Doing a Literature Review in Health and.Social Care.4th edn. by
This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
How to do a systematic literature review in nursing : a step-by-step guide by
What is a systematic review? -- Asking an answerable and focused review question -- Creating the protocol for your systematic review -- Writing the background to your review -- Specifying your objectives and inclusion and exclusion criteria -- Conducting a comprehensive and systematic literature search -- Working with your primary papers: stage 1-selecting the studies to include in your systematic review -- Working with your primary papers: stage 2-appraising the methodological quality of your included research studies -- Working with your primary papers: stage 3-extracting the data from your included papers -- Synthesizing, summarizing and presenting your findings -- Writing up your discussion and completing your review -- Checking your systematic review is complete and some practical ways to share and disseminate your findings.
The Research Process in Nursing by
Comprehensive and thorough in scope, The Research Process in Nursing 7th edition provides everything you could want to know about research methods. This established textbook reflects the significant advances in nursing research and the importance of evidence-based practice, and provides an invaluable resource for both the novice and the more experienced researcher. It includes practical information and advice on: How to find and critique the evidence How to choose the right approach How to collect data How to make sense of the data How to put research into practice Special features: A clear, explicit and easy to understand text which links theory with practical steps in the research process. Examples provided allow the reader to apply a variety of research concepts to theoretical learning and professional practice. Incorporates chapters, research examples, and policy from a range of international countries, including Canada, Australia, USA and Hong Kong. Provides detailed discussions around each example, which clearly link theory with practice Easy to read for novice researchers and undergraduate nursing students, but at the same time provides sufficient depth and detail to be of value to experienced researchers and practitioners.
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation by
how to write your nursing dissertation How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation provides nursing and healthcare students with authoritative information on developing, writing, and presenting an evidence-based practice healthcare dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment. Written by experienced healthcare professionals, this comprehensive textbook offers clear and straightforward guidance on sourcing, accessing, and critically appraising evidence, helping students develop their clinical research and writing skills. The authors address the common difficulties encountered throughout the process of writing a dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment, and offer expert tips and practical advice for managing time, developing study skills, interpreting statistics, publishing aspects of the work in a journal or at a conference, and more. Now in its second edition, this bestselling guide presents relatable and engaging scenarios to illustrate the setting of standards, explore legal and ethical frameworks, examine auditing and benchmarking, and demonstrate how evidence is applied to real-world problems. Covering the entire dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment process from a nursing and healthcare perspective, this innovative textbook: Helps students develop and appropriately answer a clear dissertation, project or evidence-informed decision-making assignment Addresses the fundamental aspects of evidence-based practice in an accessible and readable style Features new and updated content on mini dissertations, final assessments, and evidence-informed decision-making projects that many healthcare institutions now require Presents up-to-date information that meets the needs of new healthcare roles, such as the Nursing Associate and Healthcare Assistant Includes access to a companion website containing downloadable information, an unabridged dissertation sample, and links to additional resources How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation is a must-have guide for nursing and healthcare students, trainees, other healthcare students required to complete an evidence-based practice project, and anyone looking to strengthen their critical appraisal and assignment writing skills.
How to read a paper : the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcare by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Making sense of research in nursing, health and social care by
What is research and how does it work in the context of nursing, health and social care? This introductory guide provides you with a concise overview of the different research methods and terminology that you will come across when undertaking research in any course related to nursing, health and social care. The book′s easy-to-follow structure takes you from research novice to confident researcher, helping you to make sense of research and understand how it is implemented in healthcare practice. The new edition includes: Updates in light of the 2018 NMC standards, with more information on the impact of GDPR, consent and vulnerable groups, Personal and Public Involvement (PPI), and work-based projects. Improved case examples of real research, with more on group work, poster presentations, research output and dissemination, literature reviews, and dissertations. Upgraded activities that include reflective exercises, critical appraisal tools, a dissemination plan, and a glossary, all in the book. This is essential reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students within the health and therapy professions, nurses, midwives, physiotherapists, radiographers, occupational therapists, speech and language therapists, and paramedics.
Nursing research : an introduction by
This book answers all your students′ questions on the nursing research process. Restructured to follow their progress from being a novice nurse researcher to an experienced one, it gives them the knowledge to understand evidence-based practice and critical appraisal and to succeed in their own projects. Key features of the book are: Updated practical coverage of key methods such as conducting a survey and a section on the Research Excellence Framework International research examples in action Reflective exercises A companion website including access to journal articles and flashcards. It is essential reading for nursing undergraduates, postgraduates and all new researchers.
Nursing research : principles, process and issues by
'Nursing Research' is the ultimate companion to research. The new edition offers everything you need to know, supporting you throughout your course. With this gentle but comprehensive beginner's guide, you'll have no trouble understanding research, the foundation to good evidence-based practice, clinical effectiveness and quality care.
A beginner's guide to evidence-based practice in health and social care. 3rd edn. by
This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence-based practice is, how to relate it to practice or use it in academic work. Fully updated in this brand new edition, this book uses simple and easy to understand language to help those new to the topic. It provides a step by step guide to what we mean by evidence-based practice and how to apply this concept to your practice and learning.
