill, so students know their practice is rigorous, before outlining a step-by-step description of that skill. 'Practice Example and Tips' boxes demonstrate how the skill can be used on placements. Students can develop their skills throughonline quizzes, scenarios and activities on a free dedicated Online Resource Centre, which also provides updates on evidence, clinical guidelines and protocols every six months.Clearly mapped against all the benchmarks expected by professional nursing bodies and suitable for all settings, Mental Health Nursing Skills provides a high quality and student friendly account of the skills that are required for nursing practice.
Fundamentals of Mental Health Nursing by
In order to provide sound, person-centred care, mental health nursing students need a thorough understanding of theory alongside the ability to translate this knowledge into practice. It can be difficult to apply ideas from the classroom and books when learning how to work with mental healthservice users for the first time. That is why the theoretical aspects of this book are presented alongside realistic accounts of nursing practice.Fundamentals of Mental Health Nursing is a case-based and service user centred textbook for mental health nursing students. Designed to support students throughout their pre-registration studies, the text covers the essential knowledge required to provide high quality nursing care. Contributionsfrom real service users and cases of fictional clients are explored in detail to provide excellent transferable skills for practice.Dedicated chapters explore fundamental nursing skills and mental health law before providing a case-based exploration of the areas and subjects that will be encountered by students in university and placement. Practice-based chapters introduce students to the needs of a diverse range of fictionalclients and explain how the skills of communication, assessment, care planning and monitoring can be applied. Each chapter provides a sample care plan explaining why and how clinical decisions are made, so that students can develop their own skills and practice. The text opens with clear advice tohelp students succeed in their studies and concludes with a wealth of practical and thoughtful advice on becoming a professional and getting that first job.Online Resource Centre* Twenty one video clips of fictional service users demonstrate the application of theory and prepare students for real nursing practice* Quizzes, scenarios and a range of activities help students to apply their learning* Interactive glossary explains terminology and jargon* Sample CV's and self awareness exercises aid professional development
Person-Centred Nursing by
The concept of 'person-centredness' has become established in approaches to the delivery of healthcare, particularly with nursing, and is embedded in many international healthcare policy frameworks and strategic plans. This book explores person-centred nursing using a framework that has been derived from research and practice. Person-centred Nursing is a theoretically rigorous and practically applied text that aims to increase nurses' understanding of the principles and practices of person-centred nursing in a multiprofessional context. It advances new understandings of person-centred nursing concepts and theories through the presentation of an inductively derived and tested framework for person-centred nursing. In addition it explores a variety of strategies for developing person-centred nursing and presents case examples of the concept in action. This is a practical resource for all nurses who want to develop person-centred ways of working.
Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by
Vital Notes for Nurses: Nursing Models, Theories and Practice provides a concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories and clearly outlines their relevance to everyday nursing practice. It encourages the reader to view theories from a broader conceptual base, enabling them to be more objective when it comes to clinical practice. Suitable for nursing students and newly qualified nurses, the authors explore the relationship between nursing theories and practice, specifically analysing their origins, development, selection and use. It discusses how nursing theories evolve, how they relate to nursing roles, how to select a nursing theory relevant to your practice, and how to evaluate theories critically. Key Features: - Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles - Written in a clear, accessible style which assumes no prior knowledge - Useful to all nursing students on the common foundation programme as well as newly qualified nurses. - Each chapter includes features such as activities, case studies and learning objectives - In the Vital Notes for Nurses series
Health Promotion for Nurses by
Health promotion is an increasingly high profile aspect of a nurse's role - both in line with health policy and as nursing has shifted from a disease model to a health model. This textbook explores how and why health promotion works in nursing, developing a new framework for understanding the nurse's role and promoting evidence-based practice. Drawing on empirical research and discussing existing theories of health promotion and of nursing, Stewart Piper identifies three principal approaches: The Nurse as Behaviour Change Agent The Nurse as Strategic Practitioner The Nurse as Empowerment Facilitator The book describes the aims, processes, impact and outcomes of health promotion interventions in nursing for each of these models and identifies criteria for evaluating the associated nursing interventions - enabling clinical judgements about effective practice. Evidence-based examples demonstrate the relationship between health promotion theory and pragmatic applications for nursing throughout. Each chapter includes an introduction, learning outcomes and exercises, making this an essential book for all nursing students studying health promotion.
Nursing Older Adults by
"Never was a book like this more urgently needed. Its combination of authority and experience makes it especially valuable. Its wisdom is based on the knowledge and understanding of how growing frail really afflicts older people. We who have known independence and freedom need to have our lives respected. This book makes a good case for encouraging older people to enjoy as much autonomy as possible and to collaborate with their carers in keeping well. Those who nurse older people will find much sound help within these pages." Broadcaster and writer Dame Joan Bakewell "I am delighted to commend this book to you. Putting older people at the centre of their care and support is central in all good nursing care.However, this publication clearly demonstrates the changes to nursing practice that are needed to make this a reality for individual older people.At a time when the number of older people in our society is growing and, when their care is often unfavourable under the spotlight, this publication will provide an invaluable resource for nurses." Dame Christine Beasley, DBE, Chief Nursing Officer for England "Nurses have always known the importance of including the consumer''s voice into practice; however, this text takes this view to additional heights and incorporates the voice of the older person in true partnership as a book editor. This text makes an extraordinary contribution to scholarship and practice and is sure to be on most undergraduate and postgraduate nursing students "must have" list of texts." Wendy Moyle, PhD, RNDirector, Research Centre for Community Practice Innovation, Griffith University, Australia "A great book: giving a comprehensive insight in the fundamentals of working with older people and key issues in nursing older people... The voice of older people is vividly written in many examples and scenarios given. I recommend this book to nurses, care staff, all who are in the education and qualification sector and other stakeholders in elder care." Professor Dr. Barbara Klein, Fachhochschule Frankfurt am Main - University of Applied Sciences, Germany "This is exactly the book to choose when looking for a straightforward study book, and is particularly good for students and newly qualified nurses. The chapters are easy to dip into and the language is in layman''s terms. The further resources in the back of the book have some great links to specialist sites. Staff on the ward also found it useful despite their years of experience. I would strongly recommend this book." Susan Doyle, Student Nurse, Bangor University Wales, UK This timely textbook aims to provide adult nurses with the principles and practice insights needed to deliver exceptional care in partnership with older adults. Written by a world renowned author team and includes contributions by older people, ensuring their needs and concerns about nursing care are reflected across the book. This important book: Considers the social perspectives, wider issues and themes, such as ageism, policy, services and demographics Evaluates daily activities and needs, including: mobility, nutrition, communication, sexuality and leisure Features scenarios based on real situations and narratives from older people Examines the use of affirmative language to promote wellbeing and dignity when nursing older adults Nursing Older Adults will help nurses to better appreciate the experiences and strengths of older people. The book emphasises the importance of undertaking a collaborative approach when shaping the care that older people receive in a variety of healthcare settings. Contributors Serena Allan, Michael Bauer, Sheena E. E. Blair, Jo Booth, Mima Cattan, Charlotte Clarke, Amanda Clarke, Christine Brown Wilson, Angela Dickinson, Karen S. Dunn, Soong-Nang Jang, Diana Jones, Mike Nolan, Linda McAuliffe, Brendan McCormack,Patricia McGeever, Ann MacFarlane, Rhonda Nay, Bhanu Ramaswamy, Jan Reed, Isabell Reid and Debbie Tolson.
Critical Reflection in Practice by
The terms 'critical reflection' and 'reflective practice' are at the heart of modern healthcare. But what do they really mean? Building on its ground-breaking predecessor, entitled Critical Reflection for Nursing and the Helping Professions, this heavily revised second edition analyses and explores reflection. It presents a structured method that will enable you to both challenge and develop your own practice. This book is the essential guide to critical reflection for all students, academics and practitioners. New to this Edition: - Expanded to meet the needs of all healthcare practitioners - Redefines self-evaluation as a catalyst for personal and professional development - Fully updated edition of a respected book: now includes a chapter on the rise of professional knowledge
Psychological Interventions in Mental Health Nursing by
"This book provides excellent foundations in common psychological interventions that are used in mental health and other fields of nursing ... Each chapter uses a scenario, which helps to apply the concepts to the real world of providing healthcare. This is reinforced by the robust manner in which the text signposts readers to examples which they may use or test out in their day to day practice of mental health nursing." Paul Barber, Senior Lecturer, University of Chester, UK "This accessible scenario based text gets to the heart of how to effectively integrate psychological values and emotional intelligence with professional, ethical and cognitive skills to develop a meaningful collaborative therapeutic relationship with mental health service users and their families. The language, style, and format is engaging and linked to mental health field-specific competencies which all pre-registration mental health nurses must now achieve to graduate and register with the Nursing & Midwifery Council (NMC 2010)." Linda Cooper, Professional Head Mental Health Nursing, Learning Disability and Psychosocial Care, Cardiff University, UK (former Chair Mental Health Nurse Academics UK "This book takes you on a developmental journey of psychological interventions and provides a good grounding in the subject. It is one of few that successfully endeavours to preserve the true meaning of the service user''s