Critical thinking skills. 3rd edition by
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Qualitative inquiry & research design by
Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's The McGuffey Longevity Award In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry. Learn more about John W. Creswell's qualitative research and mixed methods research titles as well as his 2017 spring/summer mixed methods research workshops! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Understanding research for nursing students by
If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
How to Write Your Undergraduate Dissertation by
This practical guide takes undergraduate students step-by-step through the process of completing a dissertation, from the initial stages of generating original ideas and planning the project through to writing their first draft and critically reviewing their own work. It shows students how to choose the most appropriate methods for collecting and analysing their data and how to then integrate this research into their dissertation. Students will learn how to develop consistent and persuasive arguments and write up their research in a clear and concise style. This book is an essential resource for undergraduates of all disciplines who are required to write a dissertation as part of their degree. New to this Edition: - Includes expanded material on research ethics - Contains two new chapters on presenting research posters and delivering oral presentations
Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice Skills by 
Nursing research : methods and critical appraisal for evidence-based practice by
Find out why this book is a student favorite! Providing a solid foundation in nursing research and evidence-based practice, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-Based Practice, 10th Edition offers balanced coverage of both qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand approach. This edition features new content on trending topics, including the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN), as well as improved usability, user-friendly learning aids, and full-text research articles to help you better understand how to apply research to everyday clinical practice. Balanced coverage explores the nursing research process and the EBP process, as well as qualitative and quantitative research methodologies. User-friendly writing style and engaging learning aids throughout the text include full-text research examples, Helpful Hints, EBP Tips, IPE Highlights, Research Vignettes, Clinical Judgment Challenges, Critical Appraisal Criteria, and more! Innovative format integrates examples from current, high-quality, relevant full-text research articles. "All-star" team of contributors is a widely respected collection of experts in nursing research and EBP. NEW and UPDATED! Full-text research articles, including a population health study and a quality improvement study, serve as foundational examples throughout the text and Research Vignettes illustrate the types of high-quality research and evidence-based practice (EBP) projects that are driving advances in nursing practice. NEW! Content on trending topics includes: Precision science and tailored healthcare based on evidence Big data Secondary analysis Data collection using social media and technology Focus groups Descriptive qualitative methods Genetics, genomics, and "omics" Social determinants of health and population health Healthy People 2030 The new U.S. Surgeon General's Report on Oral Health The NIH funding roadmap IPEC Core Competencies The opioid crisis HPV NEW! Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) content introduces the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model and includes Clinical Judgment Challenges in each chapter to help prepare students for the NGN. NEW! Expanded coverage of the latest developments in the field includes: Content on research methods (scoping, rapid realist, etc.) and guidelines (evidence- versus expert-based) other than meta-analysis. Content on mixed-methods research that reflects the growing emphasis on mixed research methodologies. Content on quality improvement (including the National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators [NDNQI], magnet status, and the Triple Aim) that addresses the growing importance of evidence-based quality improvement initiatives in clinical settings. NEW! Improved usability, with more illustrations, larger table type, increased use of bulleted text, enhanced readability, italicized in-text research examples for greater visibility, and better-aligned learning outcomes and chapter-ending key points make it easier for students to locate, understand, and retain information.
Essentials of nursing research : appraising evidence for nursing practice by
Overview of nursing research and its role in evidence-based practice -- Preliminary steps in quantitative and qualitative research -- Designs and methods for quantitative and qualitative nursing research -- Analysis, interpretation, and application of nursing research.
Study guide for Essentials of nursing research : appraising evidence for nursing practice by
Study Guide for Essentials of Nursing Research is a companion to Essentials of Nursing Research . It reinforces key concepts covered in the textbook through a variety of question types and exercises that make it easy to remember essential information and build critical-thinking skills. Application exercises help you read, comprehend, and critique nursing studies. You will answer Questions of Fact, which guide you in reading the eight research articles in the study guide's appendices, and Questions for Discussion, which aid you in assessing the merits of various aspects of the studies. Study questions pose queries about research studies that make you think critically about research reports and how to conduct research. Matching exercises challenge your ability to link related terms and concepts. Completion exercises test your memory and are a great refresher before an exam. Includes eight full research articles and answers to selected study guide exercises.
Nursing research : generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice by
Nursing Research: Generating and Assessing Evidence for Nursing Practice, 10th Edition has been updated to incorporate new methodological advances and, to the extent possible, substantive examples used to illustrate concepts will be from articles published in 2013 to 2015. The organizational structure introduced in the 9th edition will be maintained -- i.e., content focusing on quantitative research will be in Part III, and content on qualitative research will be in Part IV. A valuable ancillary package is available for instructors and students via thePoint. They include PowerPoint slides with relevant tables and figures, test bank, journal articles, case studies, critical thinking exercises, strategies for effective teaching, internet resources, and glossary.