experience whilst promoting the importance of clinical effectiveness and evidence base. This is an ideal text for student nurses and qualified practitioners ... and is particularly rewarding given the balance of authors from a clinical, academic and research background." Dr Joy A Duxbury, Head of Centre of Mental Health and Wellbeing, University of Central Lancashire, UK "Whether you struggle with mental health as a service user, or a student embarking on a career in mental health nursing, you will find this book accessible and useful ... It provides students and health professionals from a variety of backgrounds the opportunity to advance their knowledge and skills, and offers a developing and innovative approach that will place them at the forefront of mental health practice." Robert Walker, Fellow Member of the Institute of Mental Health and Associate Expert for the School of Inclusion and Communities, UK This ground-breaking and accessible book is the ideal resource for trainee and qualified mental health nurses looking for a guide to the main psychological therapies and interventions available in practice. Framed by the Nursing and Midwifery Council''s (2010) standards for pre-registration nursing education and written by experts in the field, the book explains which interventions are most effective for each of the most common mental health disorders. It also shows you how these interventions work in practice and illustrates the skills required to use them in your own practice. The book also: Provides a practical and pragmatic approach to the delivery of psychological interventions Promotes collaboration, effective risk management and consideration of the value-base of mental health nursing practice Encourages critically reflective learning through use of scenarios and interactive quizzes Considers the influence of policies and guidelines Particular attention is paid to the ethical context of psychological interventions and to the use of psychological interventions by newly qualified mental health nurses. The book challenges you to question your underlying beliefs, values and assumptions. Bursting with examples based on real practitioners'' experiences, this is a must have book for pre-registration mental health nursing students and qualified mental health nurses looking to develop their therapeutic skills and understanding. Contributors: Denise Aspinall, May Baker, Ged Carney, John Harrison, Paula Kennedy, Deborah Knott, Denise Parker, Karen Rea, James Ridley, Rebecca Rylance, Peter Simpson and Lisa Woods.
Psychology for Nurses and the Caring Professions by
"This beautifully written book ... clearly explains the application of psychological concepts and theories to health and succinctly summarises key issues. Each chapter also provides a series of vignettes capturing the kind of real-life situations health and social care professionals will encounter in their own practice and a set of thought-provoking exercises ... These will be invaluable in developing critical thinking skills and growing the capacity to provide the kind of empathic care which is the heart of person-centred practice" Dr Wendy Cousins, Course Director, University of Ulster School of Nursing, UK "I have recommended earlier editions of this book and now am delighted to say that this latest edition is even better. The authors continue to clearly explain the relevance of psychological theories, models and approaches to nursing care but now, through the use of frequent reflective activities, vignettes and a 'psychosoap' family, students are also highly encouraged to identify how the theory will help them to become the high quality holistic practitioners they desire to be." Anthony Duffy, Nurse Tutor, College of Human and Health Sciences, Swansea University, UK "This new edition embraces innovation in student learning. The use of the 'psychosoap' provides a structure which is meaningful and insightful. The chapter exercises have 'realworld' application and can be used to understand your own and others motivations, beliefs and values. Unlike many psychology texts ... this book offers real 'food for thought' and provides the building blocks which link theory to practice. It will also be a valuable resource for those who like to 'dip in' to a book." Philip Larkin, Professor of Clinical Nursing (Palliative Care), and Joint Chair, University College Dublin and Our Lady's Hospice & Care Services, Ireland "This new edition continues to improve the reader's experience, providing comprehensive insight into the complex subject of psychology. It is user friendly, underpinned by research findings and will enable the reader to apply its concepts personally and professionally. It is a text which is well designed for student use and application and it has employed a number of innovative features ... An excellent resource, which I would highly recommend." Siobhan McCullough, Lecturer, School of Nursing and Midwifery, Queen's University Belfast, UK This bestselling book enables those working in health and social care to learn and apply sound psychological principles in the delivery of excellent, evidence-based, patient-centred care. The emphasis throughout is on the promotion and maintenance of personal well-being and quality of life -for care professionals and those they care for. The new edition features a more engaging and user-friendly format and has been comprehensively revised and updated to reflect the latest psychological knowledge. Psychological principles are also clearly set out and summarised in ways that are easy to read and understand. The fourth edition includes: A unique focus on transferable knowledge and skills applicable in a variety of situations Exercises integrated throughout the text to consolidate learning Examples presented in the form of 'psychosoap' characters drawn from the authors' experiences in research and practice An emphasis on positive psychology and promotion of resilience in the management of stress and negative emotions Reviews of recent advances in cognitive science and issues related to communication Psychology for Nurses and the Caring Professions is a succinct, readable and relevant introductory text ideal for students and practitioners in health or social care.
Introduction to Mental Health Nursing by 
Sociology for Nurses by
Sociology for Nurses has become a leading textbook and an invaluable companion for students wishing to get to grips with how sociology can positively transform professional nursing practice. This thoroughly revised new edition maintains its commitment to providing jargon-free explanations of sociological theories and evidence to show how studying sociology can be useful in all branches of nursing. Readers will develop a clear understanding of what sociology is and why it is essential to practice, gain deeper awareness of social issues such as gender, ethnicity, class and the life course, and become more familiar with the social contexts of health policy and nursing as a profession. With updates in every chapter, the third edition includes a new chapter on research methods, a reorganized collection of chapters on health policy, extended coverage of long-term illness and disability, as well as contemporary case studies on topical healthcare issues such as dementia, the 'obesity epidemic' and recent attempts to integrate health and social care. In addition, the book provides clearly defined learning aims, a useful glossary of sociological concepts, structured activities and questions for discussion, and annotated suggestions for further reading. The editors and contributing authors to the book have a wealth of experience teaching sociology to nurses at diploma and degree pre-registration and post-registration levels. Their book will continue to spark interest and debate among all student nurses, particularly those approaching sociology for the first time. Please visit the accompanying website at: http://www.politybooks.com/sociologyfornurses.
Legal Aspects of Nursing by
Bridgit Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is the definitive guide to the essential law that nurses and healthcare professionals need to know. Written in an engaging style, the book shows the application of the law to everyday nursing situations showing the relevance and importance of legal considerations to nursing practice. The book covers the legal system and legal issues relating to medicine in general, before examining more specific areas, such as children and the elderly.
Health Studies by
This new edition of a very successful textbook provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative introduction to studying health. With chapters including biology, epidemiology, anthropology, politics and psychology, it is the only book to explore all the major disciplines and highlight how they can contribute to our understanding of health in one single volume.Comprehensive, accessible and written by leading experts in the different fields, this is the introductory text for all students of health studies. New to this Edition:- A whole new chapter on geography and health: it explores the relationship between people's health and the natural and built environments - New example features in every chapter which apply each discipline to contemporary health issues -from the increase in obesity to the impact of changing social and welfare policies- along with bullet points that highlight the latest research in the field - A complete update on both the design and layout ensures an even more navigable and enjoyable read for current students, along with new contributions from experts from across the globe
Nursing Care and the Activities of Living by
This book gives a practical focus to the underpinning theory of nursing in order to help students through the academic part of their undergraduate course as well as their placement. The book is based on the activities of living model so each activity has its own chapter, allowing readers to dip in and out. It is essential reading for students, enabling them to understand and manage the many clinical issues they face on a daily basis when nursing adults on wards, in clinics and in the community setting.
Introduction to Mental Health Nursing by
"I recommend this book to students beginning their education in mental health nursing. Its major achievement is showing how the material and knowledge in it 15 chapters may be transferred to real-life clinical settings." Kevin Gournay, Emerirtus Professor of Psychiatric Nursing, Institute of Psychiatry, Kings College London "This is a comprehensive and reader friendly text that offers students a great introduction and insight into the modern world of mental health nursing. The quotes from students and practical activities engage the reader and enhance application of theory to clinical practice and educational development. Students will benefit from the guidance and support this book offers to complement their nurse education." Lisa King, Senior Lecturer in Mental Health Nursing, The University of Chester, UK Full of insights into what it's like to be a mental health nursing student, including direct quotes from current students! This engaging new textbook provides a student focused introduction to the main issues and themes in mental health nursing. The book requires no previous knowledge and the content has been carefully chosen to reflect the most significant aspects of this important and rewarding area of nursing. The book includes specific chapters on: Social inclusion and the Ten Essential Shared Capabilities. Mental health promotion Mental health at different stages of the life course Physical health issues in mental health settings Mental health law Therapeutic interventions, specifically Cognitive Behavioural Therapy (CBT) and psychoanalytic/psychodynamic approaches The concept of recovery Scenarios and exercises are used to demonstrate integration of theory and practice. These can be easily linked to your placement experience and overall learning and development. Readers are encouraged to develop an analytical and investigative approach to their studies. Other important areas covered in the book include the National Service Framework (NSF) for Mental Health, the Care Programme Approach (CPA) and the Tidal Model of mental health nursing. Introduction to Mental Health Nursing is the perfect introduction for all nursing students with an interest in a career in mental health nursing. Contributors: Geoffrey Amoateng, Amanda Blackhall, Alyson Buck, David A. Hingley, Richard Khoo, Mark McGrath, Mary Northrop, Tim Schafer, Allen Senivassen, Julie Teatheredge, James Trueman, Henck Van- Bilsen, Steven Walker, Steve Wood.