Understanding research for evidence-based practice by
Develop the knowledge and skills you need to become a research-literate, evidence-based practitioner with this user-friendly book. Mirroring the way practicing nurses read research reports, the book begins with a research article's conclusion--the section that most directly addresses the clinical meaning of a research study--and works "backward" through each section in the research article. Organized around user-centered questions, such as how conclusions were reached, which patients the conclusions apply to, and how the study was done, each chapter begins with a clinical case that identifies the clinical question the nurse is seeking to answer and one or two published research articles that directly relate to the clinical case. See the relevance of research to clinical practice through the authors' unique approach that helps you learn about research methodology in a natural, intuitive way. Explore the ways that becoming research literate will help your clinical practice with Rebar & Gersch Evidence-Based Bridge Theory . Increase your understanding of difficult, abstract concepts through visually dynamic graphics. Broaden your knowledge with enhanced coverage of two important forms of nursing research--systematic reviews and mixed method research, including the AAAAA Evidence-Based Practice Model. Become a savvy consumer of research with an easy-to-understand review of the basic statistical information necessary for interpreting research studies. Access clinical cases that reflect nursing practice in a variety of settings, from acute care to public health and across a range of specialties. Find the information you need fast with anytime, anywhere access to the fully searchable text online.
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses by
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fourth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The authors employ a fresh and updated approach to teaching nursing research using evidence-based practice. The Fourth Edition features more real-world examples, expanded coverage of qualitative methods, discussion of various types of research questions and explores the hierarchy of evidence.New to the Fourth Edition:Updated Apply What You Have Learned evolving case study Real-life evidence-based practice examplesExploration of the Hierarchy Model featuring all types of evidence for each levelExpanded content on the qualitative method Updated references and new diagrams summarizing statistical analysis and designs Navigate 2 Premier AccessInstructor ResourcesInstructor's ManualTime-on-task analysisInteractive lecturesCompetency mapping documentPowerPoint slidesTest bankPractice activitiesEvolving case study
Conducting research literature reviews : from the internet to paper by
Providing readers with an accessible, in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature, Conducting Research Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper is perfect for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows readers how to explain the need for and significance of research, as well as how to explain a study's findings. Offering a step-by-step approach to conducting literature reviews, the Fifth Edition features new research, examples, and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences, expanded coverage of qualitative research, updated and revised meta-analysis procedures, a brand new glossary of key terms, double the number of exercises, and additional examples of how to write reviews.
Qualitative research in nursing and healthcare by
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. It is intended to assist: Professionals and academics in the healthcare field who undertake or teach research in clinical or educational settings; Postgraduates who are undertaking qualitative research and want to revise qualitative research approaches and procedures before going on to more specialist texts; and Undergraduates in their last year who wish to learn about qualitative perspectives or carry out a project using these approaches. Fully updated from the earlier editions by Holloway and Wheeler, it reflects recent developments in nursing research. This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research. With applied and practical examples throughout, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is essential reading for those who are looking for a comprehensive introduction to qualitative research.
Critical thinking and writing for nursing students by
This book is a clear and practical guide to help students develop critical thinking, writing and reflection skills. It explains what critical thinking is and how students should use it throughout their nursing programme. This new edition also provides an innovative new framework that helps students appreciate different levels of critical thinking and reflection to help nursing students appreciate the requirements of degree level study. The book demonstrates the transferable nature of critical thinking and reflection from academic contexts to the real practice of nursing.Key features Clear and straightforward introduction to critical thinking directly written for nursing students, with chapters relating the subject to specific study and practice contexts Student examples and scenarios throughout, including running case studies from four nursing students and further annotated examples of student's work on the website Each chapter is linked to the new NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Qualitative Research Practice by
Why use qualitative methods? What kinds of questions can qualitative methods help you answer? How do you actually do rigorous and reflective qualitative research in the real world? Written by a team of leading researchers associated with NatCen Social Research (the National Centre for Social Research) this textbook leads students and researchers through the entire process of qualitative research from beginning to end - moving through design, sampling, data collection, analysis and reporting. In this fully revised second edition you will find: a practical account of how to carry out qualitative research which recognises a range of current approaches and applications; a brand new chapter on ethics; a brand new chapter on observational research; updated advice on using software when analysing your qualitative data; and new case studies which illustrate issues you may encounter and how problems have been tackled by other researchers. This book is an ideal guide for students, practitioners and researchers faced with the challenges of doing qualitative research in both applied and academic settings in messy real-life contexts.
Nursing Research: Designs and Methods by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It has been written by nurses for nurses and is research-minded, conceptually and theoretically up-to-date and student-centred. It is a comprehensive introduction to nursing research that will allow readers to build up their understanding of the research process and develop confidence in its practical application. Text supported by examples from 'real life' research International perspective on nursing research Comprehensive coverage including established and innovative designs and methods
Succeeding in literature reviews and research project plans for nursing students by
Now in it′s fourth edition and thoroughly updated to ensure all content is mapped to the new 2018 NMC standards, this book is a practical and readable guide to undertaking a research project plan or a literature review for final year assessment. The book guides readers from start to finish, beginning with choosing a nursing topic and developing questions about it, then accessing and critically reviewing research literature, considering ethical issues, proposing research where applicable, and finally, writing up and completing the literature review or research proposal. The authors also explore how to translate evidence into practice and how this can improve day to day decision-making, as well as feeding into assessments.